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INTRODUCTION

The Official Florida Driver License Handbook is produced by the Florida Department
of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV). This guide has the information
you need to prepare for the Florida Driver License Class E Knowledge Exam, the
Driving Skills Test, and to help you drive safely and lawfully.

Disclaimer

The Official Florida Driver License Handbook contains condensed and paraphrased
points of Florida laws and provides safety advice not specifically addressed in the
laws. The handbook is not a legal authority and is not intended for use in court.
This handbook will not reflect any changes made by the Florida Legislature after
the last revision date (located at the bottom of this page).

Warning

Florida law prohibits using a false name, making a false statement, concealing a
material fact or otherwise using fraud in an application for a driver license or ID

card. The penalty can be up to five years in prison, a $5,000 fine, and suspension
of any existing driving privilege for at least one year.

In addition, itis illegal to permit or authorize an unlicensed person to drive a motor
vehicle and doing so can result in a 60-day jail sentence and a $500 fine. If the vehicle
isinvolved in a crash resulting in bodily injury or death of any person, the person
who permitted the unlicensed person to drive may (unless this is an automatic
mandatory suspension) have his/her license suspended for one year.

Public Records

Florida law requires FLHSMV to collect certain personal information during the
licensing process. This information, which identifies licensed individuals, is used
for records management, driver improvement, financial responsibility, and law
enforcement purposes. If you do not provide the required information, you will
not receive a driver license or ID card.

Florida’s Public Records Law makes all records made or received by FLHSMV in the
course of its official business available for inspection, unless specifically exempted
by law. Your personal information, including name, address, and driver license
number is exempt from public disclosure, but may be given to law enforcement
agencies and other entities permitted by law to access the information. Your med
ical information, social security number, and emergency contact information are
available only as specifically authorized by law.

FLHSMV strives to ensure the accuracy of the information obtained during the
licensing process. If you discover any incorrect information, please call (850)
617-2000 or mail your request with your complete name, date of birth, driver
license number, information about the error, and any documentation to support
your request to: Chief of the Bureau of Records, 2900 Apalachee Parkway MS 89,
Tallahassee, FL 32399. Some information, such as reports of convictions received
from a court, can only be corrected if notification from the court is received that
the report was in error.
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PENDING STATUTE CHANGES FOR 2022

As of the printing of this handbook, the following legislation has passed the
Florida Legislature and is contingent upon becoming law, or further action taken

by the Governor.

SB 144 - Identification Cards
» Allows for a free ID card to be issued
if a person presents a valid Florida
voting registration card and attests
that they are experiencing a
financial hardship.

» Allows for a free ID card to be issued
for persons 80 years of age or older
whose driving privilege is denied
due to failure to pass a vision test.

» Does not exempt Real ID
requirements.

SB 364 - Specialty License Plates
» Creates eight new specialty license
plates and one specialty motorcycle
plate. More information is available
at: flhsmv.gov/personalized
specialty-license-plates.

» Extends presale period for two years
for plates currently in the presale
process and reduces the threshold
for out-of-state specialty plates.

» Reduces the cap on the number of
specialty plates from 150 to 135.

SB 474 - Recreational Off-Highway
Vehicles
» Increases the dry weight allowed for
recreational off-highway vehicles
from 2,500 pounds to 3,500 pounds.

HB 749 - Fraud Prevention

» Requires FLHSMV to include vehicle
registration and insurance informa
tion into the mobile driver license
(Florida Smart ID). The digital
credential must display vehicle
insurance information, notify of
any lapse in insurance coverage,

and allow individuals to update
policy information.

SB 754 - Mobile Home Registration
Periods
» Beginning September 1,2023, the
registration period for mobile
homes owned by natural persons
to the owner’s birth month.

SB 914 - Department of Highway
Safety and Motor Vehicles
» Requires an operator of a motor

vehicle to provide proof of insur-
ance upon the request of a law
enforcement officer (previously
applied only to drivers who were
also registered owners).

» Provides a fee exemption for a
surviving spouse transferring a
motor vehicle title solely into their
name when only the deceased
spouse is named on the title.

» Prohibits individuals who have
registration stops from replacing
their license plate until they have
satisfied the underlying stop.

» Beginning November 1, 2023, driver
licenses and identification card
numbers will include four randomly
generated digits.

