
2005 Legislation Affecting Traffic & Motor Vehicle Laws 

The following is a summary of legislative changes related to traffic and motor 
vehicle laws that were enacted during the 2005 Legislative Session. Before any 
policy or operational decisions are made, the complete version of the law should 
be carefully reviewed. Complete copies of the bills may be obtained from the 
Department of State, the distribution offices of the Florida House and Senate, 
independent reporting agencies or the official web site of the Florida Legislature 
at www.leg.state.fl.us. Please feel free to contact this office at (850) 617-3195 if we 
can provide additional information. 

  

Ch. Law 2005-72 HB 19 Driving Privilege Effective 10/01/05 

  

320.055(1)(b) Vehicle owners who have had their driver license revoked for 
a conviction of driving under the influence must obtain a 6-
month registration as a condition of reinstatement, subject to 
renewal during the 3-year period that financial responsibility 
requirement apply. 

  

324.131 Affected drivers must purchase and maintain a 6-month non-
cancelable liability policy if the driver did not meet the financial 
responsibility requirements at the time of the offense. 

  

627.7275(2)(a)2. Changes to this section allow for the six-month noncancelable 
policy to be issued. 

  

Ch. Law 2005-225 HB 63 Disabled Parking Permits Effective 06/14/05 

  

320.0848(1)(b)2. The limitation that only nurse practitioners employed by the 
United States Department of Veterans Affairs is removed. 

  

Ch. Law 2005-226 HB 71 Racing on Highways Effective 10/01/05 

  

316.191(1)(a) As used in this section, the term “conviction” means a 
determination of guilty that is the result of a plea or trial, 
regardless of whether adjudicationis withheld. 

  

316.191 Any violation of any provision of this section is a first degree 
misdemeanor. 

  

316.191(3)(c) Any vehicle used in a violation of this section may be 
impounded for a period of 10 business days. 
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316.191(4) A motor vehicle used in violation of this section within 5 years 
after a previous conviction may be seized and forfeited as 
provided by the Florida Contraband Forfeiture Act. 

  

Ch. Law 2005-119 HB 233 Unborn Quick Child Effective 10/01/05 

  

316.193(3)(c)3. The death of any human being or unborn quick child commits 
DUI manslaughter. For the purposes of this subsection, the 
definition of the term “unborn quick child” shall be determined 
in accordance with the definition of viable fetus as set forth in 
s. 782.071. 

  

Ch. Law 2005-194 HB 497 Anjelica & Victoria Velez Effective 10/01/05 

Memorial Traffic Safety Act 

  

316.650(1)(a) All future printings of the uniform traffic citation shall include a 
box which is to be checked by the law enforcement officer 
when he/she writes a citation for failing to stop at a traffic 
signal. 

  

318.18(14) The fine for failing to stop at a traffic signal is increased to 
$125 regardless of whether the violation is written under 
316.074(1) or 316.0591)(c)1. 

  

318.21(13) The additional revenue collected as a result of the increased 
fine for failing to stop at a traffic signal is to be distributed to 
the Department of Health to fund trauma centers. 

  

322.0261(3) Drivers with two convictions of failing to stop at a traffic signal 
within 12 months are required to attend a driver improvement 
course in order to maintain driving privileges. If the driver fails 
to complete the course within 90 days after receiving notice 
from the department, the driver’s license shall be canceled. 

  

322.27(3)(d)6. A violation of a traffic control signal as provided in 316.074(1) 
or 316.075(1)(c)1. shall be four points. 

  

Ch. Law 2005-155 HB 529 Funeral Procession Lights Effective 10/01/05 

  

316.1974(2)(a) Non-law enforcement funeral escort vehicles are allowed to 
use purple lights in addition to amber. 

  

Ch. Law 2005-47 HB 623 Former Military Vehicles Effective 07/01/05 

  



316.2952(6) A former military vehicle is exempt from the requirement of 
this section if the department determines that the exemption is 
necessary to maintain the vehicle’s accurate military design. 
However, whenever the vehicle is operating on the public 
roads and highways, the operator and passengers must wear 
eye-protective devices approved by the department. For 
purposes of this subsection, “former military vehicle” means a 
vehicle, including a trailer, regardless of the vehicle’s size, 
weight, or year of manufacture, that was manufactured for use 
in any country’s military forces and is maintained to represent 
its military design and markings accurately. 

