
2013 Legislation Affecting Traffic & Motor Vehicle Laws 

The following is a summary of legislative changes related to traffic and motor vehicle laws enacted 
during the 2013 Legislative Session.  Before any policy or operational decisions are made, 

     the complete version of the law should be carefully reviewed.  Complete copies of the bills may be 
     obtained from the Department of State, the distribution offices of the Florida House and Senate, 
     independent reporting agencies or the official website of the Florida Legislature at www.leg.state.fl.us. 
     Please feel free to contact this office at 850-617-3195, if we can provide additional assistance. 
 
 Ch. Law 2013-019 HB 15 Funerals and Burials        Effective 10/01/13 
 
 871.015 Creates a first degree misdemeanor to knowingly engage in protest 

activities or knowingly cause protest activities to occur within 500 feet 
of the property line of any location where a funeral or burial is being 
conducted, during or within 1 hour before or 1 hour after the 
conducting of funeral or burial.   

   
 

 Ch. Law 2013-227 SB 50 Public Meetings       Effective 10/01/13 
 
  286.0114 Requires the public be given a reasonable opportunity to be heard by a 

board or commission prior to taking official action on a proposition. 
Provides that a circuit court has jurisdiction over the issuance of an 
injunction in certain circumstances. 

 
   
 Ch. Law 2013-58 HB 52 Use of Wireless Communications Devices   
        Effective 10/01/13 
 

316.305, 322.27 Creates the “Florida Ban on Texting While Driving Law.” 
 
  Prohibits the operation of a motor vehicle while manually typing or 

entering multiple letters, numbers, symbols, or other text in a 
handheld wireless communication device, or sending or reading data 
in the device, for the purpose of non-voice interpersonal 
communication.  

 
  Makes exceptions for emergency workers performing official duties, 

reporting emergencies or suspicious activities, and for receiving 
various types of navigation information, emergency traffic data, radio 
broadcasts, and autonomous vehicles.  

 
  Makes an exception for interpersonal communications that can be 

conducted without manually typing the message or without reading 
the message. The prohibition is enforceable as a secondary offense. A 
first violation is punishable as a nonmoving violation, with a fine of 
$30 plus court costs that vary by county. A second violation 
committed within 5 years after the first is a moving violation that is 
punishable by a $60 fine plus court costs. 

 
  In addition to the fines, a violation of the unlawful use of a cellphone 

which results in a crash will result in 6 points added to the offender’s 
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driver license record and the unlawful use of a cell phone while 
committing a moving violation within a school safety zone will result 
in an 2 points added to the offender’s driver license record in addition 
to the points for the moving violation. 

  
  
 Ch. Law 2013-161 SB 62 Low-Speed Vehicles   Effective 07/01/13 
 
 319.14 Establishes procedures to allow a vehicle titled or branded and 

registered as a low- speed vehicle (LSV) to be administratively 
converted to a golf cart upon verification of the conversion by the 
Department for a $40 administrative fee. 

  
 Ch. Law 2013-033 SB 92 Searches and Seizures  Effective 07/01/13 
   
   Creates the Freedom from Unwarranted Surveillance Act. Provides 

definition of a drone. Prohibits law enforcement agencies from using 
drones to gather evidence or other information, except in certain 
narrow circumstances. 

   
  In addition to the inadmissibility of evidence, allows aggrieved party 

to initiate civil action to prevent or remedy a violation of prohibitions. 
 
 Ch. Law 2013-074 SB 93 Homelessness    Effective 07/01/13 
 

320.02 & 322.08 Authorizes the Department to include a voluntary contribution of $1 
per applicant to aid the homeless on the motor vehicle registrations, 
applications for driver licenses or identification cards.   

 
 Ch. Law 2013-075 HB 113 Distribution of Materials Harmful to Minors   
        Effective 10/01/13 
 
 847.012 Makes it a third degree felony for an adult to knowingly distribute 

materials harmful to minors on school property or post on school 
property. Provides exception for school-approved instructional 
materials. 

 
 Ch. Law 2013-192 HB 247 Paper Reduction    Effective 10/01/13 
 
 97.052, 101.2  Provides for the use of an electronic medium to collect and 

disseminate information as required by law in certain settings. 
Requires the statewide voter registration application to elicit the voter 
registration applicant’s e-mail address and an indication of whether 
the applicant wishes to receive sample ballots by e-mail; and 
authorizes the supervisor of elections to provide electronic sample 
ballots to electors if certain conditions are met. 

 
 Ch. Law 2013-029 SB 294 Controlled Substances  Effective 04/24/13 
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893.03, 893.13, 893.135 Codifies the Schedule I scheduling of the substances in the Attorney 
General’s emergency rule issued on December 11, 2012, which 
scheduled synthetic cannabinoids, cathinones, and phenethylamines as 
Schedule I controlled substances.  Persons who engage in certain 
unlawful acts involving these substances will be subject to arrest and 
prosecution. 
 