HB 915 - Commercial Motor Vehicle
Registration
» Beginning July 1, 2024, FLHSMV will
issue apportionable license plates,
for commercial motor vehicles that
travel across state borders, valid
for a 3-year period.
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IMPORTANT INFO
FOR MINOR DRIVERS

Learner’s License

» Must always drive accompanied
by a licensed driver, age 21 or
older, who rides in the closest
seat to the right of the driver.

> Must only drive during daylight
hours during the first three
months after earning learner’s
license. After three months, may
drive until 10 pm.

» Must have at least 50 hours of
driving experience prior to
getting driver license, and 10
hours should be at night.

Age 16 with Driver License
Must not drive between 11 pm to

6 AM unless driving to or from work
OR accompanied by a licensed driver
who is age 21 or older.

Age 17 with Driver License
Must not drive between 1 AmM to 5 AM
unless driving to or from work OR
accompanied by a licensed driver
who is age 21 or older.

Driving Record Points
Drivers under the age of 18 who
accumulate six or more points within
a 12-month period are automatically
restricted for one year to driving for
“Business Purposes ONLY.”

Remember...

Always carry your driver license with
you when driving, and always have
proof of vehicle registration and
insurance with you in the vehicle
you are driving.
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Hello, Florida drivers -

The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor
Vehicles (FLHSMV) is pleased to provide you with the
Official Florida Driver License Handbook, designed to
help you become a safe, courteous, and knowledge-
able driver.

Becoming a licensed driver is an exciting time, bringing
new independence and opportunity—and most
importantly, a solemn responsibility. A solemn
responsibility to drive with care, courtesy, and
confidence every time you get behind the wheel to
ensure the safety of you and the millions of people
who travel Florida’s roadways.

Prior to 1939, any person, regardless of age, was free to operate a vehicle on Florida
highways so long as they observed a few basic rules of the road and did not drive
intoxicated. By 1941, new legislation required everyone applying for an original driver
license to pass a vision, road sign, road rules, and driving test. In 1946, the first
comprehensive driver license examination program was established, and the first
Florida Examiner’s Manual was published.

Florida’s traffic safety laws and driver education have come a long way, but the golden
rule of driving has always remained the same—drive as you want others around you
to drive.

Tragic and life-altering car crashes are unfortunately all too common, and often caused
by someone who chose to not follow the law. We see the heartbreak these crashes
cause to families, friends, and communities; but seldom do we hear of the many crashes
that are prevented by motorists who are courteous, sober, and focused on the road
and their surroundings. These are the drivers that keep us safe and the type of driver
all motorists should aspire to be.

As you prepare to join Florida’s next generation of licensed drivers in reviewing this
handbook, please remember that the information, skills, and behaviors you are learning
are more than just answers to a test. Being a safe driver is a lifelong devotion, and one
that must be reaffirmed every time you get behind the wheel. Please do no overesti-
mate your driving abilities and underestimate the risks—the danger is all too real.

Congratulations on this exciting new step in your life. | wish you success and safety in
your travels ahead.

)

;'?/ 474 /V/%Tu//a
TerryL. R/hodes,

Executive Director
Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles
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TEN
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Safety Belts
Save Lives.

Fact. End of Story.

F
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PREPARING TO DRIVE: YOUR VEHICLE n
Getting Ready to Drive

Before you start your engine:

» be sure vehicleis in park or neutral.
» adjust the seat so you can reach all controls.

» adjust all rear-view mirrors so that you can use them without having to lean
forward or backward.

move anything that blocks your view of mirrors or roadway.
lock all car doors.
» fasten your safety belt and make sure all passengers do the same.

Equipment Standards

The equipment on your car must meet certain standards. You may be stopped at
any time by law enforcement for a vehicle inspection.

Required Equipment

Brakes Two braking systems. Each must be able to stop the car alone. The
parking or emergency brake should be strong enough to hold the
caron any hill.

Low Beam Headlights | Show objects 150 feet ahead. Visible from 1,000 feet.

High Beam Headlights | Show objects 450 feet ahead. Visible from 1,000 feet.

Taillights Two red taillights. Visible from 1,000 feet.

Brake Lights Two red brake lights. Visible from 300 feet in the daytime.
License Plate Light White light that makes the license plate visible from 50 feet.
Directional Signals Amber; or white (front) or red (rear). Visible from 500 feet.

