DHSMV reminds motorists that they must carry mandatory
auto insurance effective January 1, 2008.
CONTACT For DHSMV:
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE, December 26, 2007
Effective January 1, 2008, Florida’s Personal Injury Protection (PIP) law will require motorists to carry mandatory personal injury and property damage liability insurance. Under the law, every owner or registrant of a motor vehicle will be required to carry not only the Property Damage Liability insurance but also $10,000 insurance coverage for Personal Injury Protection (PIP). Therefore, as a consumer, the Department encourages you to be informed and make sure that you purchase the mandatory PIP, and make sure your insurance agent also adds the mandatory $10,000 in Property Damage Liability.
During the period October 1 through December 31, only the property damage liability insurance was required to be carried by motor vehicle owners and registrants but not PIP. Many insurance carriers offered their customers the option of cancelling PIP coverage during this time. If you are one of those who cancelled PIP, you must reinstate the required PIP effective January 1, 2008. If you do not, the law requires that the insurance carrier cancel your policy and inform the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, who will then suspend your driver’s license and registration. To avoid expensive reinstatement fees for license suspensions and registration which could range from $150 up to $500, be proactive and make sure you have the proper auto insurance coverage prior to January 1, 2008.
Law enforcement, including the Florida Highway Patrol, will be checking proof of insurance roadside and could issue a citation for failing to carry the proper insurance. We are encouraging all motorists to make sure their vehicle is properly insured. If you have questions please contact your insurance carrier/agent to make sure you have the required Personal Injury Protection coverage.
In addition, Chief Financial Officer Alex Sink has a hot line number at 1-877-MyFLCFO where consumers can learn more regarding frequently asked questions. Drivers can also log onto the CFO’s website at http://myfloridacfo.com/NoFault/.
2007 Press Releases DHSMV Press Releases