Reenacts sections 893.13(1)-(6) and 921.0022(3)(b)-(e), F.S. relating to 
prohibited acts involving controlled substances and the offense severity 
ranking chart of the Criminal Punishment Code, respectively, to 
incorporate the amendments made to s. 893.03, F.S. 

  
 Ch. Law 2013-030 SB 338 Theft of Utility Services          Effective 10/01/13 
 

812.14 Provides that thefts of utility services are punishable as theft. A person 
who commits theft of utility services will not necessarily commit a first 
degree misdemeanor (the current degree of offenses under s. 812.14, 
F.S.). Under s. 812.014, F.S., the offense degree and penalties relevant to 
a theft depend upon the value of the property (which includes services) 
stolen and other factors, if relevant, such as whether the theft is a first 
offense (relevant to petit theft).  

 
Increases the civil penalty for a person found in a civil action to have 
violated the statute on utility theft from the current three times the 
amount of services stolen or $1,000, whichever is greater, to three times 
the amount stolen or $3,000, whichever is greater.  

  
 Ch. Law 2013-196 HB 361 Public Meetings/Criminal Justice Commissions   
        Effective 07/01/13 
 
  Creates a public meeting exemption and is applicable to Sarasota 

County and  Palm Beach County Criminal Justice Commissions.  
Specifically, for “that portion of a meeting of a duly constituted 
criminal justice commission at which members of the commission 
discuss active criminal intelligence information or active criminal 
investigative information currently being considered by, or which may 
foreseeably come before, the commission” from public meeting 
requirements.   

 
  Defines a “duly constituted criminal justice commission” as an 

advisory commission created by municipal or county ordinance whose 
membership is comprised of private and public sector persons and 
whose purpose is to examine local criminal justice issues. 

 
 
 Ch. Law 2013-171 SB 454 Fl. College System Institution Police Officers  
                Effective   07/01/13                                     
 
 23.1225, 316.640, & 1012.88 
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Aligns jurisdictional authority of Florida College System institution 
police officers established for State University System police. Authorizes 
FCS institution police officers to:   
 

o Enforce laws within defined jurisdictional areas as agreed upon in 
a mutual aid agreement with another law enforcement agency;  

 
o Enforce traffic laws when the violations occur within 1,000 feet 

of any college owned or controlled property or facilities;  
 

o Enforce traffic laws beyond the 1,000-foot threshold when hot 
pursuit originates on college property or within 1,000 feet of 
college owned or controlled property or facilities, or as agreed 
upon in accordance with a mutual aid agreement;  

 
o Arrest persons for violations of state law or applicable county or 

city ordinances if the violation occurs on, or within 1,000 feet of, 
college owned or controlled property, and or facilities; and  

 
o Arrest persons for violations of state law or applicable county or 

city ordinances beyond the 1,000-foot threshold when hot pursuit 
originates on college property or within 1,000 feet of college 
owned or controlled property or facilities, or as agreed upon in 
accordance with a mutual aid agreement. 

 
 Ch. Law 2013-113 SB 457 Worthless Payment Instruments           Effective   07/01/13                  

 
 68.065 Provides an alternative to allow recovery of bad checks without filing 

civil action. 
   
  Updates civil laws on bad checks by creating the definition of 

“payment instrument” and including in the definition a debit card 
order or electronic funds transfer. 

 
 Ch. Law 2013-085 HB 487 Freemasonry/Specialty License Plate   Effective 10/01/13 
 
 320.08056, 320.08058 Creates Freemasonry specialty license plate, establishes the $25 

annual use fee for the plate, and provides for the distribution of the 
annual use fees received from the sale of the license plate to the 
Masonic Home Endowment Fund, Inc.  

 
  The organization must secure a minimum of 1,000 pre-sale vouchers 

by the conclusion of the 24-month presale period. 
 
 Ch. Law 2013-114 HB 489 Railroad Police Officers         Effective 07/01/13 
 

354.01  Requires railroad special officers to meet all of the minimum 
standards in s. 943.13(1)-(11), F.S.; and comply with the continuing 
training and education requirements in s. 943.135(1), F.S. Authorizes 
a railroad to temporarily employ a person as a special officer pending 
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that person’s appointment as a special officer by the Governor, so long 
as such person complies with s. 943.13, F.S.  

 
784.07  Reclassifies assault and battery offenses committed against specified 

officers, to include railroad special officers employed by a Class I, II, 
or III railroad and appointed or pending appointment by the Governor. 

 
 Ch. Law 2013-128 SB 520 Emergency Medical Services           Effective 07/01/13 
  
 381.0034 Deletes requirement that EMTs, paramedics, & 911 public safety 

telecommunicators complete course on HIV & AIDS. 
 
    
 Ch. Law 2013-086 HB 571 Marshall of the Supreme Court   Effective 05/30/13 
 

25.251   Specifies that the Marshal and his or her deputies are law enforcement 
officers with the authority to bear arms and make arrests in accordance 
with the laws of the state and in connection with the performance of 
their official duties for the Court.  

