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I. REPORTING REQUIREMENTS 

 

The Department is afforded authority by Section 324.0221(1)(a) (Florida Motor Vehicle No- 

Fault Law), Florida Statutes, to develop procedures, rules and regulations to create and 

maintain an automobile insurance reporting database (insurance file). 

 

The purpose of this manual is to set forth the procedures to accommodate insurance company 

reporting and department processing of reported data. 

 

Section 324.0221(1) (a), Florida Statutes, reads in part: 

 

"Each insurer that has issued a policy providing personal injury protection coverage or 

property damage liability coverage shall report the cancellation or nonrenewal thereof 

to the department within 10 days after the processing date or effective date of each 

cancellation or nonrenewal. Upon the issuance of a policy providing personal injury 

protection coverage or property damage liability coverage to a named insured not 

previously insured by the insurer during that calendar year, the insurer shall report the 

issuance of the new policy to the department within 10 days. The report shall be in the 

form and format and contain any information required by the department and must be 

provided in a format that is compatible with the data processing capabilities of the 

department. Failure by an insurer to file proper reports with the department as required 

by this subsection constitutes a violation of the Florida Insurance Code. These records 

shall be used by the department only for enforcement and regulatory purposes, 

including the generation by the department of data regarding compliance by owners of 

motor vehicles with the requirements for financial responsibility coverage." 

 

Section 324.242(1), Florida Statutes, reads in part: 

 

The following information regarding Personal Injury Protection and Property Damage Liability 

insurance (PIP/PDL) policies held by the department is confidential and exempt from the 

provisions of s. 119.07(1). 

 

In addition, the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles shall release, upon 

receipt of a written request and a copy of a crash report by a person involved in a motor 

vehicle accident, by the person's attorney, or by a representative of the person's motor 

vehicle insurer, the name of the insurance company, and the policy number for the 

policy covering the vehicle name by the requesting party. 



2  

A. Requirements: 

 

1. Effective April 1, 1989, insurers must report to the Department of Highway 

Safety and Motor Vehicles (herein referred to as Department) certain 

information on a vehicle-by-vehicle basis, with certain exceptions. 

 

2. As required by law and these regulations, reports must be made to the 

Department whenever Personal Injury Protection and Property Damage 

Liability (PIP/PDL) coverage on a vehicle is issued, procured, renewed or 

continued in effect by payment of a premium on a periodical basis ("continuous 

policy"), recalled, reinstated, terminated, cancelled, or nonrenewed. Note – 

renewals are not needed if there is no lapse in insurance and no change in policy 

number. 

 

3. Such information must be transmitted to the Department in an efficient and 

timely manner in accordance with these regulations. 

 

4. Insurance companies shall provide contact information for the person(s) we can 

contact for Business and Technical questions and update the department as 

needed. 

 

5. Insurance companies shall not provide information to the Department except as 

required by law or these regulations. Examples of information which shall not 

be submitted to the Department include, but are not limited to, the following: 

 

a. Information on non-liability coverage such as collision and 

comprehensive policies. 

 

b. Information on liability policies not in compliance with the Florida 

Motor Vehicle No-Fault Law (such as umbrella policies with excess 

coverage and non-ownership policies). 

 

c. Addition or deletion of other drivers. 

 

6. The purpose of the information required is to enforce the Florida Motor Vehicle 

No-Fault Law. In order to preserve the proprietary information of insurance 

companies, reports submitted by insurers to the Department of Highway Safety 

and Motor Vehicles shall not constitute a public record for the purposes of 

s.119.07, Florida Statutes, and are exempt from the requirements of that section 

and shall be retained as confidential records to be used for enforcement and 

regulatory purposes only. 



 

7. These regulations permit adjustments to procedures and requirements. 

Insurers will be advised by mail of any changes in the procedures and 

requirements of this section. A minimum of ninety (90) days from date of 

notice will be allowed for implementation of changes. Such mailings will be 

called "Advisory Bulletins" or "Memorandums" from the Department 

of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles.  These bulletins or memorandums 

may also contain clarification, helpful hints, and such additional information as 

may be deemed applicable for compliance with the Florida Motor Vehicle No- 

Fault Law. Moreover, in the event that an unusual situation is not covered by 

these regulations, a reasonable procedure consistent with the Florida Motor 

Vehicle No-Fault Law will be followed. 

 

8. Procedural questions concerning these regulations should be referred to: 

Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, Bureau of Motorist 

Compliance, 2900 Apalachee Parkway, Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0585, 

Attention: Insurance Liaison, Room A201, MS-97 (Telephone 850/617-2508, 

FAX 850/617-3937) or email at FLHSMVInsuranceLiaison@flhsmv.gov . 

 

B. Definitions and General Information 

 

1. Department: Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV). 

 

2. Encoded Storage Media: File Transfer Protocol (FTP) used to transmit data 

machine readable by the installed computer system of the Department and 

which conforms with the technical filing specifications. 

 

3. Initial Load Media: Electronic transmissions produced by the insurance 

companies containing all currently effective policies processed by the 

Department to create policy records on the insurance file. 

 

4. Edit Error: A record submitted by an insurance company or servicing agent 

unacceptable for filing purposes due to the absence of information in a required 

field or the presence of invalid information in the key data fields identified and 

detailed in the technical filing specifications. 

 

Any record which is returned to an insurance company or servicing agent as an 

edit error is not considered a filing and must be corrected within 30 days from 

the Department's error return date (positions 257-264 of the returned record 

filing). 

 

5. Filing Report: A report prepared by the Department for an insurance company 

or servicing agent to verify data submitted following completion of processing 

that data. Such reports shall contain filing date(s), statistical data, and the 

disposition of each record. Companies will receive their filing report on 

submitted media. 
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6. Fleet Policy: A policy insuring a business with a fleet of more than 

twenty-five vehicles registered in Florida by any insurance company 

writing motor vehicle PIP/PDL insurance coverage. (See Section III – 

Fleet Coverage.) 

 

7. Insurance Company Code: A unique number assigned to each insurance 

company by the Florida Department of Insurance and the National Association 

of Insurance Commissioners Code (NAIC). Either code may be used for 

reporting purposes; however, the Florida code is required on Florida 

Automobile Insurance Identification Cards. 

 

8. Nonrenewal: A nonrenewal of a motor vehicle liability insurance policy shall 

include: 

 

a. a refusal by the insurer to issue a superseding policy or a renewal of 

such policy; or 

 

b. a request by the insured that a superseding policy not be issued or such 

policy not be renewed; or 

 

c. a failure of the insured to make the first premium payment due upon a 

superseding policy or a renewal of such policy offered by the insurer. 

 

Nonrenewals are to be reported in the same manner as cancellations. 

 

9. Notification: The furnishing of information by an insurer to the Department 

concerning PIP and PDL insurance on a motor vehicle, or a change or 

correction of data concerning the item of insurance, the vehicle or the named 

insured. 

 

10. Named Insured: The first named insured as listed in the policy. 

 

11. Owner's Driver License Number: The Florida driver license number of the 

named insured or Federal Employee Identification Number for a commercial 

business. The driver license number is not an option and is required unless the 

owner or policy holder does not have a Florida driver license. 

 

12. Recall of Notification: A notice submitted to the Department by an insurer or 

servicing agent, which rescinds a notification previously submitted to the 

Department in error. 
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13. Record: Information on a storage media pertaining to the items required 

by law and these regulations for an individual vehicle. (Refer to Section II 

- Technical Filing Specifications.) 

 

14. Servicing Agent: Any person or organization duly designated by an insurance 

company to prepare, transmit or deliver records on storage media on behalf of 

such insurance company. 

 

15. Cancellation of PIP or PDL: Any cancellation of PIP or PDL on a motor vehicle 

(whether caused by the insurer or insured). 

 

16. Motor Vehicle: "Motor Vehicle” means any self-propelled vehicle, private or 

commercial, with four or more wheels which is of a type both designed and 

required to be licensed for use on the highways of this state. Section 627.732(3), 

F.S. 

 

17. Policy Change: Initiation or termination of the required coverage, or any vehicle 

addition/deletion from policy. 

 

C. Notification of Issuance, Cancellation or Nonrenewal of PIP and PDL: 

 

1. An insurer must notify the Department within 30 days when a policy of 

PIP/PDL is issued or changed and within 45 days when a policy is cancelled, 

nonrenewed or terminated. 

 

2. Initial Load – (Florida newly licensed Insurance Companies Only) 

Insurers must provide an initial load media containing all policies issued by the 

reporting company that are effective on the date of initial load media 

production. Thereafter, only changes of vehicles and cancellation need be 

reported. 

 

3. Notification Method 

 

The insurance company or servicing agent in accordance with the technical 

filing specifications as set forth in Section II shall give notification of changes 

in transmissions to the Department. 

 

4. Manual Filing 

 

Manual filing of information by insurance companies will be permitted in the 

following situations: 
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a. Where the insurer covers less than 1,000 Florida registered 

vehicles; or 

 

b. Where the insurance company has less than 1,000 manually handled 

policies which provide PIP and PDL only. 

 

c. See Exhibit II, page 36 for form. (Manual copy should be reproduced 

and used for submission.) 

 

D. Recalling Notification: 

 

When an insurer discovers that a cancellation, nonrenewal or issuance was reported by 

mistake, the insurer must submit to the Department a notice of recall of notification as 

soon as possible. The effective date and all other data, except the transaction, must be 

the same as originally submitted in order to match the recall with the notification. (See 

Section V, Transaction Types.) 

 

E. Frequency of Filing: Electronic transmissions should be daily Monday through Friday, 

excluding state holidays, (see I for contact person). 

