2002 Legislation Affecting Traffic & Motor Vehicle Laws

The following is a summary of legislative changes related to traffic and motor vehicle laws that were enacted during the 2002 Legislative Session. Before any policy or operational decisions are made, the complete version of the law should be carefully reviewed. Complete copies of the bills may be obtained from the Department of State, the distribution offices of the Florida House and Senate, independent reporting agencies or the official website of the Florida Legislature at www.leg.state.fl.us. Please feel free to contact this office at 850-617-3195 if we can provide additional assistance.

Ch. Law 2002-249	HB 145 – Florida Golf License Plate	Effective
320.08058	The "Florida Golf License Plate" is created. A \$25.00 annual use fee is to be distributed to the Miami-Dade Amateur Golf Association and the Florida Sports Foundation for the operation of youth golf programs.	
Ch. Law 2002-20	HB 261 – Traffic	Effective 7/1/2002
316.003(21)	A motor vehicle is any self-propelled vehicle not oper rails or guideway, but not including any bicycle, moto scooter, electric personal assistive mobility device, or	rized
316.003(82)	A motorized scooter is a vehicle not having a seat or the use of the rider, designed to travel on not more the wheels, and not capable of propelling the vehicle at a greater than 30 mile per hour on level ground.	nan three
316.003(83)	An electric personal assistive mobility device is a self balancing, two- nontandem-wheeled device, designe transport only one person, with an electric propulsion with average power of 750 watts	d to
	(1 horsepower), the maximum speed of which, on a particle surface when powered solely by such a propulsion sy while being ridden by an operator who weights 170 pless than 20 mile per hour. Electric personal assistive devices are not vehicles as defined in this section.	ystem ounds, is

316.2068

Regulations are added for electric personal assistive mobility devices. Such devices may be operated on a roadway where the speed limit is 25 miles per hour or less. These devices may also be operated on a bicycle path, or sidewalk. A driver license will not be required to operate these devices; however, persons under 16 will be required to use a bicycle helmet.

316.2068(5)&(6)

A county, municipality or DOT may prohibit the operation of electric personal assistive mobility devices on any road, street, or bicycle path under its jurisdiction if the governing body of the county or municipality determines that such a prohibition is necessary in the interest of safety.

316.520(3)(a)

Except as provided in paragraph (b) loads dropping from a vehicle is a non-moving traffic violation.

316.520(3)(b)

Any person who willfully violates the provisions of this section which offense results in serious bodily injury or death to an individual and which offense occurs as a results of failing to comply with subsections (1) and (2) commits a criminal traffic offense and a misdemeanor of the second degree.

316.520(4)

The provision of subsection (2) requiring covering and securing the load with a close-fitting tarpaulin or other appropriate cover does not apply to vehicles carrying agricultural products locally from a harvest site or to or from a farm on roads where the posted speed limit is 65 miles per hour or less and the distance driven on public roads is less than 20 miles.

320.08058

The Florida Firefighters license plate is created. A \$20 annual use fee is to be distributed to Florida Firefighters Charities. The requirements of s. 320.08053 must be met prior to the issuance of the plate.

320.08058

The Police Benevolent Association license plate is created. A \$20 annual use fee is to be distributed to the Florida Police Benevolent Association Heart Fund, Inc. The requirements of s. 320.08053 must be met prior to the issuance of the plate.

316.304(2)(e)

The prohibition for wearing headsets while driving does not apply to any person using a headset in conjunction with communicating with the central base operation that only provides sound through one ear and allows surrounding sounds to be heard with the other ear.

