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SUBJECT 
PROVIDING RECORDS 
TO THE PUBLIC 

POLICY NUMBER 
9.03 

 
POLICY MAINTENANCE ADMINISTRATOR: General Counsel 
PURPOSE/SCOPE: This policy outlines policies and responsibilities and describes 
procedures for providing access to public records.  These guidelines compliment, but 
do not replace, the requirements under the Public Records Laws. 
 

 
 
I. AUTHORITY 

 
Article I, Section 24, Florida Constitution 
 
Section 112.218, Florida Statutes, Personnel Files; Fees for Copies 
 
Chapter 119, Florida Statutes, Public Records 
 
Section 316.066, Florida Statutes, Written Reports of Crashes 
 
Section 319.25(2), Florida Statutes, Cancellation of Certificates 
 
Section 320.05, Florida Statutes, Records; Inspection Procedure 
 
Section 320.865, Florida Statutes, Maintenance of Records 
 
Section 321.23, Florida Statutes, Public Records; Fees for Copies 
 
Section 322.20, Florida Statutes, Destruction of Records 
 
Chapter 324, Florida Statutes, Financial Responsibility 
 
Governor’s Executive Order 07-01, Establishment of Office of Open Government, 
Effective January 2, 2007 

 
 
II.  DEFINITIONS 
 

A. 3-Year Record - Driver history information pertaining to the last three years.  The 
driver's personal information is not part of the driver history.  

 

http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?mode=constitution&submenu=3&tab=statutes�
http://www.flsenate.gov/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=&URL=0100-0199/0112/Sections/0112.218.html�
http://www.flsenate.gov/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&URL=0100-0199/0119/0119ContentsIndex.html&StatuteYear=2010&Title=%2D%3E2010%2D%3EChapter%20119�
http://www.flsenate.gov/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=&URL=0300-0399/0316/Sections/0316.066.html�
http://www.flsenate.gov/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=&URL=0300-0399/0319/Sections/0319.25.html�
http://www.flsenate.gov/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=&URL=0300-0399/0320/Sections/0320.05.html�
http://www.flsenate.gov/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=&URL=0300-0399/0320/Sections/0320.865.html�
http://www.flsenate.gov/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=&URL=0300-0399/0321/Sections/0321.23.html�
http://www.flsenate.gov/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=&URL=0300-0399/0322/Sections/0322.20.html�
http://www.flsenate.gov/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&URL=0300-0399/0324/0324ContentsIndex.html&StatuteYear=2010&Title=%2D%3E2010%2D%3EChapter%20324�
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B. 7-Year Record - Driver history information pertaining to the last seven years.  
The driver's personal information is not part of the driver history.  

 
C. Actual Cost of Duplication - The cost of the materials and supplies used to 

duplicate the record, not including labor or overhead costs associated with such 
duplication.  

 
D. Confidential - Public records that have been identified in the Florida Statutes as 

confidential.  The information in these records is not subject to inspection by the 
public and may be released only to the persons and entities designated by 
statute. 

 
E. Driver History Transcript - Driver history information produced in a standard 

format on paper, magnetic media or using electronic access.  
 
F. Driver Privacy Protection Act (DPPA) - This refers to the Federal Driver’s Privacy 

Protection Act of 1994, which prohibits disclosure of information of a sensitive, 
personal nature, with noted exceptions.  These exemptions are now found under 
Sec. 119.0712(2), F.S.  

 
G. E-mail - Electronic mail used to convey information. 
 
H. Exemplified Record - Driver history information pertaining to all information 

stored on the driver file.  
 
I. Exempt Records - Those public records that have been identified in Florida 

Statutes as exempt from public inspection. 
 
J. Extensive Use - Any public records request that requires more than thirty minutes 

of department resource time to fulfill. 
 
K. Motorist Services Record - Record pertaining to a motor vehicle operator's 

license, motor vehicle title, motor vehicle registration or identification card issued 
by the department. 

 
L. Network Provider - Those business entities, approved by the department, that 

have a direct connection to a port on the system installed to provide public 
access to specified department databases.  

 
M. Personal Information in a Motorist Services Record - Information that identifies 

an individual, including an individual's social security number, driver identification 
number or identification card number, name, address, telephone number, 
medical or disability information and emergency contact information contained in 
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a record pertaining to a motor vehicle operator's license, motor vehicle title, 
motor vehicle registration or identification card issued by the department.  It does 
not include information relating to vehicular crash data (such as the occurrence 
of a crash, speed, location, vehicle type, etc.), driving violations and driver's 
license status.  

