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SUBJECT: Legislative Changes for Motor Vehicle and Vessel Titles and
Registrations and Driver Licenses/Identification Cards
Effective: July 1, 2017

Overview:

The 2017 Legislature passed various bills resulting in changes to motor vehicle and driver
license laws, which become effective on July 1, 2017. A deployment of these changes is
currently scheduled for Friday, June 30, 2017 to become effective at start of business, Saturday,
July 1, 2017. FRVIS deployment will begin at 7:00 p.m. on Friday, June 30, 2017. Note, there
are no FDLIS programming changes.

Details:
FRVIS - Vessels (HB 711)

The vessel fee reductions for those individuals or businesses that own a recreational vessel
equipped with an emergency position-indicating radio beacon (EPIRB) or who own a personal
locator beacon (PLB) that were put in place last year have been made permanent and the fees
have been further reduced.

Registration Fee Chart for Recreational Vessels with either an EPIRB or PLB certification.

Current Fee Current
Vessel ' Reduced Fee Reduced Fee
Length (without - -
Classification reduction) (July 2016-June |  (July 2017)
2017)
Less than 12
Class A-1 $5.50 S4.24 $2.95
Feet




12 to less than
Class A-2 $16.25 $13.77 $11.00
16 Feet
16 to less than
Class 1 $28.75 $24.83 $20.40
26 Feet
26 to less than
Class 2 $78.25 $68.56 $57.50
40 Feet
40 to less than
Class 3 $127.75 $112.31 $94.95
65 Feet
65 to less than
Class 4 $152.75 $134.41 $113.40
110 Feet
110 or more in
Class 5 $189.75 $167.11 $141.15
length

FRVIS - Derelict Vessel Title Stops (HB 7043)

A derelict vessel is one that is left, stored, or abandoned in a wrecked, junked, or substantially
dismantled condition upon any public waters of this state or at a port in this state without the
consent of the agency having jurisdiction thereof or docked, grounded, or beached upon the

property of another without the consent of the owner of the property.

Per section 328.09(4), Florida Statutes, the department may not issue a certificate of title to any
applicant for any vessel that has been deemed derelict by a law enforcement officer under s.
823.11, F.S. The law enforcement officer must inform the department in writing of the vessel’s
derelict status and supply the department with the vessel title number or vessel identification

number.

A title stop code “DB” — Derelict Vessel will be reflected in the Vehicle Stop Inquiry function in

FRVIS.




Law enforcement officers will notify the department as follows:
Email: Derelict@flhsmv.gov
FAX: (850) 617-3946

The department may remove the stop and issue a certificate of title once a law enforcement
officer has verified in writing that the vessel is no longer a derelict vessel.

The derelict vessel stop on a vessel title does not prevent the registration from being issued as
an original, from being renewed, or from being replaced.

This information will be found in VSTL-41.
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FRVIS - Surviving Spouse Title Transfer (SB 164)

The department and tax collector shall not charge any fee or service charge, except for the
expedited title fee, if applicable, for a certificate of title issued for a motor vehicle solely to
remove a deceased co-owner from the title registered in the names of two persons if the other
co-owner is the surviving spouse.


mailto:Derelict@flhsmv.gov

A new form Application for Surviving Spouse Transfer of Florida Certificate of Title for a Motor
Vehicle, HSMV 82152 will be available online on July 15t and should be used to process this
transaction. The customer must have an original or certified copy of the death certificate and
proof of identity (driver license/identification card/valid passport). A marriage certificate will be
required unless the name of the surviving spouse is shown on the death certificate.

The surviving spouse may purchase an expedited (fast) title at a cost of $10; however, this is not
required. The title may be mailed at no fee or held in an electronic status. If held electronically,
once the pending flag is released, the customer may request a printed title online, by mail or in
person for $2.50 or an expedited title for $10.

The registration fee(s) associated with the removal of the deceased’s name from the title was
not included as a part of the no-fee title transfer. Therefore, registration fee(s) which will vary
based on the order of names on the title and the surviving spouse’s birth date, will be due at the
time of the title transfer.

If a registration is not obtained at the time of the title transfer, the customer is required to
certify on the face of HSMV 82152, or sign a perjury clause non-use certification stating “The
motor vehicle identified will not be operated on the streets and highways of Florida until
properly registered.”

It the title has been lost or destroyed, the surviving spouse will certify this on form HSMV 82152.

An address change cannot take place as a part of the surviving spouse title transfer. However, a
one-time mail to address or mail to customer may be added to the transaction.

This information will be found in TL-18.



FRVIS — Personal Delivery Device (HB 1027)

The term “personal delivery device” was added to the definitions in section 316.003(40), Florida
Statutes. However, a personal delivery device is not required to be registered and insured.

Personal Delivery Device

FRVIS — Marine Boat Trailer Owned by a Nonprofit (HB 7109)

The registration or renewal of a registration of any marine boat trailer is exempt from the
payment of most registration fees, taxes, surcharges, and charges if it is owned and operated
by a nonprofit organization, exempt from federal income tax under s. 501(c)(3) of current
Internal Revenue Service code, and the marine boat trailer is used exclusively in carrying out its
customary nonprofit activities.

To comply with this new legislation a new vehicle class code of “55 — Marine Trailer Nonprofit”
has been added to the vehicle class code table. A new registration use of “NP — Nonprofit” has
been added to the registration use table.