 

F. Notification of Cancellation or Nonrenewal: 

 

Every insurer with respect to each insurance policy providing PIP/PDL benefits shall 

notify the named insured or in the case of a commercial fleet policy, the first named 

insured, in writing, that any cancellation or nonrenewal of the policy will be reported 

by the insurer to the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. The notice 

shall also inform the named insured that failure to maintain PIP/PDL insurance on a 

motor vehicle when required by law may result in the loss of registration and driving 

privileges in this state and the notice shall inform the named insured of the amount of 

the reinstatement fees required by 

s. 324.0221(1)(b), F.S. This notice is for informational purposes only and no civil 

liability shall attach to an insurer due to failure to provide this notice. 

 

G. Exception: 

 

Taxicabs, limousines, vehicles registered to the government, federal, state, county, 

municipalities, and self-propelled vehicles of less than four wheels are not subject to 

the provisions of the Florida Motor Vehicle No-Fault Law. 

 

Effective 10/01/2006 reporting limits as required under s. 324.0221(1)(a), F.S. 

continues without change except that Taxicabs will be reported as all other vehicles 

with the understanding cancellations will denote cancellation of the liability policy, 

since they will not be required to carry PIP coverage. 
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H. Notice Requirements: 

 

All insurers issuing automobile PIP/PDL insurance policies in the state of Florida shall 

notify the Department in Tallahassee of all issuances, cancellations, modifications, or 

nonrenewals per Section 324.0221(1)(a), Florida Statutes (renewal reporting is not 

required at this time), as follows: 

 

1. The cancellation or nonrenewal of automobile insurance policies providing PIP 

or PDL benefits in the amount of at least $10,000 after April 1, 1989, shall be 

reported to the Department within 45 days from the effective date of such action 

by the insurer. 

 

2. The issuance of an automobile insurance policy providing PIP or PDL benefits 

in the amount of at least $10,000 after April 1, 1989, to a named insured not 

previously insured by the insurer during that calendar year, shall be reported to 

the Department within 30 days from the date of such issuance. 

 

3. Subsequent to the initial load as defined in Section I.C.2. and the issuance of an 

automobile insurance policy as defined in Section I.H.2., policy renewal is 

presumed unless the Department is notified otherwise. 

 

I. Format 

 

Such "Notice of Cancellation or Nonrenewal" or "Notice of Issuance" must be in a 

format as provided in this Procedures Manual for Implementation of the Florida 

MotorVehicle No-Fault Law. Questions concerning the manual can be obtained from 

the Bureau of Motorist Compliance, Department of Highway Safety and Motor 

Vehicles, 2900 Apalachee Parkway, Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0585, Attention: 

Insurance Liaison, Room A201, MS-97 (Telephone 850/617-2508, FAX 850/617-

3937) or email at FLHSMVInsuranceLiaison@flhsmv.gov . 

 

J. SR-21 Verification 

 

Effective 03-01-2007, all insurance companies must be able to respond to new 

electronic verification transaction code 12 via FTP. Reporting will be on a weekly 

basis. Subject to change due to volume. Return the records, as is, with exception of 

adding the Confirm or Denial flag in field position 87. Respond within 30 days. After 

30 days the record will be sent again with an ‘L’ in the disposition field position 350, 

indicating that it is late. 

mailto:FLHSMVInsuranceLiaison@flhsmv.gov


 

K. SR22/FR44 Certification of Liability Insurance 

 

Effective 07-01-2009, all insurance companies with 1000 policies or more must be able 

to file all SR22/FR44s electronically using new transaction codes 22/44 via FTP. 

 

SR22 must be filed within 15 working days of issuance. SR22s are needed for Bodily 

Injury Liability (BIL) limits of 10/20/10. 

 

FR44s must be filed within 15 working days of issuance. Effective 10-01-2007 FR44s 

are needed for higher BIL limits of 100/300/50 for individuals convicted of an alcohol 

related offense after 10-01-2007. (Anyone convicted on or prior to 10-01-07 will still 

require an SR22.) 

 

You do not need to report an SR22 and an FR44 for the same person. An FR44 will 

cover both limits needed. 

 

L. SR26/FR46 Certification of Cancellation - 

 

Effective 07-01-2009, all insurance companies with 1000 policies or more must be able 

to file all SR26/FR46s electronically using new transaction codes 26/46 via FTP. 

SR26/FR46s must be filed within 15 days of cancellation. The date of preparation must 

not be more than 30 days before the date of cancellation or termination. 

 

M. Company Reload 

 

Reload Instructions 

 

1. The Company creates a reload file of ONLY THEIR CURRENT POLICIES 

that contain only ‘Initiation of Insurance’, transaction type 20 records. The file 

should be sent as a regular A file after 10:00 am and an email message sent to 

the Insurance Liaison group. 

 

2. The Company will stop sending in the A files and sends in the reload file. The 

company will start sending the A file again once the reload file is processed. 

 

3. When we get the reload file of current policies, we will delete all of the Issued 

policies currently on our database. (Previously canceled policies are not 

deleted.) 

 

4. From the reload file we will load all of the Company’s current policies. 

 

5. The Company will retrieve the B file associated with that A file, correct records 

with an E in position 350, and resubmit the corrected records as part of their 

regular reporting file, taking into consideration the Record Type Rules. 
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The process is as follows: 

 

• Day ONE We flag your ISSUED policies for deletion. CANCELED 

policies are not deleted. 

• Day TWO We DELETE your ISSUED policies. 

• Day THREE We RE-LOAD your policies from your reload file. 

• Day FOUR You review your B file for error records. 

 

Any of the re-load records with errors must be resubmitted before changes are submitted for 

those policies. 
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II. TECHNICAL FILING SPECIFICATIONS 

 

A. Introduction 

 

The following are the specifications for insurance companies to use to Report Records as 

defined herein to the Department. 

 
B. Records Processing 

Upon receipt, file will be edited for the purpose of verification of format and reporting 

requirements, by identifying missing or invalid data. Accepted records (those without edit errors) 

will update the motor vehicle insurance file. Those records matching by VIN and/or DL number 

will also update other Department files. The reported information contained in those updated files 

will be used for departmental purposes only and will not be released to the public or to insurance 

companies in any form other than the filing report. 

C. Record Formats 

See record/file description pages 14 through 26. There are three types of records: header, filing, 

and report. Each of these is described below. 

1. Header Record - Record Type "H" 

The HEADER RECORD must be the first record. This record 

contains information pertaining to a particular submission. 

2. Filing Record - Record Type "F" 

 

The FILING RECORD is used by the insurance company for reporting 

required insurance information. The Department uses this same record 

for identifying those fields that have invalid or missing data. 

 

3. Report Record - Record Type "R" 

 

The REPORT RECORD, containing statistical information, is provided 

by the Department and will be the last record. 

 

Multiple company submission within the same insurance group. 

 
The format to submit multiple companies within the same insurance group on the same 

transmission is as follows: 

1. The first company header records followed by its filing records. 

 

2. The next company header records followed by its filing records. 
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D. Florida Motor Vehicle No-Fault Law FTP Reporting Procedures 

File Specifications 

1. File Name - The file name will be issued by the Department and is based on the 

insurance company's code. The name of the reporting file sent by the insurance 

company must end with 'A'. After the file is processed, it will be put back on the 

server with the file name ending with 'B'. Use the format as shown below: 

 

DHS.DDL.FTP.DMI****’A’ Reporting file 

 

DHS.DDL.FTP.DMI****’B’ File returned by Department 

 

2. The file must have a record length of 350 characters. 

 
3. There must be a carriage return or line feed at the end of each line. 

4. The file cannot exceed 50,000 records. 

‘****’ - insurance FL code 

 
PGP Keys 

 
The insurance company must generate two keys. A private key used to decrypt files and a 

public key which the Department will use to encrypt files. Contact the Department for 

needed information about exchanging keys and encrypting files. 

 

Logging into the FTP Server 

 

Once the PGP keys have been exchanged, an encrypted file will be sent to the 

insurance company containing a user name and password information. 

 

Sending and Retrieving Files 

 

The encrypted transaction file must be sent to the Department using the FTP 'put' command. 

When the file has been processed, the insurance company must use the 'get' command to 

retrieve the file. 

 
SR21 Verification Procedures 

1. File Name --The file name will mimic the book of business naming 

conventions. It will be put on the server with the file name ending with 'C' as 

shown in format below: 

DHS.DDL.FTP.DMI****'C' File sent from Department 
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2. Effective 02/13/2008, changes in identifying BIL/PDL limits were made to 

distinguish between lower limits (10k/20k/10k) and higher limits 

(100k/300k/50k) for convictions. 

 

The FR DUI Conviction cases begin with an ‘X’, for example ‘X12345678’. 

The ‘X’ will now indicate it is a DUI Case, convicted after 10-01-2007, 

requiring the verification of higher BIL/PDL limits of 100k/300k/50k. Non- 

DUI related Conviction ‘4’ Cases require verification of lower limits of 

10/20/10. Examples of Conviction “4” Cases are: Vehicular Homicide, 

Insurance Fraud, Manslaughter, etc. 

 

FR DUI cases will be verified to a manual verification paper list until 

companies can individually program for the new ‘X’ Case Type. Once a 

company is ready to test, you can email 

FLHSMVInsuranceLiaison@flhsmv.gov for further assistance. 

 

3. The Weekly ‘C’ file will be available by 6:30 a.m. EST each Monday to be 

picked up by the insurance company and reviewed for verification. The Daily 

‘SR21’ file will be available by 6:30 a.m. EST every Monday through Friday to 

be picked up by the insurance company and reviewed for verification. Verified 

records will be returned with the regular reporting file, the 'A' file. All records 

must be returned within thirty days or another record will be generated for 

verification with an 'L' in the disposition field position 350, indicating it is late. 

'****' - insurance FL code 

SR22/FR44 Reporting Procedures 

SR22/FR44s need to be reported when a driver is not able to prove Financial 

Responsibility by having the required liability coverage on the date of an offense. 

SR22/FR44s must be maintained continuously for 3 years from the original suspension 

date of the FR case. The renewal of an SR22/FR44 does not need to be reported unless 

there is a change in the policy number or there is a lapse in coverage and an SR26/FR46 

was reported. 