 
N. Public Record - All documents, papers, letters, maps, books, tapes, photographs, 

films, sound recordings, data processing software or other material, regardless of 
physical form, characteristics or means of transmission, made or received by the 
department pursuant to law or ordinance or in connection with the transaction of 
official business.  

 
O. Record Owner - The division within the department which is responsible for the 

collection, processing, reporting, and distribution of the records.  
 
P. Redact - To remove or conceal from a copy of an original public record, or to 

remove or conceal from an electronic image that is available for public viewing, 
that portion of the record containing exempt or confidential information.  

 
Q. Remote Electronic Access - The ability of an individual or business to enter 

selected Information Systems Administration (ISA) databases, via online 
connection (either leased-line or dial-up) and obtain records within that database.  
This access is interactive (the requester asks for a specific single record, based 
on defined parameters, which is immediately located within the database and 
transmitted to the requester) and requires the requester to remain in contact with 
the computer until all requests have been satisfied.  

 
R. Routine/Non-Routine Requests - Routine requests are requests that come in 

directly to the department that are handled as normal job duties.  Non-routine is 
when a request involves extensive use of a member’s time, more than one 
division's response, or is a complicated request. 

 
S. Special Processing - Development of computer programs and use of information 

resource technology assets to provide information not available in the standard 
reports normally processed.  

 
T. Special Service Charge - A reasonable service charge assessed by the 

department based on the cost actually incurred for the extensive use of 
information technology resources and/or extensive clerical or supervisory 
assistance, using the hourly rate of pay (or overtime rate of pay, if applicable) of 
personnel necessary for fulfilling the request.  If supervisory resources are 
provided by an attorney, the charge will be at the lowest attorney rate (salary and 
benefits) in the Office of General Counsel. 
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III. POLICY 
 

Department records, except those specifically precluded from disclosure by statutory 
exemption, shall be available, in any form and format used by the agency, to all 
persons for inspection or copying under the supervision of the records custodian or 
designee during normal business hours.   
 
The widest possible access to existing public records is encouraged by making 
copies of those records available for a fee not to exceed the actual cost of 
duplication unless a different fee is otherwise required by Florida Law.  If the nature 
or volume of public records requested to be inspected, examined, or copied requires 
extensive use of department resources, the additional costs to cover such extensive 
use of department resources may be charged. 
 
As future technology resources are used to manage, store, or maintain public 
records, the department must provide reasonable public access to records 
electronically maintained and must ensure that exempt or confidential records are 
not disclosed except as otherwise permitted by law.  

 
 
IV. ROLES AND RESPONSIBILITIES 
 

A. The Executive Director shall designate a member to serve as the agency’s public 
record/open government contact.  That member will be responsible for complying 
with public records/open government requests and compliance at the department 
and will also be the primary liaison between the department and the Governor’s 
Office of Open Government for purposes of training and compliance.  
1. Each division will appoint a division coordinator to coordinate requests for 

providing public records owned by that division.  Each division will provide the 
public records/open government contact with the name of its appointee.  In 
addition, designated offices and each division shall have persons named as 
points of contact, who shall be responsible for handling and responding to 
public records requests for which that office or division is the custodian.  The 
names and contact information for these points of contact may be found on 
the department’s public web site under the public records link 
(http://www.flhsmv.gov/html/records.html).  Regular mail and e-mail public 
records requests may be referred to these points of contact for handling by 
the public records/open government contact or the division coordinator. 

2. The General Counsel’s Office will establish and maintain an e-mail account 
for public records requests.   

http://www.flhsmv.gov/html/records.html�
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3. The public records/open government contact and division coordinators shall 
make certain that all requests are handled promptly and in accordance with 
laws.   

4. The public records/open government contact or the division coordinator must 
ensure that if an exemption applies to a part of a record requested, that 
portion of the record to which an exemption applies is redacted, and the 
remainder of such record is available for inspection and copying. 

5. Each division and the Office of General Counsel, the Inspector General, 
Personnel Services, Administrative Services and Information Services shall 
designate no more than three individuals within an office or division, who will 
be trained in searching the e-mail archiving system for the purpose of 
responding to public records requests, including the redaction of exempt 
information contained in those records.  Public records e-mail requests shall 
be referred to such individuals for handling according to this procedure and 
Management Policy 9.04, Records Management. 

