Drive with Care
        Courtesy
        Attention
        Responsibility
        Experience


Did you know?

Teens face the greatest risk of crashing during their first year of driving. One out of every 5 licensed 16-year-olds will be in a motor vehicle crash.







 

When your teen is in the driver's seat you're far more than just a passenger. Your job is to steer your teen into a lifetime of safe driving. As a team, the two of you can navigate Florida's laws and safety guidelines.

Motor vehicle crashes are the leading cause of death and injury for teenagers because teens lack driving experience. Florida has implemented Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) Laws to decrease this risk by introducing teenagers to driving in phases. This site explains those phases, and suggests tips for keeping your teen safe when he or she in the driver's seat.

What parents should do:

  • Know the 3 Stages of Florida's Graduated Licensing: Learner's License, Intermediate License, Full Privilege License.
  • Supervise your teen's driving.
  • Set family driving rules and limits.
  • Impose consequences for violations.
  • Talk to other parents.
  • Choose a safe vehicle for your teen.

By doing so, you'll know you are being a responsible parent who is keeping your teen safe in the driver's seat.

Under Florida law, you can cancel your teens' license.

How long should you remain involved in your teen's driving?

Your teen becomes better able to handle high-risk conditions as he or she gains driving experience and maturity. Teens' driving performance continues to improve over at least the first 20,000 miles of driving - that's more than two years for most teens. Keep driving rules in place and continue to monitor and coach their driving by taking occasional rides with them after they have obtained their Intermedicate Licenses.

"The state lets me drive by myself, so why don't you?"

If your teen complains about your continued involvement, remind him or her that having a license doesn't mean that a person is a perfect driver. It just means that they meet the minimum requirements for a driver's license. Learning doesn't stop when teens get their licenses. They need a lot of practice.

Next: Supervise Your Teen's Driving

 

Did you know?

Teens are less likely than adults to understand the risks of driving because they lack experience. Their brains are still developing well into their 20s, affecting their judgment while driving.


Drive With CARE Home | Parent's Home | Teen's Home | DHSMV Home

Last Modified:
Back to Top

Picture of Florida