Photo/Story Gallery 2004

State Traffic Safety Officers of the Year 2004

Sgt. Etcher, Colonel Knight, and Trooper CogginsThe Florida Department of Transportation and Institute of Police Technology & Management (IPTM) recognized their 2004 State Traffic Safety Officers of the Year at the annual Florida Sheriff’s Association Conference at Amelia Island Plantation on Monday, February 2nd.

Trooper Reggie EdwardsPictured left (L to R): Sgt. Eric Etcher, Colonel Chris Knight and Trooper Larry Coggins and right, Trooper Reggie Edwards, Occupant Protection Specialist Troop C, gives 100% to Child Passenger Safety education.

Receiving top honors at the conference was Sergeant Eric Etcher, who won first place for his efforts in helping to implement a statewide-computerized “HITS” program to track traffic homicide investigations, his work in child safety seat education, and his work with the Aggressive Concentrated Enforcement (ACE) detail during Buckle-Up Florida’s Click it or Ticket/Safe & Sober campaigns.

Trooper Reggie Edwards won second place for his hard work and dedication in occupant protection, seat belt education, and child safety seat education. Over the past three years, Edwards has worked hard to sustain a special program to reach out to minority mothers who need instruction on the proper procedures for installing child safety seats in vehicles. Trooper Edwards also provides demonstrations to area schools using the roll-over simulator, and gives presentations at high schools on the dangers of drinking & driving.

Trooper Larry Coggins, Jr., won third place for his work in child passenger safety in his community and at the FHP Academy, as well as his traffic safety enforcement efforts during the year. Congratulations to each of these deserving members. You are greatly appreciated. Keep up the great work!