 
 

V. PROCEDURES 
 

A.  The department must accept requests for public records in writing, by e-mail, by 
telephone, by facsimile, or in person.  If the request is insufficient to identify the 
records sought, the provider should help the requester clarify the request.  The 
provider may ask the requester to complete forms to assist in defining the facts 
necessary for completing records requests; however, unless specifically required 
by law, the requestor is not obligated to complete these forms as a condition for 
obtaining the public records requested. 

  
B. Upon receipt of a public records request, the public records/open government 

contact or division coordinator or their designee shall acknowledge receipt within 
two business days.  Exceptions to this are only allowed when the records request 
is routine and will be completed in accordance with division policy and procedure.  
(See Attachment C on page 18 for standard language to acknowledge receipt.) 

 
C. The public records/open government contact or division coordinator will 

determine whether the request is routine and can be handled immediately, or will 
require additional time.  If routine, the contact or coordinator will assign for 
handling.  If non-routine, the division coordinator will inform the department public 
records/open government contact of such request and a determination for 
handling will be made.   

 
D. Training - The Learning and Development Office (LDO) will work with the agency 

public records/open government contact to establish a department-wide training 
program for all members who are authorized to release public records.  The LDO 

http://safetynet/hsmvpolicies/AllPolicies/OED/Policy_MP_9.04.doc�
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will continually monitor changes to legislation and to Florida Department of State 
rules and regulations relating to public records, and recommend additional 
member training as needed.  

 
E. Establishment of Charges

1.  Fees shall be as set forth in Attachment A on page 10 or as allowed by law.   

 - The Public Records Law allows the department to 
collect the actual cost of material and supplies used to duplicate public records 
for requesters.  The department may also collect a special service charge in 
addition to actual costs/fees, when a request for public records requires the 
extensive use of information technology resources and/or clerical or supervisory 
assistance.  The following charges, fees and guidelines are designed to ensure 
that the department is consistent in its application of rules which allow the 
recovery of actual and extensive use costs. 

2.  Public records must be open for inspection unless expressly provided by law. 
3.  The department will not collect State of Florida sales tax on any sales of 

records to the public. 
4.  All postage and/or other shipping charges incurred by the department will be 

recouped from the requester.  
5.  A special service charge may be assessed when extensive use of department 

resources is required to fulfill a request.  Extensive use of department 
resources is defined as more than thirty minutes of labor.  Requests that 
involve an extensive use of time, as outlined below, will be charged starting 
with the time after the first thirty minutes if more than thirty minutes of labor is 
required.  The fee shall be computed on one-half hour charges, with time 
being rounded to the closest quarter hour.  Accurate accounts of time worked 
must be documented for invoicing purposes. 
(a)  Labor Time:  When clerical and/or supervisory time is spent in the 

collection, inspection, redaction or production of a public records request, 
a service charge for labor should be applied by computing the actual cost 
of providing the labor.  The cost shall be the actual salary for the member 
performing the work, including benefits. 

(b) Technical costs:  Data requests that require special processing will be 
analyzed by the division for impact on department business.  If approved 
by the division director owning the records, they will be given to ISA to 
determine cost.  

(c)  All exempt records or information will be identified and redacted or 
marked confidential, citing the appropriate statutory exemption.  Exempt 
records or information must not be distributed to the public or department 
members who do not meet the necessary requirements to obtain the 
information.  The requestor shall be obligated to pay for the redaction time 
as stated above. 

(d) When the records requested are in electronic form and the requester asks 
that they be sent via email, the records shall be sent by email.  In such 
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case, the per-page copying fee shall not be charged, but any statutory fee 
levied on that particular type of record shall be charged.  In addition, the 
special service charge provided for in this section shall be assessed if 
applicable. 

(e) When the records requested are in electronic form and the requester asks 
that they be provided on CD or DVD, the records shall be provided on CD 
or DVD.  In such case, the per-page copying fee shall not be charged, but 
the actual cost of the CD or DVD shall be charged along with any statutory 
fee levied on that particular type of record.  In addition, the special service 
charge provided for in this section shall be assessed if applicable.   

 
F. Fee Collection - 

1. When all allowable fees/charges applied to a particular public records request 
can be calculated in advance, they should be collected prior to investing 
significant technology resources and/or clerical or supervisory resources. 

2. Members responding to routine requests for public records will verbally advise 
the requester of any applicable charges.  For non-routine requests or where 
actual costs and special service charges cannot be immediately determined 
due to the nature of the request, written estimates will be provided.  In such 
cases, the provider shall give an estimated cost for producing the records and 
inform the requester that the actual cost may vary.  After collecting the 
estimated fees and completing the request, if the actual fees are greater than 
the estimate, the balance must be collected before the records are provided.  
If the actual fees are less, a refund must be provided to the requester. 

