Your teen has finally arrived at a time
he or she has been looking forward to -
learning to drive! This will be a
memorable experience for both of you.
Drive with CARE - Florida Drivers Guide for Parents and Teens
cannot take this website with you, however this booklet
is a teaching tool that should be kept in the car you use to teach
your teen to drive. It contains valuable advice, checklists, a driving
log, a sample driving contract, and a driving certification form
to help you teach your teen to be a safe and confident driver. Please
take the time to read and use this valuable resource.
Be a Model and Coach
As their role model and coach, they will watch what you do and look
to you for your guidance and expertise. The law requires you to
certify that your teen has spent a minimum of 50 hours behind the
wheel when he or she applies for an Intermediate License. Ten of those
hours must be at night. Either you or another responsible licensed
adult over 21 years of age must always occupy the front passenger
seat closest to the driver.
How much driving experience is required to get an Intermediate License?
- Parent or guardian certification that you have at least 50 hours of behind-the-wheel driving experience, of which 10 hours must be at night.
- Drivers with a Learner’s license, may only drive during daylight hours during the first three months and until 10 p.m. thereafter, always with a licensed
driver who is at least 21 years old and occupies the front passenger seat.
- Recording behind-the-wheel practice sessions will help to better assess and analyze time spent behind the wheel.
We encourage you and your teen to thoroughly review Chapter
3 of The Florida Driver’s Handbook as it contains valuable detailed
information on the driving skills. There are also a number of websites
with additional information listed in the "Resources"
section of this website. Visit these sites together. Several of
them have excellent simulations that will encourage discussion.
Take as long as necessary to ensure that your teen is ready to take the driving
test and prepared to navigate the roads solo. Teach them to “Drive
With Care – Courtesy, Attention, Responsibility and Experience.”
Remember, “Experience eliminates errors!”
Driving Practice Checklist
Driving Practice Checklist, page 8 in the Florida Drivers
Guide for Parents and Teens booklet, to ensure your teen has
practice and experience with all skills, driving environments and
Use this log
(starting on page 9 in the Florida Drivers Guide for Parents
and Teens) to record driving sessions. A teen must have a minimum
of 50 hours of supervised driving before applying for an intermediate