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2012 Legislative Update

The 2012 Florida Legislative Session brought forth many changes. Some of the
changes that our criminal justice partners may want to know about are:

Autonomous Vehicle - Effective July 1

Florida law now defines an “autonomous vehicle” as any vehicle equipped with
autonomous technology that allows the vehicle to be operated without the active
control of a human operator.

Beginning July 1, a person who
possesses a valid driver license may
operate an autonomous vehicle in
autonomous mode on a Florida road-
way if manufacturers of the technol-
ogy designate the person as a driver
for testing purposes. The Depart-
ment of Highway Safety and Motor
Vehicles must submit a report to the
Florida Legislature by Feb. 12, 2014,
with recommendations for additional
legislation or regulatory action that
may be required for safe testing and
operation.

Long-Form Crash Reports — Effective July 1

Florida law expands the requirements for law enforcement officers to use a long-
form crash report to include crashes involving a person with indication of pain or
discomfort, a crash rendering a vehicle inoperable and all crashes involving a com-
mercial motor vehicle.

All crashes occurring on the public roadways of the state, not requiring a long-
form shall require the use of a short-form or driver exchange form.

The $500 threshold for property damage relating to crash reports is removed from
statute.

Traffic Laws
Effective July 1

A straight truck may tow no more than one trailer, and the overall length combina-
tion of the truck-trailer may not exceed 68 feet.

Effective Oct. 1

Law enforcement may issue a bicycle safety brochure in lieu of a violation of sec-
tion 316.2065(8), Florida Statute.

Effective Jan. 1, 2013

B Motorists may intermittently flash their headlights at oncoming traffic, without
regard to intent.

B Golf carts may cross the State Highway System if the posted speed limit is 45
mph or less.

B Parents or legal guardians may not leave a child unattended in a motor vehicle

for any period of time if the vehicle is running and the child appears to be in distress.

For a more comprehensive list of legislative updates related to DHSMV, visit
http://www.flhsmv.gov/Leg2012.htm.

Data Center
Move to Affect
Services

Main effort of move to
occur Sept.7-9

The Department will move its data

center from its Tallahassee headquar-
ters to the state’s primary data center,
also in Tallahassee, in September. The
main effort will take place during the
weekend of Sept. 7 - 9. Services will
come offline at 6 p.m. (Eastern Day-
light Time) Sept. 7. While the move is
complex and will require a complete
shutdown of all DHSMV enterprise sys-
tems, the Department has taken steps
to ensure law enforcement inquiries,
including the Driver And Vehicle
Information Database (aka DAVID), will
remain available.

Customers will not be able to ac-
cess online services, and employees
will not have access to work email
accounts during the weekend of the
move. If you speak to motorists whose
driver licenses, identification cards or
license plates expire on or before Sept.
7, please encourage them to visit an
office or www.GoRenew.com before 6
p.m. Sept. 7.

In addition to the early September
move, another phase of the move will
take place beginning 6 p.m. Sept. 21.
Online services will be unavailable
during this phase, which the Depart-
ment estimates will take up to two
days to complete. DAVID and in-office
services will not be affected.

The move is part of the state’s Data
Center Consolidation plan. In 2008,
Florida lawmakers passed legislation
that mandates all state agency data
centers and computing facilities to
consolidate into state primary data
centers by 2019.

Does your driver license or

license plate expire
between Sept. 7 - 9?

Plan ahead and renew early!
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Florida Promotes
Submitting Crash
Reports and Citations
Electronically

There are 216 law enforcement agen-
cies using E-Citations and 159 using
E-Crash. Approximately 46 percent of
the dispositions are submitted via E-Ci-
tations, and 58 percent of crash reports
are submitted electronically. Current
initiatives to promote use include:

B The Department is consulting with
law enforcement agencies throughout
the state regarding funding applications
to obtain computer laptops to increase
electronic submission of crash reports.
Through the initiative, the Department
will award agencies with funding to
purchase laptops, and other agencies
will receive refurbished FHP laptops.