3. All checks should be made payable to the Department of Highway Safety and 
Motor Vehicles or DHSMV (or respective divisions). 
(Sample language and invoice is included in Attachment D on page 19.) 

 
G. Fee/Charge Waivers - Fees or charges will be waived between the Department 

and other government agencies as allowed by law.  Fees or charges may also be 
waived between the Department and other government agencies by agreement 
between management of DHSMV and the agency requesting the data.  If the 
cost for providing paper or electronic copies of records is less than $5, including 
postage and special service charges, the records will be provided at no charge, 
unless the fee is required by statute.   
 

H. Public Records Exemptions - The department is responsible for protecting 
information defined as confidential or as otherwise prohibited from public 
inspection or copying under the Public Records Law.  All exemptions to the 
Public Records Law can be found in the Federal laws or Florida Statutes.  A list 
of department records presently exempt from public inspection, examination, and 
copying is found in Attachment B on page 14.  Any exemption in existence or 
hereafter enacted shall not be deemed waived or otherwise void or 



STATE OF FLORIDA 
Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles 

SUBJECT 
PROVIDING RECORDS TO THE PUBLIC 

POLICY 
9.03 

PAGE 
8 of 19 

 

 

Revision Date:    08/23/11 

unenforceable simply because it is not included in this list.  The public 
records/open government contact or the Office of the General Counsel should be 
consulted if questions exist. 
The following standards and controls should be followed to prevent the 
inadvertent or unauthorized release of confidential and exempt information: 
1.  Confidential information shall be redacted (or extracted) from records prior to 

public release or inspection of nonexempt portions. 
2.  The Department is responsible for informing the requester when requests 

cannot be filled due to an exemption which prevents disclosure.  Upon 
request, the provider must provide the basis for this exemption and its 
statutory citation and must be in writing if requested. 

3.  The Department will contact the Point of Contact of affected law enforcement 
agencies prior to releasing information related to the access of records 
through Driver and Vehicle Information Database (DAVID).  If a law 
enforcement agency has accessed records through DAVID and indicates that 
the information related to the access of those records is exempt due to 1) an 
active investigation under Sec. 119.071(2)(c), F.S.; 2) involvement of 
undercover personnel under Sec. 119.071(4)(c), F.S.; 3) surveillance 
techniques or procedures or personnel under Sec. 119.071(2)(d), F.S.;  or 4) 
any other applicable exemption allowed by law, the department will not 
release the information.  If the access information is not exempt from release, 
the department will release the requested information. 

 
I. General Public Records Provisions -  

1.  E-mail: 
(a)  An agency as defined in Sec. 119.011, F.S. or legislative entity that 

operates a website and uses electronic mail, shall post the following 
statement in a conspicuous location on its website: 
Under Florida law, e-mail addresses are public records.  If you do not want 
your e-mail address released in response to a public-records request, do 
not send electronic mail to this entity.  Instead, contact this office by phone 
or in writing. (Sec. 668.6076, F.S.) 
The Communications Office is responsible for ensuring the website 
includes this statement.  

(b) E-mail messages made or received by members in connection with official 
business are public records.  They are subject to disclosure in the 
absence of an exemption.  (AGO 96-34)   

(c)  E-mail is subject to the statutory restrictions on destruction of public 
records.  See Management Policy 9.04, Records Management regarding 
e-mail retention and archiving. 

(d) Personal e-mail does not automatically become public record.  The 
content of personal e-mail constitutes whether it is public record or not.  

http://safetynet/hsmvpolicies/AllPolicies/OED/Policy_MP_9.04.doc�
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However, Management Policy 8.03, Personal Computer Use and Internet 
Access, governs the use of state computers for personal use. 

(e) E-mail conveying official business from a member’s personal account is 
prohibited, except for an emergency situation.  In the event of such use, 
the e-mail is public record of the department.  If members use a personal 
account to convey official business, a copy of such e-mail must be sent to 
that member’s department e-mail address for storage. 

2.  Providing information to individuals as a favor by department members is 
contrary to department policy.  Department members who request information 
for personal use will pay the appropriate fee(s) as displayed in this policy.   

3.  The Department records all text and PIN messages sent or received by all 
State-issued or managed Blackberries.  These messages will be maintained 
and produced as a public record pursuant to the department’s established 
records retention guidelines.  Except in an emergency situation, such text and 
PIN messages should be used only for transitory messages such as meeting 
reminders or agency announcements that are not intended to formalize or 
perpetuate knowledge or set policy or procedures. 

