Photo/Story Gallery 2009

Troop A Celebrates 70th/40th Anniversary

HSMV/FHP Anniversary Logo

Troop A Major Eddie L. Johnson, Jr., Trooper Christopher McAdams and Lieutenant Colonel Silvester Dawson.

The Pensacola and Panama City Districts of Troop A had the honor of hosting a celebration of the combined 70th Anniversary of the Florida Highway Patrol and 40th Anniversary of the Department of Highway Safety & Motor Vehicles On Thursday and Friday, June 25 and 26, 2009, at the Panama City FHP Station and at the Santa Rosa County Sheriff’s Office training facility in Milton, Florida.

Troop A Commander Major Eddie L. Johnson, Jr. welcomed all attendees including distinguished guests Lieutenant Colonel Silvester Dawson, Chief Grady T. Carrick, DMV and DDL members and FHP Advisory Board Member Bob Pforte. The Troop A Honor Guard posted the colors to begin the celebration. FLHSMV was then recognized for the past, present and future efforts of all four divisions working in unison to create a “full-service” department benefiting the citizens of and visitors to the State of Florida.

Attendees enjoying the celebration Attendees enjoying their meal Cake with HSMV logo

During the celebration Trooper Christopher McAdams of the Marianna District was presented with his retirement credentials and Ms. Sherry Reid, Senior Clerk for the Panama City District was recognized as the Troop A Civilian Employee of the Quarter. Ms Reid will retire in October 2009, with 35 years of service with FLHSMV. Members of these divisions, both active and retired, then gathered to enjoy a great meal of hamburgers, hot dogs and barbeque prepared by Panama City District Captain Terry G. Blackmon and members of the Troop’s Auxiliary.