A SAFER

TECHNICAL ADVISORY FLORIDA

DIVISION OF MOTORIST SERVICES =  —ooooeoee=—-—-—-—--—

HIGHWAY SAFETY AND MOTOR VEHICLES

To: Tax Collectors and License Plate Agents
Subject: Redesigned GDC/Registration Certificate Paper
Advisory Date: 09/28/12 Implementation Date: Immediately

Advisory Number: R12-11

Recently, the Department redesigned the Florida Registration and shipped these new registrations to
offices and agencies for immediate use.

The front of the registration has not been altered; however, the redesign now provides information
on the back of the registration.

The top half of the back of the registration lists all the motor vehicle registration and driver license
voluntary contributions. The bottom half provides updated statutory information, as well as new
information about electronic titles and what to do when you sell your vehicle, mobile home, or vessel.

Eventually, the Department will have the redundant statute information removed from the front of
the registration to allow counties/vendors space to insert their own information.

Attached is a copy of the registration redesign.

If you have any questions or need additional information, please contact the Inventory Control
Section at (850) 617-28009.



INSTRUCTIONS FOR ATTACHING DECAL
1. Clean area where new annual decal is to be affixed.
2. Peel decal from this document.

3. Affix decal in the upper right corner of license plate.

Mail To:
SAMMY D SAMPLE JR
TESTSEQUENCE
TALLAHASSEE, FL 32399

IMPORTANT_INFORMATION
SECTION 320.0605, Florida Statutes, requires this registration certificate or an official
copy or a true copy of a rental or lease agreement issued for the motor vehicle described be
in possession of the operator or carried in the vehicle while the vehicle is being used or
operated on the highways or streets of this state.

SECTION 316.613, Florida Statutes, requires every operator of a motor vehicle
transporting a child in a passenger car, van or pickup truck registered in this state and
operated on the highways of this state, shall, if the child is 5 years of age or younger,
provide for protection of the child by properly using a crash-tested, federally approved child
restraint device. For children aged through 3 years, such restraint device must be a separate
carrier or a vehicle manufacturer's integrated child seat. for children aged 4 through 5 years,
a separate carrier or seat belt may be used.

SECTION 627.733, Florida Statutes, requires mandatory Florida No-Fault Insurance to
be maintained continuously throughout the entire registration period; failure to maintain
the required coverage could result in suspension of your driver license and registration.

Important note: If you cancel the insurance for this vehicle,
immediately return the license plate from this registration to a Florida
driver license or tax collector office or mail it to: Dept. of Highway
Safety, Return Tags, 2900 Apalachee Parkway, Tallahassee, FL. 32399,
Surrendering the plate will prevent your driving privilege from being
suspended.

TEST DOCUMENT CO/AGY 68 /70 T# 526094512

FLORIDA VEHICLE REGISTRATION L

PLATE  952MAA

YR/MK  2012/CHEV  BODY uTt
VIN 17DIGITVINGOESHERE
Plate Type RGR NETWT 3563

Date Issued 9/27/2012 Plate Issued 9/27/2012

SAMMY D SAMPLE JR
TESTSEQUENCE
TALLAHASSEE, FL 32399

RGR - FLORIDA REGULAR  PLATE ISSUED X

DECAL 00052441

Expires Midnight Sat 6/1/2013

COLOR BLU Reg. Tax 96.15 Class Code 1
TITLE 100015758 Init. Reg. 225.00 Tax Months 9
County Fee 3.00 Back Tax Mos
Mail Fee 2.55 Credit Class
Sales Tax Credit Months
Voluntary Fees
Grand Total 326.70
IMPORTANT INFORMATION
1. The Florida license plate must remain with the registrant upon sale of vehicle.
2. The registration must be delivered to a Tax Collector or Tag Agent for transfer to

areplacement vehicle.
3. Your registration must be updated to your new address within 20 days of moving.
4. Registration renewals are the responsibility of the registrant and shall occur during
the 30-day period prior to the expiration date shown on this registration. Renewal
notices are provided as a courtesy and are not required for renewal purposes.