An SR22 is needed to certify BIL/PDL limits of at least 10/20/10 and an FR44 is 

needed to certify 100/300/50. Case numbers that begin with a 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, or 6 need an 

SR22 and case numbers that begin with an X in the verification process need an FR44. 

Note: Case type ‘2’s only need an SR22 for PIP/PDL insurance. 

1. File Name --This will be the same as the FTP Reporting Procedures. An SR22/FR44 

will be submitted as a transaction type 22 or 44 respectively. 

DHS.DDL.FTP.DMI****'A' Reporting File 

2. Errors will be returned in the ‘B’ file. 

'****' - insurance FL code 

mailto:FLHSMVInsuranceLiaison@flhsmv.gov
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SR26/FR46 Reporting Procedures 

SR26/FR46s need to be reported when a driver cancels their required liability coverage. 

An SR26/FR46 does not need to be reported unless there is a lapse in coverage. 

1. File Name --This will be the same as the FTP Reporting Procedures. An SR26/FR46 

will be submitted as a transaction type 26 or 46 respectively. 

DHS.DDL.FTP.DMI****'A' Reporting File 

2. Errors will be returned in the ‘B’ file. 

'****' - insurance FL code 

E. Further Information 

Technical questions concerning specifications should be referred to: Department of Highway Safety 

and Motor Vehicles, 2900 Apalachee Parkway,Tallahassee, FL 32399-0585, Attention: Insurance 

Liaison Room A201, MS-97, telephone (850)617-2508, fax (850)617-3937, or email at 
FLHSMVInsuranceLiaison@flhsmv.gov . 

mailto:FLHSMVInsuranceLiaison@flhsmv.gov


 

 

III. COMMERCIAL FLEET/ NON-FLEET FILING SPECIFICATIONS 

A. Eligibility 

 
Any insurance company writing motor vehicle liability insurance in Florida and insuring a business 

with a fleet of more than 25 vehicles registered in Florida, for which a certificate of insurance was 

issued, may at its option meet the reporting requirements for vehicle fleets on a policy basis in lieu 

of the per vehicle filing requirements as provided in this Regulation. This same option is available 

for commercial, non-fleet policies. 

 

B. When to Report 

 
See Section I, subsection C.1. & C.2. for reporting new and modified security. Cancellation on an 

entire fleet is required within 45 days; however, changes on individual vehicles are not required. 

However, the company has the option to report individual vehicles to the file. 

 

C. How to Report 

 
If all VIN numbers are available, the information may be reported as explained in Section II, 

subsection I. In the absence of VIN numbers, the information should be reported without VIN 

numbers using one record for the entire fleet or commercial, non-fleet. In either case, an "F" should 

be placed in the fleet-indicator field of the FILING RECORD. 
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IV. RECORD/FILE DESCRIPTION 
 

GENERAL 

 

All files shall have the following characteristics: 

Storage Media: File Transfer Protocol (FTP) 

Record Length: 350 

Character Codes: ASKI (Upper Case for Alpha) 

 
A = Alphabetic 

N = Numeric 

X = Alphanumeric 

NA = Not Applicable 

LJ = Left Justified 

RJ = Right Justified 

O = Optional 

R = Required 

C = Conditional 
 

Null values must be spaces for alphabetic and alphanumeric fields. 

Null values must be zeroes for numeric fields. 

After all records are written on your file, please write an end of file marker so we can verify all 

records were received in the transmission. The record should have ‘EOF’ in the first three 

positions and space filled after that. 
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System Name: Motor Vehicle Insurance 

Record Name: Insurance HEADER RECORD 

 

Item 

No. 

Field 

Position 

Field 

Size 

Elem. 

Char. 

Req. 

Just. 

Field 

Opt. 

 

Name 

1 1-5 5 N RJ R Ins-Company-Code 

2 6 1 A NA R Media-Sequence 

3 7 1 A NA R Record-Type (H) 

4 8-9 2 N NA R Transaction-Type (01) 

5 10-17 8 X LJ O Insurance-Inmedia-ID 

6 18-25 8 X LJ O Insurance-Outmedia-ID 

7 26-31 6 X NA R Filler 

8 32-35 4 N NA R Filler 

9 36-43 8 N NA R Date-Created(MMDDCCYY) 

10 44-266 223 X NA R Filler 

11 267-300 34 X NA O (For Ins Company Use) 

 

THE FOLLOWING FIELDS ARE RETURNED BY DHSMV 

12 301-330 30 X NA R Edit-Mask 

13 331-349 19 
   

Filler 

14 350 1 A N R Disposition 
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HEADER RECORD 

Field Description 

 

No. Field Name Description 
 

1. Ins-Company-Code NAIC code for insurance company preparing its 

own filing, or a Department supplied number. 

The Ins-Company-Code must be same in every 

FILING RECORD in the file. (An exception to 

this is multiple company submission, see page 10, 

Section II.) 

 

2. Media-Sequence Sequence character for this media ("A" through "Z" allowed). 

 

3. Record-Type Must be "H". 

 

4. Transaction-Type Must be "01". 

 

5. Insurance-Inmedia-ID *For insurance company use. 

 

6. Insurance-Outmedia-ID *For insurance company use. 

 

7. Filler Unused. Should be space filled. 

 

8. Filler Unused. Should be space filled. 

 

9. Date-Created (MMDDCCYY) date must be a valid date. 

 

10. Filler Unused. Should be space filled. 

 

11. Filler *For insurance company use. 

 

* Data in these fields will be returned to the Insurance Company, as is. 
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HEADER RECORD 

Field Description 

 

No. Field Name Description 
 

THE FOLLOWING FIELDS ARE RETURNED BY DHSMV: 

 

12. Edit-Mask For a HEADER RECORD with a disposition of "E" 

the edit-mask field will be used to indicate those item(s) 

in error. Each item is represented by a character position 

in the edit-mask field. A value of "1" signifies that the 

field is in error in the corresponding item. "0" signifies 

that the corresponding field is correct. For example, if 

the Date Created is missing, character position 312 will 

have a value of “1”. 

Item                    Character                    Position 

Filler… .............................................................. 301-305 

Service-Agent-Code… ............................................. 306 

Media Sequence… ................................................... 307 

Record-Type… ........................................................ 308 

Transaction-Type… ................................................. 309 

(Not Used)… ............................................................ 310 

Filler. ........................................................................ 311 

Date-Created… ......................................................... 312 

Filler… ............................................................... 313-330 

13. Filler 

14. Disposition "E" or space. 
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System Name: Motor Vehicle Insurance 

Record Name: Insurance FILING RECORD for 10, 11, 13, 20, 21, 30, 31, 32 

 

Item 

No 

Field 

Position 

Field 

Size 

Elem. 

Char. 

 

Just. 
Reg. 

Opt. 

Field 

Name 

1 1-5 5 N RJ R Ins-Company-Code 

2 6 1 A NA R Media Sequence 

3 7 1 A NA R Record-Type (F) 

4 8-9 2 N NA R Transaction-Type 

5 10-30 21 X LJ C Vin (Optional/Fleets) 

6 31-34 4 N NA R Vehicle-Year 

 

7 
 

35-39 
 

5 
 

X 
 

LJ 
 

R 
(Optional/fleet) CCYY 

Make-or-Model 

 

8 
 

40-69 
 

30 
 

X 
 

LJ 
 

R 
(optional/fleet) 
Ins-Policy-number 

9 70-85 16 A LJ R First-Name (optional if field 

 

10 
 

86-101 
 

16 
 

A 
 

LJ 
 

O 
21 is used) 

Middle-Name 

11 102-121 20 A LJ R Last-Name (optional if field 

 

12 
 

122 
 

1 
 

A 
 

LJ 
 

O 
21 is used) 

Name-Suffix 

13 123-152 30 X LJ O Address 

14 153-172 20 A LJ O City 

15 173-174 2 A NA O State 

16 175-183 9 N LJ O Zip-Code (324240000) 

17 184-196 13 X LJ O Florida DLN/Federal tax ID 

18 197 1 A NA R Company-Indicator 

19 198-205 8 N NA R Effective date 

 

20 
 

206 
 

1 
 

A 
 

NA 
 

R 
(MMDDCCYY) 
Fleet-Indicator 

21 207-256 50 A/N LJ O Non-Structured-Name 

22 257-264 8 N NA O Edit-error-Return-Date 

23 265-270 6 X NA O (For Insurance Co. Use) 

24 271-304 34 X NA O (For Insurance Co. Use) 

 

THE FOLLOWING FIELDS ARE RETURNED BY DHSMV 

 
25 305-329 25 X NA R Edit-Mask 

26 

 
 

27 

330-342 

 
 

343-349 

13 

 
 

7 

X LJ C Current DLN (item 17 is 

cross reference with this 

field if filled). 

Filler 
28 350 1 A NA R Disposition 
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Record Name: Insurance FILING RECORD TRANS-TYPE 12  (SR21 Verification) 

Item 

No 

Field 

Position 

Field 

Size 

Elem. 

Char. 
 
Just. 

Reg. 

Opt. 