Horn Heard from a distance of 200 feet.

Mirrors At least one rear-view mirror with view 200 feet to the rear.
Windshield Wiper In good working order to clear the driver’s view.

Windshields” Must be safety glass and may not be covered or treated with any

material that makes the windshield reflective or non-transparent.
Must be free of any stickers not required by law.

Side & Rear Windows" | May not be composed of, covered by, or treated with any material
which has a mirrored appearance or reflects more than 25% of the
light (side windows) or more than 35% of the light (rear window).

Tires Should have a minimum tread of at least 3/32 of an inch or greater,
and no worn spots showing the ply.

*See Florida Stautes (FS) §316.2953 and FS §316.2954 for details on window tint restrictions.
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Equipment NOT Permitted

Red lights visible from front or blue lights. For emergency/law enforcement vehicles only.

More than two spotlights, cowl or fender lights, fog lights, or other extra lights.

Asiren, bell, or whistle.

Avery loud muffler (heard from more than 50 feet) or one that emits smoke.

Signs, posters, or stickers on the windshield or windows (except if required by law).

A “television-type receiver” that the driver can see.

Headsets/headphones worn by driver while operating a vehicle.

Bumper Height
Requirements

Owners of automobiles and pickup
trucks are required to have front and
rear bumpers mounted within certain
height levels. Height limitations are
governed by the net shipping weight of
the vehicle, not the modified or altered
weight. The maximum allowable height
between the pavement and bottom

of the front and rear bumper are:

Rear

Vehicle Weight Front

Cars <2,500 lbs. 22in. 22in.

Cars 2,500-3,499 lbs. 24 in. 26in.

Cars = 3,500 lbs. 27in. 291in.
Trucks < 2,000 lbs. 24 in. 26in.
Trucks 2,000-3,000 lbs. 27in. 29in.
Trucks 3,000-5,000 lbs. 28in. 30in.

EMISSIONS CONTROL DEVICES

Itisillegal to tamper with, remove, or
cause not to work, any pollution control
device on your vehicle. Tampering can
cause damage your vehicle, increased air
pollution, lower gas mileage, less vehicle
efficiency & breathing difficulties.

Keep Your Car in
Good Condition

Brakes: Check to see that the pedal
stays well above the floor when you
step on it. If the car pulls to one side
when you use the brakes or if you hear
any scraping or squealing noises, your
brakes may need to be repaired.

Lights: Check often, replace burned-
out bulbs and keep lenses clean.

Tires: Inspect often for proper
inflation/tire pressure, even
tread wear and damage.

Windows and Windshields: Keep
the glass clean inside and out.

Rear Window: If the rear window is
covered by or treated with any material
that makes it non-transparent, the
vehicle must be equipped with side
mirrors on both sides that allow the
driver a rearview of at least 200 feet.

Read your vehicle owner’s manual!
Itis an excellent resource for infor-
mation specific to your vehicle,

such as: what types of fluids your
car requires, what dashboard warn-
ing lights mean, what your car ser-
vices intervals are, and more.

4 ©2022 Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles



Anti-Lock Brake System
Anti-lock brake system (ABS) prevents
skidding and allows drivers to steer
during an emergency braking situation.
ABS can help improve vehicle stability,
steering, and stopping capability.

Itis important to know if your vehi-
cle has ABS because it will affect the
way you should stop in an emergency
situation. Drivers with ABS need to
press down hard on the brake pedal,
hold it, and steer out of danger. In an
emergency situation, the ABS auto-
matically pumps the brakes at a faster
rate than the driver could. Removing
steady pressure from the brake pedal
or pumping the brakes will disengage
or “turn off” the ABS. Drivers with
conventional brakes must pump the
brakes in order to stop in an emer-
gency situation where traction is lost
and the vehicle slides.

You can determine if the vehicle has
ABS by looking for a lighted ABS symbol
on the dashboard right after starting
the engine, checking the owner’s man-
ual, or asking the dealer.

Trailers, Towing, & Load
Equipment requirements:

» Trailer, semitrailer or pole trailer
weighing 3,000 pounds or less:

» REAR—two reflectors, one at
each side.

> Abrake light if the trailer or
load blocks/hides the brake
lights on the towing vehicle.

