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5.06.01 PURPOSE 

To provide information to members regarding the established salary plan. 

5.06.02 AUTHORITY 

Policy #5.11, DHSMV Policy Manual 

Rule 60L-31, Florida Administrative Code 

Rule 60L-32, Florida Administrative Code 

5.06.03 POLICY 

This policy is established to provide members with a written salary program 
describing salary levels, differentiation between ranks, overtime policy and salary 
augmentation. 

5.06.04 RESPONSIBILITIES 

A. The Criminal Justice Standards and Training Commission 

1. The Commission actively provides statewide leadership in the 
establishment, implementation, and evaluation of criminal justice 
standards and training for all law enforcement officers and 
provides information to the Legislature for use in establishing a 
minimum foundation program for law enforcement officers to 
include a statewide minimum salary. 

2. The Commission shall establish rules as necessary to provide 
effectively for the proper administration of a salary augmentation 
incentive program as authorized by Section 943.22, Florida 
Statutes. 

B. The Executive Director or Deputy Executive Director 

1. The approval of the Executive Director or Deputy Executive 
Director is required for salaries greater than 15% above the 
minimum of the pay range for new hires. 
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2. The approval of the Executive Director or Deputy Executive 
Director is required for promotions which include an increase in 
salary greater than 10% or greater than 15% for promotion to a 
supervisory position over the current salary or at the minimum 
salary for the class, whichever is greater. 

C. Department of Management Services 

1. Salaries for certified law enforcement classes are determined in 
accordance with instructions issued by the Department of 
Management Services.  The law enforcement bargaining unit 
meets with the Department of Management Services, Office of 
Labor Relations, for the purpose of collective bargaining regarding 
salaries for those classifications and positions of career service 
employees listed in the agreement between the State of Florida 
and the bargaining unit. 

2. Members appointed with trainee status must be paid during the 
training period in accordance with a Department of Management 
Services approved training schedule. 

D. The Chief Administrative Officer shall review the Division salary program 
annually at a time consistent with preparation of the budget. 

5.06.05 PROCEDURES 

The salary plan is based on the Division’s position classification plan and 
provides for differentiation between ranks, uniform percentage increases between 
classes and ranks, and the overtime policy. 

A. The Certified Law Enforcement Salary Ranges by Pay Grade is an official 
schedule issued by the Department of Management Services, and 
depicts the pay grades and the pay grade assignments for each law 
enforcement class, the pay steps within each pay grade, and the 
competitive area differential pay regions. 

1. Movement to the next step within a pay grade is determined by 
the legislature during formation of the annual state budget. 

2. Members may also be eligible for a salary incentive payment 
based on their level of educational achievement.  The total 
amount of incentive payments that can be received is $130 per 
month, and is earned according to the following schedule: 

a. Basic Certification Money - $25 per month for completion 
of basic law enforcement certification before July 1, 1980. 

b. Career Development/Training Money - $20 per month for 
each 80 hour block of career development courses.  The 
maximum payment allowed under this portion of the 
program is $120 per month. Courses qualifying for this 
program are designated by the Criminal Justice Standards 
and Training Commission. 
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c. Education Money - $30 per month for a community college 
degree or equivalent, $80 per month for a bachelor or post 
bachelor degree.  The community college equivalent is 90 
quarter hours or 60 semester hours.  The maximum 
payment allowed under this portion of the program is $80 
per month. 

B. A career service salary schedule is also issued by the Department of 
Management Services for all non-sworn career services job classes and 
depicts the biweekly, monthly, and annual minimum and maximum of the 
pay ranges to which each career service class is assigned. 

C. Compensatory time policy and overtime policy shall be in accordance with 
FHP Policy 5.04.07(E), overtime and extra hours. 

 