  

316.605(1) Reference is made to the exemption created for former 
military vehicles and the display of the license plate. 

  

320.086(3) Former military vehicles are added to the list of vehicles 
eligible for a permanent license plate. 

  

320.086(5) Former military vehicles used in exhibitions, parades or public 
display are exempt from displaying a license plate, however 
the plate and registration must be available for inspection by 
law enforcement. 

  

Ch. Law 2005-260 HB 925 Mobility-impaired Pedestrians Effective 07/01/05 

  

316.1303 The definition of a mobility impaired pedestrian is broadened 
to include those pedestrians utilizing the assistance of a guide 
dog or service animal. 

  

Ch. Law 2005-159 
HB 1025 Misuse of Laser Lighting 
Devices 

Effective 07/01/05 

  

784.062(1) As used in subsection (3), the term “laser lighting device” 
means any device designed or used to amplify 
electromagnetic radiation by stimulated emission. 

  

784.062(3)(a) Any person who knowingly and willfully shines, points, or 
focuses the beam of a laser lighting device on an individual 
operating a motor vehicle, vessel, or aircraft commits a felony 
of the 3rd degree. 

  

784.062(3)(b) Any person who knowingly and willfully shines, points, or 
focuses the beam of a laser lighting device on an individual 



operating a motor vehicle, vessel, or aircraft and such act 
results in bodily injury commits a felony of the 2nd degree. 

  

Ch. Law 2005-39 HB 1283 Child Support Effective 01/01/06 

61.13016(4) An individual failing to comply with an order to appear for 
genetic testing may have their driver license and vehicle 
registration suspended. 

  

Ch. Law 2005-164 
HB 1697 Driver Licenses & Motor 
Vehicles 

Effective 07/01/05 

  

61.13016(2)(a) The circuit court may direct the department to issue business 
purpose only license if the person is otherwise eligible. As a 
condition, the driver must agree to a schedule of payment on 
any child support. If the driver fails to comply with the 
payment schedule, the department shall suspend the license. 

  

316.006(2)(c) Notwithstanding any other provisions of law to the contrary, a 
municipality may, by inter local agreement with a county, 
agree to transfer traffic regulatory authority over areas within 
the municipality to the county. 

  

316.083(1) A turn signal is required when overtaking a vehicle. 

  

316.155(1) A turn signal is required when changing lanes or overtaking a 
vehicle. 

  

316.2095(2) No person shall operate any motorcycle with handlebars or 
with handgrips that are higher than the top of the shoulders or 
the person operating the motorcycle while properly seated 
upon the motorcycle. 

  

316.212 and Local governments are authorized to enact more restrictive 
ordinances 316.2126with regard to the regulation of golf carts. 

  

316.302(11) A person who operates a commercial motor vehicle bearing a 
false or fraudulent identification number commits a 
misdemeanor of the 1st degree. 

  

316.3045(1)(a) The distance at which a sound making device may be plainly 
audible before it becomes a violation of this section is reduced 
from 100 feet to 25 feet. 

  



318.1215 Funds collected under this provision for driver education must 
be supplemental in nature and not used as replacement 
funding. Further, each driver education program receiving 
funds pursuant to this section shall require a minimum of 30% 
of the student’s time be behind-the-wheel training. 

  

318.14(5) and An individual who has been convicted of an offense resulting 
in the death 318.21(13) of another shall have an additional 
civil penalty imposed of $1000 or if serious bodily injury 
occurs the civil penalty shall be $500. Monies collected 
pursuant to these two provisions shall be distributed to the 
Department of Health to fund trauma centers. 

  

319.30(3)(b) Vehicles with damage greater than 80% of their value that are 
equipped for wheelchair access may be repaired if it is 
determined that they can be made safe. The title for these 
rebuilt vehicles shall be branded “insurance-declared total 
loss”. 