> Trailer or semitrailer weighing
more than 3,000 pounds:

» FRONT—two clearance lamps,
one at each side.

m

RIVE: YOUR VEHICL

m

r

» EACH SIDE—two side marker
lamps, one at or near the front
and one at or near the rear.
Two reflectors, one at or near
the front and one at or near
the rear.

» REAR— two clearance lamps,
one at each side, and two
reflectors, one at or near the
front and one at or near the
rear®

» Brakes that can be operated by
the driver in the towing vehicle.
They must be designed and
connected so that they will
automatically stop the trailer
if it breaks away from the
towing vehicle.

» Pole trailer weighing more than
3,000 pounds:

» EACH SIDE—one side marker
lamp and one clearance lamp.

» REAR—two reflectors, one at
each side.*

* Every motor vehicle, trailer, semitrailer, and
pole trailer must have two or more stop lamps
(one stop lamp is permitted on vehicles built
before January 1, 1972).

Drawbar or Towing Connection
The drawbar/towing connection must:

» be strong enough to pull all towed
weight;

» not be more than 15 feet long
unless you are towing poles, pipes,
machinery, or other objects that
cannot be easily taken apart; and

» have a white flag at least 12 inches
square attached to it if it is chain,
rope, or cable.
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Securing the Load

You must not drive or move any loaded
vehicle on the highway if the load is not
secure. The load must not be able to
drop, shift, leak, or otherwise escape.

» You must use a close-fitting cover
when hauling loads which could
fall or blow onto the roadway (e.g.,
dirt, sand, gravel).

» Every truck carrying logs or pulp-
wood must use lock chains to
securely fasten the load.

Projecting Load

A load that extends beyond the sides
of a vehicle and more than four feet or
more beyond its rear must be clearly
marked. During the day, red flags at
least 18 inches square must mark the
extremities of the load. Requirements
from sunset to sunrise, and during any
rain, smoke, or fog include:

» two red lamps on the back of the
load that can be seen from at least
500 feet to the rear;

» two red reflectors on the rear that
can be seen from 100 to 600 feet
when directly in front of low beam
headlights, and located to show
the load’s full width; and/or

» onered lamp on each side of the
load, visible from at least 500 feet
to show maximum overhang of
the load.

If the trailer or motor vehicle is trans-
porting logs, pulpwood, poles, or posts

that extend more than four feet beyond
the rear of the load, you must have one

amber strobe-type lamp equipped so
that the lamp is visible from the rear
and both sides of the projecting load.
The lamp must be operational and
seen any time of day or night.

Passenger vehicles must not be driven
on any highway with a load extending
beyond the fenders on the left side of
the vehicle or extending more than 6
inches beyond the line of the fenders
on the right side.

Slow Moving Vehicles
Farm vehicles designed for operation at
speeds less than 25 MPH must display
this sign on the rear when using public
highways (not limited
access/interstates).
Also, these vehicles
must only be oper-
ated during daylight
hours unless equipped with the proper
lights/reflectors required for night
driving.

*Florida law states that a driver
must move out of the left lane
when being overtaken from behind
by another vehicle traveling at a
higher rate of speed.
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PREPARING TO DRIVE: YOU—THE DRIVER n

Driving an automobile is a huge responsibility. In order to drive safely, you
must be fully engaged: hands on the wheel, eyes on the road, and mind on
driving. Anything that affects your physical or mental condition can impair
your ability to drive.

Physical Conditions

Itis important that you get regular vision, hearing, and general physical check-
ups. Get treatment for illnesses and avoid driving when sick. Remember that
whenever you are prescribed medication, you should ask your doctor or pharma-
cist how it can affect your driving.

Emotions

Emotions can have an effect on driving safely. You may not be able to drive safely
if you are worried, excited, crying, angry, or depressed. Emotions can distract you
from your driving because your mind is focused on other issues, not driving. Your
emotional state can alter the way you react—or overreact—to driving situations.
Take time to calm down and get focused before driving.

Road Rage
Road rage is violent or visibly angry behavior by a driver which can result in
crashes or other incidents on roadways. Signs include:

sudden acceleration or braking,

following too closely;

cutting off other drivers;

preventing other vehicles from merging into your lane;
excessively hitting the horn or flashing headlights;
shouting obscenities or threats;

making obscene hand gestures;

intentionally causing a crash;

getting out of a vehicle in an attempt to start a confrontation;
using a weapon or threatening to use a weapon; and/or
throwing objects from the vehicle.