Field 

Name 

1 1-5 5 N RJ RR Ins-Company-Code 

2 6 1 A NA RR Media Sequence 

3 7 1 A NA RR Record-Type (F) 

4 8-9 2 N NA RR Transaction-Type 12 

5 10-30 21 X LJ RR Vin (Optional/Fleets) 

6 31-34 4 N NA RR Vehicle-Year (Optional/fleet) 

CCYY 

7 35-39 5 X LJ RR Make-or-Model (optional/fleet) 

8 40-69 30 X LJ RR Ins-Policy-number 

9 70-78 9 N LJ RR * FR-CASE NUMBER (RR) 

10 79-86 8 N LJ RR REQUIRED COVERAGE 

11 87 1 X LJ R CONFIRM DENIAL FLAG 

(‘Y’ OR ‘N’) 

12 88 1 X LJ RR STATUS MESSAGE 

INDICATOR (0, 1, 2, 3, OR 

SPACES ) 

13 89-122 34 X NA O FILLER 

14 123-152 30 X LJ RR PH-Address 

15 153-172 20 A LJ RR PH-City 

16 173-174 2 A NA RR PH-State 

17 175-183 9 N LJ RR PH-Zip-Code (324240000) 

18 184-196 13 X LJ RR Florida DLN/Federal tax ID PH- 

ID-Number 

19 197 1 A NA RR Company-Indicator 

20 198-205 8 N NA RR PROCESS DATE 

(MMDDCCYY) 

21 206 1 A NA RR Fleet-Indicator 

22 207-256 50 A/N LJ RR * PH-Non-Structured-Name 

23 257-264 8 N NA RR Edit-error-Return-Date 

24 265-270 6 X NA O (For Insurance Co. Use) 

25 271-304 34 X NA O (For Insurance Co. Use) 

THE FOLLOWING FIELDS ARE RETURNED BY DHSMV 

26 305-329 25 X NA R * Edit-Mask 

27 330-342 13 X LJ C Xref dl numberCurrent DLN 

(item 17 is cross reference with 

this field if filled). 

28 343-349 7    Filler 

29 350 1 A NA O Disposition 
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*  - Notes 

1. RR – Return as Received. 

2. All name information will be handled in the NON-STRUCTURED NAME FIELD, comma 

delimited (last, first, middle). 

3. If Field Position 70 is a 2, 7, 8, or 9, confirm for PIP and PDL. 

4. If Field Position 70 is a 1, 3, 4, 5, or 6 confirm for BIL and PDL limits of 10/20/10. 

5. If Field Position 70 is an X, confirm for BIL and PDL limits of 100/300/50. 

6. For the edit mask, NAME and SUFFIX mask characters will be replaced with the required 

CASE NUMBER and COVERAGE DATE masks. 

 
 

Record Name: Insurance FILING RECORD TRANS-TYPE 22 / 44 (SR22 / FR44) 

Item 

No 

Field 

Position 

Field 

Size 

Elem. 

Char. 
 
Just. 

Reg. 

Opt. 

Field 

Name 

1 1-5 5 N RJ R Ins-Company-Code 

2 6 1 A NA O Media Sequence 

3 7 1 A NA R Record-Type (F) 

4 8-9 2 N NA R Transaction-Type 22 / 44 

5 10-30 21 X LJ O Vin (Optional/Fleets) 

6 31-34 4 N NA O Vehicle-Year (Optional/fleet) 

CCYY 

7 35-39 5 X LJ O Make-or-Model (optional/fleet) 

8 40-69 30 X LJ R Ins-Policy-number 

9 70-78 9 N LJ O FR-CASE NUMBER 

10 79-86 8 N LJ R CERTIFICATION DATE 

11 87-88 2 X LJ O FILLER 

12 89 1 X LJ O FILLER 

13 90-122 33 X NA O FILLER 

14 123-152 30 X LJ O PH-Address 

15 153-172 20 A LJ O PH-City 

16 173-174 2 A NA O PH-State 

17 175-183 9 N LJ O PH-Zip-Code (324240000) 

18 184-196 13 X LJ R Florida DLN/Federal tax ID PH- 

ID-Number 

19 197 1 A NA O Company-Indicator 

20 198-205 8 N NA R PROCESS DATE 

(MMDDCCYY) 

21 206 1 A NA O Fleet-Indicator 

22 207-256 50 A/N LJ R * PH-Non-Structured-Name 

23 257-264 8 N NA O Edit-error-Return-Date 

24 265-270 6 X NA O (For Insurance Co. Use) 
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25 271-304 34 X NA O (For Insurance Co. Use) 

THE FOLLOWING FIELDS ARE RETURNED BY DHSMV 

26 305-329 25 X NA R * Edit-Mask 

27 330-342 13 X LJ C Xref dl numberCurrent DLN 

(item 17 is cross reference with 

this field if filled). 

28 343-349 7    Filler 

29 350 1 A NA R Disposition 

 

*  - Notes 

1. All name information will be handled in the NON-STRUCTURED NAME FIELD, comma 

delimited (last, first, middle). 

2. For the edit mask, NAME and SUFFIX mask characters will be replaced with the required 

CASE NUMBER and CERTIFICATION DATE masks. 

 
 

Record Name: Insurance FILING RECORD TRANS-TYPE 26 / 46 (SR26 / FR46) 

Item 

No 

Field 

Position 

Field 

Size 

Elem. 

Char. 
 

Just. 

Reg. 

Opt. 

Field 

Name 

1 1-5 5 N RJ R Ins-Company-Code 

2 6 1 A NA O Media Sequence 

3 7 1 A NA R Record-Type (F) 

4 8-9 2 N NA R Transaction-Type 26 

5 10-30 21 X LJ O Vin (Optional/Fleets) 

6 31-34 4 N NA O Vehicle-Year (Optional/fleet) 

CCYY 

7 35-39 5 X LJ O Make-or-Model (optional/fleet) 

8 40-69 30 X LJ R Ins-Policy-number 

9 70-78 9 N LJ O FR-CASE NUMBER 

10 79-86 8 N LJ R CANCELLATION DATE 

11 87-88 2 X LJ O FILLER 

12 89 1 X LJ O FILLER 

13 90-122 33 X NA O FILLER 

14 123-152 30 X LJ O PH-Address 

15 153-172 20 A LJ O PH-City 

16 173-174 2 A NA O PH-State 

17 175-183 9 N LJ O PH-Zip-Code (324240000) 

18 184-196 13 X LJ O Florida DLN/Federal tax ID PH- 

ID-Number 

19 197 1 A NA O Company-Indicator 

20 198-205 8 N NA R PROCESS DATE 
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      (MMDDCCYY) 

21 206 1 A NA O Fleet-Indicator 

22 207-256 50 A/N LJ R PH-Non-Structured-Name * 

23 257-264 8 N NA O Edit-error-Return-Date 

24 265-270 6 X NA O (For Insurance Co. Use) 

25 271-304 34 X NA O (For Insurance Co. Use) 

THE FOLLOWING FIELDS ARE RETURNED BY DHSMV 

26 305-329 25 X NA R Edit-Mask * 

27 330-342 13 X LJ C Xref dl numberCurrent DLN 

(item 17 is cross reference with 

this field if filled). 

28 343-349 7    Filler 

29 350 1 A NA R Disposition 

 

*  - Notes 

1. For the edit mask, we can replace the NAME and SUFFIX mask characters with the required 

CASE NUMBER and COVERAGE/PREP DATE masks. 

2. All name information will be handled in the NON-STRUCTURED NAME FIELD, comma 

delimited (last, first, middle). 

 
 

FILING RECORD 

Field Description 

 

NO. 

1 

Field Name 
 

Ins-Company-Code 

Description 
 

NAIC code for insurance company preparing its 

own filling, or a Department supplied number. 

The Ins-Company-Code must be same in every 
  FILING RECORD in the file. 

2 Sequence Character Sequence character for this file (“A” through “Z” allowed). 

3 Record-Type Must be “F”. 

4 Transaction-Type 10= Cancellation 
 11= Recall of cancellation 

12= SR21 Verification 

13= Vehicle totaled or sold 

20= Initiation of insurance 

21= Recall of issuance of insurance 

22= SR22 Certificate of Liability Coverage 

26= SR26 Certificate of Cancellation (of SR22) 

30= Change policy holder name or DL Number 

31= Add vehicle to policy 

32= Delete vehicle from policy 

44= FR44 Certificate of Higher Limits Liability Coverage 
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 46= FR46 Certification of Cancellation (of FR44) 

(See Transaction Types) 

5 VIN Vehicle identification number (1982 and newer 

 

6 

 

Vehicle-Year 
must have 17 digits). ** 

Full 4 digits. 

7 Make-or-model NCIC make preferred** 

8 Ins-Policy-Number Insurance policy number. 

9 First-Name First name of policy holder. This field optional if 

 

10 

 

Middle-Name 
Non-Structured-Name is used. 
Middle name or initial of policy holder, if 

 

11 

 

Last-Name 
available. 
Last name of policy holder. This field is optional 

 

12 

 

Name-Suffix 
if Non-Structured-Name is used. 
Name suffix of policy holder. JR=J, SR=S, I=I, 

  II=2, III=3, IV=4, V=5 
 

** Optional for commercial fleet and non-fleet commercial. 

 

FILING RECORD 

Field Description 

 
NO. Field Name Description 

13 Address Address of policy holder. Required only for cancellation. 

14 City City of policy holder. Required only for termination. 

15 State State of policy holder. Required only for termination. 

16 Zip-Code Zip code of policy holder. Nine digits if available. Zero fill last 
  four digits, if 9 digits not available. 

17 FloridaDLN/Federal tax ID Florida Driver’s license number for individuals if available (13 
  digits). 
  Federal tax identification number for companies, 
  if available (9 digits). 

18 Company-Indicator “C” if policy holder is a company, otherwise a space. 

19 Effective-Date The date policy was canceled, terminated, 
  changed, or issued (MMDDCCYY). 

20 Fleet-indicator “F” for fleets, otherwise a space. 

21 Non-Structured-Name Should be utilized if policy holder is a company 
  or if the first, middle, and last names of policy 
  holder cannot be determined. 

22 Edit-Error-Return-Date The Department will enter this field on the output 
  media if this record has an edit error. Insurance 
  companies must return this same date when the 
  information has been corrected (MMDDCCYY). 

23  For insurance company use. 

24  For insurance company use. 
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FILING RECORD 

Field Description 

 
 

THE FOLLOWING FIELDS ARE RETURNED BY DHSMV: 

 

Note: Please space out these fields when reporting to DHSMV. 

