Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles Home | Español | Driver License | Vehicle Tags & Titles | Florida Highway Patrol | Contact Us | Forms | Office Locations
FHP Logo

Facts In Brief

FHP Door Seal

FHP Home

A Director who holds the rank of Colonel commands The Florida Highway Patrol. FHP is organized into five separate bureaus: The Bureau of Investigations is commanded by a Major, while the other four bureaus are each commanded by a Deputy Director (Lt. Colonel): The Bureau of Field Operations North & West (Troops A, B, C, F & H); The Bureau of Field Operations South & East (Troops D, E, G, K & L); The Bureau of Special Operations (Training, Leadership, Program Planning, Fleet & Property, Accreditation & Policy, Aviation, Employee Selection, Recruitment, Background Investigation, Polygraph, and Budget); and The Bureau of Law Enforcement Support Services (EOC/Domestic Security, Communications, Lt. Governor Aide De Camp, Inspections, Auxiliary & Reserve, Technology & Communications, Contraband Interdiction, and Traffic Homicide). Majors command nine field troops, which are divided by regions geographically located across the state. A tenth troop handles the Florida Turnpike operations. Troops are subdivided into 30 district headquarters, each commanded by a Captain.

History: FHP was created in 1939 with 60 uniformed officers.

Troopers Killed: 43 (18 shot, 18 auto crashes, 5 aircraft crashes, 1 explosion, other 1)

FHP Reserve: volunteer members have the authority to bear arms and make arrests, but receive no compensation.

FHP Auxiliary: Approximately 300 volunteer members (armed and in uniform) without arrest power, assist troopers throughout the state for no compensation.


FHP Station Address & Phone Numbers   |    Regional Communications Centers   |    Mission   |    A - Z Guide

Privacy Statement | Disclaimer | MyFlorida.com
Copyright ©2008 State of Florida