Photo/Story Gallery 2009

Troopers Honored by Traffic Safety Committe

Honored troopers and presentersOn June 24, 2009 the Traffic Safety Committee of the Palm Beaches honored law enforcement officials with its Twenty-Fourth Annual Distinguished Awards luncheon in West Palm Beach.

Trooper Paul Assaroupe, Trooper Deano Kates-Paulus and Trooper Garfield Johnson with their awards and presentersThe keynote speaker was Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) Executive Director Electra Theodorides-Bustle. Director Bustle expressed gratitude to all of the law enforcement officers for their valuable and relentless efforts to keep the roadways of Florida safe. She gave an overview of the outstanding changes that have occurred within the FLHSMV, placing the highest emphasis on better customer service. Also, the development of safety programs such as the Emergency Contact Information (ECI) and the Teenage Safe Driving Awareness program Take the web-site.

Troop L had seven troopers receive awards for their efforts in traffic enforcement, D.U.I. enforcement, distinguished service and community service during the past year. Trooper Paul Assaroupe, Trooper Deano Kates-Paulus and Trooper Garfield Johnson received high enforcement awards for their continual dedication to reduce traffic crashes caused by speeding.

Sergeant Deboral Busbee-Youkin and Trooper Deanna Martinez received DUI enforcement awards for their efforts to help reduce the amount of alcohol-related traffic crashes. Trooper Conya Bassett received the outstanding community service award for her hard work with the occupant protection program and for her involvement in the Take the safety program. Corporal Bob Borman received a special recognition award for twenty-five years of service in the traffic homicide unit.

Sergeant Deboral Busbee-Youkin Trooper Deanna Martinez awarded Trooper Conya Bassett awarded Corporal Bob Borman Honorees and presenters

The Florida Highway Patrol’s Southern Regional Commander Chief Miguel A. Guzman presented each award recipient with a committee plaque and certificate. Chief Guzman also thanks the safety committee for recognizing his troopers for their enforcement efforts to make the roads safer for everyone.