 

25. Edit-Mask 

 

For a FILING RECORD with a disposition of "E" the edit-mask field will be used to indicate those 

item(s) in error. Each item is represented by a character position in the edit-mask field. A value of "1" 

signifies that the field is in error in the corresponding item. "0" signifies that the corresponding field is 

correct. For example, if the Transaction-Type is invalid, character position 311 will have a value "1". 

 
Item Character position 

Ins-Company-Code.................................................. 308 

Tape-Sequence..................................................... 309 

Record-Type....................................................... 310 

** Transaction-Type. .............................................. 311 

** VIN. ........................................................... 312 

Vehicle-Year...................................................... 313 

VH-Name........................................................... 314 

Case-Number for an SR21, SR22/SR26, or FR44/FR46 record. 

VH-Name-Suffix.................................................... 315 

1 = Certification/Coverage/Preparation date format error 

3 = Duplicate SR22/26 / FR44/46 found 

4 = 3 years past time out date 

5 = Newer SR22/FR44 found 

6 = Matching SR22/FR44 not found when processing an SR26/FR46 

VH-Address........................................................ 316 

Confirm/Denial Flag for an SR21 record. (Y or N) 

VH-City........................................................... 317 

Status Message Indicator for an SR-21 record (0, 1, 2, 3 or space) 

VH-State.......................................................... 318 

VH-Zip-Code....................................................... 319 

Florida DLN/Federal tax ID ........................................ 320 

Company-Indicator................................................. 321 

Effective-Date.................................................... 322 

Fleet-Indicator................................................... 323 

VH-Non-Structured-Name............................................ 324 

Make-Model........................................................ 325 

** Ins-Policy-Number. ............................................. 326 

*Unmatched DL (not an error). ..................................... 327 

*Unmatched VIN (not an error). .................................... 328 

*Unma t c h e d   Po li c y ( no t a n   e rr o r) ............................... 329 

***Alternate VIN. ................................................. 343 

 

* Since the matching of reported DL numbers and VIN play a critical role in determining 

insurance status, we have added two items to the “EDIT-MASK” field of the filing record to 

indicate the match status. 
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If the DL number does not match, character position 327 will be 

marked with a "2". If the VIN does not match, character position 328 will be marked with a 

"2". These are not edit errors, therefore the record will update the Insurance File. 

 

‘**’Currently if all 3 fields (Transaction, VIN, and Policy) are filled, this translates to a duplicate error, 

VIN found on 2 or more policies. 

 

*** When the VIN has at least 15 characters which match along with the DL Number, Vehicle Year, 

and Vehicle Make the database will be updated, but will be returned with a '3' in cc 343 to be corrected. 

 

The majority of the errors are Transaction and VIN type errors. Please see explanation of transactions 

pages 27 – 36. VIN type errors could be because there are multiple policies for the same VIN for the 

same company or VIN did not match at least 15 digits from our registration database. 

 

 

26. Current Driver If this field is returned by HSMV, then item number 17 is 

License Number not considered the current DLN and it is a cross 

reference number. This DLN is the number reflected in 

our database. 

27. Disposition "E" or space 
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System Name: Motor Vehicle Insurance 

Record Name: DHSMV REPORT RECORD 

 

Item 

No. 

Field 

Position 

Field 

Size 

Elem. 

Char. 

Req. 

Just. 

 

Opt. 
Field 

Name 

1 1-5 5 N RJ R Ins-Company-Code 

2 6 1 A NA R Media-Sequence 

3 7 1 A NA R Record-Type (R) 

4 8-9 2 N NA R Transaction-Type (01) 

5 10-19 10 N RJ R Num-of-Filing-Records 

6 20-29 10 N RJ R Num-of-Edit-Errors 

7 30-39 10 N RJ R Num-of-Receipts 

8 40-47 8 N NA R Date-Processed 

 

9 
 

48-350 
 

303 
 

X 
 

NA 
 

R 
(MMDDCCYY) 
Filler 

 
 

REPORT RECORD 

Field Description 

 
No. Field Name Description 

1 Ins-Company-Code NAIC code for insurance company preparing its own 
  filing, or a Department supplied number. The Ins- 
  Company-Code must be same in every FILING 
  RECORD in the file. 

2 Media-Sequence Sequence character for this file ("A" through "Z" 
  allowed). 

3 Record-Type Must be "R". 

4 Transaction-Type Must be "01". 

5 Num-of-Filing-Records Number of FILING RECORDS, excluding header and 
  REPORT RECORDS. 

6 Num-of-Edit-Errors Number of records, excluding HEADER 
  RECORD that have a disposition of "E". 

7 Num-of-Receipts Number of records that do not have a 
  disposition of "E". 

8 Date-Processed Date that filing report was created 
  (MMDDCCYY). 

9 Filler Spaces. 
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V. INSURANCE FILE TRANSACTION TYPES 

 

The basic purpose of the insurance file is to determine the presence or absence of coverage and 

the status, issued or cancelled, based on related information filed on the insurance file by the 

insurance companies. Transactions without errors will be recorded on the insurance file and 

those with content errors will be returned to the filing company to be corrected within 30 days. 

Transaction types developed for the purpose of formatting and recording the insurance file 

information are: 

 

* 10 Cancellation. 

* 11 Recall of cancellation. 

12 SR21 Verification 

13 Vehicle totaled or sold. 

20 Initiation of insurance. 

21 Recall of issuance of coverage. 

22 SR22 Certificate of Liability Coverage 

26 SR26 Certificate of Cancellation (of SR22) 

30 Change policy holder name, driver license number or address. 

* 31 Add vehicle to policy. 

* 32 Delete vehicle from policy. 

44 FR44 Certificate of Higher Limits Liability Coverage 

46 FR46 Certification of Cancellation (of FR44) 

 
 

Policy status, issued or cancelled, is determined by matching or comparing the basic policy 

information on the file, including company name, policy number, and policy issue and 

cancellation dates. 

 

Information indexes are used to match or identify a vehicle and policy holder on the file. These 

indexes are driver license and VIN numbers which are collected from information in the 

Department's driver license, vehicle registration, and insurance file. 

 

Financial responsibility cases resulting in notices are produced, not produced or cleared based on 

information contained in the insurance file using the mentioned indexes. 

 

‘*’ Transaction types (‘10’ & ‘11’) or (‘11’, ‘31’ & ‘32’) for the same policy cannot be on 

the same transmission. This is due to our updating process. The edit program runs 

separately from the update program. For example, if you send in a Cancellation and a 

Recall of Cancellation on the same policy number, the Cancellation would not have 

updated on the database yet and the Recall of Cancellation would see the record as an 

active policy, therefore not allowing you to recall it. 
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TRANSACTION PROCESSING 
 

Transaction 20: 
 

This type is used to create the basic insurance record when filing a policy issuance, initiation or 

policy origination. 

Insurance File 

Insurance Inquiry Display 
 

(Transaction 20) 

 

COMPANY NAME: ACME INSURANCE COMPANY 

INS CO. CODE: 01000 

POLICY #: 02083625 

POLICY STATUS: ISSUED 

POST DATE: 04/13/92 EFFECTIVE DATE: 01/01/92 

DL #D00000000000 

 

POLICY HOLDER:   JOHN DOE 

2900 APALACHEE PARKWAY 

TALLAHASSEE, FL 32301-0418 

VEHICLE #01: 85 CHEV 1JAN69Y7EM727508 ADDED: 01/01/92 

 

When filing a transaction 20 for fleet coverage policies, vehicle information is optional in this 

and all transactions. Fleet policies are defined as those policies insuring more than twenty-five 

(25) vehicles. The fleet indicator field in the filing record must be filed with the alpha "F" for 

fleet.  (See page 13, Section III, subsection C.) 

 

This transaction should not be used to reinstate a policy that has been cancelled and reinstated 

under the same policy number. (See Transaction 11.) 
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Transaction 21: 
 

The 21 transaction, along with all other transactions covered from this point, are updates or 

changes to the transaction 20 initiation. This transaction is filed only in the case of a transaction 

20, policy initiation, being filed in error. Examples of conditions that can cause a policy to be 

filed in error is the transmission of an initiation, transaction 20, before the underwriter reviews 

and declines the issuance based on the past driving history of the intended insured. 
 

Before Update:  
Insurance File 

Insurance Inquiry Display 
 

(Transaction 20) 

 

COMPANY NAME: ACME INSURANCE COMPANY 

INS CO. CODE: 01000 

POLICY #: 02083625 

 
 

DL #D00000000000 

POLICY STATUS: ISSUED 

POST DATE: 04/13/92 EFFECTIVE DATE: 01/01/92 

 

POLICY HOLDER:   JOHN DOE 

2900 APALACHEE PARKWAY 

TALLAHASSEE, FL 32301-0418 

VEHICLE #01: 85 CHEV 1JAN69Y7EM727508 ADDED: 01/01/92 

 

After Update: 

 

Insurance File 

Insurance Inquiry Display 
 

(Transaction 21) 

 

COMPANY NAME: ACME INSURANCE COMPANY 

INS CO. CODE: 01000 

POLICY #: 02083625 

 

 

DL #D00000000000 

POLICY STATUS: CANCELLED 

POST DATE: 06/08/92 EFFECTIVE DATE: 01/01/92 

RECALL OF INITIATION: 01/01/92 

 

POLICY HOLDER:   JOHN DOE 

2900 APALACHEE PARKWAY 

TALLAHASSEE, FL 32301-0418 

VEHICLE #01: 85 CHEV 1JAN69Y7EM727508 ADDED: 01/01/92 
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Transaction 30: 
 

The transaction 30 is used only when a change in the driver license number, policy holder name 

or address is desired on an initiation transaction 20 previously filed. The effective date of the 

filing should be the same as the original filing policy effective date. 
 

