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 Truancy reporting 

Statutory Reference: Section 322.091, Florida Statutes 

Current Situation: State law requires DHSMV to report to each school district on a quarterly basis, 

those students whose driving privilege has been suspended for truancy. This function is now 

automated for all school districts to access. Any school needing information on students whose 

licenses have been suspended under s. 322.091, F.S. can access in real time.  

Proposed Change: Removes obsolete language related to the manual reporting of students whose 

driving privileges have been suspended for truancy. This report is no longer generated and 

distributed to each school district since the process has been automated.  By placing this information 

on an accessible website, the individual school boards access the information when needed. 

 Law Enforcement Officer Training Reimbursement 

Statutory Reference: Section 943.16, Florida Statutes 

Current Situation: State law allows law enforcement agencies to collect training costs from their 

employee if they leave within two years of completing their training. The Florida Highway Patrol 

continues to lose qualified members to other law enforcement agencies due to higher pay, 

opportunities closer to their home along with other issues.   

Proposed Change: Increase the reimbursement requirement from 2 years to 3 years. This change 

will encourage more members to stay another year and complete their obligation to the agency for 

training them. 

 Use of Drones 

Statutory Reference: Section 934.50, Florida Statutes 

Current Situation: State law prohibits the use of drones, unmanned aerial vehicles, by law 

enforcement for surveillance and evidence gathering. This prohibits the FHP from collecting 

evidence from traffic crashes. There is potential for drone use by the FHP for complex traffic crash 

scenes where aerial photos and aerial scene mapping can aid in clearing the roads more 

expeditiously. 

Proposed Change: Creates a pilot program in coordination with the FDOT traffic management to 

allow law enforcement to use drones for traffic crash management and clearance. 
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 Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration Compatibility (FMCSA) 

Statutory Reference: Section 316.302, Florida Statutes 

Current Situation: In 2007, the FMCSA delivered a 2007 Motor Carrier Safety Assistance Program 

(MCSAP) review. The findings concluded that Florida Statutes have multiple compatibility concerns 

with federal regulations.  

Proposed Change: This proposal addresses several of these concerns, updates the newly enacted 

regulation or amendments within three years, and provides for language clarification. These changes 

resolve compatibility concerns from FMCSA between existing state law and federal regulations. 

 Serious disqualifying offense for a Commercial Motor Vehicle (CMV) 

Statutory Reference: Section 322.61, Florida Statutes 

Current Situation: In 2013, s. 316.3025, F.S. was amended to codify Florida law that a federal 

prohibition existed on drivers of CMVs using handheld devices while driving.  Section 322.61, F.S. 

should also have been amended to add this infraction to the list of serious disqualifying offenses.   

Proposed Change: This proposed change incorporates violations for texting or using a handheld 

phone device while operating a CMV as a serious disqualifying offense to align with federal 

regulations as noted in FMCSA compliance pre-audit. 

 International Registration Plan 

Statutory Reference: Sections 320.0715(1) and 320.01(24), Florida Statutes 

Current Situation: The International Registration Plan (IRP) is a cooperative registration 

agreement among all of the states in the continental United States, the District of Columbia and 

certain Canadian provinces. The IRP allows a carrier to register once for all the jurisdictions, rather 

than dealing with each jurisdiction separately. The IRP jurisdictions voted in favor of amending the 

definition of Apportionable Vehicle which became effective January 1, 2016. This amendment 

removed Charter Buses as a vehicle exempt from IRP registration.  All Charter Buses operating 

interstate are now required to obtain IRP registration or purchase trip permits. Florida is required by 

federal law to maintain its interstate commercial motor vehicle registration programs in conformance 

with the IRP. 

Proposed Change: Revises the definition of "Apportionable Vehicle" to bring Florida's statutory 

definition of "apportionable vehicle" in alignment with the requirements of the International 

Registration Plan (IRP).  
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 Issuance of Apportionable Vehicle Plates  

Statutory Reference: Section 320.06 and 320.0715(1), Florida Statutes 

Current Situation: Florida is a member of the International Registration Plan (the Plan) and 

registers apportionable vehicles pursuant to the provisions the Plan as provided for in state law. An 

Apportionable vehicle is one that displays a restricted plate, has a gross weight in excess of 26k lbs 

and has three or more axels. These plates are only valid for one year. 

Proposed Change: Revises the issuance time frame for apportioned plates to be longer than one 

year, and will provide for free replacement for damaged or worn apportioned plates. This change 

will allow companies that utilize apportioned plates the ability to keep their license plates longer and 

will make placing the plates on fleets less burdensome. 

 Transporter License Plates (TLP) 

Statutory Reference: Chapter 320, Florida Statutes 

Current Situation: State law does not authorize DHSMV or law enforcement to conduct 

inspections on the use of TLP. These plates are issued to any applicant who incidental to the conduct 

of his or her business, engages in the transporting of motor vehicles which are not currently 

registered to any owner and which do not have license plates. Current law does not require the 

applicant to prove they are a transporter plate eligible business. 

Proposed Change:  The Department seeks to prevent misuse of TLPs by providing clearer 

guidelines on the types of businesses that qualify to use these plates.  To better manage the issuance 

and use of TLPs by requiring applicants to prove a need for this plate and to provide DHSMV and 

law enforcement with tools that will allow better oversight of the usage of the plate. DHSMV has 

discovered businesses are using TLP's on their company vehicles rather than on vehicles they are 

transporting.  The vehicles are not properly insured or registered with the state of Florida. DHSMV 

has discovered TLPs issued in large quantities to a business with more issued in the business owner's 

personal name but have little or no authority to inquire as to whether the license plates are being 

used appropriately. 

 Expedited Shipping Service 

Statutory Reference: Section 322.21, Florida Statutes 

Current Situation: Current law provides the authority to charge a service fee for customers to 

receive titles in an expedited timeframe. However, the law does not provide the authority for the 

Department to collect an expedited shipping cost related to driver licenses and identification cards 

from customers. For example, Florida residents needing an immediate driver license or identification 

card issuance, such as a replacement or renewal, who are not able to visit an office oftentimes call 

the customer service center to request expedited shipping of their transaction via the online portal.  
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To assist these customers, customer service agents must have the customer pre-pay directly to a mail 

courier service for the expedited shipping cost.   

Proposed Change: Allows the Department to collect payment for expedited shipping of driver 

license and identification cards at the request of the customer for online transactions. Provides the 

Department the ability to automate this process; thereby, creating a more efficient process and 

improving customer service to those customers requesting such service. 

 Stolen identification cards 

Statutory Reference: Section 322.171(1)(b), Florida Statutes 

Current Situation: Section 322.17(1)(b), F. S. provides for the replacement of a driver license for 

no fee when reported stolen and accompanied by a police report to the person to whom the same was 

issued. There is no statutory authority to issue no fee replacement identification cards when stolen 

even when a police report is provided. The Department does not have the authority to waive the 

replacement fee. It is believed that replacement identification cards of this type were to be included 

when the original law was enacted.   

Proposed Change: This change allows the Department to serve its customers more consistently by 

providing them the ability to obtain a no fee identification card just as customers may obtain a no fee 

driver license if stolen by providing a copy of the police report. 
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