Photo/Story Gallery 2010


2010 MADD winners and FHP Executive StaffMarch 29, 2010 – The Florida Highway Patrol awarded Trooper Michael A. Hollis, Jr. the Hurd-Smith award for 2009. The award recognizes the trooper who leads FHP in Driving Under the Influence apprehensions for the year. Hollis, stationed in Land O’Lakes, made 203 DUI arrests last year.

Col. Czernis presenting Hurd-Smith award to Trooper HollisThe Florida Highway Patrol named the Hurd-Smith award, which distinguishes the trooper who makes the most DUI arrests for the year, in honor of two troopers who were killed in the line of duty by drunk drivers.

Trooper Kimberly Hurd served the people of Florida for six years. Her career with FHP began May 5, 1986. On July 16, 1992, Hurd was conducting a traffic stop on Interstate 95 in Ft. Lauderdale when a passing van struck and killed her. The intoxicated driver fled the scene, but was later apprehended and convicted. At the time of her death, she was 26 years old.

Trooper Robbie Smith served the people of Florida for four years. His career with FHP began Jan. 4, 1993. On July 26, 1997, Smith was in his patrol car in the emergency lane of I-95 in Miami after completing a traffic stop when a drunk driver travelling at an excessive speed struck his car from behind. At the time of his death, he was 34.

The Florida Highway Patrol recognized 15 other troopers from across the state for their efforts to remove impaired drivers from the roadways by making more than 100 DUI arrests for 2009.

Lt. Gov. Kottkamp speaking at luncheon ceremonyThe troopers were also honored by Mothers Against Drunk Drivers at a luncheon ceremony held at the Tallahassee Leon County Civic Center with special guest, Lt. Governor Jeff Kottkamp. The troopers were among law enforcement officers from across the state recognized by MADD for their efforts in detecting and apprehending impaired drivers.

Additional photo -1 Additional photo -2 Additional photo -3 Additional photo -4