
2007 Legislation Affecting Traffic & Motor Vehicle Laws 

The following is a summary of legislative changes related to traffic and motor vehicle laws 

that were enacted during the 2007 Legislative Session. Before any policy or operational 

decisions are made, the complete version of the law should be carefully reviewed. Complete 

copies of the bills may be obtained from the Department of State, the distribution offices of 

the Florida House and Senate, independent reporting agencies or the official web site of the 

Florida Legislature at www.leg.state.fl.us. Please feel free to contact this office at (850) 617-

3195 if we can provide additional information. 

 

Ch. Law 2007-205 SB 2 Unattended Child in a Motor Vehicle 
Effective 

07/01/07 

316.6135(1)(a) This paragraph is amended to remove the provision prohibiting 

anyone from leaving a child unattended for any period of time. The 

new paragraph specifically prohibits a person from leaving a child 

unattended for a period in excess of 15 minutes. 

316.6135(2) A person who allows a child to be unattended in a motor vehicle in 

excess of 15 minutes commits a misdemeanor of the 2nd degree. 

316.6135(3) A person who allows a child to be unattended in a motor vehicle for 

any period of time if the health of the child is in danger commits a 

non-criminal traffic infraction. 

316.6135(4) A person who allows a child to be unattended in a motor vehicle and 

in so doing causes great bodily harm, permanent disability, or 

disfigurement commits a felony of the 3rd degree. 

Ch. Law 2007-211 HB 25 Adam Arnold Act/DUI 
Effective 

07/01/07 

316.027(1)(b) Any person who is willfully involved in a crash involving death or 

personal injury while driving under the influence shall be sentenced 

to a mandatory minimum term of imprisonment of 2 years. 

316.027(1)(c) Notwithstanding s. 775.089(1)(a), if a driver of a vehicle violates 

this section the court shall order the driver to make restitution to the 

victim for any damage or loss unless the court finds clear and 

compelling reasons not to order the restitution. The payment of 

restitution shall be a condition of probation. 

http://www.leg.state.fl.us/


316.193(3)(c)3.a.(I) A person who is convicted of DUI manslaughter shall be sentenced 

to a mandatory minimum term of imprisonment of 4 years. 

921.0021(7)(e) Notwithstanding paragraph (a) if the conviction is for a crash 

involving death or personal injury and the court finds that the 

offender caused victim injury, sentence points for victim injury may 

be assessed against the offender. 

Ch. Law 2007-43 HB 99 Public Solicitations 
Effective 

07/01/07 

316.2045(3) Extensive new language is added to this section of statute which 

outlines parameters whereby charitable organizations may solicit for 

donations on public roadways. Notification of local governments by 

the organizations is required as well as signage, a minimum age 

requirement and a requirement that solicitation events occur during 

daylight hours only. 

Ch. Law 2007-165 SB 124 Custom Vehicles and Street Rods 
Effective 

07/01/07 

320.0863(1) New definitions are created for blue dot tail light, custom vehicle 

and street rod. 

320.0863(2) The model year and year of manufacture which the body of a 

custom vehicle or street rod resembles is the model year and year of 

manufacture listed on the certificate of title, regardless of when the 

vehicle was actually manufactured. 

320.0863(3) This new created section provides for the collection of license taxes 

and a processing fee for the registration of street rods and custom 

vehicles. 

320.0863(4) The license plate color and design for custom vehicles and street 

rods shall be distinct as well as the license plate numbering series. 

320.0863(5)(a) A vehicle registered as a customer vehicle or street rod is exempt 

from any law or ordinance the requires periodic vehicle inspections 

or the use and inspection of emission controls. 

320.0863(5)(b) Custom vehicles and street rods are permitted to use blue dot lights. 

Ch. Law 2007-91 SB 136 Live the Dream License Plate 
Effective 

07/01/07 



320.08058(49) The portion of the proceeds from the sale of the Live the Dream 

license plate designated for research, care and treatment for sickle 

cell disease shall be distributed equally among the sickle cell 

organizations that are Florida members of the Sickle Cell Disease 

Association of America, Inc. 

Ch. Law 2007-242 HB 275 Bi-Annual Vehicle Registration 
Effective 

01/01/08 

320.01(19)(b) Extended registration period is defined as a period of 24 months. 

320.055(1)(b) This paragraph provides the parameters for those vehicles and 

mobile homes that are eligible to have a 24 month registration 

issued. 

320.06(1)(b) The Department shall implement a staggered system for converting 

all license plates to a six-year replacement cycle. The fee for an 

original license plate is increased to $12 to reflect the extended 

lifespan of the plate. 

320.06(1)(c) & 

320.07 

Appropriate changes are made to these paragraphs to allow for the 

issuance of a 24-month validation sticker. 

320.071(1)(a) An advanced registration renewal may not exceed 27 months. 

