Guide to Owning LOW SPEED VEHICLES

A low speed vehicle (LSV) is a vehicle with a top speed greater than 20 MPH, but not greater than 25 MPH. **LSVs must be registered, titled and insured** with personal injury protection (PIP) and property damage liability (PDL) insurance.

Any person operating an LSV must have a valid driver license. LSVs may only be operated on streets where the posted speed limit is 35 MPH or less.

LSVs must be equipped with the following safety equipment:



To title and register an LSV, bring the following documents to an FLHSMV or tax collector office, *flhsmv.gov/locations*:

- Manufacturer's Certificate of Origin;
- Form HSMV 82040 (Application for Title) flhsmv.gov/forms;
- \bullet Proof of Florida insurance, minimum \$10,000 PDL and \$10,000 PIP;
- Identification driver license, ID card or passport; and
- Payment for applicable fees, flhsmv.gov/fees;
 - Title fee
- Initial registration fee, if applicable
- Plate fee Registration fee (varies by weight of vehicle)



Golf Carts

Golf carts are defined in section 320.01(22), Florida Statutes, as "a motor vehicle that is designed and manufactured for operation on a golf course for sporting or recreational purposes and that is not capable of exceeding speeds of 20 MPH." **Golf carts** may be operated on roadways that are designated for golf carts with a posted speed limit of 30 MPH or less.

Beginning October 1, 2023, a person operating a golf cart on public roads or streets who is under 18 years of age must possess a valid learner's driver license or valid driver license, and a person who is 18 years of age or older must possess a valid form of government-issued photographic identification.

Converted Golf Carts

Prior to titling and registering a converted golf cart, the vehicle must be inspected and assigned a VIN at a Motorist Services Regional Office. **The converted golf cart must be street-legal before applying for title and registration.** *flhsmv.gov/locations*

Trailer the converted golf cart to a Motorist Services Regional Office and present the following documents and fees for an inspection, VIN assignment, title and registration:

- Manufacturer's Certificate of Origin or a bill of sale for the golf cart form HSMV 84490 (Statement of Builder) completed by customer and compliance examiner/inspector;
- Form HSMV 86064 (Affidavit for Golf Cart Modified to a Low Speed Vehicle);
- Original bill(s)s of sale or receipt(s) for all parts used to convert the golf cart;
- Certified weight slip for the converted golf cart.
- Form HSMSV 82040 (Application for Title);
- Proof of Florida insurance (minimum \$10,000 PDL and \$10,000 PIP);
- Sales tax or sales tax exemption information for all parts;
- Identification driver license, ID card or passport; and
- Applicable fees, *flhsmv.gov/fees*
 - Inspection fee Initial registration fee, if applicable Plate fee
 - Title fee Registration fee (varies by weight of vehicle)

All-Terrain Vehicles

Florida law, states that all-terrain vehicles (ATV) may only be operated on unpaved roadways where the posted speed limit is less than 35 MPH and only during daylight hours. Anyone under the age of 16 operating an ATV on public land must be under the supervision of an adult and must have proof of completion of a Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (DACS) approved safety course. ATV operators and riders under the age of 16 must wear a USDOT approved safety helmet and eye protection. ATVs are titled, but not registered, and are not required to be insured with PIP and PDL coverage. (Sections 261.20, 316.2074 and 316.2123, Florida Statutes)

flhsmv.gov/lowspeedvehicles