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This Champions for Safety Student
Workbook has been produced

as a resource for teachers,

parents and caregivers to
teach children about
road safety, from

school bus and school
zone safety to properly

buckling up and being

a responsible bicyclist
. N N |
or pedestrian. Once a P ——
. N N |
child completes all the C

activities, they can

become a Champion
for Safety, complete
with a badge to wear

oroudly!






SAFETY BELT &

CHILP RESTRAINTS

CHILY SAFETY TIPS

SAFETY BELTS

- Florida law requires the use of seat belts or child
restraint devices by drivers of motor vehicles, all
front seat passengers and all children riding in a
vehicle under 18.

- Florida's safety belt law is a primary enforcement
law, meaning that an officer can stop a vehicle
and issue a citation simply for observing a safety
belt or restraint violation.

- Children should be in the rear seats until at least
age 12, since deployed front seat air bags can be
dangerous to children.

CHILP RESTRAINTS
Car Seats and Booster Seats

- Florida law requires children age 5 and
under to be secured properly in a crash
tested, federally approved child restraint
device.

- Children ages O to 3 must be in child
restraint devices of a separate carrier or a
vehicle manufacturer’s integrated child seat.

- Children age 4 and 5 must be in a separate
carrier, integrated child seat or booster seat.

- The best child seat is one that fits your child,
fits your car and is used correctly every time.

- Read the car seat’s instruction manual and
the portion of your vehicle’'s owner manual
when you install a car seat.

- Remember to check for car seat and booster
seat recalls.

- You can visit a local FHP station to ask a
certified trooper to help you install your
seat. Call your local FHP troop to set up an
appointment.
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CHILP RESTRAINTS 2 LIS
CHILP SAFETY TIPS AN

BE A SAFE PASSENGER

a Always buckle your seat belt. e Ride sitting properly in the seat, facing forward.

e Don't distract the driver. Use an “inside 0 Be another set of eyes for the driver and

VoI n rn the volum whn on P .
oice and tu . the volume down o watch for dangerous tragic situations.
games and videos.

LICENSE PLATE SAFARI

See how many different state license plates you can find on a trip or around town!
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SCHOOL BUS &
SCHOOL ZONE SAFETY
CHILP SAFETY TIPS

As of January 1, 2021, the penalties for failure to stop for

a school bus double. The penalty for failure to stop for a
school bus goes from $100 to $200 and if a second offense is
committed in 5 years, the person’s license will be suspended
for up to 1 year. The penalty for passing a school bus on

the side that children enter and exit when the school bus
displays a stop signal goes from $200 to $400 and if a second
offense is committed in 5 years, the person’s license can be
suspended up to 2 years.

SCHOOL BUS: Safety for Motorists

- All drivers moving in either direction on a two-way street must stop for a school bus displaying a stop
signal and must remain stopped until the road is clear of children AND the school bus stop arm is withdrawn.

- On a highway divided by a paved median, all drivers moving in either direction must stop for a school
bus displaying a stop signal and must remain stopped until the road is clear of children AND the school
bus stop arm is withdrawn.

- On a highway divided by a raised barrier or an unpaved median at least five feet wide, drivers moving in the
opposite direction do not have to stop for the bus. Painted lines or pavement markings are not considered
barriers. However, motorists should slow down and watch for students loading or unloading from the bus.

- The Wireless Communications While Driving Law prohibits the use of a device in a handheld manner while

driving in a designated school crossing, school zone or active work zone area. Penalties include a base $60
fine, not including court costs or other fees, and 3 points assessed against the driver license.

SCHOOL ZONE: Safety for Motorists

- Be alert and watch for children especially near schools, bus stops, school buses and in school parking lots.

- Children on bicycles can be unpredictable and can make sudden changes in direction.
Be especially careful when children are present in school zones and residential areas.

- It can wait. Put it down and stay hands-free in school zones so you can focus on driving.

- Only drive or park in authorized areas to drop off or pick up children at school.
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- Pay extra attention to the lower speed limits in school zones. N

- Watch for and obey signals from school crossing guards. [




SCHOOL BUS &

SCHOOL ZONE SAFETY
CHILP SAFETY TIPS

AT THE BUS STOP / ON THE BUS

Never sit on the road or curb. Take five giant When the bus stops, wait for the driver to tell you
steps away from the road and safely wait for that it is safe to board the bus. Look left-right-left
the bus. before crossing the street.

e Never speak to strangers at the bus stop or

get into a car with a stranger. Always tell the
bus driver, a teacher and your parents if a
stranger tries to talk to you or pick you up.

0 Use an “inside” voice and always listen to the driver.

e Sit properly in the seat facing the front of the bus.

SCHOOL BUS SAFETY WORP SEARCH

Find the safety words below:

BUS - DRIVER - LISTEN
SAFE - SCHOOL - STOP . SEAT
OBEY - WHEELS - YELLOW
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BICYCLE SAFETY FOR
PARENTS ANV CHILVREN

- Make sure all equipment on the bicycle works.

