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17.12.01 PURPOSE 

 To provide established guidelines governing travel policies, regulations, and instructions 
for completion of forms related to travel and reimbursement. 

17.12.02 AUTHORITY 

 Policy #11.09, DHSMV Management Manual 

 Section 112.061, Florida Statutes 

17.12.03 POLICY 

 Travel expenses shall be limited to those expenses necessarily incurred in the 
performance of public purposes authorized by law to be performed by the agency and must be 
within the limitations prescribed by Section 112.061, Florida Statutes. 

 This policy will specifically cover travel to the Florida Highway Patrol Training Academy.  
Complete policy and procedures for travel can be found in Policy  #11.09, DHSMV Management 
Manual. 

17.12.04 OBJECTIVES 

 To provide instructions to employees on available travel expenses when attending the 
Florida Highway Patrol Training Academy. 

17.12.05 RESPONSIBILITIES 

A. The traveler is responsible for: 

1. Reviewing Policy #11.09, DHSMV Management Manual, prior to 
commencement of any travel. 

2. Completing the Voucher for Reimbursement of Travel Expenses (DBF-
AA-15). 

B. The supervisor is responsible for: 

1. Facilitating the review of Policy #11.09, DHSMV Management Manual, by 
any employee not assigned a DHSMV Management Manual prior to the 
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commencement of the employee's travel. 

2. Reviewing and certifying that the employee's travel was authorized and 
that the Voucher for Reimbursement of Travel Expenses submitted by the 
employee is accurate and complete. 

17.12.06 PROCEDURES 

A. TRAINING ACADEMY BILLETS 

1. Personnel billeted at the Florida Highway Patrol Training Academy in 
Tallahassee in a student/training capacity are normally not entitled to per 
diem/subsistence allowances during their stay. 

2. Personnel who are ordered to report to the Academy in an 
instructor/student/training capacity must attach a copy of their written 
order for travel to their form DBF-AA-15.  The order must include the 
times and dates of reporting and dismissal. 

a. On travel to the Academy, the employee is entitled to claim either: 

(1) Per diem at a rate of $80 per day ($20.00/quarter) less the 
daily cost of lodging established by the Bureau of Budget if 
the written reporting time is after 6:00 p.m. and less the 
appropriate Class C meal allowance if any meals are 
served at the Academy during the period covered by per 
diem, or 

(2) The Class C meal allowance. 

b. On return to official headquarters, the employee is entitled to claim 
either: 

(1) Per diem at the rate of $80 per day ($20.00/quarter) from 
the time of dismissal to time of arrival less the appropriate 
Class C meal allowance if any meals are served at the 
Academy during the period covered by the per diem, 

(2) The Class C meal allowance, or 

(3) Per diem at the rate of $80 per day ($20.00/quarter) from 
midnight on the day of dismissal, if no meals are served at 
the Academy that day. 

3. Personnel performing authorized travel away from their official 
headquarters in a nontraining status and temporarily housed at the 
Academy for the convenience of the Department may be entitled to meal 
allowances during their stay at the Academy. 

a. Subsistence payments are predicated upon the availability of 
cafeteria service at the Academy. 
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b. Reimbursement for meals at the Academy will be made for actual 
charges incurred, not to exceed the maximum authorized for 
Class C travel. 

B. RATES OF CLASS C MEAL ALLOWANCES 

1. Breakfast $6.00 

2. Lunch  $11.00 

3. Dinner  $19.00 

C. VOUCHER FOR REIMBURSEMENT OF TRAVEL EXPENSES (DBF-AA-15) 

 One original and one copy of Form DBF-AA-15 and all supporting documentation 
will be submitted to the Bureau of Accounting within five working days after 
completion of travel. 

D. Transportation to and from the Academy should be in Division vehicles.  If the 
employee elects to use a personal vehicle or other form of transportation, the 
employee assumes the expense of such transportation and will not be 
reimbursed by the Department. 


