
                         Division of Motor Vehicles 
Dealer Records Inspections Report 

For Office Use Only 
 
Investigator: ___________________________________________         Date: _________________ License Number: _______________________ 
 
Follow-Up?           Yes              No                                                              If follow-up what is focus?   Section            I             II             III             IV           V 
 
If yes,              30 days             60 days             90 days                              Dealer’s Name: _______________________________________________________
      
Case Number: __________________________           Dealer’s Address: _____________________________________________________
  
Graded By: ____________________________                         City: ___________________________________  Zip Code: _______________ 
 
              Area Code and  Telephone Number: _______________________________________
  
 
 

Section I:  DISPLAYED FOR SALE 
 

Licensee is required to possess a duly assigned certificate of title for each used vehicle offered for sale or have other approved 
indicia of ownership which, according to Section 320.27(7), Florida Statutes (F.S.), and Rule 15C-7, Florida Administrative Code 
may be:  a manufacturer’s certificate of origin, a consignment contract, court order, photocopy of title from financial institution, 
canceled check or other documentation showing satisfied lien, vehicle purchase order or installment contract identifying vehicle as a 
trade-in, or a duly executed odometer disclosure statement.  Section 320.27(9)(i), F.S., requires an odometer disclosure statement.  
Section 320.27(9)(a), F.S., requires a buyer’s guide.   
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Comments : 
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Section II:  PURCHASES AND SALES 
 

Section 320.27(6), 320.77(8) and 320.771(9), F.S., requires the licensee to keep records of purchase and sales transactions.  Section 
320.27(9), F.S., requires the licensee to provide an executed odometer disclosure statement.  Section 319.23(6), F.S., requires the 
licensee to apply for title within 30 days of the date of delivery.  Section 320.13(1)(i), F.S. provides that only the department may 
authorize issuance of more than two temporary tags.  Section 320.27(9)(v), F.S., prohibits the sale of a trade-in vehicle before the deal 
for the replacement vehicle is consummated unless the owner provides written permission.  Section 316.2935(1)(b), F.S., requires the 
licensee to provide written certification that emissions control devices are in place.  Select five (5) used retail sales and complete the 
following: 

 

 Vehicle 1 Vehicle 2 Vehicle 3 Vehicle 4 Vehicle 5 
PURCHASE INFO.      
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SALE INFO. 
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Temp Tag(s) Issue 
Date(s) 
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Tags Issued? 
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Date Title Applied For 

     

Title Applied for 
Within 30 Days of Sale? 

 
Yes             No 

 
Yes             No 

 
Yes             No 

 
Yes             No 

 
Yes             No 

Proof of insurance 
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transferred? 
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Copy of Buyer’s Guide? 
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Deal on Replacement 
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Obtained? 
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If the sale involved a 
courtesy delivery was 
sales tax paid and title 
transferred? 
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Comments: 
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Section III:  TEMPORARY TAGS 
 
Licensee is required by Section 320.27(6), F.S., to keep an accurate record of temporary tags purchased and issued. 
 
 From the Purchase Receipt: 

A. Date of Purchase: ____________________________________ 
 

B. Amount Purchased: __________________________________ 
 

C. From Series #: ____________________  to Series #: ____________________ 
 

D. Purchased From: _________________________________________________ 
 

E. Temporary Tags still on hand by Number: _____________________________________ 
 

________________________________________________________________________ 
 

F. Are Temporary Tags accounted for?    Yes           No 
 
G. Are Temporary Tags issued in sequence?    Yes           No 
 
H. Is the Temporary Tag log kept and maintained?   Yes           No 
 
I. Is Assignment Form HSMV 83091 properly completed?  Yes           No 
 
J. Is Assignment Form HSMV 83091 kept in the deal file?  Yes           No 
 
K. Are Temporary Tags issued for 30 days?    Yes           No 
 
L. Is not issuing more than two (2) temporary tags?   Yes          No 
 

List all Temporary Tags not accounted for: 
 

 
 
Comments: 
 

 
 
Section IV:  DEALER PLATES  Use additional sheets if necessary    
      Is dealer complying with prohibition against certain uses of dealer plates?              Yes              No 
    
Section 320.13(1)(a), F.S., requires dealer license plates to be valid for use only on vehicles in the dealer’s inventory and for sale. 
Dealer Plates may not be used on wreckers, parts or service vehicles or any vehicle the dealer is accepting compensation for. 
List of assigned dealer plates: 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Section V:  DEALER AGENTS                   Use additional sheets if necessary. 
 

     Evidence Agent is                 Evidence Agent is 
         Bona Fide Employee                 Bona Fide Employee 
Name of Agent                  Yes             No          Name of Agent                Yes              No 
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Section VI:  FLORIDA STATUTES (Check all applicable statutes) 
 

316.2935(1)(b) Requires dealers to provide written certification that they have inspected vehicle and all pollution control 
   devices or systems are in place.   Three point check for model years 1975-79 and six point check for model 
   years 1980 and newer. 
 

319.001  When a title to a new MV has not been transferred,, but possession was and the conditions are not satisfied, 
   the new MV may be resold to a new buyer by the franchise dealer providing the dealer gives written notice 
   stating, "This vehicle was delivered to a previous purchaser." 
 

319.225  Using reassignment on title prior to using reassignment form.  Odometer disclosure required and secure 
   power of attorney. 
 

319.24(5)(a) Pay off liens within 10 days. 
 

320.0609 Required to transfer license plate and registrations.  (Discuss 30-day transfer, the Notification of Transfer 
   of Registration License Plate Form, and dealer’s responsibility for transfers.) 
 

320.08  License Plate and titling fees.  (Discuss overcharges, refunds, charging title service fees, sales taxes and 
   keeping proof the refunds were given back.) 
 

320.13  Dealer License Plates.  (Discuss the proper use and responsibility.) 
 

320.131  Misuse and issuance of Temporary Tags.  (Discuss keeping records for 5 years, using temporary tags with 
   Non-Use Affidavit, 30-day issuance, no more than two issued, no demo temporary tags, keeping voided 
   temporary tags, keeping records and logs.) 
 

320.27(7) Required to have a duly assigned title in possession prior to sale.  (Discuss indicia, floor planning, 
   consignment sales, listings, bank drafts, repossession, liens, title branding, exporting, and keeping copies 
   of records.) 
 

320.27(9)(a) Requires compliance with the Federal Law pertaining to the Consumer Sales Window Form, the Buyers 
   Guide. 
 

320.27(9)(i)  Required to provide a purchaser with an Odometer Disclosure Statement and copies of other documents. 
   (Discuss 5-year record keeping, the word Exempt and the proper filling out.) 
 

320.27(9)(p) Prohibits the use of a dealer license number by anyone other than the dealer.  (Discuss the check digit, 
   proper use of the dealer’s name, advertising and bona fide employees.) 
 

320.27(9)(v) Prohibits the sale of a trade-in vehicle before the deal is consummated unless the owner provides written 
   authorization for the sale. 
 

320.865D Discuss Consumer Complaints and record.  (Discuss the dealer’s responsibility, sanctions, and penalties.) 
 

626.9551(1) Prohibits any lender of money or extender of credit to negotiate any policy of insurance through a particular 
   insurer, group of insurers, agent, or broker of groups of agents or brokers.  320.27(9)(k). F.S., prohibits a  
   motor vehicle dealer from requiring a customer to contract with the dealer for physical damage insurance. 
 
 
Print Investigator Name:       Badge Number:      
 

 
Investigator Signature:        
 

 
Print Dealer Rep. Name:       Title:       
 

 
Dealer Rep. Signature:    
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