
2006 Legislation Affecting Traffic & Motor Vehicle Laws 

The following is a summary of legislative changes related to traffic and motor 
vehicle laws that were enacted during the 2006 Legislative Session. Before any 
policy or operational decisions are made, the complete version of the law should 
be carefully reviewed. Complete copies of the bills may be obtained from the 
Department of State, the distribution offices of the Florida House and Senate, 
independent reporting agencies or the official web site of the Florida Legislature 
at www.leg.state.fl.us. Please feel free to contact this office at (850) 617-3195 if we 
can provide additional information. 

  

Ch. Law 2006-225 HB 155 Vehicle Crashes Effective 10/01/06 

  

316.027(1) The statutory requirement for drivers to remain at the scene 
of a crash involving death or personal injury are the same for 
crashes occurring on public or private property. 

  

316.027(5) The requirement to immediately stop a vehicle involved in a 
crash resulting in injury or death does not apply to crashes at 
motor sports events occurring in a closed-course facility. 

  

Ch. Law 2006-247 HB 187 Lawful Testing for Alcohol Effective 10/01/06 

  

316.1932 & 
327.352 

New language is added to both of these sections indicating 
the types of information that are available upon request as it 
relates to the process of testing for alcohol and the 
equipment that is used 

  

Ch. Law 2006-5 HB 201 Non-judicial Sale of Vessels Effective 07/01/06 

  

328.17(4)(b) A new paragraph is created allowing marina’s to obtain a 
possessory lien upon any vessel in a wrecked, junked, or 
substantially dismantled condition which has been left 
abandoned at a marina. 

  

328.17(5) Changes are made to the notification process required when 
a possessory lien is involved. 

  

Ch. Law 2006-293 HB 281 State of Vision License Plate Effective 07/01/06 

  

320.08056(4) The State of Vision license plate is created. The $25 annual 
use fee shall be distributed to the Florida Association of 
Agencies Serving the Blind, Inc. to fund direct support 
services to blind and visually impaired people. 

http://www.leg.state.fl.us/


  

Ch. Law 2006- HB 561 Offenses Involving Insurance Effective 07/01/06 

  

316.068(2) A specific list of information required on the crash report are 
delineated. The absence of information in the report 
regarding the existence of passengers in the vehicles 
involved constitutes a rebuttable presumption that no such 
passengers were involved in the reported crash. 

  

322.21(8) (b) An additional fee of $180 is to be collected when a driver is 
reinstating a license that has been suspended or revoked 
pursuant to ss. 817.234(8) or (9) or s. 817.505, F.S. 

  

322.26(9) A conviction in any court having jurisdiction over offenses 
committed under s. 817.234(8) or (9) or s. 817.505, shall 
result in a mandatory driver license revocation. 

  

Ch. Law 2006-226 HB 1173 Driver Records Effective 01/01/07 

  

322.20(13) The Department of Highway Safety is required to make the 
driving records of teens available for viewing by the parents 
or guardians of the minor via the Internet, free of charge. The 
availability of free records to parents ceases after the minor 
becomes 18 years old. 

  

Ch. Law 2006-296 HB 1465 Enhanced Penalty Zones Effective 07/01/06 

  

316.1893(1) A new section of law is created requiring the Florida 
Department of Transportation to identify those areas of the 
state that are prone to high crash rates. These areas will be 
identified as “Enhanced Penalty Zones.” 

  

318.18(3)(e) & 
318.21 (15) 

The FDOT, the DOE and DHSMV are to conduct a study of 
highway safety and transportation issues to identify 
measurable improvements to reduce highway fatalities by 
one-third. Drivers cited for speeding within an enhanced 
penalty zone will pay an additional $50 fine which is to be 
distributed to trauma centers in Florida. 

  

Ch. Law 2006-297 HB 1589 Specialty License Plates Effective 07/01/06 

  

320.08056(4) & 
320.08058 

The Florida Memorial College license plate is changed to the 
Florida Memorial University license plate. 

  



320.08056(4) & 
320.08058 

The Homeownership For All license plate is created. The 
$25 annual use fee shall be distributed to the 
Homeownership For All, Inc. to fund programs that provide 
and promote affordable housing in this state. 

  

320.08056(8)(a) The minimum sales requirement for specialty license plates 
will not apply to collegiate license plates. 

  

320.08058(23)(a) The Keep Kids Drug-Free Foundation, Inc. is permitted to 
use up to 10 percent of the annual use fee for marketing and 
administrative cost. 

