
FLORIDA

TEXTING AND DRIVING

HANDS-FREE  
IN SCHOOL AND WORK ZONES

Effective July 1, 2019, motorists may be stopped 
by a law enforcement officer for texting and driving.

Section 316.305, Florida Statutes

FIRST OFFENSE
is a non-moving traffic violation with a base $30 fine, not including 
additional court costs or other fees, and no points assessed against 
the motorist’s driver license. 

SECOND OFFENSE
within five years is a moving traffic violation, with a base $60 fine, not 
including court costs and other fees, and 3 points assessed against 
the motorist’s driver license. 

Wireless  
Communications
While Driving Law

Wireless communication devices can only be used in a 
hands-free manner when driving in a designated school 

crossing, school zone, or active work zone area.  

Effective October 1, 2019, motorists may 
receive a warning for a violation of this section and  

effective January 1, 2020, motorists may 
receive a citation for a violation of this section.

For more information, go to flhsmv.gov/focusondriving.
If you’ve received a citation, go to flhsmv.gov/citations.

Section 316.306, Florida Statutes

ANY OFFENSE
is a moving traffic violation, with a base $60 fine, not including court 
costs and other fees, and 3 points assessed against the motorist’s 
driver license.



FLORIDA

MENSAJES DE TEXTO Y CONDUCCIÓN

MANOS LIBRES EN ZONAS  
ESCOLARES Y DE TRABAJO

A partir del 1 de julio de 2019, los  
automovilistas pueden ser detenidos por un oficial  
de la ley para enviar mensajes de texto y conducir.

Sección 316.305, Estatutos de la Florida

PRIMERA OFENSA
es una infracción de tráfico sin mover con una multa de $30 base, sin incluir 
los costos judiciales adicionales u otros cargos, y no se evalúan puntos en la 
licencia de conducir del conductor. 

SEGUNDA OFENSA
dentro de cinco años se produce una infracción de tránsito en movimiento, 
con una multa de $60 base, sin incluir los costos judiciales y otros cargos,  
y 3 puntos evaluados contra la licencia de conducir del conductor.

Comunicación  
Inalámbrica  
Mientras se Conduce

Los dispositivos de comunicación inalámbricos solo se pueden 
usar de forma manos libres cuando se conduce en un cruce 
escolar, zona escolar o zona de trabajo activa designados. 

A partir del 1 de octubre de 2019, los automovilistas 
pueden recibir una advertencia por una violación de esta sección 
y a partir del 1 de enero de 2020, los automovilistas 

pueden recibir una citación por una violación de esta sección.

Para obtener más información, visite flhsmv.gov/focusondriving.
Si ha recibido una cita, vaya a flhsmv.gov/citations.

Sección 316.306, Estatutos de la Florida

CUALQUIER OFENSA
es una infracción de tráfico en movimiento, con una multa de $60 
base, sin incluir los costos judiciales y otros cargos, y 3 puntos  
evaluados contra la licencia de conducir del conductor.