4. Electronic communications of any kind that address official public business, 
even if communicated over a personal device, are subject to disclosure as a 
public record. 
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(Attachment A) 
Charges and Fees 

1.  Photocopies 

1. Members' personnel files (Sec.112.218, F.S.) 

a. Copies $ .50/page 

b. Certified copies $ 1.00/page 

2. Traffic crash reports (Sec.321.23(2)(a), F.S.) $ 10.00/copy 
3. Homicide reports (Sec.321.23(2)(b), F.S.) $ 25.00/copy 
4. Photocopies of any citations, forms, documents, booklets, 
letters, status reports, etc., made in reference to a specific 
individual(s) (Sec.322.20(11)(a), F.S.) 

$ .50/page 

5. Certified photographic copy of any item in A.4. above $1.00/page 
6. Noncertified photographic copies of motor vehicle 
documents (Sec.320.05, F.S.) $ 1.00/page 

7. Noncertified photographic copy of micrographic records 
(Sec.320.05, F.S.) $1.00/page 

8. Certified copies of motor vehicle records (Sec.320.05, F.S.) $ 3.00/record 
9.  Noncertified computer-generated printouts of motor vehicle 
or vessel records (Sec.320.05, F.S.) $.50/record 

10.  Certified computer-generated printouts of motor vehicle or 
vessel records (Sec.320.05, F.S.) $3.00/record 

11.  Electronic access to motor vehicle, vessel, and mobile 
home registration data requested by tag, vehicle identification 
number, title number, or decal number. (Sec.320.05, F.S.) 

$.50/item 

12.  Electronic access to driver’s license status report by name, 
sex, and date of birth or by driver license number. (Sec.320.05, 
F.S.) 

$.50/item 

13. Duplication of any item not covered by above statutory 
charges (Sec.119.07, F.S.) 

$ .15/page or $ 
.20/double-
sided copy 

2. Computer-generated Data 

1. List of licensed drivers 
statewide/portion (Sec.322.20(8), F.S.) 

$ .01/name 

2. List of licensed drivers 
statewide/portion (Sec.322.20(8), 
F.S.), plus additional information not 
covered under Sec.322.20(8), F.S. 

Processing charges will be 
assessed in addition to the 
$.01/name charge. Special 
Service Charge  
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3. Lists of motor vehicle records for 
the entire state, or any part or parts 
thereof, divided according to counties 
(Sec.320.05, F.S.)  

Not less than $.01 nor more than 
$.05/item 

4. Lists of licensed motor vehicle dealers (Sec.320.05, F.S.) 

a. Listings $ 25.00 each 

b. Labels (1 7/16" x 4" pressure 
sensitive) or magnetic tape 

$ 25.00 each (Labels or 
magnetic media furnished by 
requester) 

5. Lists of licensed mobile home dealers and manufacturers and 
recreational vehicle dealers and manufacturers (Sec.320.05, F.S.) 

a. Listings $ 15.00 each 

b. Labels or magnetic media (as 
4.b. above) 

$ 15.00 each 

6. Special programming 
(Sec.119.07(1)(b), F.S.) 

Special Service Charge 

3.  Driver History Transcript (Sec.322.20(11)(a), F.S.) 
Fee requirements for driver information do not apply when there is a need for 
correction of a driver history record.  When information is provided to an individual, 
his employer, his attorney, or an insurance agent, regarding incorrect information 
concerning a suspension, revocation, cancellation, conviction, or other data appearing 
on a record, no fee is required.  

1. Terminal search of 3-year driver record (if no record is found) $ 8.00 
each 

2. Transcript of 3-year record (including search fee) $ 8.00 
each 

3. Terminal search of 7-year or complete driver record (if no record is 
found) 

$ 10.00 
each 

4. Transcript of 7-year or complete record (including search fee) $ 10.00 
each 

5. Certified copy of a transcript of driver history record $ 3.10 
each 

6. Exemplified record $ 15.00 
each 

7.  Assisting persons in searching any one individual’s driver record at 
a terminal located at the Tallahassee headquarters 

$2.00 
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4.  Crash Photographs (s.321.23)(2)(c)) 

Type Black and White  Color 
5" x 7" enlargement $ .75 each $ 1.00 each 
8" x 10" enlargement $ 1.00 each $ 1.50 each 
11" x 14" enlargement $ 1.75 each Not available 
16" x 20" enlargement $ 2.75 each Not available 
20" x 24" enlargement $ 3.75 each Not available 

5. Manuals 
(electronic copy format to department's Internet is at no cost to the requestor)  

1. DMV Procedures Manual (Sec.320.05, F.S.) $ 25.00 each 
2. All other manuals Actual Cost 

If an actual manual is provided, the actual cost of publication as paid by the state will 
be charged.  If a manual is photocopied, the actual cost will be calculated at $.15 per 
page or $.20 per double-sided copy plus the cost of a binder if provided plus 
applicable personnel charges.  (Sec.119.07(1)(a), F.S.) 