318.18(3)(f)	A person cited for exceeding the speed limit within a zone posted for any electronic or manual toll collection facility would be assessed a fine double the amount listed in paragraph (b), provided a sign has been erected warning of the doubling of fines.
318.18(12)	A fine of one hundred dollars is assessed for a violation of 316.520(1) or (2). If, at a hearing, the alleged offender is found to have committed this offense, the court shall impose a minimum civil penalty of \$100. For a second or subsequent adjudication within a period of 5 years, the department shall suspend the driver's license of the person for not less than 180 days and not more than 1 year.
318.19(4)	A hearing is required for a violation of s. 316.520(1) or (2).
Section 98	Effective 10/1/2002: Notwithstanding the provisions of s. 318.121, a board of county commissioners may require, by ordinance, that the clerk of the court collect an additional \$3 with each civil traffic penalty, which shall be used to fund traffic education programs in public and nonpublic schools. The ordinance shall provide for the board of county commissioners to administer the funds. The funds shall be used for direct educational expenses and shall not be used for administration.
316.640(1)(a)1.b.	University police are given authority to patrol property supporting the university or any other organization controlled by the university.
316.640(1)(a)1.e.	Officers of the Department of Agriculture shall have the authority to enforce traffic laws of this state.
316.640(2)(b)	County law enforcement officers may issue citations for violations of chapter 319, 320 or 322, Florida Statutes.
316.640(3)(b)	Municipal law enforcement officers may issue citations for violations of chapter 319, 320, or 322, Florida Statutes.
316.640(3)(c)3.	A parking enforcement specialist employed pursuant to this subsection may not carry firearms or other weapons or have arrest authority.
322.056(1)(c)	For persons under 18 the court may, in its sound discretion, direct the department to issue a license for driving privileges restricted to business or employment purposes only, as defined

	in s. 322.271, if the person is otherwise qualified for such a license.
319.23(5)	The department shall retain the evidence of title presented by the applicant upon which the certificate of title is issued.
319.28(1)(a)	The requirement for an original or certified copy of a security agreement, chattel mortgage, or conditional sales contract is deleted.
319.33(1)(d)	Clarification is made here that it is unlawful to remove a VIN plate affixed by a manufacturer or the department.
320.025(1)	Provision is made for the issuance of a confidential decal.
320.025(2)	Any vessel owned or exclusively operated by the state or any county, municipality, or other governmental entity must at all times display a registration number as required in s. 328.56 and a vessel decal as required in s. 328.48(5).
320.05(2)	This provision allows for the release of vessel records held by DHSMV.
320.055(5)	For a vehicle subject to nonapportioned registration under s. 320.08(4), (5)(a)1., (6)(b), or (14) the registration period begins December 1 and ends November 30. The renewal period is the 31-day period beginning December 1.
320.06(1)(b)	This section of statute is changed to conform to the newly designed decal and its placement on the license plate.
320.0805(6)	Personalized license plates are to remain out of circulation for 1 year.
320.083(1)	Amateur radio license plates may be issued to vehicles weighing not more than 7, 999 pounds.
320.0848(2)(c)	The tax collector is allowed to retain \$1.50 for each 4-year handicapped placard they issue.
320.0848	The \$15.00 handicapped placard fee is deleted.
320.089	Military license plates issued under this section may now be issued to vehicles weighing less than 7,999 pounds.

321.02 The official colors of the Florida Highway Patrol are black and tan. Any person accepting the Florida driver license as proof of 322.051(7) identification must accept a Florida identification card as proof of identification when the bearer of the identification card does not also have a driver license. 860.20(1)(a) The responsibility for outboard motor identification numbers is moved to DHSMV from DEP. 319.30(3)(a)2. If repairs on a motor vehicle or mobile home exceed 100 percent of the cost, but the insurance company agrees to the repairs, the owner shall forward to DHSMV a request to brand the title "Total Loss Vehicle" within 72 hours of the agreement. Self-insured persons are to notify the department of any vehicle 319.30(3)(b) or mobile home considered salvage within 72 hours of becoming salvage. 319.41 DHSMV shall make available on the Internet a database of title transactions searchable by vehicle identification number. The department shall only provide access to information relating to the year, make, model, and mileage of the vehicle, along with the date of sales and any brands or outstanding liens on the title. **HB 441 – Breast Cancer Research Effective** Ch. Law 2002-203 **License Plate** 5/1/2002 The "Breast Cancer Research" license plate is created. A 320.08058 \$25.00 annual use fee is to be distributed to the Florida Breast Cancer Coalition Research Foundation and made available for funding breast cancer research and education. **Effective** Ch. Law 2002-6 **HB 561 – Disabled Parking Permits** 7/1/2002 320.0848(1)(b)2. Applications for disabled parking permits may be signed by an advanced registered nurse practitioner licensed under chapter

> 464 in a facility operated by the United States Department of Veterans Affairs under the protocol of a licensed physician or by a physician assistant licensed under chapter 458 or chapter 459 in a facility operated by the United States Department of

Veterans Affairs.

