

Division of Motorist Services

Procedure RS-02

Motor Vehicle Procedure Manual

Registration

Registration (Renewal) Periods

Table of Contents

Legal Authority	1
Description and Use	2
Definitions	3
Registration and Renewal	4
Miscellaneous Information	8
Revision(s) to Procedure	9
Exhibit A	

Legal Authority

Effective Date: Immediately

<u>Sections 320.01(19), 320.01(21)</u> and <u>320.071, Florida Statutes</u>, provide definitions for the "registration period," "renewal period," "advanced renewal period" and "extended registration period."

<u>Sections 320.02(2)(a)2, Florida Statutes</u>, provides that if a vehicle is registered to an active duty member of the Armed Forces of the United States who is a Florida resident, the active duty member is exempt from the requirement to provide the street address of a permanent residence.

<u>Section 320.07(1)</u>, <u>Florida Statutes</u>, provides for the expiration of the registration and renewal period "for a natural person, at midnight on the owner's birthday."

<u>Section 320.0601(4), Florida Statutes</u>, states: "Any registration or renewal as required under <u>s. 320.02</u> for an original or transfer of a long-term leased motor vehicle must be in the name and address of the lessee."

Revision Date: 07/01/2021 Page 1 of 11

<u>Section 320.055(1)(a)</u>, <u>Florida Statutes</u>, establishes the registration and renewal periods for motor vehicles

and mobile homes in Florida.

Section 320.055(1)(b), Florida Statutes, allows for an extended registration period as defined in

s. 320.01(19)(b).

<u>Section 320.055(1)(c)</u>, <u>Florida Statutes</u>, provides for a six-month vehicle registration for persons

reinstating a driver's license that has been suspended for driving under the influence.

Section 320.055(4), Florida Statutes, provides for vehicles subject to registration under s. 320.08(6)(a) that

are short-term rental vehicles, and for any vehicle for which a registration period is not otherwise

specified, the registration period begins June 1 and ends May 31. For a vehicle subject to this registration

period, the renewal period is the 30-day period beginning June 1.

<u>Section 320.95(2)</u>, <u>Florida Statutes</u>, authorizes the department to collect electronic mail addresses and

use electronic mail in lieu of the United States Postal Service for the purpose of providing renewal

notices.

Description and Use

This procedure provides information and instructions to assist employees of the tax collector, license plate

agent, and the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) with understanding and

Page 2 of 11

enforcing registration (renewal) periods associated with various types of motor vehicles and mobile homes

owned by persons or companies.

Definitions

A. "Registration Period" means a period of 12 or 24 months during which a motor vehicle or mobile home

registration is valid.

1. The registration period for annual registrations shall not exceed 15 months.

2. The registration period for biennial registrations shall not exceed 27 months.

B. "Renewal Period" means the period during which renewal of a motor vehicle registration or a mobile

home registration is required, as provided in <u>s. 320.055</u>, Florida Statutes. The renewal period for a

natural person ends at midnight on the owner's birthday.

C. "Advance Renewal Period" means any time during the three months preceding the owner/registrant's

birth month and extending to midnight on the owner's birthday or the assigned registration period.

D. "Extended registration period" means a period of 24 months during which a motor vehicle or mobile

home registration is valid.

There will be a 2-year cumulative total of all applicable license tax, service charges, surcharges and any

additional fees required by law.

E. "Short Term Rental Vehicle" is defined as a motor vehicle leased without a driver and under a written

agreement to one or more persons for a period of less than twelve months, per <u>s. 319.14(1)(c)(2)(a)</u>

Florida Statutes.

F. "Long Term Lease" is defined as a motor vehicle leased without a driver and under a written agreement

to one or more persons for a period of twelve months or longer, per s. 319.14(1)(c)(2)(b) Florida Statutes.

Registration and Renewal

The following registration and renewal periods are established in Chapter 320, Florida Statutes:

A. In <u>s. 320.07</u>, <u>Florida Statutes</u>, for motor vehicles owned by a natural person, the registration period begins at midnight on the owner's birthday and ends at midnight on the owner's birthday of the following year, unless another registration period is specified according to a specific type of motor vehicle or mobile home. If the vehicle is registered in the name of more than one person, the birthday of the person whose name appears first on the registration application shall be used to determine the registration period.