Y Y Y Y VY VY VY VY VY VvVy

If another driver is threatening you or intentionally driving dangerously around
you, remain calm and try to put as much distance between you and them as
possible. Slow down and let them pass.* Do not make eye contact; do not make
obscene gestures. If you need help, call *FHP (*347) or 911.
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Distracted Driving

Distracted driving is extremely risky
behavior that puts you and your
passengers in danger, as well as pedes-
trians and bicyclists sharing the road.
Focused attention on driving helps to
prevent crashes.

There are three main categories of
driver distraction:

Categories of Distraction

Visual taking your eyes off the road

Manual taking your hands off the
steering wheel

Cognitive | thinking about anything

other than driving

Texting involves all three types of
distractions, making it one of the
most dangerous of distracted driving
behaviors.* However, this is not the
only cause of distracted driving. Other
common distractions include:

» talking on a cell phone;

» watching an object, person, or
event outside of the vehicle;
reaching for an object;
interacting with passengers;
eating or drinking;

unsecured pets;

grooming;

adjusting radio or climate controls;
» lighting a cigarette; and/or

» daydreaming.

Yy vV VY VY

\/

*

Itisillegal in Florida to operate a motor vehicle
while texting. Florida law prohibits a person
from operating a motor vehicle while using a
wireless communications device in a handheld
manner in a designated school crossing, school
zone, or work zone.

Drinking & Driving

Alcohol reduces all of the skills neces-
sary to drive safely, such as judgment,
reaction, vision, and concentration.
Alcohol is absorbed into the lining of
the stomach and then passes directly
into the bloodstream and reaches your
brain within minutes after consump-
tion. A person’s judgment is the first
thing affected after drinking an
alcoholic beverage.

Even one drink of alcohol can affect
your driving. Alcohol slows your
reflexes and reaction time, reduces
your ability to see clearly, and makes
you less alert. You will have trouble
judging distance, speed, and move-
ment of other vehicles. You will also
have trouble controlling your vehicle.

If you drink alcohol—even just one
drink—your chances of being in a crash
are much greater than if you did not
drink any alcohol. No one can drink
alcohol and drive safely, even if you
have been driving for many years.

Because drinking alcohol and driving
is so dangerous, the penalties are very
tough. People who drive after drink-
ing risk heavy fines, higher insurance
rates, loss of driver license, and even
jail sentences. A DUI (Driving Under the
Influence) conviction must remain on
your driving record for 75 years.

Do Not Drink and Drive!

» Before drinking, designate a sober
driver.

> If you are the designated driver,
do not drink. One drink is one
too many.

> If you are impaired—and did not
designate a driver—use a rideshare
service, call a sober friend or family
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member, or use public transporta-
tion to get home safely.

» Remember, friends don’t let friends
drive drunk. If you know someone
who is about to drive impaired,
take their keys and help them get a
safe ride home.

Drowsy Driving

Drowsy driving can be just as danger-
ous as drunk driving. Do not drive when
you are tired. It is risky to drive drowsy
because fatigue (being sleepy) can:

> slow your thought processes and
reaction time;

» affect your judgment and vision;

> impair your senses and abilities;
and/or

» cause micro-sleeping (“nodding
off”) or falling completely asleep.

The two main causes of drowsy driving
are lack of quality/quantity of sleep
and driving at times of the day when
you would normally be sleeping. Avoid
driving drowsy!

» Don’tdrive at times when you
would normally be asleep.

> Getagood night’s sleep before
you travel.

> On long trips, take a break every
100 miles or 2 hours.

» If you think you might fall asleep—
find a safe place to stop and take
anap.

» Use the “buddy system” and switch
drivers when needed.

Drugged Driving

Driving while impaired by drugs is ille-
gal and subject to the same penalties
as driving while impaired by alcohol.
Besides alcohol, there are many drugs

that can affect a person’s ability to
safely operate a vehicle. This is true
for many prescription drugs, as well
as over-the-counter medications for
allergies and colds. If a person is taking
medication, they should be sure to
check the label f