Before Update: 

 
 

(Transaction 20) 

 
Insurance File 

Insurance Inquiry Display 

 

COMPANY NAME: ACME INSURANCE COMPANY 

INS CO. CODE: 01000 

POLICY #: 02083625 

 
 

DL #D00000000000 

POLICY STATUS: ISSUED 

POST DATE: 04/13/92 EFFECTIVE DATE: 01/01/92 

 

POLICY HOLDER:   JOHN DOE 

2900 APALACHEE PARKWAY 

TALLAHASSEE, FL 32301-0418 

VEHICLE #01: 85 CHEV 1JAN69Y7EM727508 ADDED: 01/01/92 

 

After Update: 
 

 

 
(Transaction 30) 

Insurance file 

Insurance Inquiry Display 

 

COMPANY NAME: ACME INSURANCE COMPANY 

INS CO. CODE: 01000 

POLICY #: 02083625 

 
 

DL #D12606348021 

POLICY STATUS: ISSUED 

POST DATE: 06/08/92 EFFECTIVE DATE: 01/01/92 

 

POLICY HOLDER:   JOHN DOE 

3100 APALACHEE PARKWAY 

TALLAHASSEE, FL 32301-0000 

VEHICLE #01: 85 CHEV 1JAN69Y7EM727508 ADDED: 01/01/92 

 

Note: The driver license number and address of the policy holder has been changed. 
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Transaction 31: 
 

The 31 transaction is used when a newly acquired or replacement vehicle is added to a 

previously filed initiation policy, or a vehicle that was not sent with the original policy 

transmission. Transactions 31 and 11 will not work if submitted on the same transmission for 

the same policy number. (See ‘*’ on page 27.) 

 

The effective policy date required in the filing record should be the date the vehicle was added to 

the policy and not the original effective date of the policy unless the vehicle was on the policy 

from origination but was not filed with the origination. The transaction should only be used to 

add a vehicle to a policy that has been successfully filed on the insurance file. 

 

In the following example, we are adding a 1991 Buick, ID #2G4WB54L5M1873206, to 

existing policy number 02083625, named insurance John Doe, effective date 06/08/92. 

 

Before Update:  Insurance File 

Insurance Inquiry Display 

(Transaction 20) 

COMPANY NAME: ACME INSURANCE COMPANY 

INS CO. CODE: 01000 

POLICY #: 02083625  POLICY STATUS: ISSUED 

POST DATE: 04/13/92 EFFECTIVE DATE: 01/01/92 

DL #D00000000000 

 

POLICY HOLDER:   JOHN DOE 

2900 APALACHEE PARKWAY 

TALLAHASSEE, FL 32301-0418 
VEHICLE #01: 85 CHEV 1JAN69Y7EM727508 ADDED: 01/01/92 

 

After Update:  Insurance File 

Insurance Inquiry Display 

(Transaction 31) 

COMPANY NAME: ACME INSURANCE COMPANY 

INS CO. CODE: 01000 

POLICY #: 02083625  POLICY STATUS: ISSUED 

POST DATE: 06/20/92 EFFECTIVE DATE: 01/01/92 

DL #D00000000000 

 

POLICY HOLDER:   JOHN DOE 

2700 APALACHEE PARKWAY 

TALLAHASSEE, FL 32301-0418 

VEHICLE #01: 85 CHEV 1JAN69Y7EM727508 ADDED: 01/01/92 

VEHICLE #02: 91 BUICK 2G4WB54L5M1873206 ADDED: 06/08/92 
 

Note: The policy now includes the 1991 Buick. 
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Transaction 32: 
 

Transaction 32 is used when the company or the insured elects to delete, drop or eliminate a 

vehicle(s) from a policy. When a transaction 32 is received and the vehicle VIN number is 

located on the insurance file with the existing policy number, the vehicle is deleted. However, 

when the VIN cannot be located the transaction is considered successfully processed. Also, 

regardless of the sequence of transaction 31 (add vehicle) and 32 (delete vehicle), usually 

involving a newly acquired or replacement vehicle, the initiation record will be updated to reflect 

the desired status of the vehicles. This should answer questions of whether the transactions being 

filed on separate reporting media produced at different times will successfully update the 

initiation. 

 

Using the policy and vehicle as in the 31 transaction example, this example shows the vehicle 

deleted using the 32 transaction. 
 

Before Update 

 
 

(Transaction 20) 

 
Insurance File 

Insurance Inquiry Display 

 

COMPANY NAME: ACME INSURANCE COMPANY 

INS CO. CODE: 01000 

POLICY #: 02083625 

 

 

 
POLICY STATUS: ISSUED 

POST DATE: 06/20/92 EFFECTIVE DATE: 01/01/92 

DL #D00000000000 
 

POLICY HOLDER: JOHN DOE 

2700 APALACHEE PARKWAY 

TALLAHASSEE, FL 32301-0418 
VEHICLE #01: 85 CHEV 1JAN69Y7EM727508 ADDED: 01/01/92 

VEHICLE#02: 91 BUICK 2G4WB54L5M1873206 ADDED: 06/08/92 

 

After Update  Insurance File 

Insurance Inquiry Display 
(Transaction 32) 

 

COMPANY NAME: ACME INSURANCE COMPANY 

INS CO. CODE: 01000 POLICY STATUS: ISSUED 

POLICY #: 02083625 

POST DATE: 07/01/92 EFFECTIVE DATE: 01/01/92 

DL #D00000000000 
 

POLICY HOLDER: JOHN DOE 

2700 APALACHEE PARKWAY 

TALLAHASSEE, FL 32301-0418 

VEHICLE #01: 85 CHEV 1JAN69Y7EM727508 ADDED: 01/01/92 

 

Note: The Buick is no longer displayed on the initiation record. 
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Transaction 10: 
 

Transaction 10 is used when cancelling or nonrenewing an initial policy transaction 20. It 

should never be used to delete a vehicle from an existing multiple vehicle policy on the file 

as it causes a cancellation of the whole policy. (Also see ‘*’ on page 27.) 

 

The following is an example of a transaction 10 recorded on the insurance file. 
 

Before Update: 

 
 

(Transaction 20) 

 
Insurance File 

Insurance Inquiry Display 

 

COMPANY NAME: ACME INSURANCE COMPANY 

INS CO. CODE: 01000 

POLICY #: 02083625 

 

 

 
POLICY STATUS: ISSUED 

POST DATE: 04/13/92 EFFECTIVE DATE: 01/01/92 

DL #D00000000000 
 

POLICY HOLDER:   JOHN DOE 

2700 APALACHEE PARKWAY 

TALLAHASSEE, FL 32301-0418 

VEHICLE #01: 85 CHEV 1JAN69Y7EM727508 ADDED: 01/01/92 
 

After Update: 

 
 

(Transaction 10) 

 
Insurance File 

Insurance Inquiry Display 

 

COMPANY NAME: ACME INSURANCE COMPANY 

INS CO. CODE: 01000 

POLICY #: 02083625 

POLICY STATUS: CANCELLED 

POST DATE: 06/08/92 EFFECTIVE DATE: 01/01/92 

DL #D00000000000 CANCELLATION DATE: 06/01/92 

 

POLICY HOLDER: JOHN DOE 

2700 APALACHEE PARKWAY 

TALLAHASSEE, FL 32301-0418 

VEHICLE #01: 85 CHEV 1JAN69Y7EM727508 ADDED: 01/01/92 

 

Note:  The status has changed from issued to cancelled. 
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Transaction 11: 

This transaction is used when the filing company recognizes that a transaction 10 or cancellation 

has been filed in error or that the policy has been reinstated. (Also see ‘*’ on page 27.) A 

transaction 11 will error if the policy is not in a cancelled status already.  This could happen if 

the cancellation transaction erred out. 

An example of the latter is when the insured fails to make a timely premium payment resulting in 

a cancellation transaction 10, after which the premium payment is received and the company 

elects to reinstate the policy under the same company and policy number. This transaction can 

only be used when the company and policy number sent with the transaction 10 or cancellation 

does not change. If the company or policy number changes, a transaction 20 or initiation is 

required. 

The effective date of the recall transaction must be equal to or greater than the cancellation date 

filed with the transaction 10, cancellation being recalled. This will change policy status to issued. 

If the effective date of the recall is less than the cancellation date, the program calculates the 

effective recall date to be prior to the cancellation date thus the policy remains in a cancelled 

status. 

Before Update:  Insurance File 

Insurance Inquiry Display 

(Transaction 10) 

COMPANY NAME: ACME INSURANCE COMPANY 

INS CO. CODE: 01000 

POLICY #: 02083625  POLICY STATUS: CANCELLED 

POST DATE: 04/13/92 EFFECTIVE DATE: 01/01/92 

DL #D00000000000 CANCELLATION DATE: 4/01/92 

POLICY HOLDER:   JOHN DOE 

2700 APALACHEE PARKWAY 

TALLAHASSEE, FL 32301-0418 

VEHICLE #01: 85 CHEV 1DBN69Y7EM727508 ADDED: 01/01/92 

After Update:  Insurance File 

Insurance Inquiry Display 

(Transaction 11) 

COMPANY NAME: ACME INSURANCE COMPANY 

INS CO. CODE: 01000 

POLICY #: 02083625  POLICY STATUS: ISSUED 

POST DATE: 06/01/92 EFFECTIVE DATE: 01/01/92 

DL #D00000000000 CANCEL-RECALL-DATE: 04/01/92 

POLICY HOLDER: JOHN DOE 

2700 APALACHEE PARKWAY 

TALLAHASSEE, FL 32301-0418 

VEHICLE #01: 85 CHEV 1DBN69Y7EM727508 ADDED: 01/01/92 

 

Note: The status has changed from cancelled to issued. 
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Transaction 13: 

The transaction 13 is used when a vehicle filed with the policy initiation transaction has been 

reported sold by the insured or determined to be a total loss by the insuring company due to an 

accident. Use this transaction only for single vehicle policies. Do not use this transaction when 

deleting or replacing vehicles on a multiple vehicle policy. 