 
Creates the Marshal’s jurisdiction to be statewide, and not limited to 
Court building or buildings where the Court is sitting. Requires the 
Marshal and deputies to comply with all of the requirements of s. 
943.13, F.S., rather than the single requirement of successfully 
completing a CJSTC-approved basic training program. CJSTC will be 
required to certify the Marshal and his or her deputies as law 
enforcement officers. 

 
      Ch. Law 2013-116 HB 585 Law Enforcement             Effective 07/01/13 
 

Chapter 943  Florida Department of Law Enforcement's legislative package 
includes the following: 

o Adds additional individuals to the list of persons that counties 
and cities may conduct state and national criminal history 
screenings on;  

o Adds an additional item to the list of items that a secondary 
metal recycler cannot purchase;  

o Revises duties relating to missing person reporting;  
o Requires the Violence Crime and Drug Control Council to 

meet annually instead of semiannually, and specifies that 
additional meetings may take place when determined by FDLE 
and the chair;  

o Requires sexual offenders to provide additional information 
during registration;  

o Requires states agencies and governmental subdivisions, prior 
to making any decision to appoint or employ a person to work 
at specified locations, to conduct a search of that person’s 
name or other identifying information through the Dru Sjodin 
National Sex Offender Public Website maintained by the 
United States Department of Justice;  
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o Redesignates statewide automated fingerprint identification 
system as the statewide automated biometric identification 
system;  

o Increases the period in which a minor can seek expunction 
after completing a diversion program;  

o Clarifies that a person may only seal or expunge a record if the 
person has never before sealed or expunged a record (except in 
specified instances);  

o Provides for accreditation of correctional facilities, public 
agency offices of inspectors general, and pretrial diversion 
programs; and  

o Amends provisions relating to state-operated crime labs to 
specify who can have access to such labs.  

 
      Ch. Law 2013-117 HB 611 False Reports to Law Enforcement Officers            
        Effective 10/01/13 
 

837.05 Institutes a first degree misdemeanor, punishable by up to one year in 
county jail and a $1,000 fine, for a person to knowingly give false 
information to a law enforcement officer concerning the alleged 
commission of any crime.  

 
Institutes a second or subsequent violation a third degree felony if one 
of the following conditions is met:  
 

• The information the person gave to the law enforcement 
officer was communicated orally and the officer’s account of 
that information is corroborated by:  

o An audio recording or audio recording in a video of that 
information;  

o A written or recorded statement made by the person who gave 
that information; or  

o Another person who was present when that person gave that 
information to the officer and heard that information.  

• The information the person gave to the law enforcement 
officer was communicated in writing.  

       
Ch. Law 2013-199 HB 623 Wine               Effective 07/01/13 

 
564.05  Allow the sale of wine in individual, reusable containers that hold 

5.16 gallons. The sale of wine at retail in a container that holds more 
than one gallon is not permitted, unless the individual container holds 
5.16 gallons of wine. A violation is a second degree misdemeanor. 

 
  Provides all wine containers sold or offered for sale for off-premises 

consumption must be in unopened original container, except as 
provided in s. 564.09, F.S. which allows restaurant patrons to leave 
the establishment with a bottle of wine that has been opened, for the 
purposes of off-premises consumption, in certain circumstances. 
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      Ch. Law 2013-067 SB 628 Driver Licenses            Effective 07/01/13 
 
322.142 Allows judges and certain employees of the state courts system to access 

copies of driver’s licenses held by the Department.   
       
 Ch. Law 2013-242 HB 691 Personal Identification Theft  Effective 10/01/13 
 

817.5685 Makes it unlawful to intentionally or knowingly possess, without 
authorization, the personal identification information (PII) of another 
person in any form, including but not limited to mail, physical 
documents, identification cards or information stored in the digital 
form. A violation is punishable as: a first degree misdemeanor if the 
person possesses the PII of four or fewer individuals; and a third 
degree felony if the person possesses the PII of five or more 
individuals. Certain exemptions are created. 

 
       
Ch. Law 2013-243 HB 731 Spouses & Children of Law Enforcement & Agency 

Personnel        
        Effective 10/01/13   

 
119.071  Creates a public records exemption for the names of spouses and 

children of state attorneys and law enforcement personnel, and repeals 
on October 2, 2018, unless otherwise acted on by the Legislature.     
        

 
      Ch. Law 2013-245 HB 851 Animal Cruelty    Effective 07/01/13 
  

 828.12  Designates a violation and clarifies definition of s. 828.12(1), F.S., as 
“animal cruelty,” and a violation of s. 828.12(2), F.S., as “aggravated 
animal cruelty,” A person who commits multiple acts of animal 
cruelty or aggravated animal cruelty against one animal may be 
charged with a separate offense for each act. Provides that a person 
who commits animal cruelty or aggravated animal cruelty against 
more than one animal may be charged with a separate offense for each 
animal such cruelty was committed upon.  