Ch. Law 2002-263	HB 1057 – Driving/Boating Under the Influence	Effective 7/1/2002
316.193(2)(a)3.	A second conviction of DUI requires the offender to have an interlock device placed on all of their vehicles for a period of 1 year.	
316.193(2)(b)1.	A third conviction for DUI within 10 years of the prior becomes a felony of the third degree. An interlock device is to be placed on all vehicles owned or leased by the offender for a period of 2 years when the person becomes eligible for a license. (Interlock devices may not be installed until 7/1/2003)	
319.193(2)(b)2.	A third conviction for DUI not within 10 years of the prequires a fine of not less then \$1,000 and imprisonment of the present than 12 months. An interlock device is to be placed by the offender for a period of when the person becomes eligible for a license.	ent for not ced on all
316.193(2)(b)3.	A fourth conviction of DUI in a lifetime is a felony of th degree.	e third
316.193(4)(c)	A person convicted of DUI with a blood or breath alco of .02 or higher shall have an interlock device placed vehicles owned or leased by the offender for up to 6 nd the first offense and for at least 2 years for the second when the offender becomes eligible for a license.	on all nonths for
316.193(11)	The Department of Highway Safety is directed to adopt providing for the implementation of the use of ignition devices.	
316.1932(1)(a)	A second offense of refusing the breath, blood or uring becomes a misdemeanor.	e test,
316.1933(1)(a)	An offender causing serious bodily injury or death sharequired to submit to a blood test.	ıll be
316.1937(1)	The court shall order placement of an ignition interlock in those circumstances required by s. 316.193.	k device
316.1939(1)	Any person who has refused to submit to a chemical of physical test of his or her breath, blood, or urine, and driving privilege was previously suspended for a prior and:	whose

316.1939(1)(a)	Who the arresting law enforcement officer had probate to believe was driving or in actual physical control of vehicle in this state while under the influence of alcohoverages, chemical substances, or controlled substances.	a motor nolic
316.1939(1)(b)	Who was placed under lawful arrest for a violation of unless such test was requested pursuant to s. 316.19	
316.1939(1)(c)	Who was informed that, if he or she refused to submittest, his or her privilege to operate a motor vehicle we suspended for a period of 1 year or, in the case of a subsequent refusal, for a period of 18 months;	ould be
316.1939(1)(d)	Who was informed that a refusal to submit to a lawful or her breath, urine, or blood, if his or her driving privilen previously suspended for a prior refusal to subrlawful test of his or her breath, urine, or blood is a misdemeanor; and	ilege has
316.1939(1)(e)	Who, after having been so informed, refused to submout such test when requested to do so by a law enforcement commits a misdemeanor of the first degree and is subpunishment as provided in s. 775.082 or s. 775.083.	nent officer
316.1939(2)	The disposition of any administrative proceeding that the suspension of a person's driving privilege does no criminal action under this section.	
316.1939(3)	The disposition of a criminal action under this section does not affect any administrative proceeding that relates to the suspension of a person's driving privilege. The department's records showing that a person's license has been previously suspended for a prior refusal to submit to a lawful test of his or her breath, urine, or blood shall be admissible and shall create a rebuttable presumption of such suspension.	
	NOTE: Identical changes were made to chapter 327 reference to boating under the influence of alcohol or controlled substances.	
Ch. Law 2002-251	HB 1225 – Racing on Highways	Effective 10/1/2002

316.191(2)(a) Any person actively participating in any unauthorized motor vehicle or motorcycle contest of speed, acceleration or endurance on any highway, roadway, or parking lot is guilty of

a misdemeanor of a second degree. A fine shall be imposed of not less than \$250 and not more than \$500, and the Department of Highway Safety shall revoke the driver license of a person so convicted for 1 year. A hardship hearing may be requested pursuant to s. 322.271.

