

DATE: 10/22/2020

TECHNICAL ADVISORY

DIVISION OF MOTORIST SERVICES

Technical Advisory (TA) Number

RS/TL20-017

SUBJECT: 2020 Quarter III Legislative Software Release: WRAP 4200 Heavy Trucks - Fix, WRAP 5535 Specialty License Plates, WRAP 5534 'D' Designation on DL/ID and Various Technical WRAPs

Overview:

The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) is performing system modifications to the Florida Real-time Vehicle Information System (FRVIS) and the Florida Driver License Information System (FDLIS). The changes will be deployed on Friday, October 30, 2020 at 7:00p.m. (EST) for selected pilot offices (see list below) and deployed state-wide on Friday, November 6, 2020 at 7:00 p.m. (EST). A TAC notice for the release will be issued to show the availability of services.

Details:

County	Pilot Site
Miami	0115
Hillsborough	0301
Polk	0505
Palm Beach	0601
Leon	1302
Sarasota	1604
Lee	1801
Brevard	1901
Hardee	3001
Santa Rosa	3301
Jefferson	4602
Volusia	6622
HSMV	6801
HSMV	6803
HSMV – Tampa Regional	6824

HSMV – FLOW (Done on Nov	6861
5 th)	(V14)
HSMV – SEU	Q90
Broward – Lauderdale Lakes	R01S01
Miami-Dade - Hialeah	S05S01

FDLIS Modifications:

1. WRAP 5534: HB 787 'D' Designation DL/ID and Voluntary Contribution. Customers with proof of a developmental disability can have the 'D' designation added to their driver license or ID card and issued a replacement free of charge if the customer is not conducting any other business affecting the credential. Also, customers can make a voluntary contribution of \$1 or more for Childhood Cancer during an original, renewal or replacement driver license or ID card transaction. The contribution will go to the Live Like Bella Childhood Cancer Foundation.

FRVIS Modifications:

- 1. WRAP 5535: HB 1135 Specialty License Plates. (Partial Release) Gold Star Plate limit is 3 plates per household. NOTE: The remainder of this WRAP will be deployed after the Informatica Release in November 2020.
- 2. WRAP 4200: Heavy Trucks. Bug fixes for FRVIS and Virtual Office transactions.

Technical Modifications:

- 1. WRAP 5415 Modify FRVIS to maintain the status on AGENCY report table
- 2. WRAP 5526 Technical-Operation Change for Phase 1: Model Changes
- 3. WRAP 5527 Technical-Operation Change for Phase 1: Customer Email Address
- 4. WRAP 5528 Technical-Operation Change for Phase 1: AAMVA (SSA, VLS, PDPS, CDL)
- 5. WRAP 5529 Technical-Operation Change for Phase 1 4: New Restriction Code
- 6. WRAP 5595 COVID-19 FDLIS Enhancement Using Photo/Signature on File to SEU Stage Servers
- 7. WRAP 5631 Removal of Interpol

<u>Legislation CS/CS/HB 1135- Specialty License Plates Procedural Updates</u>

In addition to the changes above, the following procedures have been updated to include 2020 legislative changes.

RS-13, FLHSMV is authorized to issue legislative license plates and retired legislative license plates to the state Legislature. The applicant must have served as President of the Senate or Speaker of the House prior to January 1, 2021 to receive a legislative license plate. To qualify for a Retired Senate or Retired House prestige license plate, a former member must have served at least 4 years as a state senator or state representative, respectively, and must have served at least 2 years as a state senator or state representative prior to January 1, 2021.

RS-15 The Purple Heart special motorcycle license plate, upon application to FLHSMV and payment of the license tax for the motorcycle as provided in s. 320.08, a resident of the state who owns or leases a motorcycle that is not used for hire or commercial use shall be issued a Purple Heart special motorcycle license plate if he or she provides documentation acceptable to FLHSMV that he or she is a recipient of the Purple Heart medal.

Military specialty plates provide for the likeness of the related campaign or service medal to be stamped for Purple Heart and Bronze Star recipients. The Gold Star recipients upon application and proof of eligibility will be issued three Gold Star license plates without charge, per household. This includes renewals. The Veteran and Woman Veteran specialty license plates are available as motorcycle license plates.

RS-20 Pre-sale vouchers and de-authorization and discontinuation of a specialty license plate. Starting on the effective date of the bill relating to the specialty license plate, the organization has 24 months to sell 3,000 vouchers and 4,000 vouchers for out-of-state colleges or universities before the license plate will be manufactured. If, at the end of the 24-month presale period, 3,000 vouchers or 4,000 vouchers for out-of-state colleges or universities have not been sold, the specialty plate is deauthorized and FLHSMV shall discontinue development of the plate and discontinue issuance of the presale vouchers. On January 1st of each year, FLHSMV shall discontinue the specialty license plate with the fewest number of plates in circulation.

RS-26 Dealers may purchase specialty license plates in lieu of the standard dealer license plates. Dealers shall be responsible for all costs associated with the specialty license plate.

RS-39 FLHSMV shall conduct an audit every 3 years of any organizational recipient of specialty license plate use fees to ensure proceeds are used in compliance with 320.08056 & 320.08058.

RS-55 Fleet companies may purchase specialty license plates in lieu of the standard fleet license plates. Fleet companies shall be responsible for all costs associated with the specialty license plate.

RS-67 Presale specialty license plates, inventory codes, fees and initial offering dates. Before a new specialty plate is manufactured, 3,000 presale vouchers and 4,000 presale vouchers for out-of-state colleges or universities must be sold within two years of the initial offering date. Plate ranges will not be assigned unless the presale voucher requirement is met. If a plate fails to meet the presale voucher requirements within the two-year period, the plate will not be manufactured.

FLHSMV may de-authorize a specialty license plate and discontinue its issuance if the number of valid specialty license plate registrations falls below 3,000 valid registrations or 4,000 valid registrations for out-of-state colleges or universities.

Conclusion:

If you need additional information, supervisors may contact their next level of management or the Field Support Center.