- Always wear a properly fitted helmet and securely
fasten the strap. All bicycle riders and passengers
under age 16 are required by Florida law to wear a
helmet.

- Be seen. Wear neon or fluorescent or bright colors
when riding and wear something that reflects light.

- Do not wear headphones so that you can hear the

traffic and pedestrians around you. Never text and ride.

- Ride in the same direction as traffic and stay as far to

the right as possible. Use bike lanes whenever you can.

- Obey all traffic laws, including signs, signals and lane
markings, when riding on the roadway.

- Cross at intersections and never pull out into the
roadway from between parked cars.

- If riding on the sidewalk or in a crosswalk, yield
to pedestrians and give them an audible signal
(such as, “passing on your left”)
before passing them.

CHILP SAFETY TIPS

Bicycle Safety for Motorists

- Drivers MUST give bicyclists a minimum of
three feet of clearance when driving alongside
or passing them.

- When turning, yield to any bicyclist in the bike
lane and make your turn behind the cyclist.

Pedestrian Safety for Parents and Children

- Always walk on the sidewalk if there is one. If no
sidewalks are present, walk against the direction
of traffic so that you can see oncoming vehicles.

- Always cross the roadway where pedestrians are
expected, at corners or in crosswalks. Always
watch for traffic when crossing the street.

- Never enter the street from between parked
cars. If crossing mid-block cannot be avoided,
pedestrians must yield the right of way to vehicles
on the roadway.

- Wear bright, reflective colors on clothes, shoes,
hats and wristbands. Carry a flashlight when
walking at night.

- Pay attention. Avoid wearing headphones so that
you can hear the traffic and pedestrians around
you. Never text or look at your cell phone when
crossing the street.

- Obey pedestrian signs and signals. Yield the right
of way to vehicles if the crosswalk signal is red or
showing “Don’t Walk."




When riding, always wear a helmet that fits
your head. Don't forget to fasten the chin strap!

Make sure that drivers can see you! Wear bright
colors and something that reflects light (like
reflective tape on helmet or shoes).

O O O

cars. Look left-right-left before crossing a road.

WORP SCRAMBLE

When you're walking or riding your bike, you should
always cross at intersections, never between parked

Obey all traffic laws, signs and signals.

Pay attention! Never ride or walk
with headphones that keep you from
hearing traffic.

O
O

Unscramble the letters to reveal a few key safety terms!

1. VRAERI LEVAI
2. OKLO CEWTI

3. YLCIEBC

4. MEHLET

5. OAKCSWLRS




[\

HEATSTROKE PREVENTION
Never Leave Children in a Car

- Keep vehicles in driveways or garages locked and
store keys out of children’s reach to avoid children
becoming trapped in a vehicle.

- When getting out of your vehicle, check to
make sure all children are out of the vehicle and
accounted for. Put a purse or other important
item in the backseat with your child as a reminder.

- Never leave a child unattended or unsupervised
in a motor vehicle. It is extremely hot, especially in
Florida, and can result in the child's injury or death.

- Florida law states that children under six should
never be left in a motor vehicle for longer than 15
minutes, or for any period of time if the motor is
running, the health of the child is in danger or if
the child appears to be in distress. A violation of
this law is a second degree misdemeanor and can
result in a fine of up to $500.
If a child is injured, the
violation becomes a
third degree felony.

PRIVEWAY SAFETY

- Teach children to never play in, on, around, or under
vehicles. Keep toys or bicycles off the driveway.

- Designate safe play areas for your children that are off
the driveway and away from vehicles.

- If children play in the driveway, have an adult supervise
at all times.

- Keep vehicles in driveways or garages locked and store
keys out of children’s reach to avoid children getting in
a vehicle and turning it on or becoming trapped.

- When backing out of the driveway or parked spot:

—Walk around your vehicle to check for children
playing and make sure all children are safe and
accounted for.

— Turn off your radio and roll down windows to
listen for children or pedestrians.

— Know your vehicle's blind spots and look again
before backing up. Check your rearview and
side mirrors.

— Look both ways and watch for children or
pedestrians especially in school zones and
residential areas.

- Florida law states that the driver of a vehicle shall not
back up unless such movement can be made with
safety and without interfering with other traffic. Take a
second look if you have any doubt!

Ol




Never play in parked vehicles. It can quickly Never play under or around parked vehicles.
get very hot inside of a vehicle, especially in A driver might not see or hear you when they
the summer. Stay safe, and stay out of cars start the engine and begin driving.

without an adult.

Never start a vehicle! Only people with a O Keep your toys and bicycles off the driveway
driver license should operate a vehicle. and away from behind a vehicle.

SAFETY PICTURE FINV

Circle the things that are not safe in the picture below:

Look Twicel




ACTIVITY ANSWER KEYS
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Congratulations! You are now a Champion for Safety!
Cut out the Champion for Safety badge below and wear it proudly!
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