VOLUNTARY CONTRIBUTIONS
REGISTRATION CONTRIBUTIONS

Autism Programs 51.00 Ronald McDonald House $1.00
Blind Babies and Blind Youth Services $1.00 Southeastern Guide Dogs, Inc. $1.00
Child Safety Seat Fund $2.00 State Homes for Veterans Trust Fund $1.00
Children’s Hearing Help Fund $1.00 Stop Heart Disease $1.00
Family First $1.00 Support Our Troops $1.00
Florida Sheriffs Youth Ranches $1.00 Support Wildlife $1.00
League Against Cancer/La Liga Contra el Cancer  $1.00 The Arc of Florida $1.00
Mothers Against Drunk Drivers $L.00 Transportation Disadvantaged $1.00
Organ and Tissue Donor Education $1.00 Manatee Fund $2.00
Prevent Blindness Florida $1.00 $5.00 or more to receive sticker
Prevent Child Abuse $1.00 Tartle Sticker $5.00
Prevent Child Sexual Abuse 51.00

DRIVER LICENSE CONTRIBUTIONS

Autism Programs $1.00 Prevent Blindness Florida $1.00
Children’s Hearing Help Fund $1.00 Prevent Child Sexual Abuse $1.00
Disabled American Veterans $1.00 Ronald McDonald House $1.00
Family First $1.00 Senior Vision Services $1.00
Florida Council of the Blind $1.00 State Homes for Veterans Trust Fund $1.00
Hearing Research Institute $2.00 Stop Heart Discase $1.00
Juvenile Diabetes Research $1.00 Support Our Troops $1.00
League Against Cancer/La Liga Contra el Cancer  $1.00 The Arc of Florida $1.00
Organ and Tissue Donor Education $1.00

IMPORTANT INFORMATION

SECTION 320.0605, Florida Statutes. states the registration certificate or a true copy of a rental or lease agreement, issued for any motor vehicle must
be in possession of the operator or carried in the vehicle while the vehicle is being used or operated on the highways or streets of this state.

SECTION 316.613, Florida Statutes, requires every operator of a motor vehicle transporting a child in a passenger car, van or pickup truck registered in
this state and operated on the highways of this state, shall. if the child is 5 years of age or younger, provide for protection of the child by properly using
a crash-tested, federally approved child restraint device. For children aged through 3 years, such restraint device must be a separate carrier or a vehicle
manufacturer’s integrated child seat, for children aged 4 through 5 years, a separate carrier or seat belt may be used.

SECTIONS 320.02(5)(a) and 627.733(1)(a), Florida Statutes, requires mandatory Florida personal injury protection and property damage liability to be
maintained continuously throughout the entire registration period: failure to maintain the required coverage could result in suspension of your driver
license and registration. If you cancel the insurance for this vehicle. immediately return the license plate from this registration to a Florida driver license
or tax collector office. Surrendering the plate will prevent vour driving privilege from being suspended.

SECTION 328.48(4), Florida Statutes, states the certificate of registration for any vessel shall be available for inspection on the vessel for which it was
issued whenever the vessel is in operation.

Important note on Electronic Titles: Electronic titles or e-titles are motor vehicle, mobile home or vessel titles held in an electronic form by the
Department. E-titles prove ownership of a motor vehicle, mobile home or vessel the same way a paper title does. Electronically maintaining the title to
your vehicle eliminates the risk of losing it and having to pay title fees to obtain a duplicate. It is also an effective fraud deterrent because potential
thieves will not have access to your title. For more information about e-titles please see our web site al www.flhsmv.gov/html/emt.htm

Sold your vehicle, mobile home or vessel?

For your own protection, you are required by law to transfer the title and notify the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV)
within 30 days if you sell, donate or dispose of any motor vehicle or vessel. If you don’t you could be legally responsible. Either go into a tax
collector’s office with the new owner 1o transfer the title or go online to www.flhsmv.gov/dmv/forms/BTR/82050.pdf and download the Notice of Sale

form. fill it out, sign it and take it to the tax collector’s office for processing.




