Photo/Story Gallery 2012

FHP Troopers recognized at the 2012 Mothers Against Drunk Driving Law Enforcement Recognition ceremony

Col. Brierton presents Hurd-Smith award to Tpr. Jose Ramirez On May 21, MADD recognized law enforcement officers in Orlando. This year was the 12th year MADD Florida hosted the annual event that recognizes volunteers, donors and law enforcement at all levels. The Florida Highway Patrol’s honor guard kicked off the ceremony.

FHP Director Col. David Brierton presented Trooper Jose Ramirez with the 2012 Hurd-Smith award for arresting 142 impaired drivers in 2011.

The Hurd-Smith award distinguishes the trooper who makes the most Driving Under the Influence arrests for the year, in honor of two troopers who were killed in the line of duty by drunk drivers. Trooper Kimberly Hurd served the people of Florida for six years. On July 16, 1992, she was conducting a traffic stop on Interstate-95 in Fort Lauderdale when a passing van struck and killed her. The intoxicated driver fled the scene, but was later apprehended and convicted. At the time of her death, she was 26 years old. Trooper Robbie Smith served the people of Florida for four years. On July 26, 1997, Smith was in his patrol car in the emergency lane of I-95 in Miami after completing a traffic stop when a drunk driver travelling at an excessive speed struck his car from behind. At the time of his death, he was 34.

MADD and FHP recognized seven other troopers from across the state as Century Achievers for their efforts to remove impaired drivers from the roadways by making more than 100 DUI arrests in 2011: Troopers Gabriel Keyes, John Catani, Gregory Elias, Deborah Hawkins, Gregory Healy, Deanna Martinez and Sean Laljie.

Law Enforcement award winnersMADD and FHP also recognized Trooper Raymond Addison as a Millennium Achiever for more than 1,600 DUI arrests during his career.

FHP nominated Capt. Tim Culhane for MADD Hero for Drugged Driving Enforcement for his efforts in promoting drugged driving awareness and enforcement in FHP’s Troop F in southwest Florida.

FHP nominated Troops D and F for Outstanding dedication to DUI enforcement – large/Urban agency.

FHP nominated Troopers Addison, Chuck Swindle, Dennis Rich, Edwin Millan-Cintron, Anthony Palese, and Cantani for Outstanding Dedication to DUI enforcement – individual.

Law Enforcement award winnersFHP also nominated Troopers Ramirez and Ronald Evans and Cpl. Pedro Reinoso for Law Enforcement of the Year.

The troopers were among law enforcement officers from across the state recognized by MADD for their efforts to detect and apprehend impaired drivers. Congratulations to all our winners and nominees for making Florida’s roadways a safer player to travel.

MADD Award Ceremony Photos