Photo/Story Gallery 2006

FHP Attends 20th Annual Florida Statewide Prevention Conference

Florida's First Lady Columba Bush, Colonel Knight, and Director Janes, pose with the award recipients.Sgt. Delahoz, Trooper Miller, and Trooper Coggins man the FHP booth.The 20th Annual Florida Statewide Prevention Conference was recently held in Orlando. As in the past, the Florida Highway Patrol was there on center stage as part of the Florida Prevention Partnership team under the leadership of Mr. William Janes, Director of Florida’s Office of Drug Control.

Pictured left, Florida’s First Lady Columba Bush, Colonel Chris Knight and Director William Janes pose with the award recipients and right, Sgt. Jorge Delahoz, Trooper Kim Miller and Trooper Larry Coggins man the FHP booth.

This year’s summit was hosted by Florida’s First Lady Columba Bush and chaired by Director Janes. Governor Jeb Bush was also in attendance. Thanks to solid leadership and resolve, Florida’s Drug Prevention Conference has evolved into one of the premier drug prevention conferences in the nation!

FHP’s Chief Public Affairs Officer Major Ernesto Duarte, along with Public Affairs Officers Sergeant Jorge Delahoz, Trooper Larry Coggins and Trooper Kim Miller conducted several informative workshops to educate teens, guidance counselors, and others about the dangers associated with drug abuse and impaired driving.

Trooper Wanda Diaz answering questions at the FHP booth.One of the highlights of this year’s conference was the FHP’s display in the Prevention Conference Convention Center. Troop D’s Occupant Protection Specialist Trooper Wanda Diaz (pictured left) and members of FHP’s PAO staff manned the booth and answered hundreds of questions regarding Florida’s traffic laws, drinking and driving, and most importantly, how to prevent DUI and other related criminal traffic offenses.

Col. Knight with award recipients.This Year’s Who’s Who of Prevention Leaders in Florida pictured right: Trooper Michael R. Vanleer, Troop K – West Palm Beach; Trooper Timothy O. Strickland, Troop B – Gainesville; Trooper Daniel D. Hinton, Troop F – Fort Myers; Trooper Daniel O. Cruz, Troop C – Tampa; Trooper Jacob A. Vaughn, Troop D – Orlando; Trooper Richard A. Moore, Troop F – Mrs. Healy and Mrs. Vaughn posing with their husbands, Col. Knight and the other award recipients.Bradenton; Trooper Gregory B. Healy, Troop G – Jacksonville; Corporal Richard A. Nardiello, Troop L – Davie; and Colonel Chris Knight.

Nine deserving Florida Highway Patrol troopers were recognized at this year’s summit for their respective efforts and initiative in their communities on behalf of substance abuse or violence prevention. Their tireless efforts reflect Florida’s capacity for reaching local and state goals for substance abuse and violence prevention.

Pictured left, Mrs. Healy and Mrs. Vaughn pose with their husbands, Col. Knight and the other award recipients.