320.203 This new section is created to provide for the distribution of those 

taxes collected from the issuance of 24-month registrations. All 

collections shall be distributed in the same manner that they would 

have been had the collections occurred in the proper fiscal year. 

Local governments are also authorized to escrow revenues as 

needed to provide for the even distribution of revenues they retain 

through the issuance of 24-month registrations. 

328.72 Owners of vessels are also afforded the opportunity to choose a 24-

month registration. 

Ch. Law 2007-150 HB 359 Financial Responsibility 
Effective 

06/15/07 

324.023 This newly created section requires all drivers convicted of driving 

under the influence after October 1, 2007 to obtain higher limits of 

liability insurance upon reinstatement of their driving privilege. The 

requirement to maintain higher limits of liability are only required 

for three years from the date of reinstatement at which point the 

driver is no longer required to carry the higher limits. 



320.02(5)(a) Drivers who have been convicted of driving under the influence 

after October 1, 2007 must provide proof that they have purchased 

insurance meeting the requirements of s. 324.023 before a vehicle 

can be registered in their name. 

627.733(7) Drivers subject to the requirements of s. 324.023 are required to pay 

the reinstatement fees established in this section for failing to 

maintain proper insurance coverage. Those fees are $150 for a first 

offense, $250 for a second and $500 for a third. 

Ch. Law 2007-227 HB 404 Mobile Homes 
Effective 

07/01/07 

553.382 This newly created section of law would permit would permit any 

residential manufactured building to be placed in a mobile home 

park, recreational vehicle park or mobile home condominium, 

cooperative or subdivision. Each housing unit subject to this section 

shall be taxed as a mobile home under s. 320.08(11) and is subject 

to payment to the Florida Mobile Home Relocation Fund under s. 

723.06116. 

Ch. Law 2007-49 HB 517 Military Personnel and Insurance 
Effective 

07/01/07 

324.021(8) The exemption already provided in law for military personnel 

stationed outside Florida with regard to providing proof of Florida-

based coverage is also extended to the spouses of the military 

personnel. Spouses holding title and registration to vehicles in 

Florida but who are stationed outside the State with their active duty 

military family may now also provide proof of insurance coverage 

from the state they are stationed in. 

Ch. Law 2007-50 HB 615 Voluntary Check-off 
Effective 

10/01/07 

320.02(16)(d) A technical change is made to the Miami Heart Research Institute 

check-off to include the words “Stop Heart Disease”. 

320.02(16)(e) A new voluntary check-off for the vehicle registration application is 

added for the Children’s Hearing Help Fund. 

Ch. Law 2007-52 HB 707 Lights on Motor Vehicles 
Effective 

07/01/07 



316.2397(3) Private security agencies are allowed to display green and amber 

lights on all vehicles owned or leased by them, with each color 

being equally distributed. 

Ch. Law 2007-196 HB 985 Transportation 
Effective 

07/01/07 

316.2123(2) A county commission may after conducing a public hearing, 

designate roadways for use by ATV operators where the speed limit 

is less than 35 miles per hour. 

316.605(1) License plates may not be placed higher than 60 inches and not 

lower than 12 inches from the ground, nor may they be placed more 

than 24 inches to the left or right of the centerline of the vehicle. 

License plates must also be displayed parallel to the ground with the 

numerals and letters reading left to right. 

316.650(3)(b) When a driver cited for a toll violation chooses to pay the $25 fine 

and the unpaid toll to the entity owning the facility as provided in 

318.14(12), the disposition of the traffic violation shall be reported 

to the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles in lieu of 

the court. No points shall be assessed to the driver who chooses to 

pay the toll violation as authorized in 318.14(12) 

318.14(12) The entity owning the toll facility is authorized to collect a $25 fine 

in addition to the unpaid toll from those individuals choosing to 

resolve the traffic citation directly with the toll authority vs. the 

court. 

318.18(7) There shall be a mandatory fine of $100 for each toll violation 

citation unless a plea arrangement is reached prior to the scheduled 

hearing date. If there is a plea agreement, the fine shall not be less 

than $50 or more than $100. Twenty-five dollars of each fine 

collected shall be distributed to the governmental entity that issued 

the citation, or on whose behalf the citation was issued. The court 

shall have specific authority to consolidate issued citations for the 

same defendant for the purpose of sentencing and aggregate 

jurisdiction. In addition, the Department of Highway Safety and 

Motor Vehicles shall suspend the driver license of a person who is 

convicted of 10 toll violations within a 36-month period for 60 days. 

318.18(13) Specific authority is given to local government to utilize revenues 

collected from the traffic citation surcharge authorized under this 

paragraph for various court needs. 



318.18(17) A $3 surcharge on all criminal traffic offenses and all moving 

violations is authorized. Revenues collected from this surcharge are 

to be deposited into the State Agency Law Enforcement Radio 

System Trust Fund to enhance and improve the radio system. 

