Photo/Story Gallery 2001

DUI 100 Club

DUI 100 Club recognized membersFor the eighth consecutive year, Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD) officially recognized Florida law enforcement officers who arrested 100 or more drunk drivers during calendar year.

This special recognition took place on Monday, March 26, 2001, during a news conference and awards ceremony on the steps of the Old Capitol building in Tallahassee.

Hurd-Smith Award presented to Trooper BlanchardIn addition to the press conference, there was a Sunday evening reception at the beautiful Alfred B. Maclay State Gardens. Besides the crystal award given to each recipient by MADD at the awards luncheon, each trooper was presented with a special “100 Club” award by Colonel Charles C. Hall.

The highlight of the ceremony was the presentation of the Patrol’s highest DUI award, the Hurd-Smith Award. This year’s Hurd-Smith Award was presented to Trooper Blanchard with 208 DUI arrests! This special award honors Trooper Kimberly Hurd and Trooper Robbie Smith who were tragically killed by drunk drivers.

Award winners of the DUI “100 Club”

Trooper# of
Trooper James T. Blanchard208C
Trooper Leif E. Cardwell134C
Trooper Jeffrey L. Johnson133C
Trooper Samuel E. Niesluchowski126D
Trooper Douglas A. Guy118C
Trooper Erik C. Gonzalez111C
Trooper Brannon M. Snead111H
Trooper William T. Godwin106A
Trooper Thomas R. Pippin106C
Trooper Paul L. Croy106k
Trooper Sandra L. Bailey104D
Trooper James E. Gilbert104D
Trooper Thomas W. Hansen103C
Trooper Paul L. Sabin101C
Trooper Darryl T. Davis101D
Trooper John Britt100A