Send Your Kids Back to School in Style!
Get them a Florida ID
CONTACT For DHSMV:
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE, August 18, 2007
Lake Wales (Polk County) - The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) in conjunction with the Polk County Sheriff’s Office held a Back To School Event in conjunction with the Polk County Sherriff's office to allow school children ages 5 and older to receive a State of Florida Identification Card.
The event was held at the Lake Wales Drivers License Office from 9:00 am to 1:00 pm on Saturday, August 18, 2007.
DHSMV and the Polk County Sheriff’s Office are encouraging parents to get up their children an identification card. The ID card provides parents with a current digital photo of children along with other pertinent information. Each child’s record contains emergency contact names and phone numbers available to law enforcement only. CHILD MUST BE AT LEAST 5 YEARS OLD TO BE ISSUED THIS ID CARD.
The cost of an original ID card is $3.00 – duplicates are $10.00 (cash or check only). Parents will need to bring an original birth certificate from vital statistics (or a US passport) and proof of social security number for each child. No photocopies will be accepted.
The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) announced the implementation of a new emergency contact information system earlier this year. This system allows Floridians to voluntarily provide emergency contact information online, giving law enforcement immediate access to this information and making it easier for them to speak with someone quicker in cases of emergency.
All parents are encouraged to register themselves and their children into the ECI system, which can be done during this event.
Those with a Florida driver license or identification card can go online to www.flhsmv.gov and enter this information. This information will be immediately available to law enforcement officials.
2007 Press Releases DHSMV Press Releases