 
828.1615  Institutes a second degree misdemeanor for a person to dye or 

artificially color animals under 12 weeks of age, or fowl or rabbits of 
any age; bring such animals into the state; or sell, offer for sale, or 
give away as merchandising premiums baby chickens, ducklings, or 
other fowl under 4 weeks of age or rabbits under 2 months of age to 
be used as pets, toys, or retail premiums.  

 
Changes definition of “racketeering activity” to include violations of 
s. 828.122, F.S., relating to animal fighting and baiting.  

 
 
      Ch. Law 2013-221 HB 875 Licensed Security Officers              Effective 07/01/13 
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Ch. 493 Amends current law by making it a first degree misdemeanor for an 
unlicensed person to engage in any activity for which ch. 493, F.S., 
requires a license.  

 
Institutes a third degree felony for a person who, while impersonating 
a security officer, private investigator, recovery agent, or other person 
required to have a license under ch. 493, F.S., knowingly and 
intentionally force another person to assist the impersonator in an 
activity within the scope of duty of a person licensed under ch. 493, 
F.S. The penalties are increased for second or subsequent violations, 
or when violations occur while committing a felony.  

 
Authorizes licensed security officers (class D license) and licensed 
security agency managers (class MB license) who also possess a valid 
class “G” license (firearm license), to temporarily detain a person, so 
long as the security officer or manager:  

o Is on duty and in a uniform with at least one patch or emblem 
visible at all times clearly identifying the agency employing 
the security officer or security agency manager;  

o Is on the premises of a critical infrastructure facility; and  
o Has probable cause to believe that the person has committed or 

is committing a crime against the client operating the premises 
or the client's patron.  

 
The security officer must notify the appropriate law enforcement 
agency as soon as possible, and may only detain the person until a law 
enforcement officer (LEO) arrives and is in the presence of the 
detainee. A security officer or security agency manager may search a 
detained person and his or her belongings if the detainee admits to 
having a weapon or the officer or manager observes that the person is 
armed with a firearm, or other weapon that poses a threat. Such search 
may only be conducted to the extent necessary to disclose the 
presence of a weapon, which must be seized and transferred to the 
responding LEO.  
 

      Ch. Law 2013-104 HB 935 Florida False Claims Act          Effective 07/01/13 
 
  Chapter 493  Amends several provisions of the Florida False Claims Act. 
  
 Ch. Law 2013-247 HB 953 Warrants           Effective 07/01/13 
  

933.07, 901.02 Amends the requirements for the issuance of an arrest warrant to 
provide that a judge must review the complaint and all proofs 
submitted to determine if probable cause exists for any crime 
committed within the judge’s jurisdiction. If probable cause is found, 
the judge must sign the arrest warrant with his or her name of office. 

 
 Authorizes judges to electronically sign a search or arrest warrant 

upon examination of an application or complaint and proof that it: 
o Bears the affiant’s signature or electronic signature; 
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o Is supported by an oath or affirmation administered by the 
judge or other person authorized by law to administer oaths; 
and 

o If submitted electronically, is submitted by reliable electronic 
means. 

 
  Provides that the warrant is deemed issued when a judge signs or 

electronically signs the warrant. 
 
 Ch. Law 2013-235 SB 954 Technological Research and Development Authority  
        Effective         06/28/13  
 
 320.08058 Deletes reference to the Technological Research and Development 

Authority from law related to the use of funds derived from the sale of 
the Challenger/Columbia specialty license plates. 

  
 Ch. Law 2013-208 HB 1173 Fl. Communications Fraud Act       Effective 10/01/13 
 

775.15, 817.034 Adds a statute of limitations to the Communication Fraud Act. 
Provides any criminal or civil action under the CFA may commence 
any time within five years after the cause of action accrues. Specifies 
that in criminal cases, the period of limitation does not run at any time 
when the defendant is continuously absent from the state or is without 
a reasonably ascertainable place of abode or work within the state. 
The provision can only extend the limitation period by one year.  

 
Reclassifies a first degree felony offense of communications fraud 
with a value of $50,000 or more from Level 6 to Level 7 in the offense 
severity ranking chart.  

   
 Ch. Law 2013-098 HB 1325 Victims of Human Trafficking Effective 10/01/2014 
 

943.0583  Authorizes a victim of human trafficking to petition the court for the 
expunction of any conviction for an offense committed while he or 
she was a victim of human trafficking. Defines “victim of human 
trafficking.” 

 
90.803 Broadens a hearsay exception for child victims of abuse and sexual 

abuse, by increasing the age of a child to which the hearsay exception 
applies from 11 to 16. 

 
Ch. Law 2013-099 HB 1327 Public Records Exemption Criminal History/Human 

Trafficking Victims  
 

943.0583  This law is related to Ch. 2013-098 L.O.F. noted above, creates a 
public record exemption for a criminal history record of a victim of 
human trafficking that is ordered expunged. Such record retained by 
the FDLE is confidential and exempt from public record requirements 
and shall only be made available to criminal justice agencies for their 
respective criminal justice purposes. Exemption is repealed on 
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October 2, 2018, unless reviewed and saved from repeal by the 
Legislature.  