  

320.08058(48) (b) The Sportsmen’s National Land Trust is permitted to recoup 
all startup costs. 

  

320.0807(5) A current or former President of the Senate or Speaker of 
the House may make application for a license plate stamped, 
"Senate President" or "House Speaker". 

  

320.08056(4) & 
320.08058 

The Future Farmers of America license plate is created. The 
$25 annual use fee shall be distributed to the Florida Future 
Farmers of America Foundation, Inc. to fund its activities. 

  

Ch. Law 2006-260 HB 7035 Crash Reports Effective 10/01/06 

  

316.006(5)(e) The public records exemption previously scheduled to 
sunset is reenacted 

  

Ch. Law 2006-290 HB 7079 Highway Safety Effective 10/01/06 

  

261.10(2) A new paragraph is added addressing the liability of 
governmental entities who provide public areas for off-
highway recreation. (Effective July 1, 2008) 

  

261.20 A new section is created with extensive new language 
regarding the operation of off-highway vehicles on public 
lands. This new section addresses restrictions, required 
safety equipment and certain prohibited acts, with penalties. 
(Effective July 1, 2008) 

  

316.003(43) A combination of vehicles may include one full mount, 
whereby a smaller transport vehicle is placed completely on 
the last towed vehicle. 

  



316.006(2) & (3) The board of directors of a homeowners’ association as 
defined in chapter 720 may, by a majority vote, elect to have 
state traffic laws enforced by local law enforcement agencies 
on private roads that are controlled by the association. 

  

316.0085 Mountain and off-road bicycling are added to this section 

  

316.1001(2) The owner of a leased vehicle for which a citation is issued 
for failure to pay a toll is not responsible for payment of the 
citation. 

  

316.192(1) (b) Fleeing a law enforcement officer in a motor vehicle is 
reckless driving per se. 

  

316.1955(1) (b) The owner of a leased vehicle is not responsible for disabled 
parking violations. 

  

316.2015(1) Language permitting a passenger to ride on the exterior of a 
vehicle in a seat securely affixed to the vehicle is removed. 

  

316.2015(2) (a) Specific exemptions are listed for those individuals that are 
permitted to ride on the exterior of a vehicle. 

  

316.2015(2) (b) It is unlawful for a minor child under 18 to ride on a limited 
access highway within the open body of a pickup or flatbed 
truck unless they are secured in seats with safety restraints. 
A county is exempt if, by majority vote, it chooses to be 
exempt from this paragraph. 

  

316.2095(1) Motorcycles are no longer required to have handholds for 
passengers. 

  

316.211(6) Each motorcycle registered to a person under 21 years of 
age must display a license plate that is unique in design and 
color. (This paragraph is effective January 1, 2007.) 

  

316.2123(1) The operation of an off-highway vehicle is permitted by a 
licensed driver during daylight hours on an unpaved roadway 
where the posted speed limit is less than 35 mph and proof 
of ownership is available. Minors may operate off-highway 
vehicles in the same manner if supervised by a licensed 
driver. 

  



316.2123(2) A county is exempt from this section if the governing body, 
by majority vote, votes to exempt the county from this 
section. 

  

316.2125(3) A local governmental entity may enact an ordinance 
regarding golf cart operation and equipment which is more 
restrictive than those enumerated in this section, for 
unlicensed drivers. 

  

316.2128 Retailers selling motorized scooters or miniature motorcycles 
must prominently display information that indicates to its 
customers that particular scooters are prohibited from being 
operated on Florida roadways. These notices must also be 
provided at the point of sale. 

  

316.221(2) Dump trucks and vehicles having dump bodies are exempt 
from the requirement to have a light on the license plate. 

  

316.302 The number of hours a commercial driver may operate their 
vehicle for intrastate driving is modified, with certain 
exceptions being made for the transportation of agricultural 
products. The exemption from federal regulations for the 
transportation of non-placarded hazardous materials is 
reduced from a 200 mile radius to 150 miles. 

  

316.515(5) (a) The Department of Transportation is authorized to issue an 
over width permit for implements of husbandry greater than 
130 inches, but not more than 170 inches, in width. 

  

316.515(5) (b) Equipment that does not exceed 136 inches and not capable 
of exceeding 20 mph and used for harvesting forestry 
products is authorized to use the roadway, not to exceed 10 
miles and only during daylight hours. 

  

318.14(9) Any driver charged with exceeding the posted speed limit by 
more than 30 mph will not be permitted to elect traffic school. 

  

318.143(1) (f) Courts may require a minor and his or her parents to 
participate in a registered youthful driver monitoring service. 