6. Audiovisual Materials 

1. Audio tape copy Actual Cost plus 
Special Service 
Charge 

2. Videotape record copy (Sec.320.05, F.S.) $ 15.00 each 

7. Microfilm and Microfiche:  Actual Cost (Sec.119.07(1)(a), F.S.)  
8. Remote Electronic Access:  (Sec.119.07(1), F.S.; Sec.119.085, F.S.; Sec.320.05, 

F.S.) 
Information from the department's motor vehicle and/or driver license databases is 
available through online service providers.  For more information, contact the Bureau 
of Records or the Information Research Services Office, Division of Motorist 
Services, Neil Kirkman Building or www.flhsmv.gov/data/internet2.html. 
a. Requesters must subscribe to one of the designated online service providers.  
b.  Requesters must submit an application and deposit to the department.  The deposit 

is based on the estimated number of inquiries to the motor vehicle and/or driver 
databases for a period of two and a half months, times $.50. The minimum deposit 
is $5.00 for each database.  

c.  The deposit is held in escrow until the service is canceled.  At that time the 
deposit will be fully refunded without interest or used to cover the outstanding 
charges.  

d.  Access charges are:  

http://www.flhsmv.gov/data/internet2.html�
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1.Motor vehicle and mobile home registration data requested by 
tag, VIN, title number, or decal number 

$ .50/requested 
item 

2.Driver license status report by name, sex, and date of birth or 
by driver license number 

$ .50/requested 
item 

3. Driver license number(s) by minimum of last name and first 
initial. (Produces a name, address and driver license number 
listing of all individuals meeting the entered criteria. Requires a 
second inquiry as per 2. above to obtain a status report) 

$ 1.00/inquiry 

e.  The online service provider will collect the fees for the online service and 
database access charges and deposit the department's fees into a designated 
account.  

9.  Driver History Transcript Electronic Access:  A transcript is available through a 
network provider or in some cases by secure data exchange.  For more information, 
contact the Chief, Bureau of Records, Neil Kirkman Building.  
a.  In order to qualify for direct connection to a port, a network provider must agree 

to submit a minimum of 5,000 transactions per month, after the first six months.  
b.  Network providers and secure data exchange requesters must obtain written 

approval from the department.  
c.  Network providers and secure data exchange requesters must pay all costs 

associated with access to the system.  Such costs include, but are not limited to, 
leased telephone line connection, modem/DSU, and system port. No dial-up 
access to the system will be authorized.  

d.  Network providers and secure data exchange requesters will pay the department, 
through daily electronic fund transfer, for all transactions processed through their 
leased lines.  

e.  Driver history transcript costs will be calculated as described in item 3 above.  
Network providers will also pay a prorated system cost recovery fee.  

f.  End users are the customers and responsibility of the authorized network provider. 
The department will not interact directly with any end users. Network providers 
will maintain a help desk for their end users.  
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(Attachment B) 
 

DEPARTMENT OF HIGHWAY SAFETY AND MOTOR VEHICLES 
PUBLIC RECORDS EXEMPTION SUMMARY 

 
Section 119.011(11), F.S., defines “public records” to include: 
 

all documents, papers, letters, maps, books, tapes, photographs, films, sound 
recordings, data processing software, or other material, regardless of the physical 
form, characteristics, or means of transmission, made or received pursuant to law 
or ordinance or in connection with the transaction of official business by the 
agency. 

 
An agency claiming an exemption from disclosure bears the burden of proving the right to an 
exemption.  The custodian of the record must state the basis for any exemption and provide the 
statutory basis for the exemption.  If a record contains some information that is exempt, the law 
requires the custodian to delete or excise only that portion for which the exemption applies and 
to provide the remainder of the record. 
 
 
What are the statutory exemptions relating to law enforcement and security records? 
 

