
SCHOOL BUS FACTS

•  School buses are very safe, but the 
most dangerous part of the school bus 
ride is getting on or off the bus. The 
loading and unloading area is called the 
“Danger Zone” and consists of the 10 ft 
area in front or in back of the bus and10 
ft on either side of the bus.

•  Half of the pedestrian fatalities in school 
bus related crashes are children 
between 5 and 7 years old.

•  Young children are more likely to be 
struck because they:

         • Hurry to get on and off the bus
         • Act before they think
         • Have little experience with traffic
         • Assume motorists will see them 

and wait for them to cross the street
         • Don’t always stay within the bus 

driver’s sight

• Please remind children:
         • If something falls under or near a 
            bus, tell the driver. NEVER try to
            pick it up yourself!
         • While waiting for the bus, stay in a 

safe place away from the street and
            danger zone.
         • When you get on or off a bus, look
            left, right, left before you enter or
            cross the street.
         • When the driver says it is safe to
            cross the street, remember to 

cross IN FRONT of the bus.
         • Stay in your seat and sit quietly so 
            that the driver is not distracted.

It’s More Than Just the Law...
It’s a Child’s Life
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More information on school 
bus safety can be found at 

the following websites:
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In a 180-day school year, it is estimated 
that there are almost 2 Million illegal 
“pass-by’s” of Florida school buses, each 
representing the possibility of tragic 
injuries or fatalities to students.

Twenty five million children ride school 
buses to and from school each day. Last 
year, there were 5 passenger fatalities 
and 15 pedestrian fatalities at school bus 
stops.

Florida Motor Vehicle Laws require that 
motorists stop upon approaching any 
school bus which displays its flashing red 
lights and has its stop signs extended. 
Penalties for breaking these laws can 
include fines, points on your license, and 
even suspension of your license.

Here are illustrations describing the laws 
and helpful advice concerned with school 
bus safety.

TWO-LANE:
Vehicles traveling
in both directions

MUST stop.

MULTI-LANE Paved Across:
Vehicles traveling in both 

directions MUST stop.

Maintain a 60 ft Distance
Behind School Buses

Children Getting On The School Bus

Children Getting Off The School Bus
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DIVIDED HIGHWAY
Unpaved space (Min 5ft), OR, any raised 

median or physical barrier.

60 ft

STOP

Remember, the inconvenience of an 
extra few seconds spent waiting for a 
stopped school bus is insignificant 
compared to the loss of a child’s life. 

In a 180-day school year, it is estimated that 
there are almost 2 Million illegal “pass-by’s” 
of Florida school buses, each representing 
the possibility of tragic injuries or fatalities to 
students.

Twenty five million children ride school 
buses to and from school each day. Each 
year, there are about 15 pedestrian fatalities 
at school bus stops in the United States.

Florida Motor Vehicle Laws require that  
motorists stop upon approaching any 
school bus that displays its flashing red 
lights and has its stop signs extended. 
Penalties for breaking these laws can 
include fines, points on your license, and 
even suspension of your license.

Florida law specifies when you must stop for 
school buses.  If you violate the law you 
commit a moving violation: 

•  You must pay a minimum civil penalty of        
   $165 and will incur 4 points against your 
   driver license.
•  You must complete a basic driver 
   improvement course.
•  For another offense within five years, 
   your driver license will be suspended for 
   at least 90 days.
•  The most serious violation, an illegal 
   pass on the side of the bus where 
   students enter and exit the bus, will 
   result in severe penalties, ranging from 
   a minimum fine of $265 and up to a one 
   year license suspension.

The following illustrations describe the laws 
regarding school bus safety and provide 
helpful advice.
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Vehicles traveling
in both directions

MUST stop.
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DIVIDED HIGHWAY
Unpaved space (Min. 5 ft.), OR, any raised 

median or physical barrier. Vehicles behind bus 
MUST stop. Vehicles traveling in the opposite 

direction proceed with caution.

STOP

Remember, the inconvenience of 
an extra few seconds spent waiting 
for a stopped school bus is 
insignificant compared to the loss 
of a child’s life.
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