
  

 

 

  
   

 

   
 

  

        
  

 

 
      

       
       

    
 

  
       

    
    

      
     

      
 

  
     

 
 

     
    

 
     

    
   

 

     
 

 
   

HSMV 
FLORIDA HIGHWAY SAFETY AND MOTOR VEHICLES 

INFORMATION NOTICE 
DIVISION OF MOTORIST SERVICES 

Dave Kerner, Executive Director 

DATE: 09/17/25 
Information Notice (INFO) 

INFO 25-017 

SUBJECT: Storage Fees for Notice of Claim of Lien for Motor Vehicles and 
Vessels 

Overview: 
The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) is providing further guidance on satisfying 
the good faith effort requirements found in section 713.78, Florida Statutes, for title transfers for towing and 
storage liens for motor vehicle and vessels and for assessing storage fees charged in the notice of claim of lien 
found in section 323.001, Florida Statutes. 

Details: 
When a tow company recovers, tows, and stores a motor vehicle or vessel and cannot find the name and addresses 
of the registered owner(s) or lienholder(s), within 5 days, they must contact the local law enforcement agency 
where the motor vehicle or vessel is stored notifying that a physical search of the motor vehicle or vessel was 
performed and that no ownership information was found. If this Good Faith Notice was submitted within 5 days of 
storage, the tow company may charge storage fees for the entire dates of storage. If the Good Faith Notice was 
submitted after 5 days of storage, the tow company may only charge 5 days of storage to the lienholder, if 
applicable. 

A law enforcement agency may request that a motor vehicle or vessel be stored at a tow company’s facility for up 
to 5 days. Within 5 days the law enforcement agency must notify the tow company if they require the motor 
vehicle or vessel to be continued to be stored beyond 5 days. The assessment of storage fees for this scenario 
follows below: 

• If the motor vehicle or vessel is requested to be stored at the tow company’s facility for up to 5 days by law
enforcement, the registered owner(s) and lienholder(s) are responsible for towing and storage charges for
up to 5 days.

• If the motor vehicle or vessel is requested to be stored at the tow company’s facility for over 5 days by law
enforcement, the registered owner(s) and lienholder(s) are responsible for towing and storage charges for
the first 5 days and the law enforcement agency will be responsible for storage charges beyond the first 5
days.

Review TL-26 for additional guidance and information on storage fees charged. 

Conclusion: 
If you need additional information, please contact your next level of management or the Field Support Center. 
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https://www.flhsmv.gov/pdf/proc/tl/tl-26.pdf