B The Department is rewriting the
Crash manual to document current
crash business rules and procedures,
as well as provide edits for software
enhancements.

B The E-Citation file transmitted to the
clerks of court from law enforcement
was updated to include the officer’s
certification that the citation was deliv-
ered to the driver.

M Forty-five clerks of court currently
receive E-Citation files from law en-
forcement agencies. Most of the
clerks also require agencies to send the
paper citations, too. However, seven
clerks (Alachua, Leon, Manatee, Marion,
Miami-Dade, Palm Beach and St. Johns
counties) have moved to a paperless
process and are now receiving and
processing electronic citation files for
civil/traffic offenses in lieu of waiting for
paper copies from law enforcement.

Florida Buckles Up in
Record Numbezrs

In September 2011, DHSMV and the
Florida Department of Transportation
announced that a record number of
Floridians are fastening their safety
belts. Statewide safety belt use reached
88 percent in June 2011 following the
Click It or Ticket safety belt campaign. In
a news release, DHSMV Executive Direc-
tor Julie Jones credited the improve-
ment to effective laws and the efforts of
law enforcement.
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ECI Registrations Reach 6 Million
Department Urges Floridians to Register Emergency
Contact Information
in Florida have registered their contacts in the
Department’s Emergency Contact Information (((E)))

system. ECl allows licensed drivers and iden-

tification card holders to submit two contacts

to notify in the event of an emergency, such

be accessed only in the case of an emergency by law enforcement officers to find
designated contacts. Registration is quick and convenient. It can be completed in

a state- or a tax collector-operated driver license office or from the convenience of
home or work through the Internet at https://services.flhsmv.gov/eci/. You, too, can
help the Department promote this valuable service by telling motorists, friends and

In the past year, FHP has had new leaders take charge in different areas within the
Patrol.

In September 2011, Lt. Col. Kelly Hildreth became the deputy director of field
dreth has been with the Patrol for 16 years and is the first female to reach the rank
of lieutenant colonel.

In December 2011, Maj. Michael Thomas became the new troop commander to
lead field operations in in the Tampa Bay area. Troop C comprises seven counties,
including Pinellas, Hillsborough, Polk, Pasco, Hernando, Sumter and Citrus. Thomas

In March, Maj. Mark Brown became the new director of FHP’s training academy
and responsible for recruiting and training new and current members of FHP.

Brown has been with the Patrol since 1999.

In June, the Patrol named its newest troop commander in the troop that covers

operations in Miami-Dade and Monroe counties. Maj. Sammie Thomas Jr. is now the

Florida reached a new milestone in June

2012 - 6 million (out of 15 million) motorists (
EMERGENCY CONTACT INFORMATION

as a vehicle crash. The information can then
family members about it.
operations, where she leads patrol operations throughout the Sunshine State. Hil-
began his FHP career in 1987.
commander in Troop E. He has been with the Patrol for 30 years.

Thomas

Hildreth

Thomas

Online Crash Report Sales Show Promising Numbers

The Department launched a new service through BuyCrash.com that makes crash
reports available for purchase online. Before Feb. 1, customers had to request crash
reports by mail or in person at a Florida Highway Patrol station. Those options re-
main available, but the Department is promoting the new service provided through
a no-cost contract. Savings across the state could amount to hundreds of thousands
of dollars annually in processing, postage, storage and retrieval costs.

As of July 2012, customers have purchased 4,841 crash reports online.
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Florida License Plate
to Get a Face Lift

The Department is redesigning
the standard Florida license plate to
make it easier for law enforcement
officers and toll authorities to read.
The committee developing the plate’s
new look began meeting in February.
Members of the committee represent
the Department, the law enforcement
community, tax collectors and other
state agencies and organizations.

The new design will bring us back to
basics and provide a unique and clear
personal identity of a vehicle and its
owner, day or night. The committee
will select three to five designs and
post the designs on the Department’s
website this fall so the public can vote
on their favorites.
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Committee members visit the Union Cor-
rectional Institution to view how the Prison
Rehabilitative Industries and Diversified
Enterprises print the license plates.