316.191(2)(b)

A second violation of paragraph (a) within 5 years of the first violation will result in a misdemeanor of the first degree and a fine of not less than \$500 and not more than \$1000. The department of Highway Safety shall revoke the driver license of a person so convicted for 2 years. A hardship hearing may be requested pursuant to s. 322.271

316.191(3)

Whenever a law enforcement determines that a person was engaged in a racing contest as described in subsection (1), the officer may immediately arrest and take such person into custody. The court may enter an order of impoundment or immobilization as a condition of incarceration or probation.

316.191(3)(a)

The impounding agency shall release a motor vehicle under the conditions provided in s. 316.193(6)(e), (f), (g) and (h) if the owner presents a valid driver license.

316.191(3)(b)

All costs and fees for the impoundment or immobilization must be paid by the owner.

Ch. Law 2002-256

HB 1673 – Social Security Numbers/Records

Effective 10/1/2002

119.072(1)

All social security numbers held by an agency or its agents, employees, or contractors are confidential and exempt from s. 119.07(1) and s. 24(a), Art. I of the State Constitution. This exemption applies to all social security numbers held by an agency and its agent, employees, or contractors before, on, or after the effective date of this exemption.

119.072(2)

Social Security numbers may be disclosed to anther governmental entity or its agents. The receiving governmental entity shall maintain the confidential and exempt status of such numbers.

119.072(3)

This section allows for the use of social security numbers in the performance of legitimate commercial business activity under conditions.

119.072(4)	Penalties are established for requesting a social security number under false representation.	
119.072(5) & (6)	Procedures are established for the county court record follow in preparing court documents with regard to soc security numbers. Social Security numbers are not to be displayed on any final judgment, court order or docket	ial oe
119.072(7)	Beginning January 31, 2004 and each January 31 thereafter, every agency must file a report with the Secretary of State, the President of the Senate, and the Speaker of the House listing the identity of all commercial entities that have requested social security numbers during the preceding calendar year and the specific purpose stated by each.	
119.072(9)	An agency shall not collect an individual's social secur number unless authorized by law to do so or unless the collection of the social security number is otherwise imfor the performance of that agency's duties. Agencies collect social security numbers shall also segregate the number on a separate page.	e perative that
119.072(10)	Any affected person may petition the circuit court for a directing compliance with this section.	n order
119.072(11)	The provision of this section do not supersede any other applicable public records exemptions existing prior to the effective date of this act or created thereafter.	
119.072(12)	This section shall stand repealed October 2, 2007, unless reviewed and saved from repeal through reenactment by the Legislature.	
Ch. Law 2002-295	HB 1681 – Off-Highway Vehicles	Effective 7/1/2002
316.2074(2)	The term "all-terrain vehicle" is modified slightly to incluvehicles up to 900lbs from 600lbs.	ude
316.2074(5)	Except as provided in this section, an all-terrain vehicle may not be operated upon the public roads, streets, or highways of this state, except as otherwise permitted by the managing state or federal agency.	

316.2074(7)	An all-terrain vehicle having four wheels may be used by law enforcement officers on public roads within public lands while in the course and scope of their duties.
Section 55	Florida Off-Highway Vehicle Titling Act.
Section 56	It is the intent of the Legislature that all off-highway vehicles purchased after the effective date of this act and all off-highway vehicles operated on public lands be titled and issued a certificate of title to allow for easy determination of ownership.
Section 57	In this section of the bill basic terms are defined. These terms include: ATV, dealer, department, resident, off-highway motorcycle, off-highway vehicle, owner and public lands.
Section 58	The administration of off-highway vehicle titling laws in section 55 through 67 is under the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, which shall provide for the issuing, handling, and recording of all off-highway vehicle titling applications and certificates, including the receipt and accounting of off-highway vehicle titling fees.
Section 59	This section give the Department of Highway Safety authority to establish rules and suitable forms for implementation of this act.
Section 60	This section establishes criteria wherein title certificates for off- highway vehicles will be required. Service charges and late fees are also created for this section.
Section 61	This section creates the application process and application fee for the issuance of titles for off-highway vehicles.
Section 62	This section establishes the process for obtaining a duplicate certificate of title for off-highway vehicles.
Section 63	A manufacturer's certificate of origin must be furnished for all new off- highway vehicles.
Section 64	Two dollars from each title transaction shall be retained by the Department of Highway Safety for administrative costs. The remaining title transaction fees are to be deposited into the Incidental Trust Fund of the Division of Forestry.