To obtain a no fee registration or renewal of a registration for a marine boat trailer, the
nonprofit organization must present the original or a copy of their IRS Determination Letter
showing that the organization is tax exempt under s. 501(c)(3). The tax collector or license
plate agent must keep a copy of the letter on file in the office for a period of 12 months.
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When processing an original marine boat trailer registration, the clerk should verify that the
Federal Employee Identification Number (FEIN) printed on the IRS Determination Letter is
reflected in the customer details in FRVIS. If the FEIN is not on the customer record, the clerk
will need to use customer maintenance to add the FEIN to the customer record prior to
processing the transaction. Selecting “NP” as the REG USE will exempt all fees on the original
transaction except the $28 license plate fee.

Class Code 55 — Marine Trailer Nonprofit, is restricted to regular series license plates (RGR, RGS,
RMR, MCR, TDL, and TEM) to receive the full fee exemption. However, an organization may
request an eligible specialty license plate or personalized plate. Specialty license plate and
personalized license plates fees are not exempt, and thus, the customer must pay these fees.
Note, some specialty license plates have certain requirements that must be met and are not
allowed to be issued to organizations (i.e., Combat Action Badge).

Once the marine boat trailer owned by a nonprofit organization has been identified in FRVIS as
Class Code 55 — Registration Use NP, it may be renewed as follows:

FRVIS will prompt the clerk to ask: Is this a marine boat trailer? If the customer responds “yes”
the transaction will proceed and a second prompt will be: Has the customer presented their
valid IRS Determination Letter? If the clerk responds “yes” the transaction will proceed; if the
clerk responds “no” FRVIS will remove the registration use code and return to the registration
use field to allow the clerk to select a different registration use.

If the clerk selects REG USE “NP” during a transaction for an individual customer, FRVIS will
return an error message “Registration use of “NP” is restricted to business customers only.
Please select a different customer or registration use.”

A biennial registration is allowed for a marine boat trailer with a registration use of “NP”.

Registration renewal is allowed for a marine boat trailer with a registration use of “NP” through
Virtual Office and mail-in high speed renewal at no fee, except for specialty license plate and
personalization fees, if applicable.

Verbiage will be added to Virtual Office and will be returned for each VT/TL owned by a
business customer and not in Class Code 55 as follows:

“Effective July 1, 2017, a nonprofit organization, that is exempt from federal income tax under
s.501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code, who owns a marine boat trailer may be eligible to
receive a registration fee exemption. Please see section 320.102, Florida Statutes and visit your
local Tax Collector or License Plate Agent with your IRS Determination Letter to receive the fee
exemption.”

Please note: Changes to Virtual Office will not be available on July 1, 2017.

Verbiage will be added to Renewal Notifications and will be returned for each VT/TL owned by
a business customer and not in class code 55 as follows:
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“Effective July 1, 2017, a nonprofit organization, that is exempt from federal income tax under
s.501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code, who owns a marine boat trailer may be eligible to
receive a registration fee exemption. Please see section 320.102, Florida Statutes and visit your
local Tax Collector or License Plate Agent with your IRS Determination Letter to receive the fee
exemption.”

This information will be added to RS-04 and RS-63.

FRVIS - Self-Serve Storage (HB 357)

Section 83.806, F.S., has been amended to include that a lien sale may be conducted on certain
websites. Section 83.806 (10), F.S., has been created to allow a motor vehicle or watercraft
with unpaid or unsatisfied charges for 60 days after the maturity of the obligation to be sold
pursuant to this section or towed without any liability to the facility or unit owner. If the motor
vehicle or watercraft is towed, the wrecker taking possession must comply with all notification
and sale requirements provided in s.713.78, F.S.

This information will be found in TL-28.
FRVIS - Distribution of Revenue — State Homes for Veterans Trust Fund (HB 5205)

This bill terminates the State homes for Veterans Trust Fund and provides disposition of funds,
revenues, and outstanding appropriations.

This information will be found in RS-22.

FRVIS — Distribution of Revenue — Motorcycle Specialty Plates and Disabled Parking Permits
(SB 890)

This bill revises the distribution of revenue received from the annual use fee of the motorcycle
specialty license plates and the proceeds from the issuance of the temporary disabled parking
permit and the permits for certain providers of transportation services to persons who have
disabilities.

This information will be found in RS-22.
FDLIS — Public Records (HB 243)

Current or former nonsworn investigative personnel of the Office of Financial Regulation’s
Bureau of Financial Investigations, whose duties include the investigation of fraud, theft, or
other related criminal activities, or state regulatory requirement violations, their spouses and
children have been added to the list of those exempt from s. 119.07 (1) F.S., and s. 24 (a), Art. |
of the State Constitution.

This information will be found in the Driver License Operations Manual, CS09.3.1.



FDLIS — No-fee Identification Card for Unaccompanied Homeless Youth (HB 1121)

Authorizes a certified unaccompanied homeless youth to apply at no charge for an
identification card issued by the department. The Department of Children and Families is
required to develop a standardized form which must be used to certify the qualifying
unaccompanied homeless youth.

This information will be found in the Driver License Operations Manual, 1C05.3.
FDLIS — School Bus Safety (HB 1239)

Section 316.027, F.S., has been amended to include mandatory noncriminal penalties for
certain violations resulting in serious bodily injury to or death of another person; s. 318.18, F.S.,
is amended to include requiring a fine and driver license suspension for such a violation; and s.
322.27, F.S., is amended to impose points against a driver license for such a violation.

This information will be found in the Driver License Operations Manual, S04.7.



