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School Bus Safety Week

Talking Points

· Each year, National School Bus Safety Week is celebrated in October to remind motorists to obey traffic laws and keep students safe.  This year’s School Bus Safety Week is Oct. 22-26, 2012, and the Florida Department of Education, Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles and the Florida Department of Transportation have teamed up to emphasize the importance of safety on the roads with a slogan of “Stop on Red, Kids Ahead.”


· With more than 15.5 million licensed drivers in Florida and over 8,900 illegal pass-bys of our school buses each day, we urge you to help our students stay safe on the roadways by educating others about the importance of observing traffic laws and paying attention to school buses as they are stopped.
· School buses are more than eight times safer per vehicle mile than smaller passenger vehicles, making the bus system the safest mode for students who require transportation. 

· Each school bus must meet very specific requirements and safety standards, which include: 

· Passenger seating and crash protection
· Rollover protection
· Fuel system integrity
· Emergency exits
· Pupil loading/unloading lights and stop arms
· Heavy duty braking systems
· Reflective markings
· Safety belts (two-point lap belts; required on all new Florida public school buses purchased since 2000)

· Fire retardant seating

· Bus operators undergo rigorous training and a licensure process to help make our school buses one of the safest forms of ground transportation.  A National Academy of Sciences study found that more than 800 students died on the nation’s roads each year during normal school travel hours (approximately 98 percent of the total) while using modes of transportation other than school buses. 

· At least every 30 days, school buses are required to be inspected by a state-certified inspector to ensure the mechanical and safety systems are in proper working order.

· All school bus operators meet stringent requirements for training and licensure to ensure the safe transportation of students, including five years licensed driving experience, possession of a Commercial Driver License with a Passenger and School Bus endorsement, criminal background check by Florida Department of Law Enforcement and FBI, pre-employment and random drug and alcohol screening, annual medical examination using federal standards to ensure fitness to drive, annual dexterity testing to determine ability to perform required duties, weekly review of driving record to ensure no disqualifying violations, adherence to required local school district safe driver plans.
· There are more than 41,000 people endorsed for the school bus driving privilege in the state.
Every Florida driver should know…
· Florida law requires that motorists stop upon approaching any school bus that displays its flashing red lights and has its stop signs extended.
· The only exception is when a vehicle is traveling in the opposite direction of the school bus and…
· traveling on a divided highway with an unpaved space of at least five feet 
-OR-

· traveling on a divided highway with a raised median or a physical barrier.  
· Drivers who improperly pass a stopped school bus commit a moving violation subject to citation and will be required to complete a basic Driver Improvement Course upon conviction.
· Passing a stopped school bus in Florida not only endangers our most precious resource, our children, but also it can empty your wallet. Penalties may include:

· Up to a $500 fine,

· 4 points on your driver license, and

· could lead to suspension of your driving privilege.

· In 2010, 871 crashes in Florida involved school buses. As a result, eight individuals died and 1,187 suffered injuries. *Data include both private and public school buses.
Check out www.FloridaSchoolBusSafety.gov for information related to Florida’s law related to school bus safety. 