 
Ch. Law 2013-249 HB 1355 Firearms by Mentally Ill Persons       Effective 07/01/13
  
 
790.065 Prohibits licensed importers, manufacturers, and dealers from selling 

or delivering firearms to persons who have been “adjudicated 
mentally defective” or who have been “committed to a mental 
institution” by a court. Changes the definition of “committed to a 
mental institution” to include persons who have had an involuntary 
examination under the Baker Act and who have voluntarily admitted 
themselves for outpatient or inpatient treatment so long as certain 
requirements are met. 

  
 Ch. Law 2013-049 SB 1522 DHSMV    Effective 07/01/13 
 

320.0804  Conforms statutes relating to FDOT and the Department to the 
General Appropriations Act for the 2013-14 fiscal year, redirecting a 
portion of the existing fee, or surcharge, collected on an annual 
vehicle license registration. Redirects $1.00 of the $2.00 surcharge 
currently deposited into the State Transportation Trust Fund to the 
Highway Safety Operating Trust Fund. Provides a recurring revenue 
source to the Department to offset operational costs of the Office of 
Motor Carrier Compliance.  

 
 Ch. Law 2013-107 HB 7015 Expert Testimony   Effective 07/01/13 
 

90.702  Abolishes the Frye standard and adopts the Daubert standard relating 
to expert witness testimony.  

 
 Ch. Law 2013-001 HB 7059 Driver Licensing   Effective 04/02/13 
 

 322.04 Removes the requirement that a nonresident out-of-country visitor 
carry a valid International Driving Permit (IDP) in order to drive 
lawfully in Florida. The law brings s. 322.04, F.S., back to its pre-
2012 regular legislative session form. As such, an out-of-country 
visitor who is at least 16 years old will be able to drive legally as long 
as he or she has a valid driver license from his or her home state or 
country in his or her possession while driving. 

 
 Ch. Law 2013-160 HB 7125 DHSMV    Effective 07/01/13 
 

110.205  Reclassifies DHSMV positions serving as Captains in the Florida Highway 
Patrol to Selected Exempt Service.   

  
207.002, 316.545 Deletes the unnecessary definition of “Apportioned Motor Vehicle” from 

Chapter F.S. and strikes the term “apportionable”. 
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320.01 Defines the terms “apportioned motor vehicle,” “apportionable vehicle,” 
and “commercial motor vehicle.” Deletes the definition of “apportioned 
motor vehicle” and makes conforming changes in order to conform to 
current definitions in the International Registration Plan.  

 
Revises gross vehicle weight from 26,001 pounds to 26,000 pounds for 
purposes of defining the term “apportionable vehicle.”  

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
316.066 Allows the FDOT to obtain crash information prior to the 60 day limit.   
316.0083, 316003,  
318.121, 318.15,  
318.18 Expands the Mark Wandall Traffic Safety Program in the following ways: 
 

o Defines local hearing officer  
o Provides  a notice of violation and a traffic citation may not be 

issued if  driver came to a complete stop after crossing the stop line 
and before turning right if permissible at a red light 

o Increases the number of days to request a hearing to 60-days. 
o Provides the mailing of a notice of violation constitutes notification. 
o Provides a payment or fee may not be required before the requested 

hearing. 
o Provides the notice of violation must direct the person to a website 

to provide information on the person’s right to request a hearing. 
o Provides the person challenging the violation waives any challenge 

or dispute as to the delivery of the notice of violation. 
o Defines procedures for a hearing. 
o Requires that the traffic enforcement officer provide a replica of the 

traffic notice of violation data to the clerk for the hearing within 14-
days. 

o Requires the Department, after being notified by the Clerk of a 
person who failed to comply with the local hearing 
terms/requirements, to withhold registration and issuance of a 
license plate and decal. 

o Provides for notice of violation hearings, a fee up to $250 in 
addition to the original penalty may be imposed to recover court or 
municipal costs. 

o Requires Department to create model hearing request “form” for 
local governments to use and impose a registration stop if the person 
fails to comply.   

    
316.081 Provides that on a road, street, or highway having two or more lanes that 

allow movement in the same direction, a driver may not continue to operate 
a motor vehicle at less than 10 miles per hour below the posted speed limit in 
the furthermost left hand lane if the driver knows or reasonably should know 
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that he or she is being overtaken in that lane from the rear by a motor vehicle 
traveling at a higher rate of speed, except when overtaking and passing 
another vehicle proceeding in the same direction or when preparing for a left 
turn at an intersection.   

 
316.1937 Lowers the “fail point” of the IID from 0.05 to 0.025 percent, consistent with 

the NHTSA national standard.  
 
