Slow Down, Move Over and Save a Life
~FLHSMV Reminds Motorists to Comply with the Move Over Law ~
TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – In 2013, there were over 130 traffic crashes in Florida that involved motorists who violated the Move Over law. Of those crashes, 81 resulted in injuries and 2 in fatalities. This month, the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles is reminding motorists of the state’s Move Over law.
The Move Over law was enacted in 2002 to help protect law enforcement officers, emergency workers, and tow truck drivers when they are performing their duties along the roadside. In July 2014, the Move Over law was expanded to include sanitation and utility vehicles.
“Moving over allows a safety buffer between your moving vehicle and the stopped vehicle. If you can’t move over, you must slow down,” said Colonel David H. Brierton, Director of the Florida Highway Patrol. “It’s simply a good habit to move over or slow down for any stopped or disabled vehicle on the side of the highway because it makes our busy roads safer for everyone.”
Violating the Move Over law puts motorists and those who work along our roadways at risk. It can also result in a fine and points on your driving record. There are two ways to comply with the Move Over law:
- Drivers must vacate the lane closest to the stationary emergency vehicle, tow truck, sanitation, or utility vehicle. (Always signal your intention to change lanes.)
- Drivers must slow down to a speed of 20 mph below the posted speed limit if they cannot move over safely.
- Drivers who are not in the lane closest to the stationary vehicle should be prepared to allow those who are to move over into their lane.
- Drivers must slow down to a speed of 20 mph below the posted speed limit.
- If the speed limit is 20 mph or less, drivers must travel at 5 mph.
Move over or slow down. It’s not just the safe thing to do…it’s the law.
The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles: providing A Safer Florida by securely maintaining the records of more than 18 million registered vehicles and over 15 million licensed drivers, as well as providing safe travel along Florida’s highways. To learn more about FLHSMV and the services offered, visit www.flhsmv.gov, follow us on Twitter @FLHSMV or find us on Facebook.