

INFORMATION NOTICE

DIVISION OF MOTORIST SERVICES

DATE: 03/14/24 INFO 24-007

SUBJECT: Titling and Registering Short-Term-Lease Vehicles

Overview:

The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) has found titles for short term lease vehicles being issued without registrations.

Details:

Short-term-lease vehicles cannot be issued a "Title Only." <u>Section 319.14(1)(c)2.a., Florida Statutes</u>, states "Short-term-lease vehicles" means a motor vehicle leased without a driver and under a written agreement to one or more persons from time to time for a period of less than 12 months.

Short-term-lease vehicles are vehicles that are owned by rental car companies or motor vehicle dealerships and leased/rented via a written contract for a period of daily, weekly, or monthly up to less than 12 months.

These vehicles are to be titled in the name of the rental car company or motor vehicle dealership using "Lease" as the "Vehicle Use" and "Lease" as the "Acquired By."

The registration for the short-term-lease vehicle must be issued in the name of the title owner.

Conclusion:

If you need additional information, please contact your next level of management or the Field Support Center.