322.2715(1)  Prohibits the Department from issuing a restricted license to an individual 

who is granted a medical waiver for IID until the IID installation period has 
expired. If a medical waiver has been issued to an individual seeking 
permanent reinstatement of his or her license, the convicted person must be 
restricted to an Employment Purposes Only (EPO) license until the required 
IID period has expired. The fee for the restricted license or the Employment 
Purposes Only license are both $48.   

 
316.302, 316.3025     Incorporates federal commercial motor vehicle (CMV) regulations into State 

law (CVE Troopers). Includes the prohibition of handheld communication 
device usage in the operation of CMV and prescribes specific fines for such 
violations, 1st offense $500 for driver, $2750 for company.  An emergency 
exemption is provided from the prohibition for handheld communications 
device usage in the event of a declared emergency or a Level 1 activation of 
the State Emergency Operations Center.  

 
Removes exemption from federal regulations for transporters of liquefied 
petroleum gas. 

 
316.515 Provides that a straight truck may attach a forklift to the rear of the cargo 

bed, provided the overall length of the vehicle and the forklift do not exceed 
50 feet.  Amends the farming and agricultural equipment exemption 
provision to include the terms “managed” and “harvested.” 

  
316.646  Allows proof of insurance to be submitted in an electronic format in addition 

to paper as provided by the Department.  Provides that the act of presenting 
an electronic device displaying proof of auto- insurance to law enforcement 
does not constitute consent for the officer to access information on the 
device other than the proof of insurance.  The person presenting the device 
accepts full liability for any damage to the device.   

 
319.28 Provides that a lienholder in the process of repossessing a motor vehicle may 

request from the Department a certificate of title or a certificate of 
repossession for the vehicle. Removes references to certificates of 
repossession in each of the three sections described above. 

 
318.14 Includes Commercial Learner’s Permit holders in the prohibition as required 

by federal rule 49 CFR 384.226. Prohibits Commercial Driver License 
holders who receive traffic citations from electing to have adjudication 
withheld by the Clerk of the Court, formally known as the “Clerk’s Option.” 
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318.1451 Modifies certain standards and includes additional standards relating to the 
Department’s oversight of driver improvement schools. The changes include: 

o Allows schools to use technology as a delivery method, 
o Removes authority of the chief judge of the applicable 

judicial circuit to establish “location requirements” for 
schools, 

o Clarifies initial approval process to include a review of 
course materials, provisional approval of new courses, and a 
“pilot testing” plan, 

o Clarifies the Department’s authority to reject proof-of-
attendance from non-approved providers/courses, 

o Clarifying the Department’s use of the existing $2.50 
assessment fee, 

o Requiring providers to maintain course records for 5 years, 
and to allow the Department to inspect such records as 
necessary, and 

o Providing rulemaking authority to the Department relating to 
effectiveness studies; required updates; course conduct, 
content, and delivery; record submission; sanctions for 
violations and miscellaneous requirements.  

 
319.141 Authorizes the Department to conduct a pilot program for private sector 

rebuilt motor vehicle inspections in Miami-Dade and Hillsborough counties.  
Defines “facilities” and “rebuilt inspection” and requires participants in the 
program to access vehicle and title information and enter inspection results 
in an electronic filing system.  

 
Requires the Department submit a report to the Speaker of the House and the 
President of the Senate with the results of the pilot program by July 1, 2015. 

 
319.225 Requires when a dealer sells a vehicle to an out of state resident or out of 

state dealer and the power of attorney form is applicable to the transaction, 
the dealer must photocopy the completed original and mail it to the 
department within 5 business days after the certificate of title and dealer 
reassignment form are delivered by the dealer to its purchaser. 
 
Allows for proper maintenance of electronic titles. If the transferee agrees to 
maintain the title electronically, both the transferor and the transferee must 
complete a secure reassignment document which discloses the odometer 
reading and is signed by both at the issuing office.   

 
319.23, 320.02,  
328.01, 328.48 Includes a valid driver license or an identification card from another state, as 

well as a valid passport, to serve as an acceptable means of identification. 
Provides business applicants may use additional means of identification in 
lieu of a federal employer identification number. These include “verification 
that the business is authorized to conduct business in the state,” or a Florida 
city or county business license or number.   
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Defines National Motor Vehicle Title Information System (NMVTIS) to 
mean the national mandated vehicle history database maintained by the United 
States Department of Justice to link the states' motor vehicle title records, 
including the Department’s title records, and ensure that states, law enforcement 
agencies, and consumers have access to vehicle titling, branding, and other 
information that enables them to verify the accuracy and legality of a motor 
vehicle title before purchase or title transfer of the vehicle occurs. 

 
320.08058  Creates two new military license plates for “Operation Desert Storm” and 

“Operation Desert Shield” veterans. Outlines eligibility requirements.   
 

  Amends the annual use fee distribution of the Hispanic Achievers plate to 
allow 10% of the fee to be used for administrative costs and up to 20% for 
marketing. 

