Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles Home | Español | Driver License | Vehicle Tags & Titles | Florida Highway Patrol | Contact Us | Forms | Office Locations
FHP Logo

FHP Announces Labor Day Enforcement Crackdown During
Drunk Driving. Over the Limit. Under Arrest.

FHP Door Seal

FHP Home

Major Ernesto Duarte
Florida Highway Patrol

For Immediate Release:

Tallahassee - The Florida Highway Patrol (FHP), a Division of the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV), will be out in force during the Labor Day holiday weekend, which begins at 00:01 hours Friday, August 31, 2007, and concludes at midnight, Monday, September 3, 2007. The FHP is also participating in the National Drunk Driving. Over the Limit. Under Arrest. Labor Day enforcement crackdown, which began Friday, August 17, and concludes Monday, September 3, 2007.

"Each year, thousands of lives are cut short or changed forever in alcohol-related crashes. Families and friends are left behind to cope with the loss of a loved one killed by an impaired driver who chose to drink and drive," said Colonel Chris Knight, director of the Florida Highway Patrol. In an effort to prevent such tragedies, Florida troopers will be conducting enhanced patrols throughout the state during the Labor Day holiday driving period, specifically targeting DUI violators.

"Labor Day is a great time to enjoy all that Florida has to offer. Many will be traveling on Florida's roads and highways over the weekend. We encourage all drivers to obey traffic laws, give themselves enough time to get to their destination and drive responsibly. Law enforcement will be out there to assist us and enforce laws for those who choose to disregard the laws," stated DHSMV Executive Director Electra Bustle.

During last year's 96-hour Labor Day holiday, 24 people were killed in 24 traffic crashes in Florida; 64% of those drivers and passengers who were killed in vehicles normally equipped with safety belts were not using them; also, 38% of the fatal traffic crashes were alcohol-related. Drivers arrested for DUI in Florida will have their licenses suspended or revoked, their vehicles impounded or confiscated; be required to pay increased insurance premiums, penalties, and fines; possibly do jail time, and endure the stigma of being arrested for DUI, or worse.

Motorists are again encouraged to call *FHP (*347) on their cell phones to report drunk, aggressive, or other dangerous drivers. Callers can remain anonymous.



FHP News Releases
FHP Station Address & Phone Numbers   |    Regional Communications Centers   |    Mission   |    A - Z Guide

Privacy Statement | Disclaimer | MyFlorida.com
Copyright ©2008 State of Florida