Drive with Care
        Courtesy
        Attention
        Responsibility
        Experience


Did you know?

In the U.S., eight young people die every day in alcohol-related crashes?



Did you know?

Teens are less likely than adults to understand the risks of driving because they lack experience. Their brains are still developing well into their 20s, affecting their judgment while driving.




Did you know?

For 16 and 17-year-olds, carrying just one passenger increases the crash risk by about 50 percent?




Did you know?

The majority of crashes happen between 9 p.m. and midnight.




Did you know?

Motor vehicle crashes are the number one cause of death for teens 16-19 years of age. While teens make up only 6% of the driving population in Florida but they are involved in 14 % of the fatal crashes.



















 

Florida's Graduated Drivers Licensing (GDL) law has three stages:


Learner's License:

Teens must be at least 15 years old to apply for a Learner’s License. They must have completed a Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Course, pass a written test, vision test, hearing test and a signed Parental Consent Form .

With a Learner's License, your teen can only drive during daylight hours during the first three months and until 10 p.m. thereafter, ALWAYS with a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old and occupies the front passenger seat.

Intermediate License

To earn an Intermediate License, teens must be at least 16 years old AND have held a Learner’s License for at least one year without any traffic convictions. Once teens obtain an Intermediate License their driving privileges are based on their age.

  • 16 years old

  • Driving allowed between 6 a.m. and 11 p.m.

    All other times must be accompanied by a licensed driver at least 21 years old occupying the closest seat to the right of the driver, or be traveling to or from work.
  • 17 years old

  • Driving allowed between 5 a.m. and 1 a.m.

    All other times must be accompanied by a licensed driver at least 21 years old occupying the closest seat to the right of the driver, or be traveling to or from work.

Full Privilege License

When teens turn 18, restrictions are removed from their license. Then they have a full privilege license.




State-Imposed Consequences

Driving is a Privilege - Don't Lose It

Driving privileges can be restricted or taken away from teens for a number of reasons including:

Traffic conviction while on a Learner’s License
Teen driver cannot apply for an Intermediate License for one year from the conviction date or until turning 18 years old, whichever happens first.

6 points on driving record within a 12-month period
The teen’s driving will be limited to “business purposes only” for 12 months or until the driver turns 18 years old, whichever happens first. The restriction is extended 90 days for each additional point during the restriction period.

Blood alcohol level of .02% or more
The licenses of drivers under 21 years old are administratively suspended for six months if they have a blood alcohol level of .02 or more. A second offense results in a one-year suspension. The first offense for refusing to submit to testing results in a suspension of twelve months; a second offense results in an 18-month administrative suspension.

School truancy
A teen’s license can be suspended for truancy and it will remain suspended until the student provides proof of school attendance for 30 consecutive days.

Tobacco and/or Nicotine products possession conviction
If a teen under 18 years of age is convicted of possession of tobacco or nicotine products, his or her license will be suspended for a minimum of 30 days.

Driving is a Privilege - Don't Lose It
This chart shows the number of points assessed to a driver’s record when convicted of a traffic offense.

 

Driving Violation Points
Speeding
Less than 15 mph over the speed limit 3
More than 15 mph over the speed limit 4
Speeding resulting in a crash 6
Moving Violations
Driving during restricted hours 3
Moving violation 3
Moving violation resulting in a crash 4
Reckless driving 4
Improper lane change 3

As a parent or legal guardian, you can pull your teen's license if they are under 18.

LINK to Florida's general information on points.

Drive With CARE Home | Parent's Home | Teen's Home | DHSMV Home

Last Modified:
Back to Top

Picture of Florida