318.21(17) The proceeds from the surcharge authorized in 318.18(17) are to be 

collected and distributed as described in that paragraph. This 

subsection expires July 1, 2012. 

320.061 No person may apply or attach any substance that would obscure a 

license plate or interfere with the ability to record any feature or 

detail on the plate. 

316.1951(3) A new paragraph is created to allow licensed motor vehicle dealers 

to display for sale motor vehicles in locations where a supplemental 

off-premises license has been issued. 

316.1951(5) The authority for law enforcement and compliance officers to have 

a vehicle removed after 24 hours from the original notice of 

violation is restated in this paragraph. Any vehicle found in 

violation of subsection (1) within 30 days after a previous violation 

and written notice is subject to immediate removal without an 

additional waiting period. 

316.1951(6) Vehicles may not be offered for sale if the vehicle identification 

number has been destroyed, removed, covered, altered or defaced. 

316.1951(7) It is unlawful to knowingly attach a vehicle registration that was not 

assigned or lawfully transferred to the vehicle. A vehicle found in 

violation of this subsection is subject to immediate removal without 

warning. 

316.1951(8) It is unlawful to display or offer for sale a vehicle that does not have 

a valid registration. A vehicle found in violation of this subsection is 

subject to immediate removal without warning. This subsection 

does not apply to vehicles and recreational vehicles being offered 

for sale through motor vehicle auctions. 

319.1951(9) A vehicle is subject to immediate removal without warning if it 

bears a telephone number that has been displayed on three or more 

vehicles offered for sale within a 12-month period. 

Ch. Law 2007-207 
SB 988 Predators/Offenders and Driver 

Licenses 

Effective 

08/01/07 



322.141(3) All driver licenses and identification cards issued must designate on 

the face of the license if the holder of card has been designated a 

sexual predator or offender. The statutory citation for predators and 

offenders will be used as the designation. For predators the citation 

will be s. 775.21 F.S. and for offenders the marking will be s. 

943.0435, F.S. 

322.141(4) Unless otherwise obtained, each individual required to have the 

designation on their license must report to the Department during 

the month of his or her re-registration as required in law. 

322.212(5)(c) Effective February 1, 2008, it is unlawful for any person designated 

as a predator or offender to have in their possession a driver license 

or identification card that does not have the designations required in 

322.141. 

775.21(6)  

943.0435 (3) & 

944.607 (9) 

New language is added to these sections requiring predators and 

offenders to obtain driver licenses or identification cards that 

comply with s. 22.141. 

1012.467 

1012.468 

1012.321 

Extensive new language is added to these newly created sections of 

law with regard to background checks for persons on school 

property. A comprehensive review of this bill is suggested to 

anyone seeking additional information on this issue. 

Ch. Law 2007-154 HB 1003 Law Enforcement Vehicles 
Effective 

07/01/07 

316.21265 This new section of law authorizes law enforcement agencies to 

operate all-terrain vehicles, golf carts, low-speed vehicles and utility 

vehicles on any street, roadway or highway in this state while 

carrying out its official duties. The vehicles must be clearly marked 

and the operator and passengers must use safety gear that would 

ordinarily be required. 

Ch. Law 2007-66 SB 1134 License Plates 
Effective 

07/01/07 

  The Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles is directed 

to implement a secure print-on-demand electronic temporary license 

plate registration system by June 30, 2008. The Department may 

provide such exemptions as may be feasibly required. 

Ch. Law 2007-38 SB 1630 Marine Corp License Plate 
Effective 

07/01/07 



320.08058(29) The first $50,000 is distributed to the Marine Corps Scholarship 

Foundation, Inc. The remaining funds are to be divided 35% to the 

State Homes for Veterans Trust Fund and 65% to the Marine Corps 

Scholarship Foundation, Inc. 

Ch. Law 2007-210 SB 1792 Authorized Emergency Vehicles 
Effective 

06/20/07 

316.003(1) Vehicles owned and operated by the Department of Corrections are 

defined as emergency vehicles. 

316.2397(3) Vehicles owned and operated by the Department of Corrections are 

authorized to operate emergency lights and sirens. 

Ch. Law 2007-103 SB 1900 Specialty License Plates 
Effective 

10/01/07 

320.08056(6) The sponsoring organization may incorporate their Internet domain 

name on their license plate design. 

320.08056(11) The annual use fees collected by an organization may not be used 

for the purpose of marketing to, lobbying, entertaining or rewarding 

an employee of a governmental agency that is responsible for the 

sale and distribution of specialty license plates. 

320.08056(12) The application form for a specialty license plate shall provide the 

applicant the option to instruct the department to provide his or her 

name, address, and renewal date to the sponsoring organization. 

320.08058(8)(b)1. Up to 10 percent of the proceeds from the sale of the Florida 

Educational license plate may be used for marketing and promotion. 