1. Active criminal investigative and intelligence information exemption, 
Sec.119.071(2)(c)1, F.S. 

2. Autopsy photographs and recordings, Sec.406.135(2), F.S. 
3. “Baker Act” reports, Sec.394.463(2)(a)2, F.S..  
4. Confessions by a person arrested until case completed, Sec.119.071(2)(e), F.S. 
5. Confidential informants, Sec.119.071(2)(f), F.S. 
6. Criminal history information obtained from other states or federal criminal justice 

agencies and records sealed or expunged by court order, Sec. 943.053(2), F.S., 
Sec.943.059, F.S., Sec.943.0585, F.S. 

7. Emergency “911” voice recordings, as to those portions identifying name, address, 
telephone number or personal information identifying the caller, Sec.365.171(12), F.S. 

8. Fingerprint records - Biometric identification information is exempt from Sec.119.07(1), 
F.S.  The term “biometric identification information” means any record of friction ridge 
detail, fingerprints, palm prints and footprints,  Sec.119.071(5), F.S. 

9. Firearms records, agency not to maintain list or registry of owners except for records of 
firearms used in criminal act or relating to persons convicted of crime, Sec.790.335(2), 
F.S. and identity of concealed firearms permit holder protected, Sec.790.0601(1), F.S. 

10. Juvenile offender records, Sec.985.04(1), F.S.; but child traffic violators may be 
disclosed, Sec.985.11(3), F.S. and a child’s name, photo, address and arrest report may be 
disclosed if arrested for a felony or who is transferred to the adult system, Sec.985.04(2), 
F.S. 
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11. Law enforcement personnel records, as to complaints against an officer, Sec.112.533(2), 
F.S.; as to home address, telephone number, etc., Sec.119.071(4)(d)1, F.S. 

12. Motor vehicle records  
a. Crash reports, first 60 days, Sec.316.066(5)(a), F.S. 
b. Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles records, see Management 

Policy 9.02. 
13. Pawnbroker records, Sec.539.003, F.S. 
14. Prison and inmate records, as to Department of Corrections records per Sec.945.10, F.S., 

otherwise subject to disclosure. 
15. Resource inventories and emergency response plans, Sec.119.071(2)(d), F.S. 
16. Security system information and blueprints, Sec.281.301, F.S., Sec.119.071(3)(a) and 

(3)(b)1, F.S. 
17. Surveillance techniques, procedures or personnel, Sec.119.071(2)(d), F.S. 
18. Victim information; see Sec.119.071(2)(h), F.S., Sec.119.011(3)(c)2, F.S., 

Sec.119.071(2)(j)1 and (2)(h)1, F.S. as applicable. 
 
 
Exemptions specific to DHSMV 
 
 Section 112.533(2)(a), F.S. – Complaints against law enforcement officers.  Confidential 
until the investigation ceases to be active, or until the agency head or agency head’s designee 
provides written notice to the officer who is the subject of the complaint, that the agency has 
either concluded the investigation with a finding not to proceed with disciplinary charges or to 
file charges; or concluded the investigation with a finding to proceed with disciplinary action or 
to file charges. 
 
 Section 316.066(5)(a), F.S. – Except as otherwise provided in the exemption, crash 
reports that reveal the identity, home or employment telephone number or home or employment 
address of, or other personal information concerning the parties involved in the crash and that are 
held by an agency that regularly receives or prepares information from or concerning the parties 
to motor vehicle crashes are confidential and exempt from public disclosure requirements for a 
period of 60 days after the date the report is filed. 
 
 Section 320.025(3), F.S. – All records relating to the registration application of a law 
enforcement agency, Attorney General’s Medicaid Fraud Control Unit, or public defender’s 
office for motor vehicle or vessel registration and license plates or decals issued under fictitious 
names, are exempt from Sec.119.07(1), F.S. as long as the information is retained by the 
Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. 
 
 Section 320.05(2), F.S. – Information on motor vehicle or vessel registration records of 
the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles shall not be made available to a person 
unless the person requesting the information furnishes positive proof of identification. 
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 Section 322.125(3) and (4), F.S. – When a member of the Medical Advisory Board acts 
directly as a consultant to the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, a board 
member’s individual review of the physical and mental qualifications of a licensed driver or 
applicant is exempt from Sec.286.011, F.S.  Reports received or made by the board or its 
members for the purpose of assisting the department in determining whether a person is qualified 
to be licensed are for confidential use of the board or department and may not be divulged to any 
person except to the driver or applicant or used as evidence in any trial except proceedings under 
Sec.322.271, F.S. or Sec.322.31, F.S. 
 
 Section 322.126(3), F.S. – Disability reports are confidential and exempt from 
Sec.119.07(1), F.S. and may be used solely for the purpose of determining the qualifications of 
any person to operate a motor vehicle. 
 