  

320.02(19) The department is authorized to withhold registration of a 
motor vehicle if the owner or co-owner has not properly paid 
the dealer for the registration. 

  

320.27(9)(b)18. The department may deny or suspend a dealer license if the 
dealer does not maintain evidence of a customer’s failure to 
pay for a registration. 

  

320.0889(1)(a) Retired members of the U.S. Army Reserve are eligible to 
apply for an Army Reserve license plate. 

  

320.77(15) Mobile home dealers may now post a cash bond, or 
irrevocable letter of credit to comply with the provisions of this 
section. 

  

322.2615(16) The department shall invalidate a suspension for driving with 
an unlawful blood-alcohol level or breath-alcohol level 
imposed under this section if the suspended person is found 
not guilty at trial of an underlying violation of s. 316.193. 

  

322.61(1)(i) Driving a commercial vehicle without obtaining a CDL 
becomes a disqualifying offense. 

  



322.61(1)(j) Driving a commercial vehicle without the proper class of 
license or proper endorsement becomes a disqualifying 
offense. 

  

322.61(1)(k) Driving a commercial vehicle without having the driver license 
in possession become a disqualifying offense, however 
drivers may produce proof of having had a license to the clerk 
of court and be found not guilty of the offense. 

  

322.61(3)(g) Driving a commercial vehicle while the operator’s license is 
suspended, revoked, or canceled is a disqualifying offense. 

  

322.61(3)(h) Causing a fatality through the negligent operation of a 
commercial motor vehicle is a disqualifying offense. 

  

261.03(11) A new definition of “two-rider ATV” is added to this section. 

  

316.003(84) Traffic signal preemption system is defined as any system or 
device with the capability of activating a control mechanism 
mounted on or near traffic signals which alters a traffic 
signal’s timing cycle. 

  

316.0775(2) It is unlawful for a person to possess or use any traffic signal 
preemption device without specific authority. A violation of this 
section is punishable as a moving violation with 4 points 
assess against his or her driving record. 

  

316.1576 A new section is created making it unlawful for a vehicle to 
stop on a railroad crossing or to drive through a crossing 
without having sufficient undercarriage clearance. A violation 
of this section is punishable as a moving violation. 

  

316.1577 A new section is created making it unlawful for an employer to 
knowingly allow, require, permit or authorize a driver to 
operate a commercial vehicle in violation of section 316.1576. 
(see above) 

  

316.183(2) When the posted speed limit is 70 mph, the minimum speed 
limit shall be 50 mph. 

  

316.1936(5) Beginning with this section and continuing throughout chapter 
322, all references to Class D licenses are eliminated from 
statute. 

  



316.194(3) Traffic accident investigation officers are authorized to provide 
for the removal of vehicles that are improperly parked or 
abandoned. 

  

316.1967(1) Leasing companies are not responsible for parking citations 
but rather the individual who leased the vehicle. 

  

316.2074(2) Two-rider ATV’s are included in the definition of all-terrain 
vehicle. 

  

316.605(1) The word “Florida”, the registration decal and the 
alphanumeric designation shall be clearly visible on a license 
plate. 

  

316.650(9) Traffic citations may only be used as evidence in cases of 
falsification, forgery, fraud, perjury, or when used as physical 
evidence resulting from a forensic examination of the citation. 

  

Chapter 317 Numerous changes and extensive new language is added to 
chapter 317 to better align the titling process of off-highway 
vehicles with that of other motor vehicles and vessels. 

  

318.14(7)(a) All dispositions returned to the county requiring a correction 
shall be resubmitted to the department within 10 days after 
the notification of the error. 

  

318.14(7)(b) The department is given authority in this section to modify a 
suspension or revocation if the conviction generating such 
action was not submitted timely by the clerk of court. 

  

318.14(9) & (10) Drivers holding a commercial license may no longer make a 
school election. 

  

319.23(6) Motor vehicle dealers are required to notify the department 
when a vehicle is taken in trade so the department’s database 
may indicate that vehicle as having been sold. 

