Photo/Story Gallery 2011

Traffic Safety Committee of the Palm Beaches Honors Troopers

Award WinnersOn June 2, 2011, the Traffic Safety Committee of the Palm Beaches honored law enforcement officers with its 26th Annual Traffic Safety Recognition Luncheon in West Palm Beach.

The committee honored Cpl. Marcus Thomas by presenting him the distinguished service and special recognition awards for his relentless work on a traffic homicide case. Through his work in the investigation, the suspect was brought to justice after escaping custody and fleeing to Honduras.

Cpl. Marcus Thomas receives award Tpr. Sean Laljie receives award Tpr. Steven Vershel receives award Tpr. Deanna Martinez receives award FHPA Maj. Pat Bradley & Tpr. Robert Mazza receive awards
Capt. Earl Brown, Florida Highway Patrol and Col. Mike Gauger, Palm Beach County Sherriff’s Office congratulate the award recipients.

Troopers Sean Laljie, Steven Vershel and William Shogran each received the high enforcement awards. Trooper Deanna Martinez received the Driving Under the Influence Enforcement Award for her exceptional work that helped reduce the amount of alcohol-related crashes in the county. Florida Highway Patrol Auxiliary Maj. Pat Bradley and Trooper Robert Mazza received special safety initiative awards for their continued work with the Department’s occupant protection program in Troop L.