Photo/Story Gallery 2007

Troopers Honored for Attorney General’s Award

Trooper Austin, Trooper Lopez-Torres, and The Honorable Bill McCollum, Attorney General.Recently, at the Capitol in Tallahassee, Troopers Jorge Lopez-Torres and Carlos Austin were honored for their nominations for the 2006 Attorney General’s Law Enforcement Officer of the Year Award.

Earlier this year, the two troopers had been selected as co-recipients of the 2006 Florida Highway Patrol Trooper of the Year Award for their heroic actions in responding to a serious vehicle crash on the Sawgrass Expressway in Broward County during which they placed themselves in great personal danger to save the life of a motorist who was trapped in the cab of his truck in a canal.

FHP greatly appreciated the opportunity to nominate Troopers Lopez-Torres and Austin and have them recognized at the award ceremony. Both troopers performed their duties in the highest tradition of the Florida Highway Patrol and are to be commended for this worthy nomination.

Pictured: Trooper Carlos Austin, Trooper Jorge Lopez-Torres, and The Honorable Bill McCollum, Attorney General.