  

320.06(1)(b) A credit may be given to an owner when they are forced to 
replace a license plate that is being discontinued. 

  

320.0601(4) Any registration or renewal as required under s. 320.02 for an 
original or transfer of a long-term leased motor vehicle must 
be in the name and address of the lessee. 

  



320.0843(1) When more than one registrant is listed on the registration for 
a license plate with a wheelchair symbol, the eligible applicant 
shall be noted on the registration certificate. 

  

320.131(8) This new section of law will allow the department to create an 
electronic system for dealers to use for the issuing of 
temporary license plates. 

  

320.18(1) A registration may be withheld for failure to pay for a driver 
license or identification card. 

  

322.01(8) The terms “declared weight” and “actual weight” are removed 
from this section as well as other sections of chapter 322. 

  

322.01(10)(b) Notwithstanding any other provisions of this chapter, the 
definition of “conviction” provided in 49 C.F.R. part 383.5 
applies to offenses committed in a commercial motor vehicle. 

  

322.01(29) Clarification is made that out of service orders may be issued 
by local, state, or federal officials. 

  

322.051(1)(a) Technical changes are made to this section to allow 
customers to show naturalization documents as proof of ID as 
well as an expired passport. 

  

322.051(8 Clarification is made that a full-face photograph is required for 
the issuance of an identification card. 

  

322.08 Changes are made to this section of law to mirror those found 
in 322.051 with regard to acceptable documents that may be 
used to prove ones identity for issuance of a driver license. 

  

322.09(1)(a) Applicants for a driver license that are minors, may place on 
file with the department a secondary guardian’s signature. 

  

322.11 Minors will be given 90 days to replace a guardian’s signature 
in the event that the primary guardian dies. 

  

322.135(1)(c) Tax collectors are authorized to retain the entire $5.25 service 
fee collected on driver license issuances. 

  

322.135(9) Tax collectors are required to forward state funds to the state 
treasury within 5 working days. 

  



322.142(1) Clarification is made that the requirement for a full-face 
photograph supersedes an individual’s religious expression. 

  

322.18(2)(e) A commercial driver holding a hazardous materials 
endorsement may only obtain a four-year license. 

  

322.21(1)(f) An applicant for a hazardous materials endorsement must 
submit to a fingerprint based background check and pay the 
applicable fees. 

  

322.212(7) Any person who provides false information when applying for 
a commercial driver license shall be disqualified from 
operating a commercial vehicle for a period of 60 days. 

  

322.2615 The term “breath-alcohol level” is added throughout this 
section. 

  

322.54 Any person who drives a motor vehicle having a gross vehicle 
weight rating of less than 26,001 pounds and who is required 
to obtain an endorsement must posses a Class C license. 

  

322.57(1)(c) A person who drives a school bus must successfully complete 
a test of his or her knowledge concerning the safe operation 
of such vehicles and a test of his or her driving skill in such a 
vehicle. 

  

713.78(13)(c)1.c. An person may dispute a wrecker operator’s lien if the records 
of the department indicate the vehicle was sold prior to the 
date of the tow. 

  

316.614(4)(a) Seatbelt violations may be enforced as a primary offense for 
drivers and passengers under the age of 18. 

  

316.614(9) All law enforcement agencies are required to adopt policies 
prohibiting racial profiling by January 1, 2006. When law 
enforcement issues a citation for a violation of this section the 
officer must record the race and ethnicity of the violator. All 
statistical data must be submitted to DHSMV annually. 

  

Ch. Law 2005-236 HB 1935 State Judicial System Effective 07/01/05 

  

318.32(1)(d) Hearing officers of the court shall not have the power to 
suspend a defendant’s driver license pursuant to s. 
316.655(2). 



  

322.29(2) Reinstatement fees for child support suspensions will now be 
$47.50. 

