Photo/Story Gallery 2003

Top DUI Enforcement Troopers Honored

DUI award winners on steps of Capitol in TallahasseeTrooper Anthony Palese wins Hurd-Smith Award

For the tenth consecutive year, Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD) officially recognized Florida law enforcement officers who arrested 100 or more drunk drivers during the previous calendar year.

100 Club troopers pose with Colonel Knight and State Representative RobainaPictured right: 100 Club troopers pose with Colonel Knight and State Representative Julio Robaina

This special recognition took place on Monday, March 24, 2003, during a news conference on the steps of the Old Capitol building in Tallahassee, and later at an awards luncheon at the Tallahassee-Leon County Civic Center. Besides the beautiful award given to each recipient by MADD at the awards luncheon, each trooper was presented with a special “100 Club” award by Colonel Christopher A. Knight during a presentation held later at the FHP Training Academy. The 20 troopers honored by MADD and the Florida Highway Patrol arrested a total of 2,682 drunk drivers last year.

100 Club Troopers at the FHP AcademyThe highlight of the MADD awards ceremony was the presentation of the Patrol’s highest DUI award, the Hurd-Smith Award. This year’s Hurd-Smith Award winner was Trooper Anthony Palese with 236 DUI arrests! This special award honors Trooper Kimberly Hurd and Trooper Robbie Smith, who were both tragically killed by drunk drivers in separate incidents.

Trooper Palese receives the Hurd-Smith award from Colonel KnightPictured right: Trooper Anthony Palese receives the Hurd-Smith award from Colonel Knight.

The following is a list of the troopers who joined this year’s DUI “100 Club”.

Congratulations to all and keep up the good work!

Troop A
Trooper John H. Britt, Jr.102
Troop C
Sergeant Terry W. Prescott104
Trooper Anthony W. Palese236
Trooper Ronald J. Evans, Jr.227
Trooper Douglas A. Guy214
Trooper Jeffrey L. Johnson154
Trooper Heather N. Glenny123
Trooper Stephen J. Hiles111
Trooper Thomas W. Hansen106
Trooper Rickey N. Glover100
Troop D
Trooper Charles F. Thomas174
Trooper Victor F. Fuentes, Jr.124
Trooper Darryl T. Davis110
Trooper Samuel E. Niesluchowski102
Trooper James E. Gilbert101
Troop E
Trooper Talton B. Dunn, Jr.104
Trooper Alexander C. Annunziato100
Troop F
Trooper Jason R. Eason153
Trooper Richard A. Moore135
Troop L
Trooper Richard A. Nardiello102