 Section 322.142(4), F.S. – Reproductions of color photographic or digital imaged 
licenses shall be made and issued only for the purposes set forth in the subsection and are exempt 
from Sec.119.07(1), F.S. 
 
 Section 322.20(3), F.S. – The release by the Department of Highway Safety and Motor 
Vehicles of the driver history record, with respect to crashes involving a licensee, shall not 
include any notation or record of the occurrence of a motor vehicle crash unless the licensee 
received a traffic citation as a direct result of the crash, and to this extent such notation or record 
is exempt from Sec.119.07(1), F.S. 
 
 Section 322.20(9), F.S. – The Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles shall 
furnish without charge specified driver license information from the Division of Motorist 
Services to the courts for the purpose of jury selection or to any state agency, state attorney, 
sheriff or chief of police.  Such court, state agency, state attorney, or law enforcement agency 
may not sell, give away, or allow the copying of such information.  Noncompliance with this 
prohibition shall authorize the department to charge the non-complying court, state agency, state 
attorney, or law enforcement agency the appropriate fee for any subsequent lists requested. 
 
 Section 328.40(3), F.S. – All records kept or made by the Department of Highway Safety 
and Motor Vehicles under the vessel registration law are public records except for confidential 
reports. 
 
 Section 627.736(9)(a), F.S. – Reports from insurers regarding cancellations and policy 
renewals and reports of the issuance of new policies that have been received by the Department 
of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles pursuant to this section are confidential and exempt from 
Sec.119.07(1), F.S.  The records are to be used for enforcement and regulatory purposes only, 
except as provided in the subsection. 
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 Section 119.071(2)(c), F.S. – Active criminal intelligence information and active 
criminal investigative information, including information related to law enforcement’s access to 
or use of the Driver and Vehicle Information Database (DAVID). 
 

Section 119.071(2)(d), F.S. – Any information revealing surveillance techniques or 
procedures or personnel, including information related to law enforcement’s access to or use of 
the Driver and Vehicle Information Database (DAVID). 

 
Section 119.071(4)(c), F.S. – Any information revealing undercover personnel of any 

criminal justice agency, including information related to access or use of the Driver and Vehicle 
Information Database (DAVID). 

 
Section 119.0712(2), F.S. - Personal information in a motor vehicle record is confidential 

and exempt from Sec.119.07(1), F.S.  Personal information includes, but is not limited to, an 
individual’s social security number, driver identification number or identification card number, 
name, address, telephone number, medical or disability information, and emergency contact 
information.  "Motor vehicle record" means any record that pertains to a motor vehicle operator's 
permit, motor vehicle title, motor vehicle registration, or identification card issued by the 
Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles.  
  
 Section 119.0712(2), F.S. - Personal information made confidential and exempt may be 
disclosed by the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles to an individual, firm, 
corporation, or similar business entity whose primary business interest is to resell or re-disclose 
the personal information to persons who are authorized to receive such information.  Prior to the 
department's disclosure of personal information, such individual, firm, corporation, or similar 
business entity must first enter into a contract with the department regarding the care, custody, 
and control of the personal information to ensure compliance with the federal Driver's Privacy 
Protection Act of 1994 and applicable state laws.  
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(Attachment C) 
 

Standard Language for Acknowledgement 
 

SAMPLE 
 
This will acknowledge receipt of your request of (insert date) for public records from the 
Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. 
 
We will promptly locate the records sought and notify you when they are available, along with 
any applicable copying fees and estimated labor costs, if any, authorized by law.  In lieu of 
copies, we can arrange for you to inspect the records, subject to proper supervision. 
 
If you have any questions, you may contact me at (insert phone number) or by e-mail at (insert 
e-mail address). 
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(Attachment D) 
 

Invoice Cover Letter 
 

SAMPLE 
 
Enclosed please find an invoice for your public records request.  Upon payment of the amount 
shown, we will forward copies of the records requested.  Please make your check or money order 
payable to the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles and send it to (insert address). 
 
If you have any questions, you may contact me at (insert phone number) or by e-mail at (insert 
e-mail address). 

INVOICE 
 

DATE:   (Insert date) 
To: (Requestor’s Name & Address)) 
 
QUANTITY DESCRIPTION UNIT 

PRICE 
AMOUNT 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

   

   
SHIPPING 
& 
HANDLING 
 

 

  TOTAL 
DUE 

 

 

 
 
Make checks or money orders payable to:  Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles 
If you have any questions concerning this invoice, call or e-mail:  (insert name, phone number, 
e-mail) 
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