  

318.1435 The Youthful driver monitoring service is defined in this 
newly created section as an entity that enables parents to 
monitor the driving performance of their minor children. 



Those entities providing such services may register with the 
Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. 

  

318.18(3) (g) A second or subsequent offense of exceeding the posted 
speed by 30 mph or more will result in the fine being 
doubled. For the purpose of this paragraph, the term 
conviction means a finding of guilt as a result of a jury 
verdict, nonjury trial, or entry of a plea of guilty. The 
increased fine amounts are to be used to fund trauma 
services. 

  

318.18(12) The fine for loads dropping is increased to $200 and the 
driver licenses suspension for a second violation within 5 
years is increased to a minimum of 1 year. 

  

318.19(5) A charge of speeding in excess of 30 mph over the posted 
limit will require a mandatory hearing. 

  

318.32(1) (d) A traffic court hearing officer may not revoke a driver license. 

  

320.015(1) Clarification is made that display homes or other inventory 
being held by a manufacturer or dealer of modular housing 
may not be taxed as real property. 

  

320.02(1) Effective July 1, 2008, a motorcycle, motor driven cycle or 
moped registration may not be issued unless the registrant 
has a motorcycle endorsement on their driver license. 

  

320.03(8) & 
320.07 

The owner of a leased vehicle is not responsible for paying 
registration fees, fines or late charges. 

  

320.0706 The owner of a dump truck may place the rear license plate 
on the gate no higher than 60 inches to allow for better 
visibility. 

  

320.08056(4) & 
320.08058 

The Future Farmers of America license plate is created. An 
annual use fee of $25 shall be distributed to the organization 
to fund its activities. 

  

320.08056(8) Collegiate license plates are exempt from the minimum sales 
requirements. 

  

320.089 The Operation Iraqi Freedom and Operation Enduring 
Freedom Veterans license plates are created. Applicants 



must show proof of eligibility before the license plate can be 
issued. 

  

322.01(16) The definition of “driver license” is conformed to federal 
code. 

  

322.01(43) & (44) New definitions for identification card, temporary driver 
license and temporary identification card are created to 
conform to federal code. 

  

322.05(2) A teen applicant for a Class E license may only have the 
issuance of the license delayed if they have been convicted 
of a moving violation. 

  

322.051(1) The minimum age requirement for an identification card is 
lowered to age five. 

  

322.051(1)(a)3.g.(IV) The term “refugee” is added to this section. 

  

322.051(1)(a)3.g.(VII) New language is added allowing the department to accept 
evidence that an application is pending for the adjustment of 
status. 

  

322.051(1)(a)3.g. Presentation of any documents within this sub-paragraph will 
entitle the applicant to a license not to exceed one year. 

  

322.08(2)(c)7.d. The term “refugee” is added to this section. 

  

322.08(2)(c)7.g. New language is added allowing the department to accept 
evidence that an application is pending for the adjustment of 
status. 

  

322.08(2)(c)7. Presentation of any documents within this sub-paragraph will 
entitle the applicant to a license not to exceed one year. 

  

322.12(5) (a) Effective July 1, 2008, all applicants for a motorcycle 
endorsement must show proof of completion of the 
motorcycle safety course. 

  

322.2615 Throughout this entire section, all references to “arrest” or 
“has been arrested” are removed and replaced with new 
language. Specific reference to a BAL of .08 or higher is 
added. 

  



322.2615(2) Materials submitted to the department by a law enforcement 
agency or correctional agency including the crash report 
shall be considered self-authenticating and shall be in the 
record for consideration by the hearing officer. 

  

322.2615(6) (b) The issuance of subpoenas in formal hearings is limited to 
those persons named in reports filed by the arresting 
agency. 

  

322.2615(13) A law enforcement agency may appeal any decision of the 
department invalidating a suspension by a petition for writ of 
certiorari to the circuit court in the county wherein a formal or 
informal review as conducted. 

  

627.733(1) Taxicab owners must show proof of liability as provided in 
chapter 324. 

  

318.1215 The county optional fee assessed on each traffic citation for 
the purpose of funding driver education is raised from $3 to 
$5. 

  

316.083(1) Drivers passing a bicycle must leave at least three feet 
between the car and cyclist. 

The Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles must 
conduct a study of the driver licensing process and the cost 
associated with providing that service. The report must 
include information regarding the feasibility of outsourcing 
any portion of the driver licensing process. A cost-benefit 
analysis must be included, as well as any potential concerns 
regarding the protection of personal information. 

