FLORIDA DEPARTMENT OF HIGHWAY SAFETY AND MOTOR VEHICLES

APPLICATION FOR LICENSE PLATE AND DECAL REFUND 2900 APALACHEE PARKWAY, MS-72 TALLAHASSEE, FL 32399-0624

This application along with the registration certificate showing taxes paid and all other supporting documentation must be submitted to the address above. The license plate and decal must also be submitted with the application or turned into the Tax Collector's office or License Plate Agent for cancellation.

SECTION	1: OWNER IN	IFORMATIC	ON						
Please type or print clearly. All correspondence, including any refund, will be mailed to the address below									
First Name Mi		iddle Name	Last Name			Date of Birth			
Mailing Address:									
					Τ -				
City:					State:		Zip:		
EL : L DI	//D N I		T						
Florida DL/ID Number:			Telephone Number		Email Address				
Signature	of Registered	Owner					Date		
SECTION 2: VEHICLE DESCRIPTION									
The motor vehicle/mobile home/vessel described below is or was registered in my name.									
Vehicle Identification Number/Hull Identification Number:									
Year:	Make: License Plate / Decal Number and Decal Year/ Vessel Registration Number						ation Number		

SECTION 3: REASON FOR REFUND

Select the checkbox next to the refund request.

\Box 1. Surrendered license plate and decal, or mobile home or vessel decal prior to the effective date of the registration

- To qualify for a refund of the registration fee, the license plate and decal, or mobile home or vessel
 decal must be surrendered prior to the effective date (midnight of the registrant's birthday in the year
 the plate was renewed).
- If the owner has a biennial registration and surrenders the license plate and decal or mobile home or vessel decal any time after the effective date of the registration, there is not refund for either the first or second year of the registration period.
- There is no provision in Florida law for prorated refunds.

□2. Initial Registration Fee (\$225)

- Submit a copy of the registration that reflects the initial registration fee (\$225) was paid.
- Submit proof that the vehicle the initial registration fee was paid on was disposed of within 90 days of
 the payment of the initial registration fee. An example of proof is a copy of the front and back of title
 signed over to purchaser or a copy of the bill of sale which includes complete description of the
 vehicle (identification number, year, make), date sold, and signatures of purchaser and seller.

FLORIDA DEPARTMENT OF HIGHWAY SAFETY AND MOTOR VEHICLES

APPLICATION FOR LICENSE PLATE AND DECAL REFUND

\square 3. Two license plates and decals purchased for the same vehicle

- Submit with application for refund, or surrender to the Tax Collector's office or License Plate Agent, the license plate and decal to be cancelled and refunded.
- For International Registration Plan (IRP) license plate submit a copy of the cab card and the registration of the straight plate.

\Box 4. New license plate and decal issued when current license plate was available for transfer.

• If a new Florida license plate and decal was issued to a new vehicle and a current Florida license plate and decal was available for transfer to the same vehicle, surrender the new license plate and decal for cancellation along with the registration issued to the new license plate, a copy of the registration for the license plate being transferred, and a copy of the new registration once the license plate and decal is transferred to the new vehicle.

□ 5. Mobile Home declared as Real Property.

To qualify for a refund of the registration fee, the mobile home decal(s) must be surrendered along
with a copy of the currently issued Real Property decal(s) and registration. An accurately completed
Dr-402 Declaration of Mobile Home as Real Property, signed by the county property appraiser or
designated staff member is also required.

☐ 6. Recreational Vehicle declared as Real Property

- To qualify for a refund of the registration fee the license plate and general decal must be surrendered along with a copy of the currently issued Real property decal and registration. An accurately completed Dr-402 Declaration of Mobile Home as Real Property, signed by the county property appraiser or designated staff member is also required.
- Recreational vehicles include motor home, fifth wheel trailer, park trailer, and travel trailer.

□7. Pre-Sale Specialty License Plate Voucher Refund

- At the conclusion of the 24-month pre-sale period if the minimum sales requirement has not been met, the recipient of the specialty license plate voucher may apply for a refund. Note: the purchaser, if different from the recipient, is not entitled to the refund.
- Or if the plate has met the pre-sale requirement but the license plate has not been issued, the license
 plate voucher may be used toward the annual use fee collected as a credit towards any other
 specialty license plate or apply for a refund.
- A specialty license plate voucher cannot be transferred, replaced, refunded or exchanged unless the plate fails to meet the minimum pre-sale requirement.

SECTION 4: TAX COLLECTOR USE ONLY								
The license plate and decal indicated below were surrendered to this office and entered in the motor vehicle								
issuance system as surrendered/cancelled as required.								
License Plate Number	Decal Number	Expiration Date	Date Received					
County/Agency Number								
Signature		Tax Collector's Name Stamp, Seal, or Signature						
-								
If the refund is being requested due to a tax collector error, please attach a Tax Collector Refund Request								
Application								