Insurance File 

Insurance Inquiry Display 

(Transaction 20) 

COMPANY NAME: ACME INSURANCE COMPANY 

INS CO. CODE: 01000 

POLICY #: 0200000 

 

 

 

 
POLICY STATUS: ISSUED 

POST DATE: 02/01/92 EFFECTIVE DATE: 01/01/92 

DL #A00000000000 

VEHICLE #01: 85 CHEV 1DBN69Y7EM727508 ADDED: 01/01/92 
 

(Transaction 13) 

COMPANY NAME: ACME INSURANCE COMPANY 

INS CO. CODE: 01000 

POLICY #: 0200000 

POLICY STATUS: CANCELLED 

POST DATE: 04/13/92 EFFECTIVE DATE: 01/01/92 

DL #A00000000000   CANCELLATION DATE: 04/01/92 

VEHICLE #01: 85 CHEV 1DBN69Y7EM727508 ADDED: 01/01/92 

 

Note: Transaction 13 status indicates cancelled. 

Transaction 12: 

The 12 transactions are used to verify SR21 reported policy information. Insurance Companies 

must verify if the customer had the appropriate insurance on the requested need date. 

Appropriate insurance is identified by the case number, field position 70. Example: PIP and 

PDL are a 2, 7, 8, or 9 type cases. BI and PDL (10/20/10 limits) are a 1, 3, 4, 5, or 6 type case. 

BI and PDL with higher limits of 100/300/50 will be a case type X. 

 

Note: If the date is in the future this will be the customer’s suspension date if they do not acquire 

insurance prior to that date.  Insurance companies can confirm on current date. 

 

Transaction 22: 

The 22 transactions are used for the insurance company to report an SR22 certificate of liability 

coverage (BIL limits of 10/20/10). These are only needed if a customer did not have the required 

liability coverage at the time of an event, (crash, point’s suspension, habitual offender 

suspension, DUI’s convictions on or prior to 10-02-2007 or other non-alcoholic convictions). In 

case type 2, it is used for confirmation of PIP coverage. 
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Transaction 26: 

The 26 transactions are used for the insurance company to report an SR26 Certificate of 

Cancellation of an SR22. 

 

Transaction 44: 

The 44 transactions are used for the insurance company to report an FR44 certificate of liability 

coverage (BIL limits of 100/300/50).  The FR44s are reported if a customer had a DUI 

conviction after October 1, 2007, but did not have the required BIL/PDL coverage of 100/300/50 

at the time of the offense. 

 

Transaction 46: 

The 46 transactions are used for the insurance company to report an FR46 Certificate of 

Cancellation of an FR44 
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VI. FLORIDA MOTOR VEHICLE NO-FAULT LAW 

 

MANUAL or ELECTRONIC VERIFICATION LIST 

 
Florida motorists can be required to provide this Department with proof of PIP/property damage liability 

insurance coverage based on cancellations of coverage, accidents involving property damages where no proof 

of coverage was evidenced at the scene, when registering or renewing a vehicle registration, and court- 

ordered suspensions. 

 
When received by the Department, the insurance information is added to the financial responsibility database. 

This information is sorted by company using the Florida licensing code, generated electronically to companies 

‘C’ file, (see pages 7 & 11) or generated to a verification of coverage list every Monday and mailed to the named 

company for verification that the motorist was insured. The verification list includes a cover letter with 

instructions on the verification process. See pages 40 & 41. 

 
The elements of the proof of coverage on the verification list includes policy number, policy holder's name, 

address, and driver license number, required coverage date, vehicle VIN number (when available), and the 

confirmation and denial column. The company is required to confirm or deny coverage for the alleged insured 

based on the information on the list. 

 
If coverage can be confirmed the company representative should initial the confirmed blank column on the list. 

When the coverage is confirmed and the policy is currently in force, the current date should be entered under the 

confirm blank and an electronic transaction generated to the Department's insurance file in accordance with the 

cover letter instructions.  Each entry will be followed by a reference to the policy information in the entry 

relative to its status on the insurance file. 

 
These status titles include: 

 
A. Policy could not be found on the database. 

 
This status indicates that the policy could not be found on the Department's insurance file by the policy 

number. A transaction 20 initiation should be transmitted to the insurance file to add the policy and 

vehicle information. 

 
B. Policy found. 

 
This indicates the policy in the entry was found on the insurance file but the vehicle displayed in the 

entry was not on the policy. A transaction 31 should be transmitted to add the vehicle to the insurance 

file using the VIN number displayed in the entry. If the VIN number reflected for the vehicle on the 

policy has a character difference by comparison, the VIN on the policy should be changed to match the 

VIN in the entry. 

 
C. Policy could be found, but not with required coverage date. 

 
The policy was on the insurance file but the effective date of the policy on the insurance file did not 

include the required coverage date in the entry. No transaction is required from the company. 
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D. The VIN of the vehicle the individual indicated was insured could not be found on the given policy. The 

policy was found on the insurance file, however, the vehicle in question was not on the policy. A 

transaction 31 should be filed with the Department if the vehicle is currently insured. If the vehicle was 

not insured on the required coverage date, the coverage should be denied. 

 
After the list is completed, all entries confirmed or denied, the company representative must sign where noted 

on the last page of the list and return to the Department. 

 
When the instructions for verification are followed by a company, that company will realize a more accurate 

reflection of their policies on the insurance file and will experience fewer customer complaints regarding 

notices from the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. 
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FLORIDA MOTOR VEHICLE NO-FAULT VERIFICATION LIST CASE TYPES 
 

CANCELLATION PIP 

 

Cancellation PIP cases and notices are produced based on PIP and property damage liability policy cancellations being 

filed on the insurance file by insurance companies when no other valid coverage is evidenced on the insurance database. 

The case number begins with the numeric "7", 700000001. The customer can clear these cases by providing proof of 

current PIP and property damage liability coverage or a non-owner affidavit and a reinstatement fee of $150, $250 or 

$500, which ever is applicable if the customer is suspended and the coverage is effective on or after the suspension date. 

Customers with insurance prior to the suspension date can be cleared on-line at https://services.flhsmv.gov/DLCheck/ (or 

our Driver License website under Driver License Checks). 

 

Note: Future dates denote customer’s suspension date. Customer must have insurance prior to this date. 

 

REGISTRATION PIP 

 

Registration (PIP) cases are produced three months previous to the renewal date of a vehicle (registration) license plate 

when proof of coverage is not found on the insurance file. When a customer renews their registration, a verification 

request is created. The case number begins with the numeric "8", 800000001. On a positive, verification the insurance 

company should file the policy information (transaction 20) with the Department. 

 

Driver license, tag, and registrations will be suspended if the information is not properly filed or confirmed. When trying 

to confirm coverage for a customer, the company, not agent, must transmit policy information by electronic filings as 

outlined in this manual regarding the policy reporting process. A reinstatement fee of $150, $250 or $500 will be applied 

if suspension has been issued. 

 

NOTE: If a denial is processed in error letter on company letterhead will be needed in order to clear. 

 

CRASH PIP 

 

Crash (PIP) notices are produced when an at fault owner fails to provide proof of the presence of compulsory coverage 

for an automobile crash involving property damage only. The notices or cases are sequentially numbered beginning 

with the numeric "9", 900000001. 

 

Compliance with the notice requires proof of PIP and property damage liability coverage on date of crash or if not 

insured, proof of current PIP and property damage liability coverage, releases for property damages caused to other parties 

and a reinstatement fee of $150, $250 or $500, if suspension has been issued. 

 

COURT-ORDERED SUSPENSION (PIP) 

 

Court-ordered suspensions are produced when the Department receives an order directing suspension of the named 

person. These suspensions are based on a violation of s. 316.646, F.S., and sent to the Department when the named person 

fails to provide the proper coverage to the court. 

 

This type case is unique in that the person suspended will always be required to pay the reinstatement fee 

regardless of the status of coverage at the time of the court suspension unless the customer can provide proof of 

compulsory insurance on all owned vehicles or submits evidence that he/she is not subject to the law, affidavit 

of non-ownership, or no tag affidavit. 
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If the customer is found to be subject to the law, they must show proof of current PIP and property damage 

liability coverage, certified on a 6-month non-cancelable SR-22 for 2 years from original suspension date, and 

pay a reinstatement fee of $150, $250 or $500, which ever is applicable. The case sequence number begins with 
 

the numeric "2", 200000001. 
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TO: DHSMVTESTINSURANCEOOMPANY 
KIRKMAN BLDG 
TAIL FL323:JlClDO 
22222 

 

FROM: FLORIDA DEPARI'MENTOFHIGHWAYSAFETYAND MOTORVEHICT.ES 
BUREAU OFFINANCIAL   RESFONSIBIUTY 
NEll. KIRKMAN BUILDL'iG 
TAILAHASSEE  FL32l99-05ll5 

 
REFOIIT DATE: 01/05/93 
COMPANYPAGEIIO: 2 
REFOIIT PAGE NC: 4 

REFOIIT OODE: P)FB<l60A 
REPORI'PIDDUCED DYKDC 

 

 
FOUCY NUMBER 

Cll)Cll)Cll)O 

JOHN 
STREET 
CITY 

 
FLORIDA 

DRIVER UCEN,E 
NUMBER 

Doocmcmcmo 
DCE 

323:JlOOOO 

 

DHSMV 
ENFORCEMENT 
CASE NUMBER 

7ClDClDOO 

 

REQUIRED 
COVERAGE 

DATE 
11/10197 

 

----VEHCCT.E INFORMATION--- COVERAGE 
VIN•   YEAR   MAKE DENIAL 

 

OOVERJ.GE 
CONFIRMED 

 
 