Section 65 This section gives the Department of Highway Safety the

authority to refuse issuance of a title or cancel a title if false

information has been given.

Section 66 It is unlawful to attempt to pass a certificate of title that is

fraudulent or to alter or forge any title certificate.

Section 67 Any person who fails to comply with an provision of section 55

through 66 for which a penalty is not otherwise provided commits a nonmoving traffic violation, punishable as provided

in section 318.18, Florida Statutes.

Ch. Law 2002-266 SB 90 – Career Offender Registration Act

Effective 7/1/2002

775.261(2)(a) Career offender means any person who is designated as a

habitual violent felony offender, a violent career criminal, or a three-time violent felony offender under s. 775.084 or as a

prison release re-offender under s. 775.082(9).

775.261(4)(c) Within 2 working days after registering with the Department of

Law Enforcement as provided in paragraph (a), a career offender who is not incarcerated shall register in person at a driver's license office of the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles and shall present proof of registration. At the

driver's license office, the career offender shall:

775.261(4)(c)1. If otherwise qualified, secure a Florida driver license, renew a

driver license, or secure an identification card. The career offender must identify himself or herself as such and provide his or her place of permanent or temporary residence. Post office box numbers may not be used in place of a physical resident address. If the offender resident in a motor vehicle, trailer, mobile home or manufactured home, the offender shall provide DHSMV with the vehicle identification number; tag number; and description, including color scheme. If the offender resides in a vessel, or houseboat, they must provide

DHSMV the hull number; the manufacturer's serial number; the name of the vessel and a description, including color scheme.

775.261(4)(c)2. Pay all costs assessed by DHSMV

775.261(4)(c)3. Provide, upon request, any additional information necessary to

confirm the identity of the career offender, including a set of

fingerprints.

775.261(4)(d)

Each time an offender's driver license or ID card is subject to renewal, and within 2 working days after any change of residence or legal change of name the offender must report in person to a driver's license officer and shall be subject to the requirements specified in paragraph (c). DHSMV shall forward to FDLE and DOC all photographs and information provided by offenders.

Ch. Law 2001-355

SB 94B - Specialty License Plates

Effective 7/1/2002

320.08056

The American Red Cross license plate is created. A \$25 annual use fee is to be distributed evenly to the American Red Cross Chapter of Central Florida and the poison control centers of Florida.

320.08056

The United We Stand license plate is created. A \$25 annual use fee is to be evenly distributed to the Department of Transportation to enhance security at airports and to the Rewards for Justice Fund to be used solely to apprehend terrorists and bring them to justice.

Ch. Law 2002-215

SB 196 - Exclusionary Rule

Effective 7/1/2002

90.959

The legislature makes a finding that the Division of Driver Licenses and the Division of Motor Vehicles of DHSMV are not law enforcement agencies and are not adjuncts of any law enforcement agency. Errors in records maintained by the divisions are not within the collective knowledge of any law enforcement agency. There is enough incentive to maintain records in a current and correct fashion. The purpose of the exclusionary rule is to deter misconduct on the part of law enforcement officers and law enforcement agencies.

322.20(15)

The creation and maintenance of records by the department and the Division of Driver Licenses pursuant to chapter 322 shall not be regarded as law enforcement functions of agency recordkeeping.

320.05(5)

The creation and maintenance of records by the department and the Division of Motor Vehicles pursuant to chapter 320 shall not be regarded as law enforcement functions of agency recordkeeping.

