Photo/Story Gallery 2009

FHP Troops Sweep Awards in Law Enforcement Challenge

~Troop G claims first place in Championship Class and Top Motor Squad Award~
~Troop A wins Top Troop Award and Child Restraint Protection Award~

Chief Carrick, Trooper Wilkinson, Trooper Thomas, Trooper Petty, Corporal Colalillo, Major Allen, Colonel Czernis.Chief Carrick, Captain Blackmon, Colonel Czernis at the law enforcement challenge awards in Orlando.Florida Highway Patrol’s Troops G and A were recognized at the Florida Department of Transportation Law Enforcement Challenge Awards ceremony held on Friday, July 31, 2009, at the Rosen Shingle Creek Resort in Orlando.

Troop G was recognized as the best in the state of Florida in the Championship Class and Troop G’s Motor Squad was also selected at the ceremony as the “Best in the State” for the 2nd year in a row in a Florida Motor Unit Challenge.

Troop G has been chosen as Florida Highway Patrol’s Top Troop in the state five times since the program began in 2000 and finished first twice in the Championship Class in 2004 and again this year.

This is the second year of the Florida Motor Unit Challenge, which was developed by FDOT to recognize the significant accomplishments of the many motor squads around the state. These specialized enforcement units are capable of diverse assignments and have proven to be beneficial in their ability to easily access traffic crash scenes and enforce traffic laws on congested roadways. These motor units were judged in three categories; Policy & Guidelines, Enforcement Activity, and Effectiveness of Efforts. Troop G’s motor squad was ranked #1 by the panel of judges for the second year in a row.

Troop A was recognized as the Top Troop in the state in the Troop Challenge. Troop A was also selected as best in the state for child occupancy protection. Troop A’s efforts have been recognized over the recent years in the Law Enforcement Challenge. Since 2002, Troop A has been selected as the state’s Top Troop three times and placed first and second place respectively in the Championship Class.

These awards are a great accomplishment for the men and women of Troop A. They recognize the hard work and dedication of the troopers, as well as members who help support daily operations and the child occupancy protection program. Together they are working to create a Safer Florida.

Research shows that an increase in traffic enforcement results in a decrease in motor vehicle crashes, injuries, and fatalities. In fact, no other single program or strategy works as well as law enforcement in making travel on Florida’s roads safer. That’s why every year the Florida Department of Transportation (FDOT) holds the Challenge, a competition to recognize and reward the best overall traffic safety programs in Florida. Each law enforcement agency is judged by an independent panel of national traffic safety experts on five criteria: policy, training, public information, enforcement, and effectiveness. The emphasis of judging is speed, DUI, and occupant restraint programs.

Pictured: above left, Troop G selected as the Championship Class winner and Top Motor Squad in the state. Left to right: Chief Grady Carrick, Trooper Walter Wilkinson, Trooper Roger Thomas, Trooper Stanley Petty, Corporal Tom Colalillo, Major Tony Allen, Colonel John Czernis; and above right, Troop A selected as FHP’s Top Troop. Chief Grady Carrick, Captain Terry Blackmon, Colonel John Czernis at the Law Enforcement Challenge awards in Orlando.