The renewal period is the 30-day period prior to and ending at midnight on the vehicle owner's date of birth. The expiration date would be midnight of the birthday.

B. Mobile homes are subject to the registration period of January 1 through December 31. The renewal period is the 31-day period prior to the expiration. The expiration date would be December 31.

Refer to s. 320.055(2), Florida Statutes.

C. For motor vehicles owned by a company or entity other than a natural person, or for a short term rental vehicle using "REG USE of SL", unless otherwise specified, the registration period begins June 1 and ends May 31 of the following calendar year. The renewal period is the 30-day period beginning June 1. The expiration date would be June 30.

Refer to s. 320.055(4), Florida Statutes.

Rental car companies can choose a regular or permanent registration. If permanent is chosen, the yellow decal will have PM printed on it in place of the month and year expiration. The paper registration will have the vehicle registration information and it will have "Permanent Decal Issued" printed on it. The registration can be annual or biennial.

Refer to s. 320.06, Florida Statutes.

Any six-month registration period is available for "for-hire" motor vehicles by using "REG USE" of HH,

upon payment of one-half the annual license tax plus an additional semiannual fee. There will be no

grace period for "for-hire" vehicles registered for any six-month period. Refer to s. 320.0705(3), Florida

Statutes.

D. An individual who has had his or her driver's license suspended for driving under the influence must

obtain a six-month registration as a condition of reinstating the license.

The registration period begins the first day of the birth month of the owner and ends the last day of

the fifth month immediately following the owner's birth month. A validation sticker that displays an

expiration date of six months after the date of issuance and a registration certificate valid for six

months will be issued.

Fees: One-half of the annual license tax will apply. Other applicable fees, (including the service fee)

will also be due.

E. For heavy trucks weighing 5,001 to 7,999 pounds, the registration period begins at midnight on the

owner's birthday and ends at midnight on the owner's birthday of the following year, unless another

registration period is specified according to a specific type of motor vehicle.

F. For heavy trucks weighing over 7,999 pounds, truck-tractors, semi-trailers, and nine or more passenger

motor vehicles for hire (buses), the registration period begins December 1 and ends November 30 of the

following calendar year. The renewal period is the 31-day period beginning December 1. The expiration

date would be December 31.

Refer to s. 320.055(5), Florida Statutes.

Effective Date: Immediately

Page 5 of 11

Semiannual registration is available for heavy trucks, truck tractors and buses, provided the amount of license tax due annually is more than \$100 and the vehicle registration is not required to be apportioned under the International Registration Plan. Payment of an additional semiannual registration fee is collected on semiannual registrations. Tax class code 41 with "REG USE" of "HY" must be used for semiannual registration of heavy trucks and truck tractors. Tax class code 36 with "REG USE" of "HY"

must be used for semiannual registration of buses.

Refer to <u>s. 320.0705</u>, Florida Statutes.

1. The first semiannual registration period begins December 1 and ends May 31 of the following

calendar year. There is no grace period for vehicles registered under the first semiannual period. The

expiration date would be May 31.

The second semiannual registration period begins June 1 and ends November 30. However, the

expiration date is December 31, since a grace period is allowed at the end of the annual registration

period. A new validation decal must be issued because registration tax and fees are being collected

for additional tax months.

G. For-hire automobiles that are rented or leased, which are not short-term rental/leased vehicles, must be

registered in the name of the lessee. Therefore, the registration periods would differ as follows.

1. Natural Person as the lessee/registrant:

When a natural person is the lessee/registrant, the registration period begins at midnight on the

birthday of the registrant and ends at midnight on the registrant's birthday of the succeeding year. If

the vehicle is registered in the name of more than one person, the birthday of the person whose

name appears first on the registration shall be used to determine the registration period. The

renewal period ends at midnight on the registrant's date of birth. The expiration date would be

midnight of the birthday.