Follow DHSMYV on
Facebook and Twitter!
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CanYou Recognize a Staged Crash?

The Florida Highway Patrol has recognized the need for training in one of the
leading insurance schemes in Florida known as staged crashes. FHP is collaborating
with the National Insurance Crime Bureau and the Florida Department of Financial
Services in a public awareness campaign to educate the public and members of
law enforcement on the issue. The Patrol has begun to train its members on staged
crashes through an online training course developed by NICB and the FHP Acad-
emy. During the training, troopers learn how to identify fraudulent schemes and
recognize fraud indicators in crashes.

Law enforcement officers are the first line in the crash cycle, and reporting crashes
in an accurate and complete manner will help stop fraudulent crash claims. Devel-
oping investigative skills that will help prevent insurance fraud will save the state of
Florida millions in insurance payouts. Indicators that a crash may be staged are:

M junker cars are involved

B multiple passenger injuries

B medical claims are extensive, but collision damage is minor

B vehicles in the crash are taken to the same body shop

M addresses are post office boxes

M an overly enthusiastic witness

M in hit and runs, descriptions may be vague, or may involve a phantom vehicle
B passengers may not know each other

M the crash occurs in isolated areas to avoid witnesses

For more information regarding staged crashes, visit FHP’s staged crashes website
at www.flhsmv.gov/fhp/.

Reporting Drivers for Re-examination or
Medical Review has Never Been Easier

The Department would like to remind you that in August 2010, we added a new
feature to DAVID that makes it easy for law enforcement agencies to request a re-
examination or medical review of a specific driver.

| Vehicleineurance _ |[ _Previous Vehicles _}

[ Photo Aray |[  Signature Array || Void Photo |

| New Search |[ Main Menu |

To access the reporting form, click the Report Driver for Medical Review or Re-Exam
button on the Individual Summary page. The driver’s personal information will
pre-populate on the forms. After the information is verified, you will then select
the medical reason(s) for the request and provide a brief explanation as to why you
are reporting the individual as an at-risk driver. Upon completion of the form, click
submit to transmit the information to the Department’s Medical Review Section.
This convenient feature allows the Department to take quick action on potentially
dangerous drivers.



https://twitter.com/FDHSMV
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Department-of-Highway-Safety-and-Motor-Vehicles/128186000582950?ref=hl
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Floridians Continue to Gather. Go. Get. Driver Licenses with
a Gold Star

One in three Florida drivers and identification card holders now have a credential with a gold star in the upper right corner. The
star signifies the credential meets standard benchmarks established by the federal Real ID Act of 2005.

Florida began to require specific documents to obtain a new or renewed driver license or ID card beginning Jan. 1, 2010. Motor-
ists czg prepare for their next visit to a driver license office by visiting www.GatherGoGet.com. Gather. Go. Get. is on Facebook
too!

Florndad o
13 v 4L Fe DRIVER LICENSE CLA:
V” is for Vet
Have you noticed a blue “V” on any driver licenses in the past year? If so, that is ’
because lawmakers last year passed legislation that allows military veterans to
add a veteran designation on a Florida driver license or ID card. Since July 2011,

driver license offices have issued more than 58,000 credentials with a blue “V”
in the bottom right corner to veterans who showed proof of honorable military

service. ‘

Disabled Disabled Parking
Parking Permits

[ ]
Pel'l'l'llt In an effort to reduce fraudulent use of disabled parking permits,
Chan ges lawmakers passed legislation that requires documentation from a
medical practitioner to renew or replace a blue disabled parking
permit. The state requires permit holders to renew the permits every
four years. The same documentation from a medical practitioner is
required for those who must replace a permit.
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FLORIDA
card

‘more than a ficense

Get your new card. FIGHWAY SAFETWAND MOTOR VEHIGLES
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