Ch. Law 2002-23	SB 266 – Solid Waste Vehicles	Effective 7/1/2002
316.1975(2)(c)	Solid-waste or recovered-materials collection vehicles collecting items may be left unattended.	s while
Ch. Law 2002-178	SB 306 – Sale of Driver Licenses	Effective 10/1/2002
322.212(1)(d)	It is unlawful for a person to knowingly sell, manufacture, or deliver, or knowingly offer to sell, manufacture, or deliver, a blank, forged, stolen, fictitious, counterfeit, or unlawfully issued driver license or identification card or an instrument in the similitude of a driver license or ID card, unless that person is authorized to do so by the department.	
322.212(6)	Any person who violates paragraph (1)(d) commits a felony of the third degree.	
Ch. Law 2002-179	SB 358 – Driver Distraction	Effective 4/26/2002
316.0075	Regulation of operator or passenger use of commerc radio services and other electronic communications of a motor vehicle is expressly preempted to the state.	
Ch. Law 2002-217	SB 366 - Move Over Act	Effective 7/1/2002
316.126(1)(b)	When an authorized emergency vehicle making use of visual signals is parked, the driver of every other vehicles on as it is safe:	
316.126(1)(b)1.	Shall vacate the lane closest to the emergency vehicle driving on an interstate highway or other multi-lane recept when otherwise directed by law enforcement.	
316.126(1)(b)2.	Shall slow to a speed that is 20 miles per hour less the posted limit when the limit is 25 miles per hour or great travel at 5 miles per hour when the posted limit is 20 when driving on a two-lane road, except when otherwise directed by law enforcement.	ater; or or less,
316.126(1)(c)	DHSMV is to provide educational awareness informa motoring public about the "Move Over Act". The "Move Over Act".	

	Act" shall be incorporated into all driver license mater printed after July 1, 2002.	ials
316.2397(3)	New language is added to this section to clarify which agencies and authorized vehicles may display emergency lights. As well it more specifically defines what types of lights wreckers are allowed to use.	
318.18(2)(b)	Thirty dollar fine for all nonmoving traffic violations and for all violations of s. 316.126(1)(d), unless otherwise specified.	
318.21(13)	The proceeds from the fine as defined in s. 316.126(1)(b) shall be paid to the Crimes Compensation Trust Fund administered by the Office of the Attorney General.	
Ch. Law 2002-76	SB 434 – Jury Lists	Effective 10/1/2002
40.011	DHSMV shall deliver quarterly to the clerk of the circuit court in each county a list of names of persons who reside in that county, who are citizens of the United States, who are legal residents of Florida, who are 18 years of age or older, and for whom the department has a driver license or identification card record.	
322.051 & 322.08	Applications for identification cards and driver licenses must include the county of residence.	
Ch. Law 2002-259	SB 520 – Identification Requirements	Effective 10/1/2002
322.051(1)(a)1.	Applications for identification cards must include the obirth.	country of
322.051(1)(a)3.a.	A driver license or identification card record from another jurisdiction that required the applicant to submit a document for identification which is substantially similar to documents required in Florida may be used as a primary form of identification.	
322.051(1)(a)3.f.	In order to prove nonimmigrant classification, applicants may produce but are not limited to the following documents:	
322.051(1)(a)3.f.i.	A notice of hearing from an immigration court scheduling a hearing on any proceeding.	

322.051(1)(a)3.f.ii.	A notice from the Board of Immigration Appeals acknowledging pendency of an appeal.
322.051(1)(a)3.f.iii.	Notice of the approval of an application for adjustment of status issued by INS.
322.051(1)(a)3.f.iv.	Any official documentation confirming the filing of a petition for asylum status or any other relief issued by INS.
322.051(1)(a)3.f.v.	Notice of action transferring any pending matter from another jurisdiction to Florida, issued by INS.
322.051(1)(a)3.f.vi.	Order of an immigration judge or immigration officer granting any relief that authorizes the alien to live and work in the United States including, but not limited to asylum.
	Presentation of any of the foregoing documents shall entitle the applicant to a driver license or temporary permit of period not to exceed the expiration date of the document presented or 2 years, whichever first occurs.
322.051(1)(c)	Each applicant may include fingerprints and any other unique biometric means of identity.
322.051(2)(b)	If an applicant establishes his or her identity for an identification card using a document authorized under sub-subparagraph (a)3.d., the identification card shall expire on the 4th birthday of the applicant following the date of original issue or upon first renewal or duplicate issued after implementation of this section. After an initial showing of such documentation, he or she is exempted from having to renew or obtain a duplicate in person.
322.051(2)(c)	If an applicant establishes his or her identity for an identification card using an identification document authorized under subsubparagraphs.
(a)3. e f.,	the identification card shall expire 4 years after the date of issuance or upon the expiration date cited on the United States Department of Justice documents, whichever date first occurs and may not be renewed or obtain a duplicate except in person.
322.19(4)	If a person established his or her record with Department of Justice documents the customer may not change his or her name or address except in person and upon submission of identification documents.