Revision Date: 07/01/2021

Effective Date: Immediately

See Miscellaneous Information, Section A, for information about delinquent fees for late registration.

2. Company as the lessee/registrant:

When a company is the lessee/registrant with the appropriate "REG USE," the expiration is staggered

based on the first alpha character of the company's name. The registration period will begin the first

day of the assigned registration month and end on the last day of the month immediately preceding

the assigned registration month. The renewal period will be during the assigned registration month;

therefore, there is a grace period through the last day of the assigned registration month. Exhibit A

may be used to determine the expiration month.

Refer to s. 320.055(6), Florida Statutes.

H. Dealer license plates are subject to the same registration and renewal period as the dealer-licensing

period. A current motor vehicle or mobile home dealer license number or occupational license (for

marine boat trailer dealers) is required for each registration period. The renewal period is the last

month of the license period. The following are registration periods for dealers:

1. All dealer license plates issued to a franchised dealer (motor vehicle or motorcycle) will use the

registration period of January through December. The expiration date will be December 31.

2. All dealer license plates issued to an independent dealer (motor vehicle or motorcycle) will use the

registration period of May through April. The expiration date will be April 30.

3. All dealer license plates issued to a recreational vehicle dealer will use the registration period of

October through September. The expiration date will be September 30.

All dealer license plates purchased by a marine boat trailer dealer use the registration period of July

through June. The expiration date will be June 30.

I. Transporter Plates

The registration period for "Transporter license plates" is January through December. The expiration

date would be December 31.

Miscellaneous Information

A. A delinquent registration fee may be applicable if an applicant fails to renew their registration by the

11th calendar day of the month succeeding the month in which the renewal registration was due. Refer

to Procedure RS-35 for an explanation of exemptions and to determine if a delinquent registration fee is

applicable.

B. FLHSMV will allow a reasonable period of time for spouses, co-owners, or heirs to continue using an

asset while the descendant's property is being accounted for legally. FLHSMV will allow a one-time, 12-

month renewal for a motor vehicle in the deceased individual's name, issued within one (1) year of the

deceased date. A will or other documented proof must be given at the time of renewal. Vessels do not

qualify for this one-time renewal in a deceased individual's name.

1. The "Chart for Staggered Registration for "For-Hire" Automobiles By Company Name" is attached as

Exhibit A.

2. Biennial (extended) registrations can be processed on qualifying vehicles during an original

registration or during any transaction where the registration is being renewed. All fees will be

doubled except for the Initial Registration fee, back tax and mail fees. The following types of

registrations are not allowed to have a biennial registration.

Registrations with a restricted plate.

Any registration where the National Guard Exemption is being used.

Registrations issued to out-of-state military in class codes 14 and 50.

- Trucks in Class Code 41 unless the net weight is less than 8,000 pounds.
- Semi-trailer registrations in class codes 56 and 103.
- Transporters (class code 70).
- Dealer Registrations (class codes 71, 74 and 101).
- Registrations issued to government vehicles in class code 97.

Revision(s) to Procedure

Legislative changes updated in section (C) of Registration and Renewal.

04/15/21: Added sections III(E), III(F) and IV(B).

05/07/18: Reviewed statutes, added links. Deleted Notes as a heading. Added Historic Revisions.

12/14/12: Added new statutes to procedure.

Chart for Staggered Registration for "for Hire" Automobiles by Company Name

1st Alpha Character	Expiration
of Company Name:	Date:
A	June 30
B, C	July 31
D, E	August 31
F	September 30
G	October 31
H, I, J	November 30
K. L	December 31
M, N	January 31
O, P, Q	February 29
R, S, T, U	March 31
V	April 30
W, X, Y, Z	May 31

If the name of the company begins with numeric characters, the first alpha character in the name

would determine the registration period.

Example: 123 Leasing would expire December 31.

If the company name is all numeric characters, the motor vehicle issuance system assigns an

expiration date of June 30.

If the name of the company begins with "The," the first alpha character following "the" would be

used to assign the registration period.

Example: The Hertz Corporation, would expire November 30.