Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles Home | Español | Driver License | Vehicle Tags & Titles | Florida Highway Patrol | Contact Us | Forms | Office Locations

Link to Safety Tips Home

  Vehicle Cloning

  Safety Belt Law

  Dealer Out of Business?

  Mobile/Manufactured Home Safety

  Hazardous Road Conditions

  Child Safety

  Buying or Selling a Vehicle?

  Share the Road

  Identity Theft & Driver License Fraud

  Teen Driving Safety

  Personal Safety

  Road Rage

  Florida Trip Tips

  Motorcycle Safety Awareness

  Move Over, It's The Law

Link to Atorney General's tips on ID Theft prevention
Helpful consumer tips to include information on prevention of ID theft ...More

Link to FDOT's 511 Informational website
Florida 511
Traveler Information

Move Over, It's the Law

Florida law enforcement officers are serious about enforcement of the Move Over Law!

   
  • On a two-lane roadway, you are required to slow to a speed that is 20 miles per hour less than the posted speed limit.

  • If the speed limit is 20 miles per hour or less, you must slow down to five miles per hour.

  • If you are driving on an interstate or roadway with multiple lanes of travel in the same direction, and you approach an emergency or law enforcement vehicle parked along the roadway, you must vacate the lane closest to that vehicle as soon as it is safe to do so. If you are not able to safely move over, you must slow down to a speed of 20 MPH below the posted speed limit unless directed otherwise by a law enforcement officer.

  • Violating the move over law puts both yourself and a public safety professional at risk.

  • Violating the move over law can result in a fine and points on your license.
  • Effective July 1, 2014, the law was changed to include sanitation vehicles and utility service vehicles.

Videos

Move Over Law Video
(File size 10M)

Move Over Law Video for Teens
(File size 10M)


Audios

Sgt. Kim Montes asks you to
"Please Move Over"
(File size 1.2M)

Tpr. Dave Rodriguez asks you to
"Please Move Over"
(File size 1.2M)

Tpr. Joe Sanchez asks you to
"Please Move Over"
Spanish
(File size 2.3M)

Sgt. Kim Montes on the Air
(File size 720K)


FAQ's

link to June 2014 Press ReleaseWhat should I do if I see an emergency vehicle parked on the side of the road with lights flashing?

Multi-Lane Roadway:

When approaching an emergency vehicle with lights flashing parked on the side of a multi-lane road, you MUST move over by changing lanes away from the emergency vehicle as soon as it is safe to do so. Motorists must vacate the lane closest to an emergency vehicle to prevent crashing into the emergency vehicle or any emergency workers performing their jobs in the area.

Two-Lane Roadway:

When approaching an emergency vehicle with lights flashing parked on the side of a two-lane road, you MUST slow down to 20 mph below the posted speed limit and approach with caution unless otherwise directed by an emergency worker on the scene.

What if I am not able to move over safely or change lanes away from the emergency vehicle?

If you are unable to move over or change lanes safely, you MUST slow down to at least 20 mph below the posted speed limit.

If I cannot change lanes safely should I stop my vehicle in the roadway?

No, you must slow down while maintaining a safe speed. You must not stop in the roadway or block the flow of traffic.

What can I do to prevent an accident when approaching an emergency vehicle, traffic congestion, a crash scene, or a construction area?

Stay alert! The single most important thing you can do to protect yourself and others is to pay attention behind the wheel. If you keep your eyes ahead of you on the road, pay attention to the activity around you (other vehicles, signs, etc.) you will be able to anticipate problems and react more quickly to any potentially dangerous events.

What can happen if I break Florida's Move Over Law?

If you are caught, you will be issued a ticket and have to pay a fine.

More seriously, you could crash into an emergency vehicle or strike an emergency worker, causing serious injury or death. You could injure or kill another person or yourself.


For more information about Florida's Move Over Law, please visit www.flhsmv.gov/fhp or contact FHP@FLHSMV.GOV .

Move Over Law Brochure



Privacy Statement | Disclaimer | MyFlorida.com
Copyright ©2008 State of Florida