  

Ch. Law 2006- HB 7175 Vessels Effective 07/01/06 

  

328.64(1) The Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles is 
directed to provide a form for vessel owners to notify the 
Department of the transfer of all or part interest in a vessel. 

  

328.72(15) Changes are made to the distribution of vessel registration 
fees and the use of those fees. 

  

Ch. Law 2006-81 SB 258 Farm Labor Vehicles Effective 07/01/06 

  



316.003(62) The term “farm labor vehicle” is defined as any vehicle 
equipped and used for the transportation of nine or more 
migrant or seasonal farm workers, to or from a place of 
employment. The term does not include vehicles carrying 
members of the immediate family of the owner or driver; 
vehicles operated by a common carrier or any carpool. 

  

316.622(1) An owner of a farm labor vehicles is responsible for ensuring 
that the vehicle conforms to federal safety standards. 

  

316.622(2) On or after January 1, 2008, farm labor vehicles with a gross 
vehicle weight rating of 10,000 pounds or less must be 
equipped with a seat belt at each passenger position. 

  

316.622(3) Farm labor vehicles must display a sticker indicating that it 
has been inspected pursuant to s. 450.33. 

  

316.622(4) The owner of a farm labor vehicle is required to post 
notification in the vehicle that passengers are to fasten their 
seatbelts. The Department of Highway Safety and Motor 
Vehicles shall create a standard notification. 

  

316.622(5) & (6) If a passenger does not wear a seat belt, it does not 
constitute negligence on the part of the owner of the vehicle 
if the vehicle is otherwise in compliance with this section. 

  

316.622(7) A violation of this section is a noncriminal traffic infraction, 
punishable as provided in s. 318.18(16). 

  

316.622(8) The Department of Highway Safety & Motor Vehicles shall 
provide the Department of Business and Professional 
Regulation each quarter a copy of each crash report 
involving a farm labor vehicle. 

  

318.18(16) A violation of s. 316.622(3) or (4) will result in a $100 fine. A 
violation of s. 316.622(1) or (2) will result in a $200 fine. 

  

318.21(15) The proceeds from the fines described in s. 316.18(16) shall 
be remitted to the law enforcement agency that issues the 
citation for a violation of s. 316.622. The funds must be used 
for continued education and enforcement of s. 316.622 and 
other related safety measures contained in chapter 316. 

  

Ch. Law 2006-169 SB 460 Specialty License Plates Effective 07/01/06 



  

320.08058(16)(a) Proceeds from the sale of the Police Athletic League license 
plate shall be distributed to the State of Florida Association 
of Police Athletic/Activities Leagues, Inc. The league may 
use a maximum of 15 percent of such fees for administrative 
costs and a maximum of 10 percent to market and promote 
the plate. 

  

320.08068(4) The annual use fee for the Motorcycle Specialty plate is 
raised to $20. The Blind Services Foundation of Florida is 
added as an authorized recipient of 20 percent of the annual 
use fee. 

  

Ch. Law 2006-44 SB 738 Voluntary Contributions Effective 07/01/06 

  

320.02(16)(d) Applicants for a motor vehicle registration will be permitted to 
make a contribution to the Miami Heart Research Institute, 
Inc. 

  

Ch. Law 2006-238 SB 1076 DUI Courses Effective 07/01/06 

  

322.292(4) All DUI education courses must utilize face-to-face 
instruction. 

  

Ch. Law 2006-203 SB 1322 Driver License Suspension Effective 10/01/06 

  

562.11(1)(a)2. A court may order the Department of Highway Safety and 
Motor Vehicles to withhold the issuance of or suspend the 
driver license or driving privilege of any person who sells, 
gives, serves or permits to be served alcoholic beverages to 
a person under 21 years of age. 

  

322.057(1) The driver license suspension authorized in s. 562.11 shall 
be for not less than 3 months or more than 6 months for the 
first violation and one year for any subsequent violation. 

  

322.057(2) The court may direct the department to issue a driver license 
restricted to business or employment purposes to a person 
who is otherwise qualified. 

  

Ch. Law 2006-240 SB 1450 Donate Organs License Plate Effective 07/01/06 

  

320.08056(4) & 
320.08058 

The Donate Organs-Pass It On license plate is created. The 
$25 annual use fee shall be distributed to the Transplant 



Foundation, Inc. to provide statewide grants for patient 
services. 

  

Ch. Law 2006-241 
SB 1614 National Guard License 
Plates 

Effective 07/01/06 

  

320.0846(3) The sunset provision for one free license plate for eligible 
National Guard members is removed. 

 


