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AND DRIVER 
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Review Process

ONLINE RESOURCES

FLHSMV  
(Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles)

www.flhsmv.gov/MedicalReview

Florida GrandDriver Program
www.flhsmv.gov/FloridaGrandDriver

Florida Driver License Handbook
www.flhsmv.gov/handbooks

Florida Statutes pertaining to the Medical  
Advisory Board and the medical review process. 

(Chapter 322, Florida Statutes)
www.leg.state.fl.us/Statutes/index.cfm

Medical Advisory Board Guidelines 
(15A-5, F.A.C.)

www.flrules.org/

Safe Mobility for Life
www.safemobilityfl.com

Certified Driver Rehabilitation Specialists
www.aded.net

Transportation Alternatives
www.findarideflorida.org
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Division of Motorist Services
Bureau of Motorist Compliance

Medical Review Program
2900 Apalachee Parkway, MS 86
Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0570

For questions regarding  
medical conditions and  

driver safety, contact the 
Medical Review Program:

Phone: (850) 617-3814

Fax: (850) 617-3944

Email: medical@flhsmv.gov



The objective of this  
program is not to prevent 

an individual with a medical 
condition from driving, but  

to assure the condition does  
not interfere with the safe  

operation of a motor vehicle.

HOW IS THE DRIVER NOTIFIED OF 
FLHSMV’S DECISION?

Florida law requires that FLHSMV’s 
decision be rendered within 90 days 
of receipt of all requested medical 
information from the applicant or 
licensed driver. Once a decision is made, 
the applicant or licensed driver is notified 
in writing.

WHAT IF THE DRIVING  
PRIVILEGE IS DENIED?

The driver may, at any time, 
provide additional or updated 
medical information or a Certified 
Driver Evaluation by a Certified 
Driver Rehabilitation Specialist for 
reconsideration by the board.

WHAT HAPPENS AFTER FLHSMV  
RECEIVES A REFERRAL?

The referral is carefully screened to ensure 
the legitimacy of the information. If 
questionable, an investigation is performed 
to assure the complaint is substantiated 
before further action is taken. After 
FLHSMV ensures the validity of a report, 
the applicant or licensed driver may be 
required to take a re-examination or submit 
a medical report from their doctor for review 
by the Medical Advisory Board.

In some cases, the driver may be required to 
provide a report from a medical specialist. 
The medical report must be returned to 
the department within 45 days or the 
individual’s driving privilege will be revoked.

WHAT HAPPENS AFTER THE MEDICAL 
REPORT IS RETURNED TO FLHSMV?

The report is forwarded to the Medical 
Advisory Board for its review and 
recommendation. If approved, the driver 
may be required to take a re-examination 
and/or submit a follow-up medical report 
as a condition of licensure. However, if the 
driver has a medical condition that affects 
their ability to safely operate a motor vehicle 
and their records indicate they pose a risk  
to public safety, their driving privilege will be 
denied.

WHAT IS THE MEDICAL ADVISORY BOARD?

The Medical Advisory Board is a panel 
of physicians that advises the Florida 
Department of Highway Safety and Motor 
Vehicles (FLHSMV) with medical criteria and 
vision standards relating to the licensing 
of drivers. Board members also provide 
FLHSMV with recommendations after 
reviewing physician evaluations received  
as part of the medical review process.

HOW ARE MEDICAL REVIEWS INITIATED?

Florida law authorizes any physician,  
person or agency to report to FLHSMV an 
applicant or licensed driver who may not 
safely operate a motor vehicle due to a 
medical condition.

These referrals must be based on medical 
conditions or symptoms that could affect 
safe driving and not the age of the driver. 
FLHSMV receives referrals from courts, 
doctors, law enforcement, other state 
agencies, driver license personnel and 
concerned relatives or citizens.

Medical reporting is confidential under  
section 322.126, Florida Statutes.