POLICYCOULD  NOTBEFOUND  ON  INSURANCE DATP.BASE 

FLORIDA 

 
DHSMV 

 
REQUIRED 

FOUCY NUMBER 
DRIVER UCEN,E 

NUMBER 
ENFORCEMENT 
CASE NUMBER 

COVERAGE 
DATE 

----VEHCCT.E INFORMATION--- COVERAGE 
VIN• YEAR  MAKE DENIAL 

OOVERJ.GE 
CONFlRMED 

(l)Cll)Cll)Cll) 

 

NANCY 
STREET 
CITY 

socmcmcmoo 

JANE SMITH 

323)40000 

scmcmoo 06/10197 lG8ZG54SXMZlll739       

 

POLICYCOULD NOTBEFOUND  ON INSURANCE  DATP.BASE 

 

 

 
POUCYNUMBER 

(l)Cll)Cll)Cll) 

RICHARD 
STREET 
CITY 

FLORIDA DHSMV 
DRIVER UCEN,E ENFORCEMENT 

NUMBER CASE NUMBER 
GOOOOOOOOCOOO !lOOClDClD 

W GOMZALEZ 

323110000 

REQUIRED 
COVERAGE 

DATE 
12/10197 

 
----VEHCCT.E INFORMATION---  COVERAGE

 OOVERJ.GE VIN• YEAR MAKE
 DENIAL CONFIRMED 

1G6849.5ES611 82 FORD       

 

THEVIN OFTIIE VEHICLETHEINDMD  UALINDICATEDWA!INSURED OOULD NOT B;:   FOUNDONTIIE   GIVEN?OUCY 

 

 

 

 
ENDOFNO FAULT(PIPPDL) INSUR.INCE VERIFICATIONS.  SIGNATURE, AUTH. 00. R!P.       
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 MANUAL FILING 
 

Note: Companies may file manually if: 

• You write less than 1,000 policies and, 

• Do not have an active FTP account.   

 

You must submit a written request to the Department for approval to file manually. Please send an 

email to: FLHSMVInsuranceLiaison@flhsmv.gov.  

Your request must include:   

• Email subject: Company name, NAIC code, and “Intent to Manually File”.  

• Email body: Contact person and how many policies your company will file. 

mailto:FLHSMVInsuranceLiaison@flhsmv.gov
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What DHSMV NEEDS FROM YOU 

 

As you know, the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles is in the 

process of changing all reporting methods over to electronic data transfer via FTP. To help us 

accomplish this process with a minimum of confusion, we ask that you follow the steps listed below. 

 
1. Familiarize yourself with our introductory material as shown. 

• Read the attached FAQ. 

• Go to this link ( http://www.flhsmv.gov/FRManualFTP/) and review on line ftp manual. 

• Contact Insurance Liaison if you have additional policy questions 

• Email FLHSMVInsuranceLiaison@flhsmv.gov if you have additional technical questions. 

 
2. When you are ready to send us your "PUBLIC KEY" (see attached FTP FAQ) include the 

following in the body of the email: 

• Company Name. 

• Company Number (NAIC and Florida Company Code). 

• Contact information for the person(s) we can contact for Business and Tech questions. 

• Your PUBLIC KEY attached as an ASCII file. 

 

3. In return, the Insurance Liaison Group will email to you the IP Address, Username, and 

Password to log onto the server along with OUR PUBLIC KEY to encrypt your files. The 

email attachment will be ENCRYPTED with YOUR PUBLIC KEY that you will 

DECRYPT with YOUR PRIVATE KEY. 

 
4. When you are ready to send us your test file, include the following: 

• Include a 'Y' in position 44 of the first header record so that the programs pick up the fact 

that it is a test file. (This will only test the acceptance of the file not the actual data. You 

will receive back all ‘E’s in position 350. This means the file processed. Otherwise we 

will let you know what problems are.) 

• Send a message to FLHSMVInsuranceLiaison@flhsmv.gov so that we can create 

your file and update the database as to your FTP status. 

 
5. When you are ready to send your first Production file, let us know so we can update the 

database as to your ftp status. 

 
Thank you for your help and cooperation. If you have additional questions, please send email 

to FLHSMVInsuranceLiaison@flhsmv.gov 

http://www.flhsmv.gov/FRManualFTP/
mailto:FLHSMVInsuranceLiaison@flhsmv.gov
mailto:InsFTP@flhsmv.gov
mailto:FLHSMVInsuranceLiaison@flhsmv.gov


 

FAQ's For Insurance Companies Reporting Through FTP 

For the Complete Implementation Procedures Manual, go to 

http://www.flhsmv.gov/FRManualFTP/ 

 

Email the Insurance Liaison group at FLHSMVInsuranceLiaison@flhsmv.gov  

 

Q - What is the benefit of the FTP procedure? 

A - Reporting files and return files will be transferred over the Internet via FTP replacing the diskettes or 

tapes. This will provide a safer, faster, and cheaper method of sending and receiving data. 

 
Q - What is FTP? 

A - FTP stands for File Transfer Protocol. It is a simple and widely accepted method to transfer large files 

over the Internet. 

 
Q - May I use SFTP or a VNP connection? 

A - Currently we are not setup to handle either of these connections. 

 
Q - What software will I need? 

A - Encryption software to encrypt the file you send and to decrypt the return file. 

 
The sender will encrypt the file sent to HSMV with OUR PUBLIC KEY, which we will provide. HSMV 

will decrypt your file with OUR PRIVATE KEY. 

 
HSMV will encrypt a return file with YOUR PUBLIC KEY that you will provide and you will decrypt the 

return file with YOUR PRIVATE KEY. 

 
Q - Where can I get encryption software? 

A - From different sources. However two popular sites are: 

 
Free open source GPG Encryption software can downloaded from http:\\www.gnupg.org. Select GnuPG 

compiled for Microsoft Windows from the Binaries section or the appropriate download for your 

operating system. 

 
Download the software and follow the instructions on how to encrypt and decrypt files from 

http://www.gnupg.org/documentation/ 

 

Or you can purchase PGP (Pretty Good Privacy) from http:\\www.pgp.com. 

 
Q - I don't have a Windows FTP program, how do I send or receive my data? 
A - There are numerous free GUI FTP programs on the Internet. Search for FREE FTP SOFTWARE or 

you can handle the entire FTP functions from the DOS prompt as follows: 

 
1. FTP(one_space) {IP_address_of _our_firewall} 

2. USERID@{IP_address_of_our_ftpserver} 

3. PASSWORD: {the_password_you_will_be_given 
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http://www.flhsmv.gov/FRManualFTP/
mailto:FLHSMVInsuranceLiaison@flhsmv.gov
http://www.gnupg.org/
http://www.gnupg.org/documentation/
http://www.pgp.com/
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Q - Where is the data sent to and received from? 

A - The DBA (Data Base Administrators) Group will contact you with file names, passwords, IP address 

etc. They will send you that information in a file encrypted with YOUR PUBLIC KEY that you will 

have provide to us and you will decrypt that file with YOUR PRIVATE KEY. This will allow you to 

test your ability receive and decrypt the files we send back to you. 

 
They can be emailed at FLHSMVInsuranceLiaison@flhsmv.gov  

 

Q - What is the filling procedure? 

A - File only once per day, and do not send another file until the return file is picked up. Below are 

several filing scenarios: 

 

• A file is sent on a regular business day, another should not be sent until the return file is picked 

up that afternoon. 

• A file is sent on a weekend, another file should not be sent until the return file is picked up on 

Monday afternoon. 

• A file is sent on a holiday, another should not be sent until the return file is picked up on the next 

regular business day. 

 
We will not be processing new files on the following holidays. If you send on one of these dates, wait 

until the afternoon of the next business day to look for a return file. 

 

HOLIDAYS 

New Years Day 

Martin Luther King 

Memorial Day 

Independence Day 

Labor Day 

Veterans Day 

Thanksgiving Day / 

Friday after 

Christmas Day 

 

 
Q - What is the procedure for receiving our return file to get our errors? 

A - On the afternoon of the regular business day the file was sent, pick up the return ('B') file from the 

server, then issue a delete command for that file so next return file may be placed there on next business 

day. 

mailto:FLHSMVInsuranceLiaison@flhsmv.gov
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FREQUENTLY ASKED REPORTING QUESTIONS 

 

1. If transactions are filed out of sequence, what is the effect on the intended status of the policy? 

Regardless of the filing sequence, the policy will have the intended status. 

 

One example would be when a recall, transaction 11, is filed previous to a transaction 

10, cancellation. The recall would update the policy with an effective date equal to or 

greater than the transaction 10, cancellation, effective date, thus neutralizing the 

cancellation. (See Transaction 11 & 10.) 

 

(However, you cannot send a cancellation and then send an initiation. A policy must be in an 

active status to modify the policy; otherwise this may cause an error.) 

 

2. When filing for more than one company, should a separate transmission be used for each company? 

No, multiple company filings can be loaded on a single transmission with each 

company filing preceded by a header record followed by the filing records for the 

company named in the header record. 

 

3. How often can a company submit filings? 

Policy transactions may be submitted daily provided Department approval. All 

transactions should be submitted in compliance with statutory requirements. 

 

4. Is a driver license number required with each transaction? 

A Florida driver license number is required if the named insured has a Florida license. 

All 13 characters should be reported. 

 

5. Whose driver license number is required with each transaction? 

The Florida driver license number of the policy holder. 

 

6. Should a company use their Florida license or NAIC code when transmitting filings? 

Either code can be used since the Department uses a cross reference index allowing 

successful process of either code. 

 

7. What is the time frame for completing departmental update of the insurance file from receipt 

of the media? 

Normally, within three days. 

 

8. Are the filing requirements applicable to commercial vehicles? 

Yes. 

 

9. Should a driver license number issued in a state other than Florida be filed? 

No. 

 

10. Are insurers allowed to charge a fee for SR22/26s and FR44/46s under Florida law? 

We do not regulate fees collected for insurance policies or service fees, but you may want to try 

to contact the Dept. of Financial Services.  Their web site is http://www.fldfs.com/. 

http://www.fldfs.com/