NOTE: All provisions established for providing proof of identity for the issuance of an identification card under 322.051 also apply to the application process for driver licenses under 320.08, 322.17 and 322.18.

Ch. Law 2002-235	SB 522 – Traffic	Effective 5/8/2002
316.061(3)	This new section expands the jurisdiction over the remotor vehicles involved in crashes from the roadways	
318.1451(5)(b)	The department or court may prepare a traffic school guide which lists the benefits of attending a driver important school and contains the names of the fully approved a providers with a single telephone number for each profurnished by the provider.	orovement course
319.001	Front-end assembly; motorcycle body assembly, engitransmission; and rear body section are more clearly	
319.14	The term "combined" motor vehicle is deleted. The desis to issue a decal to vehicles "assembled from parts" Removing a rebuilt decal becomes a felony of the thir	•
319.22(5)	It is illegal to transfer title to a motor vehicle when the purchaser's name does not appear on the title. Any b seller who knowingly and willfully violates this subsectintent to commit fraud commits a misdemeanor of the degree.	uyer or tion with
319.30(1)(e)	Major component parts are defined for motor vehicles motorcycles and mobile homes.	s, trucks,
319.30(2)(c)	Anyone who willfully and knowingly induces a person affidavit that falsely asserts that the vehicle title has b surrendered to the department commits a felony of th degree.	een
319.30(3)(b)	Persons who are self-insured are required within 72 h a motor vehicle or mobile home becomes salvage to the title to the department for processing.	
319.30(4)	It is unlawful to remove a state assigned identification	number.
319.30(4)(b)	Nothing in this subsection shall be applicable if a cert destruction has been obtained for the vehicle.	ificate of

319.32(6)	Notwithstanding chapter 116, every county officer with state 320.03(3) authorized to collect funds provided for chapter shall pay all sums & 328.73(4) officially receiv officer into the State Treasury no later than 5 working after the close of the business day in which the officer the funds. Payment by county officers to the state shall made by means of electronic funds transfer.	or in this yed by the days received
319.33(5)	It is unlawful to remove a state assigned identification	number.
322.095(7)	The department shall approve and regulate courses that use technology as the delivery method of all traffic law and substance abuse education courses as the courses relate to this section.	
713.78(11)(a)	A certificate of destruction may be reassignable a maximum of two times before dismantling or destruction of the vehicle shall be required.	
713.78(12)(d)	Employees of DHSMV and law enforcement officers are authorized to inspect the records of any person regularly engaged in the business of recovering, towing, or storing vehicles or vessels or transporting vehicles or vessels by wrecker, tow truck, or car carrier, to ensure compliance with the requirements of this section.	
Ch. Law 2002-181	SB 568 – License Plates	Effective 7/1/2002
320.089(1)(c)	Notwithstanding any provisions of law to the contrary, an applicant for a Pearl Harbor license plate who also qualifies for a disabled veteran's license plate under s. 320.084 shall be issued the appropriate special license plate without payment of the tax imposed by s. 320.08.	
Ch. Law 2002-297	SB 570 – Driver License Revocation	Effective 7/1/2002
322.28(7)	This new section includes a provision that will require the court to issue a driver license revocation order for a period of at least one year to anyone convicted of a second or subsequent violation of s. 796.07(2)(f) {solicitation of prostitution}, which involves a motor vehicle.	

SB 1136 – Protect Florida Whales

License Plate

Ch. Law 2002-237

Effective

7/1/2002

320.08058 The "Protect Florida Whales" license plate is created. A \$25

annual use fee is to be distributed to the Harbor Branch Oceanographic Institution, Inc. to fund whale research,

rehabilitation, and education programs.

Ch. Law 2002-243 SB 1178 – Temporary parking permits

Effective
7/1/2002

320.0848(1)(a) Temporary-parking permits may only be issued for a maximum

of 6 months. However, no person will be required to pay a fee for a temporary parking permit more than once in a 12-month

period from the date of the prior fee payment.