  

Ch. Law 2005-167 
SB 60 FRS/Special Risk/Law 
Enforcement 

Effective 10/01/05 

  

121.0515(2)(h) Member must be employed by law enforcement agency or 
medical examiner’s office in a forensic discipline recognized 
by the International Association for Identification. Primary 
duties must include collection, examination, preservation, 
documentation, preparation, or analysis of physical evidence 
or testimony, or both. Or member must be direct supervisor, 
quality management supervisor, or command officer of one or 
more with such responsibility. 

  

Ch. Law 2005-137 SB 492 Wrecker Operators Effective 07/01/05 

  

319.30(1)(a) ‘Certificate of destruction’ redefined to mean the certificate 
issued pursuant to s. 713.78(11) or s. 713.785(7)(a). 

  

323.001(2)(c) Towing and storage rates for owner or lienholder of held 
vehicle shall not exceed the contract or county rates. 

  

713.78(7)(a) Wrecker operator is not liable for damage to a vehicle, vessel, 
or cargo that obstructs normal movement of traffic or creates 
hazard to traffic and is removed in compliance with request of 
law enforcement officer. 

  

713.785 This is a newly created section regarding liens for recovering, 
towing or storing mobile homes. Please refer to bill for details. 
(Effective 01/01/06) 

  

715.017(1)(b) In this section, ‘vessel’ means every description of watercraft, 
barge, and air boat used or capable of being used as a means 
of transportation on water, other than a seaplane or a 
‘documented vessel’ as defined in s. 327.02(8). 

  

715.07(2)(a)3. When a vehicle or vessel, not lawfully parked is in the process 
of being towed, the operator must stop when the person 
seeks return of the vehicle or vessel and pays reasonable 
amount of service fee. 

  



715.07(2)(a)4. A person may not pay or accept money or other valuable 
consideration for the privilege of towing or removing vehicles 
or vessels from a particular location. 

  

715.07(2)(a)5.g. Property owners towing or removing vessels from real 
property must post a notice, consistent with requirements in 
sub-subparagraphs a.-f., which apply to vehicles, and that 
unauthorized vehicles or vessels will be towed at owner’s 
expense. 

  

715.07(5)(a) It is a misdemeanor of the first degree for violation of 
subparagraph (2)(a) 2. or subparagraph (2)(a)6. 

  

715.07(5)(b) It is a felony of the third degree for violation of subparagraph 
(2)(a)1., subparagraph (2)(a)3., subparagraph (2)(a)4., 
subparagraph (2)(a)7., or subparagraph (2)(a)9. 

  

Ch. Law 2005-138 SB 530 DUI/Ignition Interlock Device Effective 07/01/05 

  

322.271(d) Based upon review of the licensee’s application for 
reinstatement, the department may require use of an ignition 
interlock device pursuant to s. 322.2715. 

  

322.2715(1) Requires the placement of a department-approved ignition 
interlock device for any individual convicted of DUI as 
specified in subsection (3). Consideration can be give to those 
individuals having a documented medical condition that 
prohibits the device from functioning normally. The device 
shall be placed on all vehicles that are individually or jointly 
leased or owned by the convicted person. 

  

322.2715(2) Any conviction for a violation of s. 316.193, a previous 
conviction for a violation of former s.316.1931, or a conviction 
out-of-state for DUI, DWI, DUBAL, or any other similar 
alcohol-related or drug-related traffic offense is a conviction of 
DUI. 

  

322.2715(3)(a) A person convicted of a first offense of DUI under 316.193 
with an unlawful blood alcohol level or breath alcohol level as 
specified in s. 316.193(4), or if person is conviction of a 
violation of s. 316.193 and was at time of offense in vehicle 
with person under 18 years of age, the person shall have the 
ignition interlock device installed for 6 months for first offense 
and for at least 2 years for second offense. 

  



322.2715(3)(b) Ignition interlock device shall be installed for not less than 1 
year for a second offense of DUI. 

  

322.2715(3)(c) Ignition interlock device shall be installed for not less than 2 
years for a third offense of DUI that occurs within 10 years 
after a prior conviction for a violation of s. 316.193. 

  

322.2715(3)(d) Ignition interlock device shall be installed for not less than 2 
years for a third offense of DUI which occurs within 10 years 
after prior conviction. 

