Drive with Care
        Courtesy
        Attention
        Responsibility
        Experience













 

Slap on those bumper stickers.

Select the air freshener that makes you think of your favorite flower. Or candy bar.

Stock your glove compartment with sour gummy worms and extra spicy Cheetos.

You can personalize your ride.

But you can't personalize the rules.

They're black and white.

Florida's Graduated Drivers Licensing (GDL) law has three stages:

Learner's License

You must be at least 15 years old to apply for a Learner’s License. You must have completed a Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Course, pass a written test, vision test, hearing test, and have a signed Parental Consent Form .

With a Learner's License, you can only drive during daylight hours during the first three months and until 10 p.m. thereafter, ALWAYS with a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old and occupies the front passenger seat.

Intermediate License

To earn an Intermediate License, you must be at least 16 years old AND have held a Learner’s License for at least one year without any traffic convictions. Once you obtain an Intermediate License your driving privileges are based on your age.

  • 16 years old

  • Driving allowed between 6 a.m. and 11 p.m.

    At all other times you must be accompanied by a licensed driver at least 21 years old occupying the closest seat to your right, or be traveling to or from work.
  • 17 years old

  • Driving allowed between 5 a.m. and 1 a.m.

    At all other times you must be accompanied by a licensed driver at least 21 years old occupying the closest seat to your right, or be traveling to or from work.

Full Privilege License

When you turn 18, restrictions are removed from your license. Then you have a full privilege license.


Drive With CARE Home | Parent's Home | Teen's Home | DHSMV Home

Last Modified:
Back to Top

Picture of Florida