

2900 Apalachee Parkway Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0500 www.flhsmv.gov

DATE: February 7, 2007

TO: Mobile/Manufactured Home Installation Component Manufacturers

FROM: Philip R. Bergelt, HSMV Program Manager

Bureau of Mobile Home and RV

Construction

SUBJECT: Example Test Protocols for Mobile/Manufactured Home Installation Components

Whole House Testing:

- 1. Test home must be installed by a Florida licensed installer that is not affiliated with component manufacturer.
- 2. Project engineer must be onsite during testing.
- 3. Home must be set on 1000 PSF soil.
- 4. Lateral loads for 20% roof systems must be equal 8.5 ft x length of home x 47 lbs X 1.5 safety factor.
- 5. Longitudinal loads are 12,000 lbs for each end per floor.
- 6. Three tests without any straps to established loads. Then three test with sidewall straps at 5'4" on center. Sidewall load on straps must be measured during testing and cannot exceed 800lbs.
- 7. No centerline ties are required for testing.
- 8. All tests will have uplift applied to remove friction factor and load on rollers must be calculated. A total of 2" rise and 3" slide will be a failure.
- 9. Whole House Testing: We must have 45 days notice before home installation. Test protocol & calculations must be submitted 30 days prior to home installation. The department reserves the right to review or refuse witnessing.

ABS / Plastic Pads:

- 1. Pads must be randomly selected by the department's personnel for testing.
- 2. Pads shall be placed on the ground that has been cleared of all grass, roots and top soil to thickness of the pad. Or placed on fresh fill dirt.
- 3. Each pad must be tested on certified 1,000, 2,000, & 3,000 pounds soil. Pads shall withstand a maximum load including the 1.5 safety factor as required by the Federal Manufacturer Home Construction and Safety Standards.
- 4. Three consecutive test for each product or configuration of single or double stack block must be performed without failure.
- 5. Test witnessing of all other components & products require 45 days notice and test protocol 30 days before test date.