  

322.2715(4) Requires immediate installation of ignition interlock device 
except for individuals having a documented medical condition, 
if the court fails to order the placement mandatory or fails to 
order applicable period of mandatory placement of device at 
sentencing or within 30 days. This subsection only applies to 
reinstatement after revocation, suspension or cancellation for 
conviction of DUI occurring on or after July 1, 2005. 

  

Ch. Law 2005-100 SB 656 Deputy James M. Weaver Act Effective 07/01/05 

  

112.532(6) This subsection is created relating to the limitations period for 
disciplinary actions against law enforcement or correctional 
officers. 

  

Ch. Law 2005-139 
SB 1020 Police, Fire, SAR Dogs/Police 
Horses 

Effective 10/01/05 

  

843.19(3) Any person who actually and intentionally maliciously 
touches, strikes, or causes bodily harm to a police dog, fire 
dog, SAR dog, or police horse commits a misdemeanor of the 
first degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082 or 775.083. 

  

843.19(4) Any person who intentionally or knowingly maliciously 
harasses, teases, interferes with, or attempts to interfere with 
a police dog, fire dog, SAR dog, or police horse while the 
animal is in the performance of its duties commits a 
misdemeanor of the second degree, punishable as provided 
in s. 775.082 or s. 775.083. 

  

843.19(5) A person convicted of an offense under this section shall 
make restitution for injuries caused to the police dog, fire dog, 
SAR dog, or police horse and shall pay the replacement cost 



of the animal if, as a result of the offense, the animal can no 
longer perform its duties. 

  

Ch. Law 2005-250 
SB 1114 Restaurants Licensed to Sell 
Wine 

Effective 07/01/05 

  

564.09 Restaurants licensed to sell wine may permit one unsealed 
bottle of wine to be removed for consumption off the premises 
if patron purchased a full-course meal and consumed a 
portion of the bottle of wine with such meal. A partially 
consumed bottle of wine may be removed but must be 
securely resealed by the licensee or its employees before 
being removed. The partially consumed bottle of wine must be 
placed in a bag or container and secured in such a manner 
that it is visibly apparent if it has been opened or tampered 
with, along with dated receipt for wine and full-course meal. If 
transported in motor vehicle, the container must be in a 
locked glove compartment, locked trunk or area behind the 
last upright seat if not equipped with trunk. 

  

316.1936(9) A bottle of wine that has been resealed and is transported 
pursuant to s. 564.09 is not an open container under 
provisions of this section. 

  

Ch. Law 2005-177 SB 1118 Motor Vehicle Crash Reports Effective 07/01/05 

  

316.003(84) ‘Victim Services Programs’ is defined as any community-
based organization whose primary purpose is to act as an 
advocate for the victims and survivors of traffic crashes and 
for their families. The victims services offered by these 
programs may include grief and crisis counseling, assistance 
with preparing victim compensation claims excluding third-
party action, or connecting persons with other service 
providers, and providing emergency financial assistance. 

  

Ch. Law 2005-109 
SB 1436 Automated External 
Defibrillators 

Effective 07/01/05 

  

401.2915(4) Each local and state law enforcement vehicle may carry an 
automated external defibrillator. 

  

932.7055(5)(a) Monies obtained by law enforcement agencies through the 
provisions contained in this section may be used to purchase 
automated external defibrillators for use in law enforcement 
vehicles. 



  

Ch. Law 2005-254 SB 1460 Motor Vehicle Registrations Effective 07/01/05 

  

320.02(16)(c) A voluntary contribution is created for the Southeaster Guide 
Dogs, Inc. for the purpose of breeding, raising, and training 
guide dogs for the blind. 

  

Ch. Law 2005-68 SB 1502 Driver License Applications Effective 07/01/05 

  

322.08(6)(f) A voluntary contribution is created for the Children’s Hearing 
Help Fund. 

  

Ch. Law 2005-71 SB 2602 Budget Implementing Bill Effective 07/01/05 

  

320.0846(1) For one year only, active members of the Florida National 
Guard would be eligible for one free license plate or 
registration renewal. 

 


