Driving in Florida 4+ It is unlawful for persons under the age of 2|
to have a .02 BAL and to drive or be in actual

physical control of a motor vehicle.

4+ Keep your driver license, proof of insurance, registration 4 Drivers under the age of 18 with a .02 BAL may
or car rental documents with you at all times.

4 Drive on the right side of the road.

be taken to an addictions receiving facility.
4 Speed restrictions are strictly enforced.

4 Turn on your wipers and head lights (not your hazard
lights) when it rains.

4+ If you are stopped by law enforcement, remain in the car
and let the officer come to you, unless directed otherwise
by the officer.

Driving Under the Influence (DUI)

4 In Florida you must be 21 years of age to purchase,
consume or possess alcohol.

4 Open containers of alcoholic beverages are not allowed
within vehicles in Florida.

4+ Drivers with a .08 blood alcohol level (BAL) or higher are
presumed to be impaired.

, Distracted Driving
4 Fines can range from $300 up to $1000 for a first offense.
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(These fines do not include possible court costs.) Potential Distractions include:
4+ Offenders will be given 50 hours of community service. 4 Cell phone use, including texting ‘q
4 Probation will be for no more than one year. 4 Eating or drinking A
+ Any person convicted of DUI shall be punished 4 Other people, inside or outside the vehicle i

by imprisonment for not more than 6 months for a ; :
Lo - 4 Outside traffic or other vehicles
first conviction.

4+ Vehicles will be impounded for 10 days. 4+ AdJUStlng radio/cd p|a>/el”/othe|” devices

4 The offender’s driver license will be revoked for + Smoking

at least 6 months. Please avoid these distractions!
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Move Over Law for If a Law Enforcement

Emergency Vehicles Officer pulls you over
www.flhsmv.gov/fhp/misc/MoveOverhtm 4+ Slowly and carefully pull off the road.
4 When approaching emergency vehicles with emergency 4 At night, turn on your interior lights or
lights on, motorists are required to move over one lane stop in a well lit area.
away from the emergency vehicle as soon as it is safe to 4 Remain in your vehicle unless asked to
do so. Move Over, It's the Law! do otherwise.
4 On a two-lane road, drivers must reduce speed by 4 If you are pulled over by an unmarked law
20 miles per hour below the posted speed limit. enforcement vehicle, call 911 to verify.

4 If a driver cannot move over safely, the driver must
reduce their speed by 20 miles per hour below the
posted speed limit.

Work Zone

4 Stay alert! Be patient.

4 Pay close attention to changes in
traffic’ patterns and speed limits.

4 Turn on your headlights.
4 Pay attention to construction workers.

4 Keep up with the
traffic flow.

4+ Don't change lanes in
a work zone.

4 Expect the unexpected!

4

Speeding fines are
doubled in work
zones when workers
are present.
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Aggressive Drivers

4 Do not engage them.

4+ Get out of the way. 4 Be prepared - brakes may pull to one side or

4+ Avoid eye contact. may not hold at all

4 Dry the brakes by driving slowly in a low gear

4+ Don't gesture. ; _
and applying the brakes lightly.

4 Report serious aggressive
driving to law enforcement by calling *FHP.

Tire Blowout

Florida GrandDriver 4 Don't use the brakes,
What You Should Know About Aging and Driving: 4 Concentrate on steering.
4 Know the traffic rules and signs. Florida 4 Reduce speed slowly.
4+ Avoid risky drive times. GrandDriver: 4 Brake lightly after the car is under control.
4 Find a safe way to your destination. . 4 Pull off the roadway at a safe speed.
4 Take a driver refresher course. Get Around

4 Drive a safe car. Safe and Sound

4 Have your hearing and vision checked annually.

Go to www.floridagranddriver.com

Handling Emergencies/Breakdowns

e,

4 Move the vehicle entirely off the road, if possible.

uhi

4 Get all passengers out of and away from vehicle
to a safe area.
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4 Turn on the vehicle's emergency flashers.
4 Raise the hood of vehicle.
4+ Call *FHP for assistance.
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Driving in Fog
4 Drive with the head lights on.
4 Do NOT use the high beams.
4 Slow down and use caution.

4 Use wipers and defrosters to maximize your visibility.

4 Use the right edge of road or road markings
as a guide.

Submerging Motor Vehicles
Manual Windows

4 After a crash, regain control, stay calm and
don't panic.

4 Unbuckle your seat belt and any passenger's.

4 Roll down the manual window and swim to safety.

e,

Electric Windows
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4 Wait until the vehicle is almost flooded and
take a deep breath.
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4 Use a heavy object in the vehicle to break
out the bottom of a side or a back window
(not the windshield).
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4 Push the glass outward and swim to safety.
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