320.08058(14)(c) Up to 25 percent of the proceeds from the sale of the Florida 

Agricultural license plate may be used for marketing and promotion. 

320.08058(15) The Girl Scout license plate is removed from statute. 

320.08058(28)(b) The annual distribution of the annual use fees from the sale of the 

Florida Wildflower license plate are to be distributed to the Florida 

Wildflower Foundation, Inc. in lieu of Keep Florida Beautiful, Inc. 

A maximum of 15 percent of the proceeds may be used for 

marketing. Provisions are made in this section for the use of the 

funds if the Foundation ceases to exist. (This language is duplicated 

in SB 2052.) 



320.08058(61) The Florida NASCAR license plate is created. An annual use fee of 

$25 shall be collected and distributed to the Florida Sports 

Foundation to attract sporting events to Florida. 

320.08058(62) The Corrections Foundation license plate is created. An annual use 

fee of $25 shall be collected and distributed to Corrections 

Foundation, Inc. to expand the charitable work of the foundation. 

320.08058(63) The Protect Florida Springs license plate is created. An annual use 

fee of $25 shall be collected and distributed to the Wildlife 

Foundation of Florida, Inc. for education programs, conservation 

and springs research. 

320.08058(64) The Trees Are Cool license plate is created. An annual use fee of 

$25 shall be collected and distributed to the Florida Chapter of the 

International Society of Arboriculture Inc., to provide education and 

training statewide for tree care and safety. 

320.08058(65) The Support Our Troops license plate is created. An annual use fee 

of $25 shall be collected and distributed to Support Our Troops, 

Inc., and the State Homes for Veterans Trust Fund. 

320.0848(2)(c) Effective July 1, 2007 The $1.50 service fee for permanent 

handicapped placards is removed from statute. 

320.0894 The Gold Star license plate is created for family members of service 

members who have been killed while serving in the Armed Forces. 

Eligible family members include a surviving spouse and surviving 

parents upon meeting qualifications. 

Ch. Law 2007-147 SB 2114 Driver License Applications 
Effective 

07/01/07 

322.09(4) Caseworkers at an agency where the State has placed a minor may 

sign the application for a driver license for a minor who has reached 

the age of 18. Prior to signing the application, the caseworker shall 

notify the foster parent or other responsible party of his/her intent to 

sign and verify the application. 

322.09(5) Caseworkers at an agency where the State has placed a minor in 

foster care may sign the minor’s application for a license pursuant to 

a court-approved transition plan. Before signing the application, the 

caseworker shall notify the foster parent or other responsible party 

of the intent to sign and verify the application. The caseworker does 

not assume any obligation or become liable for any damages caused 



by the negligence or willful misconduct of the minor by reason of 

having signed the application. 

Ch. Law 2007-71 SB 2162 Traffic Fines 
Effective 

07/01/07 

318.18(14) The sunset provision associated with the $15 surcharge provided in 

this subsection is repealed. 

938.19 The $3 assessment for teen court related to traffic violations, the 

$65 fee adopted by ordinance and the $85 fine shall be assessed 

accordingly if the individual is adjudicated delinquent for a 

violation of a criminal law or a delinquent act. The sunset provision 

for this section is repealed. 

Ch. Law 2007-223 HB 7173 License Plates 
Effective 

07/01/07 

320.08056(4)(s) The annual use fee for the Sea Turtle license plate is increased to 

$23. 

320.08058 Statutory authority is allowed for utilizing annual use fees for the 

promotion and marketing of the Manatee, Panther and Largemouth 

Bass license plates. 

Ch. Law 2007-251 7197 Social Security Numbers 
Effective 

10/01/07 

119.071(5)(a)2.a. An agency may not collect an individual’s social security number 

unless the agency has stated in writing the purpose for its collection 

and unless it is authorized to do so by law or is imperative for the 

performance of the agency’s duties. 

119.071(5)(a)2.b. Social security number collected by an agency may not be used by 

that agency for any purpose other than the purpose provided in the 

written statement. 

119.071(5)(a)3. Agencies must provide a copy of the written statement to 

individuals they collect social security numbers from. 

119.071(5)(a)4.a. Each agency shall review whether its collection of social security 

numbers is in compliance with this section. If not, the agency is to 

stop collecting the numbers. 



119.071(5)(a)4.b. Each agency shall certify to the Speaker and President its 

compliance with this subparagraph no later than January 1, 2008. 

119.071(5)(a)7.a. The terms “commercial activity” and commercial entity” are 

defined. 

119.071(5)(a)9.a. The annual report of social security number requests that is 

currently submitted by state agencies each January will now be 

submitted to the House Speaker, Senate President and Governor. 

119.0714 Information contained in court files; court records; and official 

records are to be held in the manner described in this section. 
 

 

Privacy  

 