 
Establishes American Legion specialty license plate.  Subject to a pre-sale 
requirement of at least 1,000 plate registrations over a 24 month period prior 
to the plate being manufactured or distributed. 
 
Creates a Lauren’s Kids specialty license plate.  Subject to a pre-sale 
requirement of at least 1,000 plate registrations over a 24 month period prior 
to being manufactured or distributed. 
 
Creates a Big Brothers Big Sisters specialty license plate.  Subject to a pre-
sale requirement of at least 1,000 plate registrations over a 24 month period 
prior to being manufactured or distributed.  

 
 
320.08062 Provides that in lieu of discontinuing revenue disbursement pursuant to this 

subsection, upon determining that a recipient has not complied or has failed 
to use the revenues in accordance with ss. 320.08056 and 320.08058, F.S., 
and with the approval of the Legislative Budget Commission, the department 
is authorized to redirect previously-collected and future revenues to an 
organization that is able to perform the same or similar purpose(s) as the 
original recipient. 

 
320.18  Provides that the Department may withhold the registration of any motor 

vehicle or mobile home the owner of which has failed to register the vehicle 
or mobile home. Amends law to include co-owners. As a result, the 
Department would be authorized to withhold a registration if any co-owner 
has failed to register the vehicle or mobile home.  

 
320.27 320.62,  
320.77, 320.771 
320.8225 Provides for an optional two-year licensing period for motor vehicle dealers, 

motor vehicle manufacturers, distributors, importers, mobile home dealers, 
recreational vehicle dealers; mobile home and recreational vehicle 
manufacturers, distributors, and importers. 
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322.08 Provides for a $1 voluntary contribution at the time of an original, renewal or 
replacement driver license transaction for the Auto Club Group Traffic 
Safety Foundation, Inc. 

 
322.095 Modifies certain standards and include additional standards relating to the 

Department’s oversight of Traffic Law & Substance Abuse Education 
programs such as: 

 
o Allowing courses to use “communications technology,” 
o Providing that course approval criteria shall include a review 

of the provider’s materials, presentation, and plan for 
effective oversight, 

o Clarifying that curriculum requirements must include 
motorcycle, bicycle, and pedestrian safety elements, as well 
as risk factors regarding speeding, reckless driving, red light 
violations, and the use of electronic devices while driving, 

o Clarifying that classroom-based instruction must involve 
locations “free from distraction,” 

o Modifications to the fee requirements and a clarification that 
the $3 assessment fee must be deposited with the Department 
in order for the student to receive a unique course 
completion certificate number, and 

o Requiring providers to maintain course records for 5 years, 
and to allow the Department to inspect such records as 
necessary. 

 
Requires the Department develop and implement effectiveness studies on 
each delivery method of all approved courses.  

 
Provides several additional course requirements regarding course length, 
content, student accommodation, break times, and fee disclosures. 
Authorization for the Department to deny, suspend, or revoke courses for 
specified reasons, provides that persons with drug or DUI-related 
convictions may not conduct TLSAE courses until 5 years have elapsed from 
the time of conviction. Clarifies that a course provider may challenge agency 
actions by requesting a formal or informal administrative hearing, and that 
the Department may levy civil fines from $1,000 to $5,000 for each violation 
of s. 322.095, F.S.  

 
322.125 Requires members of the Department’s Medical Advisory Board be 

members of the Florida Medical Association, Florida Osteopathic 
Association, or Florida Optometric Association. 

 
322.135 Removes permissive language related to referring these cases to the 

Department. 
 
322.143 Defines “personal information”, “private entity” and “swipes”. Specifies that 

a private entity may not swipe an individual’s driver license or I.D. card, 
except for specific defined purposes and may not store, sell or share this 
information. This information may only be stored for the purpose of 
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preventing fraud or criminal activity.  Individuals may consent to sell this 
information but must be made aware of what information is collected and 
how this information will be stored and used.  The private entity may not 
withhold the sale of goods or services as a result of the individual requesting 
the collection of the data from the individual through manual means. A 
private entity that violates this section may be subject to a civil penalty of 
$5,000 per occurrence. 

  
322.212 Requires a 1-year Commercial Motor Vehicle disqualification for providing 

false information or for test fraud in connection with either a Commercial 
Driver License or Commercial Learner Permit application. This 1-year 
disqualification period is required by federal rule 49 CFR 383.73(k) (1). 

 
322.61 Subjects CLP holders to the same traffic violation criteria that now 

disqualify full CDL holders from operating CMVs, as required by federal 
rule 49 CFR 383.51. 

 
322.22 Clarifies the Department may cancel or withhold issuance or renewal of any 

driver license related to insufficient funds/checks. 
 
322.245            Clarifies Clerks of Court must notify the Department electronically. 
 
322.25  Repeals obsolete provision related to court-ordered temporary reinstatement 

of a DUI offender’s driving privilege.  
 
