
 

 

 

 

 

 

Facts on Florida School Bus Safety 
 

Federal School Bus Safety Standards - Under the requirements at Title 49 CFR, Part 

49, all buses sold for transportation of students in the US must meet a number of 

significant Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards applicable only to school buses, in 

addition to the safety standards that apply to other types of vehicles.  Unique federal 

school bus standards include: 

 

 School bus passenger seating and crash protection 

 School bus body joint strength 

 School bus rollover protection 

 Fuel system integrity 

 Emergency exits 

 Pupil loading/unloading lights and stop arms 

 

Florida School Bus Specifications - Under the requirements of Section 1006.25, Florida 

Statutes, public school buses used in Florida must also meet stringent Florida School Bus 

Specifications prescribed by the State Board of Education.  Unique Florida school bus 

specifications include: 

 Fire retardant seating 

 Heavier duty braking systems 

 Additional emergency exits 

 Reflective markings 

 Dual stop signal arms and front bumper-mounted pupil crossing arms (to help 

ensure students cross within the direct visibility of the school bus driver) 

 Seat belts (two-point lap belts; required on all new Florida public school buses 

purchased since 2000) 

 

School Bus Inspection and Maintenance - Under the requirements of Section 1006.22, 

F.S., and State Board of Education Rules, each school bus must receive a stringent 

inspection of all mechanical and safety systems at least each 30 school days by a state-

certified inspector, following State Board-prescribed inspection procedures and meeting 

specified pass/fail criteria. 

  

 

 

 

 

 

 



School Bus Operators - Florida public school bus operators must meet stringent 

requirements for training and qualifications before they may transport students.  These 

include: 

 

 At least five years licensed driving experience 

 Possession of a Commercial Driver License with a Passenger and School Bus 

endorsement 

 40 hours of required pre-service training, including 20 hours prescribed by the 

State Board 

 8 hours of annual in-service training 

 Criminal background check by Florida Department of Law Enforcement and FBI 

 Pre-employment and random drug and alcohol screening 

 Annual medical examination using federal standards to ensure fitness to drive 

 Annual dexterity testing to determine ability to perform required duties 

 Weekly review of driving record to ensure no disqualifying violations 

 Adherence to required local school district safe driver plans 

 

School Bus Safety Record - The above requirements and others for yellow school buses 

and their operators have resulted in school buses being the safest form of ground 

transportation, over eight times safer per vehicle mile than smaller passenger vehicles.  A 

National Academy of Sciences study found that over 800 students were killed each year 

throughout the US during normal school travel hours (about 98% of the total killed) while 

using modes of transportation other than school buses.  The least safe mode was students 

riding in private passenger cars driven by other school age drivers. 