322.2615,  
322.2616 

            322.2715  
            322.64  Replaces the term “video recording” instead of “videotape,” to accommodate 

modern practices. Provides officers are “designated” by the Department 
rather than “employed” by the Department. Corrects a phrase relating to 
appellate proceedings.  Provides a hearing officer may conduct hearings 
using telecommunications technology.  
 
Provides that the failure of a subpoenaed witness to appear at a formal 
review hearing is not grounds to invalidate the driver license suspension.  
 
Adds an alternative method for enforcing the subpoena; it provides that the 
driver can enforce a subpoena by filing a motion for enforcement in any 
criminal court case resulting from the driving or actual physical control of a 
motor vehicle that gave rise to the suspension.   
 
Provides if arresting officer or the breath technician fails to appear at a 
hearing pursuant to a subpoena, the department shall invalidate the driver 
license suspension. 
 
Clarifications to certain timeframes are made. For example, a certain 7 day 
period is 7 “business” days to be consistent with related statutes.  
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322.64 Clarifies term “disqualification” is considered a “conviction” for purposes of 
determining the length of a suspension period under the federal code. In 
addition to clarifying that in hearings held pursuant to s. 322.64, F.S., a crash 
report shall be considered by the Hearing Officer, notwithstanding the 
exemption in s. 316.066, F.S. to coincide with s. 322.2615(2), F.S. Removes 
the word “arresting” from “arresting law enforcement officer” to coincide 
with related statutes. 

 
322.2615, 322.271 Provides drivers arrested for DUI with the option of requesting a review of 

eligibility for an immediate hardship hearing.  Only drivers never previously 
arrested for or convicted of a DUI offense are eligible for such a hearing. 
Drivers who are eligible may be granted a hardship hearing for a restricted 
driving privilege in which a hardship must be established.  In establishing a 
hardship and accepting a restricted driving privilege under this section, 
drivers waive their right to a formal review of the license suspension for the 
same offense. 

 
 
322.28  Provides various timeframes for the suspension or revocation of a DUI 

offender’s driver license. A first conviction results in a suspension period of 
between 180 days and a year, a second offense within 5 years of a prior 
offense results in a  suspension of not less than 5 years, and a third 
conviction with 10 years of  a prior offense results in a suspension of 10 
years. 

 
Provides that convictions that occur on the same date resulting from separate 
offense dates, shall be treated as separate convictions and the offense which 
occurred earlier will be deemed a prior conviction for the purpose of s. 
322.28, F.S.  
 
Removes the maximum revocation period for first DUI convictions as the 
courts are ordering revocation periods that exceed the maximum period.  
 
Removes language no longer applicable in reference to reexaminations 
required upon expiration of the revocation period to obtain a new driver 
license and authorizing the court to issue an order of reinstatement on a form 
furnished by the Department for reinstatement by the department pursuant to 
s. 322.282, F.S. 

 
Removes court’s ability to reinstate a license when revoked for a DUI.  

 
322.331 Repeals statute eliminating the requirement for hearing. In no other 

circumstances does the Department require a hearing for reinstatement 
determination once a sanction has expired.  

 
323.002 Provides an unauthorized wrecker operator's wrecker, tow truck, or other 

motor vehicle used during certain offenses may be removed and impounded.  
 

Requires unauthorized wrecker operators to disclose certain information in 
writing to the owner or operator of a motor vehicle and provide a copy of the 
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disclosure to the owner or operator in the presence of a law enforcement 
officer if an officer is present.  

 
Authorizes state and local government law enforcement officers to remove 
and impound any wrecker, tow truck, or other motor vehicle used in 
violation of specified provisions.  
 
Authorizes the authority that caused the removal and impoundment to assess 
a cost recovery fine, as well as provides procedures and requirements for 
release of the vehicle. 

 
 
324.0221 Reduces insurer’s reporting timeframe to 10 days from the effective or 

processing date.    
 
324.091  Removes the requirement that the Department send insurance verification 

notices via U.S. Mail and requires insurance companies to respond within 20 
days. 

 
328.76  Replaces the specified amount of $1.4 million with “the amount equal to” 

any administrative costs. Provides that after deducting administrative costs 
and specified distributions, up to $400,000 is to be transferred to the General 
Inspection Trust Fund to fund certain activities related to oyster reefs and 
beds and up to $300,000 be distributed to the Fish and Wildlife Conservation 
Commission for boating safety education.  This section will expire July 1, 
2017. 

 
713.585, 713.78 Requires that a lienholder check the NMVTIS or the records of any 

corresponding agency of any other state before enforcing a lien by selling the 
motor vehicle.  Requires the lienholder to notify the local law enforcement 
agency in writing by certified mail informing the law enforcement agency 
that the lienholder has made a good faith effort to locate the owner or 
lienholder.  Specifies that a good faith effort includes a check of the 
DHSMV database records and the NMVTIS.  Sets requirements for 
notification of the sale of the vehicle as a way to enforce a lien and requires 
the lienholder to publish notice and requires the lienholder to keep a record 
of proof of checking the NMVTIS. 
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